Bookmark

Surface: The Soaring City Collector's Edition

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Search for your brother, Jeremy, in a beautiful world where the sky is as wide as your imagination in the Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game, Surface: The Soaring City! Jeremy was a great inventor who discovered a magnificent land soaring in the sky. He created wings for the people, making them free. The new citizens were happy...until one day Jeremy was kidnapped and blamed for conducting inhumane experiments. It's up to you to save your brother from imprisonment and redeem his good name.

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • A whole new adventure in the bonus chapter
  • Integrated Strategy Guide
  • Stunning wallpapers
  • Fascinating Concept art
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.9/10.8/10.7/10.6
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 1016 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Surface: The Soaring City Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Surface: The Soaring City Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Surface: The Soaring City Collector's Edition 4.6 5 134 134
WHAT A BEAUTIFUL GAME!! A very interesting story with excellent mini games that you can solve almost all and you will be congratulated as well!!.HOS were just enough so you won't be bored and so fun as you have to find items from other places or use items from your inventory.Perfect graphics and pleasant music.Don't forget finding the Philanthropy flowers.You will find these in bonus game as well.I couldn't stop playing this gorgeous game. Give us please more of these type of games. March 10, 2013
Excellent! To be honest, I liked this one better than the first Surface games. Graphics were excellent. Sound was excellent. Loved the music. Storyline was better than many of the other games I have played. Challenge was good too. Not too hard, but not too easy either. The bonus chapter was great too. It was like a whole new game within a game. Fun game. February 27, 2013
My imagination took wing with this lovely game What fun...I'm really jealous that I can't fly too. Loved the story, music and the little flowers that you can collect. Thought the idea of people having wings was enchanting and made the story very special. The visuals were very exciting and drew me into the story....guess that's enough. Go buy it, you won't be sorry. February 9, 2013
Another perfect "Surface" game from Elephant! TITLE?Surface: The Soaring City VERSION?Collector's Edition (full game including bonus play) DEVELOPER?Elephant Games GENRE?Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure (SF/fantasy) STORYLINE?Your brother Jeremy is a brilliant engineer and inventor who is unveiling his latest masterpiece at a local air show. Amazingly, it's a floating city populated by winged people! Suddenly, the winged people attack the air show and kidnap Jeremy, accusing him of inhumane experiments. It's up to you to rescue your brother and clear his good name. Travel to a fantastic city in the sky run by Jeremy's steampunk inventions?and see what surprises are in store for you. Honestly, the story really grabbed me and wouldn't let go. GAMEPLAY?Acquire items in five ways: (1) Some items are simply left for you to find and use; (2) Some items require a tool before you can acquire the item; (3) Some items are acquired after completing a HOS; (4) Some items are given to you by the game's characters; and (5) Some items are acquired upon solving a puzzle. The HOS are a bit different. Some of the items on your list will require you to utilize an inventory item to complete. For example, your list might say "peeled apple." The apple is in the HOS while the peeler is in your inventory. This feature presents an additional challenge to the game which I liked, as you don't know which inventory items will be used in HOS and which will be used as tools. Quite a few of the mini-games are brand new concepts, which made this game that much more enjoyable. I know we've all been complaining about seeing the same old mini-games over and over again. Not here! INTERFACE?Your journal and map are at bottom left, and the map is a jump map with each location not only labeled but also decorated with an item from the locale. In addition, the map tells you if you've completed that location or if there are still tasks to perform, a nice touch. The journal mainly catalogs the story as it unfolds. Your hint function and strategy guide are at bottom right. I didn't use any hints, as I wanted to get all the achievements. The strategy guide is not "real time," but does have a table of contents. TECHNICAL?The voiceovers, text, and actings did not synchronize, which was a minor annoyance (and not something for which I would take points off). Also, it could be because the minute I finished playing, my Mac prompted me to update Flash. A few times, the description in the HOS list did not match the item. For example, the item was a drawing compass while the list said "astrolabe." A bit more attention to translation would readily solve this issue. GRAPHICS?Utterly superb and quite beautiful, as they always are in the Surface series. Lovely use of color, appropriate perspective, realistic textures, and just a touch of the surreal that is the hallmark of Surface games. CUTSCENES?Very well done! They really seemed to be from my (the player's) viewpoint. The animation was not static or stuttered, but smooth and realistic down to the slow start and speeding up of actions. The cutscenes reflected what was occurring; character interactions were calmer while explosions were chaotic. MUSIC?Especially appropriate. When the storyline became urgent, so did the music. It was like a soundtrack. SOUND?Appropriate to the actions and environment. VOICEOVER?Decently done, if a touch melodramatic. However, the main character is attempting to rescue his brother from a floating city populated with winged people, so we can forgive him his excited speech. LOL. SUMMARY?"The Soaring City" (and the Surface series overall) is one of the best games I've played. I highly recommend it without reservations. And if you don't already have "Mystery of Another World" and "The Noise She Couldn't Make", go buy those too. Seriously. You'll thank me. I would buy a Surface game without even playing the demo. February 8, 2013
Faultless and engaging I don't know what it is about the Surface games, but they manage to get it SO right. This third one is no exception. It has a genuinely intriguing storyline, well crafted and unique. Surface is the new benchmark for me against which I will judge all games. Sadly, I doubt many will match them. The storyline is definitely the main draw for this game, but all other aspects are top notch, too. It's heavier on the adventure side than HOS, which suits me. The HOS are well interspersed in the game and you visit each one only once (if I remember correctly). There is an interactive element to the HOS - you often have to leave them and return later when you've found a relevant inventory item. This makes them seem more part of the story. Puzzles are about right for level of challenge. There's a decent range of difficulty. I like the way the game is arranged into chapters, each with its own group of locations available and its own map (which is navigable) so you don't get bored of having to revisit the same locations over and over or backtracking. Good use is made of cutscenes and this adds to the interest of the story and bridges the chapters well. There's a little "philanthropy" section within the game, related to collecting flowers in each scene. Not much point to it, but a nice little touch, showing that the creators of this game really care about making a quality product. At the moment, only the CE is available. The bonus chapter isn't essential to the story, but it is certainly worth getting the CE if there's the option of this or SE. This is one of those games you don't want to end. I can't think of anything to criticise. February 2, 2013
Love the Surface Games! Soaring is the third in the Surface series of games and each one is different and not a prerequisite to the others. This is the latest and the best. The story is unique -- winged people living on an island in the sky! The hero is the inventor's brother who is pretty handy himself with fixing things and saving the day. The graphics are beautiful -- each scene is unique and well designed. There is even an interactive map to use to get around. The hint button tells you what to do next, so you don't need the strategy guide. However, the bonus level in the CE is worth the price. It extends the story and satisfies the need for a great ending. The puzzles are clever and not too hard and the HOGs are also interactive and require items from the inventory to complete. Altogether a most satisfying experience! February 1, 2013
A MUST BUY I rarely write reviews ,but I had to write one for this game. Just BUY IT .The game is fantastic January 31, 2013
FantasticGame This is one of the best games i have played so far, i have only played the trial version, but am downloading the full version as we speak. graphics are great almost real and the game play is brilliant, the trial games are not too difficult, but difficult enough to keep me interested. cant wait to play the rest of the game, this is a definite one to buy. love it and well worth the money January 30, 2013
Restored my faith in these games! Firstly I have to say I had become somewhat bored with these sorts of games all being repetitious - but this one rescued me from the depths of ennui. Lovely graphics, good cut-scenes, voice-overs well done. Hidden object games interactive with inventory, and some unique puzzles - although way too easy, lacking any challenge at all. A few minor grammar (eg. a broken leg that you need to "fixate"), and item errors, but not enough to even be noticeable. Achievements to earn (even if some of them went missing), and bonus flowers to collect. But you don't just collect them, you then can use them as currency to restore scenes in a separate section to the main game - what a great idea! Storyline was good, although not edge of your seat action. Game length was reasonable. Bonus chapter followed on from main game but wasn't essential to the main story. The bonus chapter was a good length and every bit as well done as the main game. CE or SE? - I'd say definitely worth the CE price. January 27, 2013
The Soaring City is an exceptional game. For those who value well-done characters and great adventure above all in a HOPA, you'll find both in abundance in this game. From the compelling intro (don't let the pixelation distract you from this wonderful opener) to the bonus chapter wrap, The Soaring City delivers a fantastic ride. The characters are portrayed not just realistically but with a very moving empathy as well, and the primary figures are given excellent backstories -- something not often found in HOPA's, in my experience, but quite typical for Elephant Games (e.g., Mystery Trackers: Raincliff) and the Surface series in particular. Action, excitement, and tense moments drive the story throughout, providing great entertainment for those who look first for those qualities in their gaming. Key plot events, cool FX, well-done character development, and a good variety of puzzles plus creative iHOS screens are deftly woven to form a top-notch game experience. I made frequent use of the hint button for this first playing just so I could quickly find out what happens. Next time I play -- and this game has *lots* of replay potential -- I'll take more time to appreciate all the fine details the Surface team supplied so liberally and so skillfully. Also, I'm guessing the majority of players will find a number of puzzles to be puzzling enough to merit working on them for a good long while. Some of the early ones can be a bit too easy; patience.... ;) What I also like: The heavy orientation toward mechanics in both the "seek, find, and use" component of the game, and in the puzzles as well, can be a bit intimidating at first for not-so-adept people like me. But, a sense of adventure and curiosity about the unfamiliar can eventually turn the hard parts into a major plus: "Hey, I can do that!!" Brain-training in its most fun form. :) I really, really love the Art Deco feel, from the biplanes and flying helmets to the type font. Completely circa-1920 costumes would've been a nice touch. Bonus content: The extra gameplay really does make the CE worth buying. It's a good, satisfying length, and you encounter some pretty nifty stuff. The wrap is uplifting. (2) The extra videos are fun. Ivanhoe x 2 and the original inhabitant were very entertaining. And it was great to get to see quite a few (?) members of the Surface team. :) 3) Wallpapers: Hate to have to say so, but I felt this collection was on the "meh" side. If unauthorized circulation of some outstanding images is a concern, though, I could understand that... *sighs* What I didn't like: Well... Good visuals are really important to me. I did find plenty of them, and saw a number of screens where I just had to sit back and take it all in before doing anything. Still, the aforementioned pixelation at the beginning puts a serious damper, IMO, on the really well-done prologue. That's the only reason I gave four rather than five stars for visual quality. According to another recent review, some folks are having tech issues with this game. I had only one: a puzzle screen froze, and my pc forced me to log off. But that cleared up the glitch; I didn't even have to reboot. The problem didn't come up again. The Philanthropy feature is not only fun, but gives inspiration as well when making use of all flowers collected. In this area, life would do well to imitate art. In sum, The Soaring City has a fine blend of the sci-fi that was a major feature of Surface: Mystery of Another World, plus the incredibly insightful and empathetic Earth-grounded storyline of Surface: The Noise She Couldn't Make. All the beauty and wonder of the Surface series continues in this third installment. As such, The Soaring City should hold much appeal for HOPA players with highly varied tastes. I highly recommend checking it out. -- This is only the second game I've felt strongly enough to write about.... Personal: Thanks so much to Elephant for their brilliant and loving labors, and to BFG for its many contributions -- promos, reviews, forums, everything. You've all helped me bring some wonderful, mind-stretching, soul-searching experiences into my life. Seriously, sincerely. Best regards. January 27, 2013
51-60 of 134 Reviews <<prev 45678...14next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Surface: The Soaring City Collector's Edition

Your brother is kidnapped during an air show. Search for him in a beautiful world where the sky is as wide as your imagination.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.