Bookmark

Spirits of Mystery: The Dark Minotaur

Full version game
(581.43 MB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

In the dark of night, an elusive figure breaks in to the royal menagerie and steals four magic animals, your childhood companions and dearest friends. It is up to you to save them! Take the journey to discover more about the Dark Minotaur who threatens the magical world. Can you save them in time?

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 649 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Fantasy Violence
  • Mild Blood
Spirits of Mystery: The Dark Minotaur

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Spirits of Mystery: The Dark Minotaur

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Spirits of Mystery: The Dark Minotaur 4.2 5 61 61
Not my favorite game I was expecting more from this game when I read some of the reviews. I have to agree more with the others who gave this game a 3 or less. I would have liked to have had a map, and I didn't like the fact that when I needed to know where I should go next it would only tell me there was nothing to do in that place. After some of the great games I have played before this one, well, this one was such a disappointment. I did enjoy a couple of the hidden object games which were different than I have played before...those were fun. I am glad I didn't spend money on this one...only a free code. I liked the animals...but they weren't in it enough.....they were given such a small part, I thought! This is my thoughts and many may still enjoy this game...I also thought it to be short compared to the others I have played lately. I was done with this in 2 days...and that wasn't even playing just this game. So, that is TOO short of a game for me! February 2, 2013
nothing exciting Aside from being brighter and more colorful than most this is a very standard HOPA. Seems as though we've played it before if we've played any of the previous ones in the series. I found the mini games ridiculously easy and the whole game had very little challenge. It did have the addition of an invisibility potion but that really did not add much. Too bad because that's a twist that the developers could do a lot with it seems. But other than you could get by the guards at the castle it did not add a lot of drama. The story was overly familiar and the ending yawn worthy. There's a witch that wants to take over the Kingdom. Her accomplice is apparently the palace hunter?? I did have a few odd moments.. I was figuring out a maze and the next minute I was in a room with the two villans. Not sure how that happened. Nothing new here but it's a bright, colorful rather standard game that's very similar to the ones that came before it. Glad I didn't buy the CE this time. January 30, 2013
Spirits of Mystery not as good as other spirit of mystery games. Got bored at times and felt there was not clear path or purpose. January 26, 2013
Disappointing and Another Poor Ending! I like games that have a sweeter factor than most HO's so I thought I would enjoy this game. I was entertained in a casual, relaxed way, but I expected more use of the lovely animals and the fearsome Minotaur. It's like the story line got forgotten. Sigh, I hate boring, nothing happens endings. No fanfare that the evil was expelled and the animals safely back home? No celebration? I'm celebrating that I didn't pay too much for this game and will be having a bit of fanfare when I delete this game from my computer. Once was quite enough to play this one. I'll recommend this game as a once play if you have nothing better to do. December 25, 2013
Odd story distracts from gameplay This game probably isn't that bad, but I couldn't spring for it based on the demo. Apparently I'm playing a princess who starts out in her own bedroom, where she needs to collect items and keys to unlock her own jewelry box. Why don't I know where things are in my own room? The princess is quite the animal lover and when her private zoo is looted, she's determined to go rescue her animal friends herself. But an early puzzle involves freeing a koi fish from a fishing net... by hooking the fish with a fishing pole! If the princess is such an animal lover, why is she making her beloved koi fish swallow a barbed hook? To add insult to injury, the character has a scoop net, which she puts the fish in after hooking him, supposedly so that she won't 'hurt him' while she untangles him from the fishing net. Are the developers aware that a hook through the lip hurts? And then there was an evil witch and a prophecy that I'd be the one to defeat her. Wait, I thought I was looking for my lost pets? I guess that didn't seem dramatic enough, so instead it's a different cliche. The rest wasn't bad, just very rote and formulaic, and it seemed like not much thought went into the story. The art is good, the puzzles are typical for this type of game. I just felt the early weirdness in the story probably didn't bode well, and the other elements weren't enough to overcome my exasperation with the story. September 8, 2013
Could have been fun without glitches I spent more than half the game struggling with the sticky cursor. I found a solution in the Big Fish forum, but the cursor was still a major problem in some areas. Pros: Quick progress. I moved through the game at a decent pace. Lightly to moderately challenging puzzles -- of course, this would be a con if you're looking for greater challenge. I liked the mix of various types of puzzles and especially the hidden object scenes where you use objects to solve problems. You are kept in the general area where you need to be. This reduces unnecessary running around. However at times this is a negative because the game can feel restrictive. I like the illustration style and the variety of scenes. The hidden object scenes are clear. Critters. I liked all of the animals I encountered or rescued. (Corny, I know. :-)) Cons: Sticky cursor. This would have been a deal-breaker if I'd known about it before getting the game. Unhelpful hints. One hint was that I should be someplace else. How about showing me where?! I moved to the room where I suspected I needed to do something, asked for another hint and was told to use an object I didn't have yet. How about telling me what the actual next step is?! I had to use a walkthrough to find out. The solution was infuriatingly counterintuitive. After finding knives, pickaxes, and shovels, any of which would have done the job just fine, it made no sense why I had to use the object the developer wanted me to. At times like that, I felt manipulated, arbitrarily forced to do what the developer wanted when they wanted. The font for hidden objects had difficult-to-read characters. I read "Bat" as "Bal" and figured it was a poor translation for ball or balloon. I never could read it and had to use a hint to find the object, which I had actually noticed before and would have found had I been able to read the word. Later when i read "Lorgnelle," I knew that it had to be "Lorgnette." The music is terrible, alternating between an inappropriate symphonic snooze-fest and over-the-top melodramatic blasts. The pacing was off. Halfway through, the game is essentially over. The minotaur's maze is trivial (although I like the dreamscapy way you navigate it), and the encounter with the minotaur is brief and anticlimactic. But then the game keeps on going. The ending is abrupt and unsatisfying. I understand you want to keep a bad guy around for the sequel but there should be a real showdown, not just "so long, sucka!" Summary: Despite all the negatives, I actually enjoyed much of the game. It's hard to rate it because the technical problems -- which should never have been in a final release but could have at least been fixed in an update -- detract so much from the experience. I think I would have rated this 3.5 stars if the mouse had worked and the music had been better. Give the demo a good try before you buy. February 18, 2014
Disappointing This game looked as if it was going to be more interesting than it turned out to be. It was a challenge to work out what you were supposed to do next but what minigames it had were far too easy and I found the game way too short. I only took as long as I did because of running around to find out what to do next and as there was no map (with shortcuts) this involved a lot of going through scenes that were no longer important. It also involved one of my pet hates - HOS which are used twice but with no indication that you need to revisit them unless you come across them as you are running around trying to figure out what to do next. February 16, 2013
Bad Game The story starts out like it will be interesting - find the missing animals. But, turns out, they have little to do with the plot. In fact, there really isn't a coherent plot although an attempt is made. Game play is poorly designed. Weird use of objects; bad and easy puzzles; HOS that are all IA and some that are silhouettes and have puzzles within them; no map; HINT button not helpful. Not much fun to play, really. Artwork is the standard for this developer and is OK. The music is the same they use in all their games, and is really atrocious. I wonder if they have tried ITunes? Others seemed to like the game, so I might have missed something. That would be easy to do with this boring, sleep-inducing game. April 12, 2013
IN A WORD.... BORING! Slow, too easy and just plain painful to play. Nothing going on, very single-dimensional. I don't recommend...didn't get past the trial. I kept thinking the pace would pickup but it never did. Sorry, BFG....I enjoy game play, but this one is not for me! January 31, 2013
Worse than the previous The graphics are a bit blurry even though colorful but it's a split story and there's really little backtracking, differently from the previous one. Sparkles even in normal mode.Quite deceiving in my opinion. February 2, 2014
51-60 of 61 Reviews <<prev 34567next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Spirits of Mystery: The Dark Minotaur

Find out who stole your magic animals, and reveal the secret of the Dark Minotaur.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.