Bookmark

Nightmare Adventures: The Turning Thorn

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Two weeks after the events of Nightmare Adventures: The Witch's Prison, Kiera Vale finds herself drawn back into a web of occult sciences, mysterious dark entities, and government secrets -- woven by the agency known as A.R.C.A.N.E.. Kiera is happy to receive the call, but soon after her arrival finds that things are not at all how she remembers them to be. What are these agents hiding, and why didn't they tell her the whole story? What is the true nature of the Blackwater "Witch"? Why is Dr. Thorn's young daughter locked up in a containment cell? From the top secret labs in the depths of A.R.C.A.N.E.'s headquarters to the distant spires of alien worlds, Ms. Vale will seek answers, solve cryptic puzzles, banish evil otherdimensional creatures, and perhaps even make a new friend over a game of Piggy Princess along the way, in Nightmare Adventures: The Turning Thorn.

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 392 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Nightmare Adventures: The Turning Thorn

NEW299

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Nightmare Adventures: The Turning Thorn

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Nightmare Adventures: The Turning Thorn 3.7 5 87 87
REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME I beta tested this game 3 years ago and did not like it because I thought it too technical and too difficult. Shows what a rookie I was back then. Apparently, I have come on in leaps and bound, because it is not TOO difficult, just difficult. It is a PA only so no HOS, and the puzzles need you to be fired up with the old grey matter raring to go. At first they seem to make no sense, but they are actually quite straightforward. You have all the clues and codes you need in your PDA and everything is logical. The story is great and the graphics are neat, once you get into the Research Lab. The navigation is well done, no lagging. The hint button is directional and fast to reload. I encountered no glitches and it played smoothly all the way. You will have to wait a little longer than you might wish to for the skip button. There is a huge amount of reading matter in this game, if you want to follow the story closely and I suggest you do because it is really interesting and well told. The cut scenes have the voice of the main character but when interacting with other characters, silence, just text. The one thing that I did not like was that almost everything in a location gets a cursor eye, but not everything that gets an eye is interactive. Seems like the Devs just want us to admire their handiwork, sometimes. Also after solving a puzzle or finding an item, the areas do not close down. You have to back out yourself and the eye is still there. Took me a while to realize I had done everything and should leave. I had the music volume up at the highest, but it was still very low. No wide screen and the SG does not work, so I am guessing this was originally created to be a CE. At 7 hrs long, it could well have passed for one. It is a very cool game. Very technical, with an occult twist. The ending definitely indicates another in the pipeline. Hopefully it will not take another 3 years to get here. I reckon the Devs have been raking in the cash from this on their own site and once the momentum ran out there, handed it to BF for do a little more raking. Have to keep an eye on that site. Well done, to these Devs. Definitely a cut or three above the usual fluff games in this genre. January 28, 2013
A game filled with humor and intrigue: don't pass this one by First of all, before playing this game, I recommend going back and playing the first Nightmare Adventures about Blackwater Asylum. It is not absolutely necessary as this game has cleverly inserted a journal to find that summarizes the first game for you; however, it does help to have all the information fresh in your mind for this sequel. What is absolutely important to note is that when, during the tutorial, they tell you to click on EVERYTHING, they mean it. This is by far my favorite part of the game. The character you are playing as is incredibly funny and witty, and has many things to say about random objects that you click on-so click often on the same object. In line with this is the use of inventory items. They are creative about it and use humorous dialogue specific to the item you are using. For instance, I used a fishhook on an unconscious person's face and dialog popped up that told me the poor woman was not a bass fish! I purposely try to use the wrong inventory items just to read the reactions! It's worth a laugh every time. There are also many files/letters/notes to read, if you so choose. It helps with the back-story and adds additional details to the current story. Having played both games back to back, I can honestly state that the developers were careful-there are no gaps in the plot-the games flow seamlessly. It's these types of attention to detail that make the Nightmare Adventure series stand out from the rest. The graphics in this game are fantastic. The witch is incredibly frightening: hands down one of the creepiest creatures I've come across in an Adventure game.This game has much exploring to do and fully exploring your environment (clicking on everything) is both enjoyable and adds length to the game. I am an advanced player, yet I've been playing for a good 4+ hours now and I have a feeling I have a long way to go still. Take into account that I have been reading everything and taking my time exploring. I can't say enough good things about this series. Kudos to the developers. Please keep the sense of humor in future games and the penalty-free clicking with witty dialogue. It balances out the game quite well. Fear, laughter, mystery...all weave together to create a fantastic 5 star game. Don't pass this one up! January 31, 2013
Give your brain a workout game! I remembered in detail playing the first one, Witch's Prison, once I started on this sequel and it all came flooding back. I remember I loved that one and I also loved this one. For an SE, it is a long, absorbing game with (for me, at least) an interesting storyline and some great puzzles that actually make you use your brain. The ending ensures that there will be a third. It should be noted that this game is not listed as a Hidden Object Game, but as an Adventure game. It is, in fact, Adventure Lite/Puzzles. There is only one hidden object scene which appears more as tongue-in-cheek humour rather than anything else. Gamers who love their hidden object scenes will be disappointed. The puzzles are challenging, on the whole. Some more so than others. The humour throughout was much appreciated, thank you developers. If you wish to give your brain a workout (all in about 7 to 8 hours), then I'd thoroughly recommend it. This is not a 'hold-you-by-the-hand' walk in the park which, for me, made a very nice change from the norm. February 1, 2013
excellent adventure game! based on the demo, which i loved and my love for the first nightmare adventures, i bought this game! i won't be playing the rest of the game for a few days as i have decided to first replay the witch's prison game to jog my memory... and, to enjoy the thrill of a pure adventure game with no HOSs! i truly wish that the people giving low star ratings, based only on the lack of HOSs, would realize that this game is not *supposed* to have HOSs! it is listed, correctly, as an adventure game, not a HOG or HOPA. please, devs, you have done a GREAT job and i want MORE of this type of adventure game. this game is NOT dumbed-down, it does not hold my hand or lead me around by the nose. i appreciate the more difficult puzzles and the fact that the game makes me think! i have tired of games which, even on the hardest mode, give you SO many "hints" and "clues". i use quotes for those words because they are not really hints or clues, they are outright TELLING you what to use where, or what is required to accomplish whatever. the only suggestion i would make for improvement would be an upgrade of the graphics quality. i have become very spoiled by the high quality graphics of many games nowadays, and would love to see you take that step forward as well. i cut my gaming teeth on myst and its sequel, riven (astounding graphics for that time!) and it looks like syberia is in my future... all pure adventure games with NO clues or hints at all! so, i say to you, devs, BRAVO to you for creating a series of games for those of us who LIKE to think! i hear rumors of a third in this series and, if it lives up to the challenge and storyline of these first two, it will be an immediate buy for me! January 30, 2013
Quite a challenging adventure game Review on completed game: Good story, return to ARCANE, as Kiera discovers more about her mysterious past that connects her to witchcraft. No HOS VOS Good characters Journal (PDA) Puzzles, very hard, use camera shots as clues. Long skip button Enjoyable, but I needed to use the walk thru and hints quite a bit. Spoiler: this game has a cliff hanger Good length: 5.25 hours casual January 29, 2013
Nightmare Adventures: The Turning Thorn Nice graphics, crisp and colorful. - Many many "strange" places to explore. - Many useful objects to be collected and used. - Has a user friendly journal and map. - During the game you will taking pictures, which help in mini games. - New mini games, and with a good level of challenge. January 26, 2013
More Like This Please! Ok, this is primarily a puzzle game. The difficulty level was about right for me....challenging yet they didn't feel impossible. There was subtle humor built into the story also when you clicked incorrectly and there was also a friendly jab at other game adventure game styles. All in all, this was a SE game that was every bit as good as any of the CE games that I've played. (OK, I don't care about awards and bonus chapters myself) Give it try! January 31, 2013
Another Nightmare Adventure to Love! This is the 2nd Nightmare Adventure game, and this one out does the first! First of all, the graphics and art have improved tremendously. The cut scenes are much improved and are more realistic with great voice overs. People should be aware that this is not a hidden object game though. If you are looking for HOG's then this isn't the game for you. But there are objects to find to aid in your quest/adventure and tricky puzzles to solve. My only criticism is that the puzzles need more directions or instructions. It isn't always obvious what needs to be done and the puzzle instructions offered are a little vague. But this is a minor issue. There are lots of scenes to explore and a plot with lots of twists and turns. I hope to see more game from the dev in the future. March 4, 2013
Thank you, Shawn and Tim! I have waited for this sequel ever since I finished The Witches Prison, which I totally loved, so my expectiations were very high. At first I experienced some difficulty getting the game to run as it should, but after some excellent service from CS and a little patience on my part, the fix came on Feb. 1 and after that the game purred like a pussycat. It ran fullscreen on my 24" monitor (running Windows 8), so I don't understand some fishies complaining it not running fullscreen. The game is a real challenge, something we don't see so much these days in casual gaming. The puzzles were fun, sometimes very hard, but I didn't skip one single puzzle. Hang in there, it can be done! As for the storyline: absolutely L O V E D it! Very nice twist at the end, although I kinda saw it coming .... All in all, a very long awaited and very succesful sequel. I'm just a tiny bit surprised it didn't come as a CE, but who's complaining, right? Thank you so much, Shawn and Tim, for your hard work to bring us this beautiful game. I'm just hoping it will not take as long for part 3. Which should be coming. Hence the twist, right? Please? February 9, 2013
Great Game.. This game is awesome, i loved everything about this game the Graphics was clear and the sounds was a plus..Thx DEV's once again for all your time and hard work in this game and thx always BF.. January 26, 2013
11-20 of 87 Reviews <<prev 2345...9next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Nightmare Adventures: The Turning Thorn

What dark and powerful secrets are hidden within the A.R.C.A.N.E. agency's old research base? Kiera Vale returns to find out.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.