Bookmark

Nightmare Adventures: The Turning Thorn

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Two weeks after the events of Nightmare Adventures: The Witch's Prison, Kiera Vale finds herself drawn back into a web of occult sciences, mysterious dark entities, and government secrets -- woven by the agency known as A.R.C.A.N.E.. Kiera is happy to receive the call, but soon after her arrival finds that things are not at all how she remembers them to be. What are these agents hiding, and why didn't they tell her the whole story? What is the true nature of the Blackwater "Witch"? Why is Dr. Thorn's young daughter locked up in a containment cell? From the top secret labs in the depths of A.R.C.A.N.E.'s headquarters to the distant spires of alien worlds, Ms. Vale will seek answers, solve cryptic puzzles, banish evil otherdimensional creatures, and perhaps even make a new friend over a game of Piggy Princess along the way, in Nightmare Adventures: The Turning Thorn.

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 392 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Nightmare Adventures: The Turning Thorn

NEW299

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Nightmare Adventures: The Turning Thorn

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Nightmare Adventures: The Turning Thorn 3.7 5 87 87
no hidden object scenes Can I just say that again, because no hidden object scenes seems rare these days. I like this and the one before it, The Witch's Prison, for the puzzles, the atmosphere, and the story. No objections to the music or the style, though it took a little time to get used to the backing out of scenes/popups at first. October 15, 2013
Quite the challenge I love games which feel kinda like IQ tests. A lot of figuring out the pattern, looking closely at everything in every room lest you miss something. I am really liking this game! September 29, 2013
A great sequel to The Witches' Prison I really enjoyed the first one and Im even more blown away with this one. I highly enjoyed the visual quality for this game. It definitely gave you a feeling of being in it. I really enjoyed the storyline and how much of a different direction it went than I expected. This series is by far the best SE games I've played. June 1, 2013
Play this if you like a challenge! This game makes you think. If you love to be challenged, I highly recommend that you play this one. It was so refreshing from repetitive HOG's. The story line is engaging and I look forward to the next in the series. May 28, 2013
A Unique Challenge If you love puzzles, you'll love this game. I was glad to see it was not just a rehash of other games, and required the player to use logic and thinking to progress...this was not a 'find the crowbar' or 'insert the proper shape' kind of game, it was challenging, thoughtful and snarky and sarcastic to boot! May 5, 2013
If your'e Good at Chess... No junk pile hidden object scenes. You find needed objects in locations and after completing puzzles. Good graphics. The game play isn't padded with lots of long animated cut scenes, collectibles or achievements. Old fashioned type of adventure game (Myst,Riven -> lite). Not like newer adventure games (The Longest Journey) I consider basically dialogue driven interactive movies. You need to turn up the volume on your computer to hear it well. I'm not interested in music, but the audio in the game fits well. So far no map is needed since objects and puzzles are grouped in only a few scenes at a time. No walking long distances. The theme is rather dark. But, I haven't encountered any startling instances. Lots of reading to further the story line. Skip Button and Hints for puzzles. Lots of puzzles to solve to attain necessary objects required to continue. Puzzles run the gamut from easy to moderate depending on you abilities at games like chess. By that I mean, many puzzles need planning steps ahead and just plain figuring out what is required to solve it. There is a strategy guide available to purchase if necessary. I am well into the game and have managed to get by without any guide. The Hint button in the game works with puzzles and can help without solving the puzzle for you. But it's much more fun to be patient and figure out what to do yourself without using the Hints. I enjoy a game with a bit of a challenge and one I can take my time with. I do find myself taking many breaks unlike some games where I tend to rush through them. I don't know if that would be considered a negative or positive. I consider this one of the better BF games I've played because of the level of thought required. April 7, 2013
science and magic good story has always kept great interest as a good book, the graphics will be perfect for this game, puzzel are some difficult and others more simple just to get a little breath, I hope there is a sequel further improved in the technical aspects and a few suggestions more. March 14, 2013
Very good adventure game. Unlock the secrets of the mysterious organization ARCANE! Will Dr Thorn be able to find a cure for his daughter Abigail? - Nice graphics, crisp and colorful. - Many many "strange" places to explore. - Many useful objects to be collected and used. - Has journal and map. - During the game you will taking pictures, which help in mini games. - New mini games, and with a good level of challenge. - The only negative is that it has too much coming and going. A game without HOS, just adventure and provides a lot of interest and entertainment. January 26, 2013
CHALLENGING LONG DARK ADVENTURE GAME (1 HOS) REVIEW OF FINISHED GAME I can?t remember much of the first game which I played and I recommend you play first but it?s not vital as there is a recap in a journal by the bed giving you a recap and there is a ?story? button; which was enough for me to vaguely remember the plot. I?m not going to give a comparison review as I don?t remember that much except that I really enjoyed it but I did think I preferred the adventure side better in the first game. It leaves of from the first game and the ending in this game ensures there will be another game in this series. I actually don?t like that type of ending and I don?t like the dark witches or that side of the plot at all but I play this series as I love the puzzles and gameplay. This is a very dark game, one of the darkest here at big fish, but thankfully the scenes with the witches etc aren?t in every scene or chapter. While I don?t like that side of the story, the overall story is very well done, with a lot of journal notes as well as cutscenes, so do read everything. This overall is a very challenging game so if you usually play casual on a HOPA and like a bit easier games then I wouldn?t recommend this for you. There is no choice of modes to play but there is a skip and hint button and I thought both seem to charge quickly. There is a choice of a tutorial at the beginning. While the beginning of the game may even seem easy or straightforward, this game is hard for the average person. There is no transporter map but as each chapter is quite contained you aren't hitting the back button for long periods of time but there are quite a few 4 or 5s in there. It would be nice to have one. The hint button is a "shows you if there is something you missed in a scene" type. I?d class this as a 60/40 puzzle ratio to adventure game if you count the amount of time doing puzzles. Of course this ratio will change from person to person but I seem to have spent a huge amount of time doing puzzles. The ratio of hardness of a HOPA of puzzles is switched here as most puzzles were hard with only a few about medium and only a couple were easy and even then not that easy. There were a couple of very hard puzzles in there but I think most would be able to work them out (as only those who like more of a challenge will buy this game.) But don?t despair if you don?t like that as I thought how they technically did the puzzles was brilliant as there was a multi-layer help system. The hint button turned into a puzzle info button during puzzles giving you an over-view if you want it. On a lot of puzzles you either clicked on the photo or story button to give you a clue sometimes or the actual objective/what the puzzle should end up looking like or even the solution. I loved this as you can get more of a challenge if needed but by using all of these ?hints? most of the puzzles although took me a while (most were 5 mins+) were comfortably solvable. Sometimes when I got round to hitting the hint button or the buttons on the left hand side, they were easier than I thought! And if you are really stumped there is a skip button or a walkthrough. When you view each puzzle individually I don?t think many were real stompers but when put all of them together and some within a short period of time, that?s what made the game hard for me. I don?t know if the gameplay itself from the middle to the end was actually hard, as I thought at the beginning it was very straightforward but because I played this game through in one sitting and must have expended my brain cells on the puzzles, the gameplay seemed to get harder! The puzzles even ones that are well known are so different that it takes a while in a puzzle to realise the goal sometimes. Some are so well thought out and actually not hard at all once you realise the goal and that?s clever. Even once it was making fun of hard puzzles - if anyone worked out the ?integrate with respect to g? puzzle well done as I find it hard to count 2 + 2, I didn?t do it, but for the average person they weren?t supposed to and you might appreciate the humour when you come to it. I usually hit the windows key in games and go out to record all numbers for reviews but this game is very slow in returning in and would take me about 30 secs to get back in, so be aware of that if you look at walkthroughs. So my numbers for puzzles (has a skip button) are so far out and I mean really roughly there were about 38 puzzles. Quite a few interactions didn?t have any skip buttons. There is one list HOS (and I think it?s the same in the first game how it?s done but not sure) and for people who hate HOS, even you I think will appreciate the humour of how it?s done. I thought that whole bit was so funny as I have just recently finished a game like that. There is a lot of humour throughout this game, and as this game is aimed at those who like a challenge I thought some of the sarcastic comments if you were trying something wrong were really funny. The not so good ? Reviews aren?t for recording tech issues as the guidelines says but will mention the first chapter was a bit buggy and once when I entered the game again all the inventory went white. I played through it all which is why I am recommending it but try it first. I will say that if ever a game was crying out for unlockable puzzles after the game, this one is. As there were puzzles I didn?t want to do at the time but knew if I didn?t do it, I couldn?t replay them later. There are voiceovers sometimes in the game, the only exception is the small boxes cutscenes which I think is weird. The graphics look really dated as if the game had been made years ago but were awaiting all the puzzles to slot into the game, as those puzzles most have taken ages to work out and do. I did not like the graphics but then again I thought it looked the same as in some recent games and some people were raving about the graphics, so it depends on your taste. I didn?t like them but the gameplay and difference of the game and the puzzles kept me engaged. Time ?8-9hrs. It was over 8hr could have been over 9hrs, but it depends on how quick you are with puzzles. Some types I?m not that quick at. I?m just giving my time, some may finish in 5 others over 10hrs etc. I do think that even if you skip quite a few puzzles it is quite long. If the graphics were better, and had unlockable puzzles I?d have no problem giving this 5 stars especially for a straight SE. January 26, 2013
Adventure Game This review is based on playing the demo. First thing I liked is that in Options you can choose the brightness level of the game. Thank you Developers for listening. The game gets off to a slow start. Reading everything helps understand the previous chapters of Ms. Vail's interaction with ARCANE, but I don't believe you NEED it to play the game itself. Just gives you background from the earlier game. The story proceeds slowly in the demo, building up info to use as you move forward without giving away the farm...works to draw you in. I like that...keeps me guessing and wanting to play more of the game. So far this is mostly a figure out what you do next game with puzzles thrown in to get you from one level of play to the next. As an Old School game player (think Sierra and Lucas games) I don't mind that you have to look around to figure out what happens next. There's a bit of back and forth, but again as an old school adventure gamer I'm used to that and it's not bothersome to me. The puzzles are not too hard/not too easy. I couldn't always make it do what I knew it should, but that's my bane and in the demo I don't want to waste my play time trying to make it work. I save that for when I've purchased the game and play at my own speed. The hint/skip button comes in very handy if you just can't figure it out. It recharges quickly to boot. Usually play with the sound off, but decided to turn it on for this game. Background effects seemed appropriate for the mood being set. The music in the demo was appropriate, sparse and unobtrusive to me...I like that. The voice acting was OK, but based on the demo I'm not sure the actors were sure of the tone they should set. I did like that the character's mouths did NOT move. Short of using live actors it's a waste of animation in my book. I liked the graphics...smooth and moody to the game. But, I'm an easy player...even cartoony games don't bother me if the gameplay is good. At any rate they seem standard for games these days and I have no complaints about any uneven switches between styles. What I did find interesting is the subtle humor interspersed if you click several times in the same area. Gave it more of that old time adventure game feel (think Space Quest and the "Two Guys from Andromeda" design team.) The hour went buy quickly and I like this game well enough to purchase it to see where the story goes. It's a bonus buy weekend so why not. All games are subject to the mood of the player. I liked this game and think you should at least give it a demo and make up your own mind. January 26, 2013
31-40 of 87 Reviews <<prev 23456...9next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Nightmare Adventures: The Turning Thorn

What dark and powerful secrets are hidden within the A.R.C.A.N.E. agency's old research base? Kiera Vale returns to find out.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.