Bookmark

Otherworld: Omens of Summer Collector's Edition

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Join Fiona, a young girl born with magic, as she stops dark creatures in this hidden-object puzzle adventure. There is a magical world hidden beneath our own -- and only you can see it! Can you stop the Shade and his minions from casting our world into darkness?

With the help of Ms. Thomas, Fiona's schoolteacher, find magical artifacts that will stop the Shade for good. Solve tricky puzzles and explore fantastic landscapes. Choose your own path and decide which location to visit first. Test your wits in a battle between good and evil in Otherworld: Omens of Summer.

WARNING: This game contains mature content which may not be suitable for all audiences.

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus gameplay
  • Replayable mini-games
  • Challenging achievements
  • Smart strategy guide
  • Wallpaper and concept art
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6/10.5
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 2048 MB
  • Hard Drive: 653 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Otherworld: Omens of Summer Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Otherworld: Omens of Summer Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Otherworld: Omens of Summer Collector's Edition 4.2 5 125 125
Disappointment in this second title of the series My review is based on the CE game. Well, what can I say? I really liked the first title in this series (Shadows of Spring) and wanted to play the next one so much that I bought the Collector's Edition (something I almost never do.) The game started out as a little confusing and only got more so from there. If you play in casual mode, as I usually do, you may feel a bit lost in this game. The story line, which could have been really interesting if it was presented better, is not really clear for most of the game, beyond the basics that you're helping a child escape from the terrible "dark fay." The problem I found throughout this game was a lack of any information on what was expected to solve the puzzles and how, generally, to proceed. The only way I got through this game was a heavy reliance on the strategy guide that came with the CE. There were maybe 4-5 puzzles that I just never understood and so I relied on trying to make my screen look just like the screen shots in the guide or, in 2 cases, hitting that old friend the "skip" button. Really, I think something's wrong when between the in-game hints and the strategy guide, you still can't figure out what to do to solve a puzzle. I mean - I'm not the world's best gamer but I'm not an idiot either. When I *could* understand things, the game was very enjoyable. The art for both characters and backgrounds was really lovely to look at. There is also a "find the tiny fairy" challenge (in just about every page). That's the kind of thing I really like, though I know that other reviewers have expressed a great dislike for. So, in summary, if you aren't a whiz at picking up on puzzle clues, make sure you have the strategy guide or a good walkthrough to avoid major frustration. (And by the way, there was a PG-14 warning on this game and for the life of me I could not find any scene or artwork that was even remotely "mature." Just saying.) February 5, 2013
Recommend, but Boomzap must fix its game mechanics! TITLE?Otherworld: Omens of Summer VERSION?Collector's Edition (full game plus bonus gameplay) DEVELOPER?Boomzap GENRE?Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure (fantasy) STORYLINE?After having saved Fiona, a young human girl born with magic, from the Shade, the evil spirit of eternal Winter, in "Spring of Shadows," it's time to set off on a new quest. "Omens of Summer" has you seeking out Fiona's teacher Ms. Thomas, who has journeyed far and wide in a search for a way to defeat the Shade permanently. Ms. Thomas has discovered the existence of three artifacts which are closely guarded by unfriendly, but not evil, fey beings. She's opened portals to their realms, and it's your task to retrieve these artifacts. The bonus chapter has you seeking old the oldest fey magician, who is in hiding from the Shade. It's not utterly necessary to the storyline, but is a bridge between this game and the next, which I assume will have "Autumn" in its title. GAMEPLAY? There are not a lot of HOS in this game, but there are a ton of interactive areas, puzzles, and mini-games. All are a mix of easy to challenging, familiar to new. INTERFACE?Your journal, at bottom left, records the ongoing story as well as clues you discover along the way. The hint system, transportation map, and strategy guide (which is in real time) are at bottom right. TECHNICAL?As with all Boomzap games, the game mechanics are lacking to the point that they interfere with the overall experience. First, I have my trackpad set at max sensitivity, and Boomzap games are not consistent in recognizing that for some reason. Clicking to travel or pick things up is not a problem, but whenever I'm zoomed in to assemble something, I have to actually click?and the game doesn't always recognize the click. Another annoying element of all Boomzap games is when assembling things (which there's always a lot of!), it always seems that you have to be on the exact right pixel before the game will accept that you've placed a piece correctly. And there are times when, if you inadvertently put something down in the wrong place, you can't pick it up again?at all. I've had to actually start the entire game over again because of this. These two issues caused me to reduce my rating of this game's fun factor. GRAPHICS?Boomzap's pastel and jewel-tone painterly style. CUTSCENES?Looped animation with voiceovers. Nothing special, but necessary to the storyline. MUSIC?Ethereal, then dramatic. Very Boomzap. SOUND?Appropriate and not annoying. VOICEOVER?Decently done, although Fiona's voice was a touch grating after awhile. SUMMARY?If Boomzap perfected its game mechanics, this would be a 5-star game for me. But it's impossible to overlook. The storyline is a nice take on a fantasy good versus evil tale, human child born with magic coming of age. I like the fact that the HOS are limited and necessary to the adventure rather than the gratuitous "junk piles everywhere," and I'm very glad to see the HO genre evolving. If the game mechanics issue doesn't bother or affect you, I highly recommend this game. February 8, 2013
Adventure Game, Not Hidden Object At first I wasn't sure if I liked this game, but by the end of the first hour, I was hooked, and bought it. So glad I did. Very task-oriented, intuitive game. You have to ask yourself, "What would work here? Where could I use this?" Although there is a dark story with sinister music, the constant flow of puzzles, objects to assemble, etc. dominate the game. Most of the puzzles are different- not the standard ones found in games today. Very good graphics. Well done vocals. Hint points to direction needed to travel outside of hidden object areas. Good strategy guide, although it isn't needed in Casual Mode. Journal has diary, tasks, and short descriptions of the main characters. Map that lets you teleport. There is a lantern in parts of the map to show active tasks. Although there are hidden objects in this game, they're usually not the standard type. Instead, you are asked to: "Find 12 ___" and you usually have to adjust/fix the scene to find some of the objects. In HOS with lists, you have to use the first object to adjust the scene so you can find the second object, which you then use, etc. Each scene has at least one collectable- a fairy. There can be other things you need to click on, as well. This dark fairy tale game was fun for me, even though I usually like the story to be prominent. The puzzles, mini-games and tasks were different enough, and good enough to keep my interest. February 3, 2013
Nice Game Interesting concept, different than a lot of HOG's. Really nice graphics and well placed hidden objects. Good game to play on a rainy day or evening. February 4, 2013
Bonus chapter part of main story...... Beautiful graphics, cut-scenes and voice-overs, and catered for wide screen, which made this adventure game pleasant to play. However, like the first game, I found it a tad too easy. Storyline was there but a little confusing at times, almost as if bits were missing from the game. I think the main thing to note, however, with this game, is that the bonus chapter is actually part of the main story, so without it the tale will be incomplete. Still, I recommend this game and consider the CE version worth the price. February 13, 2013
JUST LOVED THIS ONE! Love the storyline! ... lots of unique puzzles and a good balance of HOs ... really looking forward to a sequel ... graphics are wonderful ... music pleasant but not remarkable ... maybe that's good for gameplay ... love the use of runes and fey! ... please give me more! ... worth buying! ... February 7, 2013
Good game Even though this a sequel game, it has enough to continue on its own. The graphics were done well, and the hidden object/puzzles were well thought out February 4, 2013
Great and whimsica Even though this game is leaning on a dark side it is whimsical. It had puzzles I am not use to which was a nice surprise. The story was great. Graphics clear and good characters. Love Fiona's rhyme puzzle on things to find. Do not remember the first one so I am down loading that to play. All in all a very good game. February 3, 2013
A Great Game For Puzzle Lovers!! This is a real treat to play and boomzap have once again outdid themselves and gave us a beautifully done game. My reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is because without the bonus chapter, this game doesn't really have a satisfying ending if one were to purchase the standard edition. To me, even though this is a series and there are more after them, its unfair to people who do not buy the collectors edition. Without ruining anything, the bonus chapter isn't anything you actually need to know. It won't ruin the story if you don't get this version as you are basically just taking a break from the adventure you had. But what it does mean is that the ending is very abrupt like blink and miss it kind of thing and its disappointing due to the hours I put into this game and the love I had for it initially. Had this been the standard edition, I would have given it 3 stars because I hate when developers do this. I find it sneaky. BUT since I love these developers and this game I gave it 4 stars. There are way more puzzles than hidden object scenes. You get achievements for doing them and I believe there are 66 mini games and only 10 hidden object scenes and that is fine by me! The hidden object scenes were extremely interactive and quite enjoyable. The mini games were not the kind that make you want to smack your head in the wall. They were very puzzle like. Move this here to open this or move 1 switch and get an item and I enjoyed all of them. There was only ONE puzzle I skipped and it was because I didn't understand the directions. I probably should have looked in the strategy guide but I got trigger happy. There are also 60 collectibles that look like fairies and let me tell you, they blend in! I got 59 of these GRR When the game first starts, there are only 1 fairy per room but as you advance there can be anywhere from 1-4 fairies per room so make sure you look everywhere. The graphics/sound are incredible and so life like. Cutscenes were more just about the story with the woman navigating. There was a giant twist in this story which gave it depth that I haven't always seen in boom zap games. The plot became easier to follow in this game as opposed to the first one I thought. Overall, if you take away the abrupt ending, this is a very enjoyable, a puzzle solvers dream and worth every penny if you get the collector's edition. I definitely recommend this game. I also have no idea what the warning is about. I didn't feel like this game was for "mature audiences". I mean "the shade" is kind of creepy but unless I missed something, I am not seeing what all the hoopla would be with this game but then again I am pretty open minded. November 21, 2013
Disappointing and Frustrating Sequel I LOVE these devs games normally but I felt mostly irritated playing this game or enough of the time that I really wanted it to be over and then was annoyed that the sequel build up was so blatant that meant apparently every I did in this game was a total waste of time, which is most unsatisfying. My biggest complaint is the total lack of direction in the mini games...directions like put everything in the right place is useless if there is no indication what the right place might be. The villains are so ugly and there is no real charm or fun to the game, everything felt like a chore. They are capable of so much more. I will try the demo and think hard before I purchase the sequel especially as CE. March 31, 2013
81-90 of 125 Reviews <<prev 7891011...13next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Otherworld: Omens of Summer Collector's Edition

Dark magic threatens our world! Can you stop the Shade and his minions before it's too late?

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.