Bookmark

Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death

Full version game
(300.06 MB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Uncover the mystery behind an artist’s deadly talent in Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death! Your daughter, Angie, was traveling through Europe when she vanished without a trace. Her last letter urged you to come to a remote island town in Italy, where she had stumbled upon a dark secret. When you arrive, you learn that there has been a series of tragic deaths in town, accompanied by sightings of a legendary spirit called the Silhouette. With no way of knowing who would be next, citizens turned to Virgil, a local artist who could famously predict the future through his paintings. Now you must seek out Virgil and his mysterious paintings before you and your daughter become the next victims of his deadly predictions!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 817 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death 3.9 5 30 30
ALMOST A WORK OF ART Review based on completed game in casual mode. Would have given this game 5 stars if the animation had been better. The characters were realistically drawn but little body and mouth movement. Reading text dialogue is required. VOS - Excellent Hint - Moderate charge, gives clues and directions. Journal - Recounts story, records, photos, clues, sketches, etc. Map - None IHOS - Usual fare of small to larger objects. Repeated scenes. Moderately clear. Lists and silhouettes. Misclick Penalty - None Puzzles/Mini-Games - Varied levels of difficulty. Unusual, not like the sliders or rotating rings type. Skip - Fast charge Storyline - Good with a twist. Might be a sequel in the future. March 27, 2013
finally having some fun! Was getting quite bored with HOG and then hit this one. The puzzles are different, there's action, fun simple HOG's and the overall quality was fabulous. The best thing was it FLOWED so my enjoyment didn't start,stop and start again. I only put up reveiws for games that are different and this is one of them for the better! February 15, 2013
I Had A Really Enjoyable Time BASED ON COMPLETED GAME Sometimes the demos really can be very deceiving, and that was certainly true of this one. Although I loved the concept of this game, paintings that predict the future, I was not overly impressed with the trial. I went ahead and bought it on sale anyhow, because of the story. I have only just now got around to playing it, and what a wonderful surprise. I sailed right through it in one sitting, not noticing the time, until suddenly it was 3am! I loved every minute of this game. It had just the right mix of HO/Puzzle/Adventure for my liking . The HOs were varied and actually a genuine challenge (without ?cheating? by making the objects too small or the scene too dark). Puzzles varied in the degree of difficulty, but few were hard enough to force me to skip. The adventure aspect followed a logical progression without ever descending to linear. I was kept on the ball all the way, but never felt I was straining. The story was excellent, treated very cleverly and I was kept guessing till the very end. The graphics, while not over the top, were still top quality, and the sound track was appropriate. What was lacking was the WOW factor, but in this game I think that was a plus. Sometimes all that bling can detract from the experience by overloading the senses and overshadowing the story. This is a game for every mood and every player, but I?ll not rate it as five stars, because that spot is reserved for the bling. March 23, 2013
Nice game with interesting puzzles This game has an interesting story. There are 3 game modes. I played in Advanced Mode, where there are still sparkles. - The graphics are very clear, even in the HOS. - The mini-games are not the kind you usually get, which I found really good! - You have a journal but no map. - The hint system shows you the direction. The game is not very long; I needed less than 2 1/2 hours to finish. But I still recommend it. March 25, 2013
NOT WHAT I EXPECTED I'm not as impressed as I thought I would be. I thought this would be an easy 5-star rating. Although the scenery is pretty, the HOS are typical and the puzzles are quite easy. It's relatively easy to finding pieces to complete objects (such as gate, rope) in order to move forward. Map is helpful in showing you where there are tasks to perform. Liked the kitten - he sure likes to climb. I was positive he would get stuck in some high place. Music is appropriate to whatever scene you are investigating. Voice overs are good. A very nice game. 4 stars (I was expecting a 5-star performance from the description), but the game is still worth owning. November 4, 2013
mixed feelings on this one for the most part I liked this game and do recommend it. however having said that there were parts that were frustrating. for example at one point there are tree parts blocking your way and you have a sharp axe which in most games you would use to cut the branches but not in this game. your axe doesn't work, you have to find some other object. that kind of frustrating thing happened a few times, not awful but a bit irritating. fortunately the hint button was great. a map would have been nice as well. the story line was interesting and of course you save the place. games were hard but skip charges quickly. I don't use sound so can't rate that. overall I recommend giving this game a try but prepare to be frustrated at times. October 21, 2013
Enjoyed it but nothing special. Just finished the game and I enjoyed playing it but it's nothing special. I was disappointed in the length, it seemed quite short to me and it's pretty easy. The puzzles were nice though, really enjoyed those. As I did the hidden object scenes where you find something and use it to interact with other objects. The normal HOS I found hard going for some of them. Some of the objects were almost see-through and I couldn't see them! Mind you, I have old eyes!! On the whole I found it worth playing as I used a free coupon! Not the best from these devs. February 15, 2013
An ok game - good for kids or beginners This review is based on a complete playthrough. First, I played the CE, so let me tell you what you're not getting: A bonus story an hour long, some achievements that let you replay the identical puzzles and HOS your played during the game, and the Strategy Guide which you will not need. THE GOOD: It's a simple game that doesn't try to be anything else. The story's been done before: Kid goes missing, Parent (unspecified) goes looking, has to solve a 'mystery', predictable plot 'twist', and the end. The artwork was very well done, particularly the paintings, which are major focus of the game. The sound fit the scenes for the most part, though it did get repetitive. Going with the 'simple' theme: there are a variety of puzzles: most of them I would call easy with a couple of 'moderate' difficulty ones thrown in (you have the skip button if you need it). The 'black bar' hints tell you exactly what you are going to need to accomplish your 'goal' in an area, with some bad puns along the way: "I'm going to need an extra hand for this" two screens later you're ripping the arm off a mannequin. So if you can read, you can get through this game (IMO anyone 6 or 7 or older should be fine) THE BAD: No map, but you don't really need one as there aren't many areas at a time. No lip synching: this, along with the dialog, makes the characters feel 'flat' and very one dimensional. Not enough to ruin the story though. Short game: taking my time, using only a couple of hints, the game took me less than four hours, probably closer to three. If you take more time with the puzzles your time will be longer. THE UGLY: Not much to say here. So long as you understand the kind of game you're getting (all about the story, simple, not challenging), you should have fun with it. The SE is definitely the better buy for the this game IMHO. January 12, 2014
Different point of view as the game player Enjoyed the different point of view as the father of the missing girl. I liked that the level of difficulty was increased by no sparkles over areas to investigate. I had to find out by running my mouse over all areas to find where to go next. Unique and somewhat dark storyline and ending. One negative was I felt there was too much back and forth but the positive is there wasn't too much interference from the animation scenes. (I'm not one for too much story line) March 24, 2013
A Pleasant Surprise! This was a fun game with excellent artwork! In fact, I thought the graphic design was better than some more well known developers. The game has an intriguing mystery to solve with lots of clues, red herrings and scenes to explore. The HOS were good with nice detail and color. Some developers HOS scenes are either all the same color or lack detail. But not so with this dev. The game has three difficulty levels I believe. I played the easy level with quick hint recharge, but even so, it was still a challenge trying to find the clues and use your found objects to solve the mystery. I loved the cutscenes and the voiceovers were perfect, especially the villainess. I would definitely recommend the SE version of this and I'm sure the CE could only be better! February 27, 2013
11-20 of 30 Reviews <<prev 23next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Canvas: A Brush With Death

Uncover the mystery behind an artist’s deadly talent!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.