Bookmark

Strangestone

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

While researching your family archives, you discover that you’ve inherited a mansion! Now you and your brother are meeting your real estate agent there for an appraisal. However, something’s not right about this old house. Soon you will discover that inheritance never comes easy in this thrilling hidden-object puzzle adventure game! Can you survive the night and uncover your ancestor’s secret?

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 503 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Strangestone

NEW299

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Strangestone

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Strangestone 3.5 5 53 53
something different Not your cookie-cutter horror clone. Weird and interesting atmosphere drew me in. Good variety of mini-games and hidden object puzzle scenes. March 20, 2013
Dark and Eerie Hidden Object Thriller The storyline is excellent. At the same time that the hero is taking a train to the mansion he and his sister have inherited to meet the Realtor who is to sell the mansion for them, there are cut scenes of a Realtor being tortured. Great graphics: clear, crisp, well illustrated. The soundtrack is great: background sounds of thunder, rain , and dark piano playing. Voiceovers are well done. Hidden object scenes are interactive, the list type with well illustrated objects and clear descriptions of what to find. The mini games were tough, a lot of fun, but tough. I had to skip two of them because I couldn't figure them out after 15 minutes. Great game. I added it to my collection of Dark and Eeries. March 5, 2014
Fun Hidden Object Game Love the Levels of Challenges. March 2, 2013
I really Like This Game! So we have inherited this really strange mansion, hence the name of the place. My brother is trapped in a cage and its up to me to rescue him while solving the mystery behind the house. What we have here is a Hidden Object Adventure game with a variety of puzzles and HO scenes to play. The graphics are good, with stop-motion used duringthe cut-scene, Live actor is used and so far I have only heard him speak. I have yet to meet anyone else during the first hour of gameplay. There are interesting details that I enjoyed like clicking on the gramophone and having it play. The music is very subtel, almost difficult to make out and you have an eerie ambient sound that really allows for a spooky atmosphere. There are two play modes to choose from and unfortunately you do have sparkles for HO scenes. The one thing that I did find extremely annoying was that the task list popped up continuously and there were too many helpful hints given asto what action was required. There should have been an option to turn this off. I absolutely love the hidden object scenes; they are very interactive and fun to play. Some items were a bit miniscule and difficult to spot but I did enjoy having to put together some items within the scenes. Puzzles are interesting and some even posed a slight challenge. Instructions were a bit vague but nothing that made me pull my hair out. Overall, a very good standard edition game with an interesting story, clear graphics, interesting puzzles and adventurous hidden object scenes. What's not to like. After the first hour, I was so caught up inthe game that I hadn't noticed how fast the time went by. This tells me that the game is engaging and has definitely got my vote. Strangstone is a winner! February 27, 2013
What Lurks Within the Walls of Strangestone Manor? Strangestone is one of those surprising little games that BFG has been presenting lately as original standard editions. In this story, you and your brother are the only heirs to the estate of Dr. Strangestone and your adventure begins when you show up to meet with a realtor to sell the property. From the beginning cutscene, we can assume that the realtor has met a gruesome fate. Although I am not familiar with this developer, we have been presented with a very good game complete with great graphics, voice-overs and live actors. The music is nice but not in your face, which is something I also like in a game. At this point I have only encountered a couple of puzzles and I believe that the developer could certainly have provided more information on what we need to do to complete their puzzles. One of them was such a mess, I had no clue and had to hit the skip button after trying for 10 minutes to figure out what on earth I was doing, and that was after I read the description and knew what was expected. As is becoming very popular in the HO genre, the developer has included the almost now requisite interaction when locating some objects. I must admit that some of the items in the IHOS are almost invisible and I was surprised when I would accidentally find something by clicking around for a different object. Aside from the issues of weak puzzle descriptions and some almost invisible hidden objects, I think we have been presented with a very nice game. One of the things that I noticed with this game is that the transition from room to room is seamless and almost instantaneous, so there is no lag time when moving from one location to the next. In Strangestone there are various tasks that need to be accomplished in each area that will have dialogue pop up on the screen when we click a certain item or area. These tasks are also catalogued in the task button, which when opened also provides a map with highlighted areas where something needs to be done. For me this is a very nice game with an interesting, eerie storyline that is holding my attention and presenting a fair challenge as I uncover the mystery of Strangestone. February 27, 2013
You inherit a cursed manor Played 30 minutes, casual - 2 modes, casual, expert - Notebook - Tasks bottom right side of your screen, clicking on them will show you as well a map (not interactive) which shows areas of interest - Real live characters - Voice overs - Hint useful outside H0 - H0, you interact - Usual, good mini games - Very good, clear graphics - Good music and sound effects You inherit a manor, obviously there are serious problems before you can settle in... ! Up to you to solve them. This looks like a good SE, well worth demoing and spending a punch card credit on. February 27, 2013
Worth Looking At Some non CE's are just better than their more expensive and hyped-up CE games. This is one of them. In the demo there are no great surprises, but at least this game is well put together. Good graphics, not too much intrusive noise or dialogue, good sound, and story. These are always worth looking at because they can be surprisingly entertaining -- without all the fuss. February 27, 2013
Not bad !! I am a beginner to HOPA games, thus my review is based on a beginner to these types of stories. 2 kids inherit the family mansion. When they get there to meet the realtor, the realtor is gone (gasp). You must save your brother who was knocked unconscious while ringing the doorbell. There are 2 modes, regular and challenging. I played in regular. There are sparkles indicating hidden object scenes and scenes worth taking a look. The hidden object scenes are fairly straightforward and interactive. There is a useful journal and a task list which tells you what you should be doing next. Puzzles were fairly straightforward. The game was fairly linear in that I actually figured out what I was supposed to be doing (and that is a challenge in some of these games). I'm not sure yet if this is a buy for me, but I would definitely consider it. March 19, 2013
Very Interactive but really nothing new. Based on 1 hr demo play.... You've inherited a mansion and strange things start to happen once you get there...surprise! (at least you don't have a car crash...lol#. This is by Bicycle games. Never heard of that developer but I'm always up for something new. -2 Modes...Casual & Expert #I played on expert# -There is a map that shows active areas #that was helpful# but no auto-transport to other locations, although not needed. -There is a task list that tells you what you need to do #helpful at times, but I don't really like having my hand held#. This is where you'll find the map. -There is also a "diary" that gives some helpful hints. -I used the hint button in regular gameplay and it lights up areas showing which way you can go and puts lit up hands on areas that you need to investigate. There are no written clues....only glowing hands and arrows. The 2 times I used it though, I figured out what to do with no problem. -The HO scenes are very interactive, which I love! Ex: If you need to find a glass of wine.... you have to find a corkscrew to open the wine bottle to pour in the glass. The scenes are a bit cluttered, but it's not too hard to find things. I think there were 5 HO scenes in the demo & I used one hint. -The items to find in the HO scenes are pretty well known #except who knows what a "blunderbuss" is??# and look like you'd think they should. -There is a penalty in the HO scenes for clicking too much, too quickly, but penalty doesn't last long. -I think there were about 5 to 6 puzzles in the demo as well. A couple were really easy and a couple were interesting and fairly challenging. The game is pretty linear and makes sense so you can figure out what you need to do. -Music is pretty mild and not annoying. -The character #I've only seen one so far# is a real person but my only complaint is the voice actor is a horrible actor! This isn't too bad though, b/c there's not that much dialogue. The plot is interesting, albeit the usual haunted mansion, save someone type of storyline. I haven't decided whether I want to buy or not, but I really like how interactive it is, so I'll probably use a free credit to continue. February 27, 2013
A game that lets you think (mostly) This review is based on the demo. Real actors (or at least one I've seen) are used. Didn't need any walkthrough, as things needing to be done were pretty obvious. Not a lot of HOS and are interactive, although sometimes items are a little hard to find. Seems there is a lot to do. I did use the hint button when didn't know where to go next. I don't know if I'll buy this or not, but thought it was a lot of fun. And, contrary to other reviews, I thought it was different than usual HOGs. February 27, 2013
11-20 of 53 Reviews <<prev 23456next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Strangestone

Spend the night in an abandoned mansion. Can you survive to uncover the terrible secret about your ancestor?

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.