Bookmark

Brink of Consciousness: The Lonely Hearts Murders Collector's Edition

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

How far will you go to save your only daughter's life? Is there a limit? Help Owen Wright rescue his daughter from the clutches of the Lonely Hearts Killer, the mysterious figure who kidnaps and murders people who have suffered a love gone wrong. Unravel the intrigue, put a stop to the whirlwind of crime that has paralyzed this late 19th century British city. Olivia must live! The killer must be brought to justice! Only you can do it!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • A bonus chapter with a surprising plot.
  • An integrated strategy guide
  • Downloadable soundtrack, concept art and wallpapers
  • An interview with the developers
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 1147 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Brink of Consciousness: The Lonely Hearts Murders Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Brink of Consciousness: The Lonely Hearts Murders Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Brink of Consciousness: The Lonely Hearts Murders Collector's Edition 4.1 5 145 145
A detective story that you shouldn't miss Tell the truth, I still prefer the first Brink of Consciousness than this one. However, you should not miss to try this game. Lonely Heart Killer is indeed a great story about detective fighting against a mysterious killer, racing against time. The story would be more interesting if it was a bit longer. For me, the Collector Edition is still too short, and I couldn't enjou much. Because of this, I feel like the story was... shorten for some parts. The graphic of the Lonely Hear Killer is indeed beautiful, and brings out the atmosphere of the story: semi- dark, mystery and peaceful (Compare to the first series, this one is not scary much). The voice actors are doing their job well, not excellent, but we can skip this part. And of course, the music is good as well. Puzzles, for me, only few of them are challenge (may be because I've played too much puzzle games). However, other puzzles are good enough for everyone (even children) to solve. Overall, if you like detective story, you should give this a try. It's worth with money. February 22, 2013
A little lighter than expected. If you've a itch to play a Sherlock Homes type of HOM, then Brink of Consciousness: The Lonely Hearts Murders Collector's Edition is exactly what you are looking for. Set in a late 19th century british town we never learn the name of you follow is the step of Owen Wright to find your missing daughter. You have help from a local inspector, although his underlings are not all that bright. Your daughter, Olivia, is a distraught young woman in the fall of a nasty broken relationship, and she is the perfect target for the Lonely Hearts killer. This dangerous figure preys on those on the outs of of love, and now that Olivia has disappeared, she might be next in line for this monster to take down. While this game has a great plotline, and some clues are rather easy to follow, the background is a muddy nighttime grey just about all the time. The hidden object puzzles are not like this, however, and this kicked the fun factor up a bit. I actually found myself chuckling when I click on a mouse squeaky toy and ten cats popped up, although I only had to find the black one. Cute little diversions kept what might be an otherwise really dark game lighter and more fun that its other game in the franchise, Brink of Consciousness: Dorian Gray Syndrome. These games, however do keep me curious to see what the writers will come up with next. December 19, 2012
Lonely Hearts - Fair Effort I have read all the low rated reviews so decided to try the game first. Not as good as the first Brink of Consciousness, but a fair game. There is a lot of talking and the gameplay follows the usual format, so some of the puzzles are really easy, but it is still enjoyable. Not worth 5 stars though - would really like to give it 3 1/2 stars rather than 4. December 7, 2012
Started out great! Beautiful game! The game is truly enjoyable and lasts a good while. Toward the end, I felt the game started to get predictable and boring with the repetitious HOs and there was not much a climax at the end, but overall solid game with gorgeous graphics and relaxing music. November 28, 2012
MIXED EMOTIONS Storyline - There has been a series of murders and your daughter goes missing so you join forces with the detective to find her and the killer. Avatars/VOS - Excellent IHOS - Repeated, fairly clear with small objects that require a magnifying glass. A few hos required puzzle interaction which I found annoying and became frustrated with it. Glad for the hint button. Puzzles within the hos cannot be skipped so I had to go into the guide just to solve a hos puzzle. ARGH! Too much stress for me to be enjoyable. Hint - Recharges quickly and guides you to each location Misclick Penalty - None Puzzles/Mini Games - Usual variety of levels from difficult to easy for experts. I skipped just about all of them. Inventory - Objects collected used quickly in various locations Map - Does not transport Bonus Game - Played part of it but could not continue This game annoyed me in many ways despite my favorites - avatars/vos/storyline. Too many areas to search, too many keys and puzzle parts to find. Parts are located in different areas. Wish the devs would allow all items needed to complete a puzzle to be found in one place so there wouldn't be so much back tracking. Enjoyed the humor between the detective and the officer. This game reminded me of a Sherlock Holmes mystery in some ways. I found it to be too long and thought it would never end. I prefer shorter games which gives me the opportunity to start a new game. LOL For gamers who want a real challenge, then this is the game for you. Need to start a new, shorter game to decompress from this one. :-D November 26, 2012
lonely hearts murders I think this game is excellent. I enjoyed the voice over and the story .I hope there will be more like this. it is like ready a story and with the games being different was great. November 26, 2012
A worthy succesor to Dorian Gray Syndrome One good thing right at the start: there are seriously no ghosts. I liked the serial killer and procedural approach. It looks fantastic, puzzles come along in a nice variety. Totally recommendable then? Well, almost. - the story is broken into chapters, which I didnt really like. - while the developers obviously put a lot of work into the story (which is pretty interesting), there are LONG (skippable) scenes of dialogue in between, which almost gives it a "Im-watching-a-movie"-kind of feel. Good then, that the voice acting does not mutilate your ears. - Detective Logan must be the most useless cop running around out there. All he did was stand around and let the player do the job. Man, he was getting to me. - they repeated that in bonus chapter, only that now YOU are the detective and theres another useless cop at your side. Having said that, I enjoyed the bonus chapter almost more than the game itself. Its long, theres a bunch of fun puzzles. The end build a nice bridge to the first Brink. All in all, a worthy successor (or maybe prequel) and fun to play. November 25, 2012
Not Up to Par I found the game to be tedious with too much dialog (can be skipped, but thought I'd follow other reviews and let it play). The storyline itself was obvious but nothing explained finding "something" in the park. Guess I missed what the relevancy was to the story. I wondered why certain items were hidden where they were. Most didn't make sense and there was a lot of backtracking to get them. Maybe that ties in later? The map made finding those items too easy. The music was good for the feel of the game, subdued and kind of mysterious. Voice overs were okay and I was especially happy the devs didn't try to lip sync to the characters. Some of the accents did not seem appropriate to the person speaking. I found the puzzles too easy and some items in the HOS were very difficult to see either because the scene was dark or the item was very small. Overall, not a disastrous game, but not one I'd enjoy enough to purchase. November 18, 2012
Beautiful Game But No Challenge Such a gorgeous looking game. Beautiful graphics & gentle type of game. Searching for a serial killer. Bit different to the usual abandoned cities, asylums & mansions. But OMG is the challenge poor. You only ever carry 3 or 4 items around at a time. Locked door? Don't worry the key will be in the next couple of scenes. This could have been a really great game but lack of challenge knocks it right down. November 28, 2012
Want every bad HOG cliche in one game? Look no further.... Let me start by saying upfront that I get that these games are escapism and fantasy. But there comes a point where games just become silly. So it is with this game. The story line was fine as far as it goes (although these are some VERY long cut scenes for what is an otherwise boilerplate HO game mystery story--the quality of the plot does not justify the length of these cut scenes). Trust me you won't really care who the killer is or feel any connection to the other characters. They are cardboard cutouts from British minor nobility set in manors and such. You've been here more often than the Duke of Marlborough if you play these games regularly. The problem with the game is that it brings every single cliche in the genre to a new level of absurdity. --You do all the work for the detective even though you are together most of the time. He stands there asking you to figure out how to open every locked door while he stands there. All HOG cops are lazy so you can solve the puzzles. This one takes it to a new level. --Where you find some of the inventory objects you are hilarious. Who locks doorknobs in mailboxes? Why has someone built a statue that when you put in its missing eye, it cracks a stone revealing a handle within. And if it weren't for the sparkling in front of the statue, why would it ever occur to a sane human being to put the eye into a statue in the hopes that it would crush a stone and reveal a handle? --Can no one in these games hold onto a key? You go looking for tons of keys in this game--even more than normal. Not one of them is in the possession of the person who owns the locked door or item. Instead they are hidden in random walls, in sewers and hidden in other places that have no connection to the lock to be opened. No locked door lacks for a lost key that is waiting to be found (except for the one to two locks a game that can be broken off or picked). Nevermind that some these doors have no apparent reason for opening other than the game needs you to open another door. If this real world is anything like this, I am wasting money having deadbolts installed in my house. --Random puzzle-type locks that are just a hoot. First, the puzzles are not very hard. And maybe the people who use puzzle locks to secure their doors and chests in these games do so because they keep losing their keys, but a puzzle lock that I can solve in 30 seconds is not much of a lock--a regular door lock has to be less costly than some custom-made elaborate puzzle lock and, given that I am going to find the key you are inevitably going to lose (see above), just as ineffective. --The random puzzle locks in these games all have quality control problems. They are all missing pieces. Now fortunately the missing piece is in some sewer waiting for me to come up with a magnet or something--but the lack of quality that allows for the parts to fall off and travel far from the puzzle lock really needs to be addressed. --And an HOG would not be complete if there were not at least one instance of removing rust by pouring oil on it. Where does this happen in real life? This is something that only happens in the Big Fish world--this is in EVERY one of these games The whole game is like this--you run around looking for things and inevitably the thing is in an utterly implausible location. And while this is common in this genre, this game takes this to a new height of absurdity. No one who worked on this game put any thought into making these puzzles and object placements make any sense within the context of plausibility. They just create a random location for the key or the puzzle piece and eventually you will pick up the random gear (because we all pick up gears when we see them) or whatever that will later suddenly reveal the key in a place it makes no sense for a key to be--lost or not. If you put ALL of this aside, the game is standard HOG fare. But for all the time, money and effort that the developer invested in this game's generally--polished production values--long cut scenes, lots of dialogue, professional voice talent--it would have been far more satisfying if they invested ther sizable budget it in a script with an original angle, puzzles that are satisfying rather than placed for the sake of making a puzzle, and integrated the puzzles a little more logically into the game. Bottom line--the game is OK. It is just every HOG cliche rolled into one. March 31, 2013
101-110 of 145 Reviews <<prev 910111213...15next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Brink of Consciousness: The Lonely Hearts Murders Collector's Edition

Olivia has been kidnapped by the mysterious Lonely Hearts Killer who murders those suffering from a shattered love. Save her!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.