Bookmark

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Masque of the Red Death Collector's Edition

Exclusive
Full version game
(801.31 MB)

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Justice is in your hands in Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe’s The Masque of the Red Death! A mysterious figure in a red mask has been stalking the streets of a small French town, murdering city officials. The mayor calls you in to help track him down and stop him. But when you arrive, you discover that the townspeople all seem to be cheering for the Red Masque. So who is the real criminal? It’s up to you to decide in this thrilling Hidden Object Adventure game!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • A bonus mystery where you uncover the origins of the Red Masque!
  • Beautiful wallpapers, screensavers, and concept art
  • Downloadable music tracks
  • An integrated Strategy Guide
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 930 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Blood
  • Mild Violence
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Masque of the Red Death Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Masque of the Red Death Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Masque of the Red Death Collector's Edition 4.5 5 86 86
This one was pretty good Easy to play, Lots to do, and 2 different types of HO's. Love interaction with critters. Good characters. Art work nice, but some of the link in the room where pet kitty is had some white boxes with words which looked like a computer error. Needs to have some sort of paper background to it. So when reading what to collect it was a bit harsh on they eyes with all the ultra white background box with no boarders. I believe it is a glitch in the game. April 25, 2013
Good Game, but not the Poe story even remotely I get upset when stories are so changed from the original that they don't even resemble the story at all. That is what has happened here in that the storyline of this game does not follow the short story in the least bit. However, it's still a good game. The puzzles and HOG scenes seem easy, the graphics are okay, and i like the addition of achievements and a kitten. I think it would be worth the money. April 26, 2013
Lots to do! I enjoyed this game but golly there was a lot to do. I got tired of trying to remember to take a picture of each and every scene. I do always talk to all the characters so that wasn't hard to remember. All in all, it was a fun game. June 27, 2013
Good game, but not sure if Collector's Edition was worth it. Fun game with lots of different levels of games (from easy to challenging). The story line isn't fabulous, but there was enough going on to keep my interest. My only issue is the extras you get with the Collector's Edition. I buy the CE with every game, and most offer more than what was offered here. So, in short, I recommend the game overall, but not the Collector's Edition in particular. The regular edition should be enough. June 19, 2013
Detective to rival Holmes! This is the latest in the series of Poe's tales. This storyline in my opinion is the strongest one that there has been. The plot is of justice, but it is corruption v 'the people' and you have to decide with 'scales of justice' who you think is in the right. Even though this is 'just a game' it asks important moral questions about ourselves and what we think of as right and wrong (sorry to get deep I know it is only a game, but it really did make me think). The game itself is on par with others in the series, the puzzles are good and well thought out, some are trickier than others and I have had to resort the strategy guide a couple of times as it didn't always seem logical. Overall though there was logic to the flow of the game and the storyline was I felt excellent. The graphics and sound/music were of equal standard to others of this series (which I have always felt to be high). One slight negative I would have (though this is the case for most games by this producer, is that you can flick through the different game modes, thus you are not 'tied' as it were to that game level if things get tricky, this to me kind of defeats the purpose of choosing a level and sticking with it. Overall I would defiantly recommend this game, whether or not you are new to this series or have had others in the series you can't go far wrong. This is based on the CE edition which I got on offer, so I can't comment on any major differences between this and the SE version. June 6, 2013
At Least it's Better than the Gold Bug I was really looking forward to this...but I often am thinking something's coming that's gonna be great. This is a great game for many people. It's just not great for me. The problem is that I do like dark, scary games rather than lighter games. Despite this, there are parts of this game which were fun for me and i will certainly recommend it: just because I don't like something doesn't mean that others won't. So here's the skinny on the game: a. If you enjoy HOG you will enjoy this. And if you like variety in the type of HOG you will especially enjoy this. There is the standard HOG where you find the described item and then the type where you find and item based on the silhouette you're shown. This game has both. The HOGs are well constructed and clear, but they are not EASY like many. They aren't the most difficult but you have to work to find the item. The items are properly named. b. Puzzles: The puzzles were not at all puzzling. These require no imagination to solve and that's fair because they required absolutely no imagination for the designers to create. There are a couple of times you have to "assemble" something and this takes only a small modicum of ability. It's really a matter of paying attention more than anything else. c. Collectibles: There were no collectibles, per se. There is an accomplishment which consists of taking pictures of every scene, every person, etc. The only challenge associated with this is remembering to do it. It has nothing to do with the storyline, it doesn't further the story and I'm not quite sure why it's even part of the game. d. Achievements: There is an achievements section (even though you won't immediately be aware that it exists, it does). Just by completing the game you'll "achieve." There's nothing special about this though. e. Music: I thought the music throughout the story was great. It wasn't scary, but the story wasn't scary. f. VOs: The actors providing the voice overs did a good job and they have appropriate and distinct voices. I bought the CE version. There is a value to it: the strategy guide. It's not integrated but it's easy to use and I found it very necessary. I don't typically follow the path the designers had in mind. Not on purpose...it's just i really try to complete the game myself and sometimes I end up in a pretty circuitous adventure. There is a LOT of back and forth in the game and without the SG I'd have been completely lost. I do wish it were integrated. So there it is. If you like basic HOGs you will like this. It's well done and it's pleasant. You will enjoy it. If you prefer adventure and like a "scary" motif, you will not think this is the greatest. In either case you will NOT DISLIKE IT. It's a very OK game which I recommend. April 26, 2013
Good game for a beginner to hidden object games format. I am an experienced player, have used BigFish for many years. The game for me is simple. At this level I would use the hardest setting to make this game a challenge. There is an incredible amount of help. Strategy guide, Jump map, camera, journal and so on. Two game credits absolutely not. Once again I am stunned by some of the reviews by those who have used BigFish for quite awhile. Did game developers take advantage of the available technology they have at their disposal, not so much. For me the game feels as if it was put together to ride E. A. P. band wagon. I will state the story line is quite good it is a shame the rest of game is not. I am thankful for the "Tri B4 U Bie".......... "Bonne Chance" April 27, 2013
Disappointed I enjoyed The Black Cat, but found this game wanting. First, the story line of the game has nothing to do with the Poe's story of the same name. The writers should have tried hard to bring in elements of that story. Even a non-writer like myself can think ways to have done that. The historical anachronisms really got to me. Poe died about 1849. There were no typewriters, no airplanes (toy or otherwise), and no electric lights. (What are they teaching them in these schools.) June 23, 2013
Ho Hum Pretty bland all round. Sure, the graphics are good, and cute animals have been added to catch your attention, but overall, the game is just not that exciting. Characters are the usual; background music is sleepy; story is different, but where's the drama? Recommendation? I'm really on the fence. Perhaps it gets better as the game progresses. I sure it hope it does. I need another category to check under Recommend: "Not Sure". April 25, 2013
A bit boring Kind of boring.... But it is a long game so still worth the money.... Yet, personally not recommend CE... August 4, 2013
71-80 of 86 Reviews <<prev 56789next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Masque of the Red Death Collector's Edition

A murderous figure in a red mask haunts the streets of a small French town, and the mayor needs your help to track him down. But you soon discover that the mysterious Red Masque might not be the real criminal…

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.