Bookmark

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Masque of the Red Death Collector's Edition

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Justice is in your hands in Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe’s The Masque of the Red Death! A mysterious figure in a red mask has been stalking the streets of a small French town, murdering city officials. The mayor calls you in to help track him down and stop him. But when you arrive, you discover that the townspeople all seem to be cheering for the Red Masque. So who is the real criminal? It’s up to you to decide in this thrilling Hidden Object Adventure game!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • A bonus mystery where you uncover the origins of the Red Masque!
  • Beautiful wallpapers, screensavers, and concept art
  • Downloadable music tracks
  • An integrated Strategy Guide
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6/10.5
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 825 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Masque of the Red Death Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Masque of the Red Death Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Masque of the Red Death Collector's Edition 4.5 5 85 85
IF IT'S ERS, YOU KNOW IT'S GOT TO BE GOOD NOT SO GOOD First, the artwork (especially of Dupin) doesn't seem to be up to par with prior games of the series. Second, the bottom of the screen is too crowded - on my 27 inch screen, there is over an inch of unused space on each side - makes the inventory tray rather small in comparison. VERY GOOD Production values are what you'd expect from ERS - an interactive map, artistic graphics, diary, interesting story (true to Poe), logical game play, various achievements and well-detailed interactive uncrowded HOS. You can take pictures with your camera as often as you want and they will be saved to a book in your office. A delight to play. I love all the Edgar Allan Poe games. April 25, 2013
Like it better than previous games I actually enjoyed this game more than the other games in the Edgar Allan Poe series. Graphics were excellent. The scenes were not boring. Storyline was very good. A man in a red mask is going around killing the city officials. The towns government does not like this, but the townspeople say the masked man is a hero due to the government executing those who dont pay the new higher tax rate. There were 14 HOS. All were pretty easy, some more difficult than others. Not cluttered. All were done more than once. There were different types of HOS. Some were the list kind, some were where you had to complete several steps to get the main item, some were the ones where you find the object that resembled the silhouette list. There was one scene done twice where you had to find 15 stars the first time, and then find 15 rings the second time. There was also another scene done twice were you had to find "differences" of the same shape between one side of the scene and the other side. There were 20 puzzles (including bonus game). Some were easy, and some were difficult, but not impossible. Some new different puzzles in this game. There was a camera built in the game that you can use to take pictures of different scenes. The pics you can save to computer which is nice so you have even more "wallpapers" to choose from (not just the ones already built in). There was a map that you can use to jump from one scene to another, but you have to access it from your journal. I personally found the map useless because it didnt tell you which areas had something you needed to do, so you did have to still back track. I found it easier to use the hint, it points you in the right direction using arrows. There is a cat you pick up in the game and you get to find cat items (cat scratch board, cat bed, cat toys, etc). You can play with the cat when you visit your office for achievements. The cat was actually very cute as well as the other animals in game (bear, dachsund, etc). At the end of main game, you have to choose who to arrest, either the mayor or the masked man. YOu have to place all 7 globes of guilt in the balance thing. Each globe is from a different scene which you can replay so you know which side of the balance to place it on. I arrested one and then the end scene came up. From what I read in the forums, the end scene can be slightly different depending on which one you decided to arrest. The game was pretty good length. Main game was approx 5 hours. Bonus chapter was about 1.5 hours. There is a lot of bonus content: wallpapers, HOS replay, puzzle replay, concept art, music you can save, screensavers, etc. Worth the money. May 5, 2013
Be Still My Heart, We Have An Office BONUS CONTENT REVIEW + NOTES ON MAIN GAME Yes, it?s true, the kind and charming detective M. DUPIN (and the team at ERS) has, in this our fifth case together, granted us an OFFICE. And the official title of BEST FRIEND (study your office walls). And what would an office be without TROPHIES, AWARDS, AND FRAMED CERTIFICATES. Yup. We have ACHIEVEMENTS! And a KITTEN! The kitten is truly awesome, don?t forget to play with him. And keep an eye out for his COLLECTIBLE TOYS (only a few) throughout the game. Also in our office is our PHOTO ALBUM, containing SHOTS WE TAKE of the game. These are the FIRST TREATS for the COLLECTORS EDITION. There is also of course (big breath): 12 WALLPAPERS, 15 CONCEPT ART SHOTS, 4 MUSICTRACKS, 4 SCREENSAVERS, 9 MOVIES, 30 BEHIND THE SCENES SHOTS, 14 REPLAYABLE HOs, 20 REPLAYABLE MINI-GAMES! Plus, the in-game STRATEGY GUIDE & BONUS CHAPTER. The BONUS CHAPTER This took me roughly 1 HOUR 15 MIN, but I SKIPPED a puzzle or two. It is NOT NEEDED for the MAIN STORY, it is an epilogue offering a peculiar TWIST IN THE TALE. Personally, I found this chapter?s STORY & ENDING CONFUSING. I probably should have paid more attention to names and faces in the main game. It covers NEW AREAS, PUZZLES & HOS almost exclusively, but some of the characters are the same. There are EXTRA KITTEN ITEMS to COLLECT & ACHIEVEMENTS for this chapter alone, but to SEE THEM & THE OFFICE you must START again on the MAIN GAME. If you find yourself just a little bit IN LOVE with DUPIN then the CE BONUS CHAPTER is ESSENTIAL. As for the GAME ITSELF? I won?t go into detail about the MAIN GAME, because if you have found me, you have waded through dozens of reviews already. For me, the STORY automatically makes this a MUST HAVE. It appears that it?s going to be more thought provoking than most. Not only are politics an integral part of the investigation, YOU have to DECIDE who is GUILTY at the end of the game. This is an aspect of the game that MAY be for CE players EXCLUSIVELY, but I don?t think so. GAMEPLAY & PRODUCTION QUALITY is CLASSIC ERS. Hand drawn water colour GRAPHICS, SEVERAL TYPES of HOS. EASY PUZZLES. May 21, 2013
"What is Justice?" ERS is back with another installment of the Edgar Allan Poe games and packs quite a punch! You are called to help Detective Dupin on a case where city officials are being murdered by a mysterious man wearing a red mask. What makes this game different from the previous ones is the fact that you weigh the evidence and decide who is the guilty one-the mayor and his unfair treatment of the citizens of this small French town, or the mysterious man in the red mask who is murdering city officials. Along the way you will meet people who will give you information that will help you decide. The Ho scenes are well done and interactive and the mini games very in degree of difficulty. You can earn awards for different things and find toys for the adorable kitten that you pick up. This game was well done and had a great twist on the previous ones. I highly recommend it! April 25, 2013
Excellent game! So much fun with this one! Excellent graphics, many different and beautiful locations to explore, charming atmosphere, good soundtrack, captivating storyline for a really challenging adventure! Very interesting and varied HOS, simple but original and funny puzzles, journal, map, achievements to get and the sweet little cat waiting for us in the office! The whole game took me more then 5 hours to complete, with bonus chapter, all in new areas, not really necessary but interesting and adding a new end to the story..An amazing game i recommend to everybody! April 30, 2013
Another Epic Adventure! I've been collecting all of the titles in this series and this is my new favorite. I love this series because I'm an Edgar Allan Poe fan and my hope is that new fans will be created from being introduced through these games. I enjoy a game with a good balance of HOS and puzzles. The ration here was 14/20. I also appreciate a CE with lots of EXTRA STUFF. This title definitely didn't disappoint. There are even pictures of the development team!! How cool is that? The Scales of Justice was a nice original touch. I enjoyed the "you decide" element of that. The sphere of guilt items cracked me up. That's going to be a new family insider joke now. There is also a "Private Office" feature with a pet kitten that collects toys, an Achievement Collection on the shelves and a photo album of the pictures that you're able to take with the camera provided. Another winner guys! Bravo! April 28, 2013
Who's the REAL villain here? This is the fifth game made from a Poe story, and it is quite satisfying with several new nuances. It does not seem to be quite as hard as previous games (perhaps I need to up my difficulty level from casual!) as I have not had to Skip a puzzle nor use the hint button much. I recommend the CE's of these games not so much for the strategy guide, but because the bonus levels fill in and advance the original story. You are after a villain called the Red Masque, who is preying on the rich and the mayor's buddies. But the poor people consider him a hero and hate the mayor and the council, who seemed to have taxed them out of existence almost. So you get to help several of the poor, and receive a "Sphere of Guilt" afterwards that you place on Scales of Justice to help determine if the mayor or the Masque is the truly guilty. Of course there is a map and a diary and even a camera that you can take pictures with. You have your own office where your cat lives and plays with the cat toys you discover. There are 14 awards you can achieve, and the mini-games are not too hard. The HOS are well-lit and include both interactive lists and the more challenging silhouette types as well. A definite buy, for many hours of fun. April 25, 2013
Good Fun I enjoyed this game and as is typical of Ers Studios it is well made. If you have played and enjoyed the other Dark Tales: Poe games then I don't think you will be disappointed. In the extras you can replay all the HOGs and Mini Games which is a good bonus. It was also interesting to be able to have a look around the photos of the Ers studios in the bonus content. The only problem I found with this game is that Hint button sticks a bit far out into the game and I accidentally clicked it several times. April 28, 2013
Best Dark Tales yet! I've already loved all the previous Dark Tales games (Rue Morgue, Black Cat, Premature Burial, Gold Bug) so I leaped at this one the moment I saw it available. I admit at the time I'm writing this, I haven't finished the game just yet but I had to pause and write a great review for this newest installment! You will not be disappointed! For one, it plays much the same (but with longer, more detailed cutscenes this time around!) as previous games, but the best part is that HO scenes seem to be a little clearer now AND there's an entire achievement room for you to collect awards and prizes for. You also get to take photos of the various scenes in the game and the best part, in my opinion, is the adorable addition of getting to find and keep a pet cat, who plays with various items you can find throughout the game. It's long, beautiful, and just as fun as you would expect from a Dark Tales game, or just from ERS in general! You're getting a lot of bang for your buck in this one with all the extra fun things to do too, so I highly recommend this purchase! April 27, 2013
MUCH BETTER THAN THE LAST ONE Based on Whole Game I did have to use the SG (which I found had some errors) ex. lion cub listed as a tiger---hello tigers have stripes! Plus some of the instructions were out of order for example you had to do something else first in order to get the counterweight (from the fountain) which was very frustrating. This did make the game tougher than the others. Guys if you're going to include an SG please make sure it is correct!!! Good things graphics voice overs very good interactive map (beam me up scotty# storyline very good achievements kitty you get and items you collect for her HOS different types, list and shadow outlines can have 2 different endings you make judgments who is guilty Not so good on map no listing of things to do in areas, only pictures of where you want to go #otherwise too much back and forth# HOS shadow outlines, are too small/unclear making it difficult to define items you are looking for #you'll need light and a magnifying glass# movies a bit grainy and D's voice and face is completely different in the movies than in the rest of the game---consistency guys!!!! I found this game to be a lot tougher than the others #some of which was due to the errors in the SG), but I finally finished and did enjoy the time and am very happy with it so I will recommend this game. April 25, 2013
11-20 of 85 Reviews <<prev 2345...9next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Masque of the Red Death Collector's Edition

A murderous figure in a red mask haunts the streets of a small French town, and the mayor needs your help to track him down. But you soon discover that the mysterious Red Masque might not be the real criminal…

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.