Bookmark

Dark Mysteries: The Soul Keeper Collector's Edition

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Charles Dexter Ward has summoned you to the island of Pawtuxet to stop a renegade spirit that is murdering the townspeople. The spirit is using human souls to become immortal, and you will be next if you can’t stop him. Based on the novel by H.P. Lovecraft, this Hidden-Object Puzzle Adventure game will test your investigative skills as you solve the mysteries of Ward’s family and complete the ritual that will banish this evil spirit once and for all!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Downloadable H.P. Lovecraft novel
  • Revive the lost souls in the bonus chapter!
  • In-game strategy guide
  • Exclusive behind-the-scenes video
  • Concept art gallery
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 481 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Dark Mysteries: The Soul Keeper Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Dark Mysteries: The Soul Keeper Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Dark Mysteries: The Soul Keeper Collector's Edition 3.7 5 58 58
It's the Lovecraft connection Being a Science Fiction nut is not always a good thing, but it's definitely fun! I like murder mysteries too, so putting it all together with a good casual game is a perfect blend for me. So far the demo is showing this game to have all the necessary bells and whistles, i.e. voice overs, three levels of play, a strategy guide that stays where you left it, lots of cool, creepy sound effects and shocking scenes of the dear dead souls, oops, I mean the soul less dears. You'll have to try it to see what I mean! This game would make a great midnight movie with popcorn. And then there's that Big Fish key chain. I have to have it! December 9, 2012
No Big Thrills but a Good Story. I am a big fan of Lovecraft and his obsession with immortality is certainly a theme that takes hold of this story. Our detective is asked to help C.D. Ward in tracking down the Revenant Murderer who he claims is his ancestor, Curwen. Our slightly mad Antagonist is after human souls who he believes is the key to immortality and it is up to us to stop him. Dark Mysteries is a good HOPA that offers a strong story line and interesting game features. I was not a big fan of the graphics; the hand-drawn artwork makes this game look old and worn-out which really is not much of a preference of mine. However the colors are vibrant and objects are clear. However I thought the sound effects and music was outstanding and together they offer a great ambience to the gameplay. Game features a journal and the intersting past of the journal is that you have four seperate hints that will show you what to do next. There is no map and I really di not need one. The HO scenes are crowded and interactive and the puzzles, while very easy to solve, some did have a fun factor to it. The game did not thrill me as much as other adventure games do but I am intrigued at the prospect of having a Lovecraft novel as part of the bonus section. Over all a decent game which could have been a little better in the challenge department. December 9, 2012
not that bad Does have dead bodies in it but not any worse than tv. The HOS are ok. Not a bad game but I'll wait for the SE. Hint button works good. There is lots of running around to find items but all the games do now. April 27, 2013
Very Good Creep Factor Like haunted house games and this was ideal with fluid gameplay and a good music score. Nice addition of Behind The Scenes in CE. Some rough translations, such as a drafting compass is called a "divider", but no worries otherwise. I was pleased enough to spend 4 hours on the CE with no regrets. December 10, 2012
I Loved this Game It was fun the talking was so far behind in its time should have been a little bit more updated.... The background music was great, Challenge was however you would like it I guess because It does give you options :) on challenge level Storyline was excellent I truly enjoyed the story ....Loved the game TY December 10, 2012
Lots of Hours to play and a great game too!! I just finished this game and bonus game. I don't know if it's due to egg nog but this took me 3 days to finish! That is a whole lotta game and I play alot as well. I loved the story line and where that story takes you. There are a few go back to areas looked at before, well a bunch actually but still a good game. I played on expert and it worked fine. If you are a great player I would advise playing on expert. I LOVE playing games, I think the staff know me by name..just kidding, well not really. This game is the longest game I have ever played Although I am going to ask my cousin Rob what he put in the fruit cake this year!! Hope you all had a wonderful Christmas and Hope the New Year is a truly awesome one for you too!! December 27, 2012
What an interesting game. The storyline of Ward reanimating his deceased relative and the relative becoming a reverant was well done. There was a lot of running around back and forth, but it was in a limited area. I actually completed the demo, which is rare for me as I take my time and found myself surprised when it was over. The characters were cartoonish, but well done and the scenery was also well done. There were three levels and as usual I played on the casual. The strategy guide was very straight forward, but actually had you doing a lot more running around than I actually did. The music was appropriate and did not interfere nor annoy but did fit the scenes it was playing in. I enjoyed this game, without the bells and whistles that are in a lot of the CEs. The hos scenes were a little junky, but I didn't have to use the hint button at all. Didn't quite get the journal entries, which gave you hits of where you were to find the next thing to gain your objective and kind of surprised and threw me off, All in all an enjoyable 50 minutes was spent. December 9, 2012
Not exceptioinal, but a very nice game! Very nice graphics and game play. Liked the music (unusual for me). HOGs were fun and a bit different for a change. Nice hint system with quick recovery. Nice voice overs (always a plus for me...brings a game to life). I did find CD Ward a bit of a dork and very nerdy looking, but it works. SG had a lot of holes, e.g. put this item there and go do this. It didn't say where to go to do this, just do it. You actually had to look at the pictures in the SG to see where you were suppose to go. Other than that, it was okay. Games were very easy, and didn't take much thought to accomplish so far. This is a simple game and easy to figure out what you need to do with a particular item (especially if you explore a scene before you leave it like I do#. All that being said, I did enjoy the game, even though there was a lot of running back and forth for only one item most of the time. I am going to purchase today and see what happens #again, a no brainer, but I like it well enough to buy it). As always, try the game for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for it at all. Thanks for the reviews. December 9, 2012
Dark Mysteries: The Soul Keeper CE This game is inspired by H.D. Lovecraft's novel "The Case of Charles Dexter Ward" written back in 1927, however the novel wasn't published until after Lovecraft's death in 1941 when it was published in Weird Tales magazine. In this Collectors Edition, you are able to download the original e-book on any e-book or computer! Charles Dexter ward contacts you in a state of panic, claiming that the reverent murderer is real and is haunting Pawtuxet Island. Charles Dexter Ward claims he is responsible for resurrecting Joseph Curwen who claimed to know the secret to immortality. (if that were true why was he dead?) Joseph refused to help Charles and started killing everyone who got in his way, he needs to kill people in order to steal their souls to stay alive! The Hidden Object scenes are list finds that are slightly interactive, where you might have to click on a cabinet or drawer to open and expose more items. There is an abundance of activities to do in each scene with plenty of inventory items to collect, repair and use. The mini games are rather easy such as using arrows to move a lockpick up, down, left or right in order to guide the lockpick correctly between the different cylinder openings. You find a grandfather clock and a red powder that when combined allows you to view and listen to events of the past. This Collectors Edition has a Bonus Chapter, a built in Strategy Guide, Original e-book, concept art and an in depth Behind the Scenes video clip which was actually a really cool look at the employees responsible for this computer game. The video shows how the concept art is used to transform into what we actually see as the end result, and how they add voiceovers and music, really amazing to see how these talented people turn a computer program into a work of art, enjoy! June 20, 2014
Fun game! This is an excellent game from these developers! I really liked their series Mystery Stories and this CE is very well made. Beautiful graphics, enough Hidden Object searches to satisfy the fans of this kind of gameplay and nicely challenging minigames. Well done devs! The Bonus game was fun to play too and a nice ending for this story. Leaves you with a positive feeling! January 22, 2013
21-30 of 58 Reviews <<prev 23456next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Mysteries: The Soul Keeper Collector's Edition

Charles Dexter Ward summons you to the island of Pawtuxet to stop a revenant from murdering the townspeople.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.