Bookmark

Portal of Evil: Stolen Runes Collector's Edition

Exclusive
Full version game
(767.85 MB)

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

The gates to another world will open soon! You can stop the impending disaster - if you track down the stolen runes! Vanessa is the only heiress of Abraham Van Helsinga, a member of the secret order of light guarding world peace. And now she has to find the stolen runes that were sealed inside the gate, behind which lurks an ancient evil.

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • An exciting bonus game
  • An integrated, step-by-step strategy guide
  • Concept art
  • Downloadable wallpapers
  • More than 200 objects to find!
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 845 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Portal of Evil: Stolen Runes Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Portal of Evil: Stolen Runes Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Portal of Evil: Stolen Runes Collector's Edition 4.4 5 86 86
BEAUTIFUL Grabs you from the beginning. Same story as many others (disappearance of relative) but sufficiently different in that the relative disappeared while engaged by a religious organization in a mysterious job. This makes it much more interesting as you explore a beautiful but well-guarded cathedral and its grounds. You can interact with various people you encounter and the voice overs are very well done. Simply gorgeous artwork. Lots of scenes and back and forth; fortunately, there is an interactive map. Diary adds information not necessarily apparent from gameplay. After completing the game, you can view cutscenes and concept art, and replay minigames and music (6 tracks). Extra nice: you can adjust your screen resolution until you get it right. May 9, 2013
Where Will the Runes Lead You? The story begins as you are having a nightmare and suddenly awaken in your room. You go downstairs to find a letter from Archbishop Benedict who is an old friend of your grandfather Abraham, urgently asking you to come to St. Peter?s Cathedral to discuss business concerning your grandfather who has been missing for several weeks. The story is very interesting and one of the strong points in the game. I was drawn in and really wanted to continue and find out they mystery behind what is happening in St. Peter?s Cathedral. It won?t be long before you find that there is more than meets the eye in St. Peter?s Cathedral. The game opened automatically in widescreen on my Windows8 laptop but there are options for fullscreen and widescreen as well as resolution. There are two modes of gameplay ? casual or expert. If you prefer, you have the option to select the Windows cursor. The graphics are good but seem a bit foggy and not really crisp ? but they change and sometimes they are better than at others, so not really consistent. The graphics are very reminiscent of those in the Empress games for example. The voiceovers are good but seem to be slow. The game?s soundtrack is appropriate for the theme and quite good. You have a journal, and shortly into the game you will receive a jumpable map that shows you where something needs to be done. Throughout the game you need to find 15 hidden messages. At first the game seems more of an adventure puzzle game but there are iHO scenes as well. There are a couple types of HO scenes, the list and the replace the object in the scene types. In all HO scenes there is no indication that an item might be hidden and I had to click around to find areas that would open. In the list type scenes and item that needed specific interaction to find was listed in a different color. The puzzles are very good and some a bit difficult and because I had to put on my thinking cap, I loved the puzzles. If you are one who really likes a lot of bonus material in a CE, you won't find it here. Aside from the bonus game and the usual stuff, there are NO morphing objects or achievements. Unless you are sensitive to the subject matter of demons and the battle between good and evil, I think you will enjoy the game. I recommend you at least try the demo before you decide. IMHO, the story is excellent and makes this an excellent game. May 9, 2013
Lady van Helsing in Action !! Good but not great !! I just finished the demo and it is an interesting game. The HOS are fine with good graphics and along the way there are also some puzzles of medium difficulty. The game area looks quite nice and with lifely colours. The scenes are sometimes a little dark and spooky and Vanessa Helsing is an attractive young lady. Just playing the demo, looks like there is also a little love story coming along. The story line is a well known one - a relative or friend disappeared and you have to find and save him and the rest of the world - kind of boring as I have played many games like this before. After playing the full demo, I would recommend the game but I would wait until the SE comes out as I did not really get hooked on the game right away to want to purchase the CE game. All over it seems to be a good and interesting game to buy as a SE, but by my opinion not worth spending all the money for a CE !! May 9, 2013
I loved all the hidden rooms and secret doors. I think this game shows a lot of imagination. There are all kinds of secret doors and hideaways that open with new codes or keys. It is not too heavy on HO scenes ( that is a plus for me)but has some fun puzzles in every room.It is amusing to me too see what opens next so for that reason I will buy this game. Would it be nice if it had as many bells and whistles as some of the more advanced games we have seen recently.? Sure. However nothing beats the element of surprise, and I feel this game is loaded with surprises. I don't care about the story as much as the fun of following clues that lead you to the next thing., Talking pets and award trophies are fine, but with out imagination, its just more stuff. This is a good game and I liked the artwork also. May 9, 2013
I Couldn't Quit! BASED ON FREE TRIAL (One Hour) To be honest, I was a little hesitant to try this game given how much I didn?t like one of their other offerings (Fallen: The Flowers of Evil), but once I started, I couldn?t stop! I played the entire trial of this game. Being an atheist, I?ll admit that I wasn?t a huge fan of the religious basis of this story to begin with, but as I played on, the story got better! The whole point of this story is: Your grandfather has been missing for a few days, and you set out to find him. Upon arriving at a church, you discover a mysterious order, which has had its stones stolen. It?s up to you to find these stones. While partially unique, and partially non-unique, I rather enjoyed the story, and I considered purchasing. At the start of the game, I wasn?t too impressed with the ratio of HOS & puzzles. I saw a lot more puzzles than HOS, but the ratio improved towards the end of my trial. There were 2 types of HOS: Junkpile, and Place the Item. The Junkpiles included both extra step objects and a zoom in scene, while the Place the Item HOS? only had a zoom in scene. While my preferred scene was the junkpile, I enjoyed both types as they each provided me with a different type of challenge. The same cannot be said for the puzzles. The majority of them were very hard, and I ended up having to skip most of them or refer to the Strategy Guide. For me, they were just a little bit too hard. The graphics were standard for this time of year. While not the best graphics I?ve seen, they certainly were not the worst. Artwork is well done, and nothing is hazy or unclear. In fact, the cutscenes were very clear and detailed, with a lot of bright colours being used to grab my attention. FEATURES - Map that allows you to jump between locations to save time back tracking. - Diary to keep track of all the events in the game. - 15 collectable messages - 9 chapters including the bonus chapter (Bonus Chapter is CE Exclusive, so the game itself has 8 chapters) - Built in strategy guide (CE Exclusive) - Concept Art (CE Exclusive) - Wallpapers (CE Exclusive) Despite not liking the first game I played from these devs, this game was very entertaining for the hour trial, and I may consider purchasing. The CE has quite a lot of exclusive extras, so I would be happy to recommend this as a CE or SE. May 10, 2013
Such a Beautiful Game! Woow the intro was amazing just like the graphics. Very detailed, colourful, I?m totally spellbound. Voiceovers are also perfect, background sounds made me shiver. However, Vanessa should be in a hurry but I didn?t feel so much instancy. Puzzles were well integrated but few and not so difficult to solve for me. There were too many scenes and that was quite confusing but the map helped me a little. There weren?t any achievements or morphing object, the messages can be the collectables. All in all, it?s a beautiful game but not a challenge so I will wait for the SE version. May 17, 2013
Entertaining Game I enjoyed this game a lot. You play as Vanessa van Helsing who is trying to find/help her grandfather. He's left messages that you have to find throughout the game. The cut scenes are great 3D work and flow nicely with the story. The voice overs, music and back ground sounds are all nicely done. The HOS are a mix of list items and "place in scene" items. You go to most HOS locations more than once. They are somewhat dark, but the objects are relatively easy to find. The mini games are fun but not overly difficult. The interactive map is excellent, it shows where the "to be done" items are located and takes you to whatever location you select. The hint button is useful, but I only used it once. The diary has some information you'll need along the way. The story unfolds nicely and keeps the mystery of "who did it" for most of the main game. While the main game had a satisfying ending, the bonus chapter was really nice. It added to the story and was long enough to justify the price. The game was not that hard to complete, but did have some twists and turns which was nice. I highly recommend this game. July 6, 2013
Best. Big Fish. Game. Ever. I have enjoyed playing games on Big Fish for a couple of years now and before that I only played Adventure Games. This game is the best of both worlds. The characters were so lifelike and the story line was compelling. I would love to see more games of this type instead of flat lifeless images. This game was so much fun! I definitely recommend it. May 19, 2013
Only 20 min. in and gonna buy it!!! Downloaded trial and after 20 min. into game decided to buy the CE. Gotta get back to game now. Try it; you'll like it. See ya after the game. May 14, 2013
Great game Great story line, great graphics, good lenght, I enjoyed it very much. May 12, 2013
61-70 of 86 Reviews <<prev 56789next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Portal of Evil: Stolen Runes Collector's Edition

The gates to another world will open soon! You can stop the impending disaster - if you track down the stolen runes!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.