Bookmark

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition

Exclusive
Full version game
(934.60 MB)

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

The town of Willow Ridge has long lived under everlasting night. Surrounded by a violent, dark forest, its only protection is the Great Lighthouse, which keeps the nightmarish trees at bay. Your husband Alan has been haunted by dreams of a ghostly woman beckoning him, believing she knows how to save the town. As he goes to investigate, a fire consumes the lighthouse! Was it sabotaged from inside the town - or by some darker force? Your search for answers will uncover the history of your town and the Forest Rite that has been a tradition for countless generations. Hold onto the light in Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest, a fantastic Hidden-Object Puzzle Adventure game! 

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Achievements & collectible acorns
  • Downloadable wallpapers and soundtrack
  • Bonus mini-games and concept art gallery
  • Bonus game play chapter featuring an epilogue
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 949 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition 4.7 5 192 192
Fun Hidden Object Game, but stick to the standard edition! I really enjoyed this game, but was very disappointed in the lack of much extra time in Bonus Gameplay. I thought "What? Is that it?" I have been mostly happy with the CEs I have purchased in the past, but this one isn't one of them, ONLY because of the above. May 20, 2013
1st Half Awesome...2nd Half Cookie Cutter I was so pleased and surprised by the first half of this game. The graphics were somewhat cartoonish but I absolutely loved the way the game nudged you forward and made you think outside the box in almost every scene. The second half was a disappointment. It was almost as though two different teams did the two halves. In the second half, there was no wonder and mental challenge...it was all a repeat of the most basic HOS and puzzles. Still, this is worth a buy. May 20, 2013
Very well done game!! Amazing cinematic, amazing design, amazing characters. Keeping you on your toes every single minute! Great great production! September 24, 2013
Adventure Fable *Based on entire game and bonus content* This is one of the better games of late. Much care was taken both with the story and the little details that make PC games interesting and fun. I won't bother with all of the details you can find for yourself in the demo, but just let you know that the CE might be one of the few worth the price. While the game is complete with out the bonus play, not abrupt in the ending or unsatisfying in the least, I think it adds much to the story and winds it up nicely in a way you won't see in the future SE. In the CE, you also get a little extra treat for collecting all of the acorns. Be sure to be on your toes so you don't miss the tour of the Old Lady windmill - especially if you're a hidden object fan. I usually don't care much for fantasy, but would rather play a mystery with real world physics and rules. This game is an exception in the fantasy/adventure genre for me. It gave great background for a truly engrossing story line and the game play supported the plot beautifully. It wasn't just HO, use an item, move ahead one space kind of play, but an actual problem solving adventure where first you need to fix the lighthouse, then find your husband, then solve the problem that started it all. I love the feeling of it being in acts rather than just a formulaic bore. I played from beginning to end in one sitting. I'm rarely that interested. I played the entire game in just under four hours with another 50 minutes or so for the bonus. I don't play in hard mode, but hate sparkles. I just like the hints and skips to be available in case I run into things I don't really enjoy. I especially liked the custom sliders that allowed me to have what I wanted and avoid all that hand holding. I never needed the SG, but did use the hint a couple of times. This game had just enough HOs without it being too much, and the problem solving was unique and clever. If you care about the story as much as the game play and if like me, you rarely buy CEs, if you enjoy some back story (I'm an artist and like the concept art as well) you really should check this one out. I look forward to more from the same developers. May 18, 2013
Wow this is Scary Stuff well knot all that Scary but it a great game Child of the Forest This is a good game I played 1 hour and bought the game as a lot of you said there's a lot of fun for every body from collecting acorns and finding HO good storie line the makers went all out in this game plenty for you to do it you like this then there's another part coming soon the games just keep getting better some of you say that it knot all that Scary your right but the games that we do in big fish are for every age there's a line that we cant cross. May 17, 2013
Different! Of all of the games I've played I've never played one where you could customize the mode of play - I LOVE this! Graphics are very good in this game and I thought it moves along very well. On the voiceover - the mouths didn't move which I thought was strange. Music is okay, if it's not great I usually turn it pretty low and I did that on this game. All in all though this game is a good one. May 16, 2013
Great game - but be warned- collect all acorns or miss out! Storyline was excellent, engaging and immersive, the graphics clear, colorful, and well done. The HOS scenes were partly interactive, clever, and loads of fun- the music they played during all of these was the same, but such a soothing, lilting piano melody- made me want to stay in each HOS forever, and in fact I didn't rush through those scenes to try to get any achievements for them. I liked the beautiful music that much. lol At times it was even a reprieve from the frantic adventure pace of some scenes in story. The gameplay was fun, and while I'm not a big fan of games where I have to perform pagan rituals (just don't like it) I tried to skim info on them, to find only what was needed, or forget that aspect of story and just play the game, which wasn't hard, as creative as it was. The reason I gave this 4.5 stars is, unlike other games by this developer, where you collect all the items throughout game and at end of main game it unlocks a chapter in bonus area - in the other games I have played by them, with similar setup - if you forgot to get any of the collectibles, you had the option to go back into those scenes end game and find what you missed so you could play all the bonus extras. In this game you did NOT, and I got so caught up in the story at the end of main game I forgot to look for the last of the acorns. As a result, I lacked 3 of the 34 acorns I was supposed to find, and the extra hidden chapter of the lighthouse was locked to me. The only way for me to play the rest of the bonus extras is to play the whole game over from the start and be sure and collect every last, blooming acorn. I wish the devs had made it to where you could go back and get what you missed, so you don't miss out on any extras, (when you're so caught up in such an intriguing game/story, it's easy to do!) - but alas, it is not designed that way. So be warned - collect all the acorns before the last cut scene - or you will miss out on all the extras in the bonus area. You'll still get the bonus chapter, just not the hidden one called "Old Lady" (takes place inside the lighthouse) Still, I thoroughly enjoyed the majority of game I did get to play - and especially the bonus chapter of rewriting history. :) Also the bit at the end of main game with the hamsters, (when you first click on the bonus) was adorable. I would have loved to see that as a mini movie it went by so fast I almost missed it! lol And I don't mind pet helpers one bit - they're so much nicer to look at then a hook, a cane or an umbrella for those high or tight spots. ;-) All in all, a great game. August 15, 2014
Great Game! Very good game. Good graphics, good sound. Wish the story was more interesting, just seems same old. I liked it. I recommend this game! July 5, 2013
Loved the game.....hated the ending This game was fun and long. I'm an HO'S lover and there are several different types to do: "A" plus on that. Also like the boxes that pop up to tell part of the story and you must find 4 items to move on. The graphics were pretty and reminded me of the Drawn series. The hint button shows where to go but doesn't say how to do it; another plus. The puzzles were actually good. I'm not a puzzle person but I did like most of them. The ending was the evil side of the game, overdone and shoddy. It was as if they ran out of creativity. I feel you need the bonus game to really tie the whole thing up. There are a lot of collectables to keep track of, so have fun there. All in all a good game. I say go for it. July 2, 2013
Good Game The game definately has a good storyline and it is fun to play, whereas I would not suggest CE since it is too short. I finished the game (including the bonus game) in about 3 hours. The puzzles could much more difficult but overall I would definately advise this game. June 15, 2013
161-170 of 192 Reviews <<prev 151617181920next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition

The lighthouse fails and darkness invades Willow Ridge. Your husband runs into the forest for answers, unaware of the shadow hunting him.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.