Bookmark

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition

Exclusive
Full version game
(934.60 MB)

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

The town of Willow Ridge has long lived under everlasting night. Surrounded by a violent, dark forest, its only protection is the Great Lighthouse, which keeps the nightmarish trees at bay. Your husband Alan has been haunted by dreams of a ghostly woman beckoning him, believing she knows how to save the town. As he goes to investigate, a fire consumes the lighthouse! Was it sabotaged from inside the town - or by some darker force? Your search for answers will uncover the history of your town and the Forest Rite that has been a tradition for countless generations. Hold onto the light in Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest, a fantastic Hidden-Object Puzzle Adventure game! 

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Achievements & collectible acorns
  • Downloadable wallpapers and soundtrack
  • Bonus mini-games and concept art gallery
  • Bonus game play chapter featuring an epilogue
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 949 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition 4.7 5 186 186
Different! Of all of the games I've played I've never played one where you could customize the mode of play - I LOVE this! Graphics are very good in this game and I thought it moves along very well. On the voiceover - the mouths didn't move which I thought was strange. Music is okay, if it's not great I usually turn it pretty low and I did that on this game. All in all though this game is a good one. May 16, 2013
Great Game! Very good game. Good graphics, good sound. Wish the story was more interesting, just seems same old. I liked it. I recommend this game! July 5, 2013
Loved the game.....hated the ending This game was fun and long. I'm an HO'S lover and there are several different types to do: "A" plus on that. Also like the boxes that pop up to tell part of the story and you must find 4 items to move on. The graphics were pretty and reminded me of the Drawn series. The hint button shows where to go but doesn't say how to do it; another plus. The puzzles were actually good. I'm not a puzzle person but I did like most of them. The ending was the evil side of the game, overdone and shoddy. It was as if they ran out of creativity. I feel you need the bonus game to really tie the whole thing up. There are a lot of collectables to keep track of, so have fun there. All in all a good game. I say go for it. July 2, 2013
Good Game The game definately has a good storyline and it is fun to play, whereas I would not suggest CE since it is too short. I finished the game (including the bonus game) in about 3 hours. The puzzles could much more difficult but overall I would definately advise this game. June 15, 2013
A great and highly entertaining game, no doubt about it. "Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest" was a very fun and delightful game to play. Practically everything about it was good! Pros: Great graphics/artwork. Crisp, detailed and clear. The hidden objects scenes were a pleasure to play. They were varied and fun. Great replayability. Lots of achievements, lots of collectibles, posters to assemble and, of course, the bonus chapter. The bonus chapter was quite short, but I really liked it because you get to help Ethan with his rite. Great music. My favorite track, Ethan's song, unfortunately, wasn't in the soundtrack... :( I love assembling objects, and there was a lot of that, so I loved it too. Very entertaining game, overall. It's a pleasure and also very relaxing to play, and there's lots of stuff for you to do. It also helps, of course, to be really good looking! However, I won't give it a 5 stars rating because the setting (forests and whatnot) and the storyline (rituals and children in peril) aren't exactly my cup of tea. I'm sure most people will love it, though! May 30, 2013
Great Game Ruined By Bonus This was a great game, loved it! However, the Bonus Content challenge nearly ruined the fun I'd had. The game doesn't let you know what items you have to collect to unlock the Bonus Content, so I failed at collecting the house numbers and all of the fruit. I didn't know until I was looking through the strategy guide halfway into the game. At the end, I acquired 33 of 34 acorns but was so busy trying to defeat the final boss - very difficult! - that I didn't have time to look for the last acorn. Now? I can't unlock some of the Bonus Content! And I cannot go back and finish searching. Once you progress far enough in the game, it won't let you go back to collect what you've forgotten of the numbers and fruit. Once you defeat the boss at the end, you cannot get the final acorn. I patiently sought out the acorns and it was for nothing. I loved the game overall, but I am so angry now after completing it because of the Bonus segment, I can't enjoy the aftermath. I am torn between giving this game 3 stars or 4. I don't want to rate based on how I'm feeling at this moment, but I know it certainly doesn't deserve a 5 star due to this disappointment. This portion of the game was inconsiderate and not well thought out. The design of the game itself is genius, however. I am really impressed with the customizable difficulty settings, and I think it was a nice touch to name our little friend. The music was beautiful throughout and I found myself wanting to play longer just to listen. The mini-games were great! I hate games that have too many of the same old hidden object areas. This was anything but your average HOG! I've never seen them like this, and I would be more enthusiastic about HOGs if more were like the ones in this game. There simply was nothing boring about any of the HOG scenes. There were even mini-games built into the HOG scenes. Just amazing! Overall, I am still highly disappointed in the Bonus requirements. I believe there should have been a clearer understanding of what needed to be found, as was the acorn at the corner, and I believe we should have been allowed to return to collect what we passed over. Had I known the game would do this, I wouldn't have bothered being distracted by that part and would have gone on to enjoy the main area of the game. I would recommend this game with a disclaimer: Follow the Strategy Guide TO THE LETTER from the very first scene in the game. Never leave a scene until you've consulted the pages of the Guide that direct you to the Bonus objects. May 29, 2013
Trees Attack The story sparked my interest so I downloaded the trial. It was awesome! The graphics, the cutscenes are fabulous and fit the thoughtful story perfectly. The haunting and moody music kept my attenton. Having 4 options of difficulty is quite unique and made my game more exciting because the puzzles weren't so challenging for me in casual mode but I could change their difficulty during the game. However, there weren't so many puzzles, I'ld love to play more. I also enjoyed the different types of HOS. The best idea was the hamster. I made him free, then I played a HOS and got him into the inventory. His artwork and voiceover was so cute! May 27, 2013
Puzzles Within Puzzles I really like Mad Head games. This one had so many levels. The story is intricate. As you go along there are not only HO puzzles, but interactive puzzles that have a few levels. I was particularly fond of the little "dioramas" that moved the story along but also had a "seek and find" component. There were achievements, items to collect, and morphing objects (a personal favorite in any game) in the bonus chapter. The one thing I haven't figured out (haven't finished the bonus chapter so perhaps all will be revealed) is why there was a locked door that I could never open in the main game. This was also very well drawn and the music was a nice surprise. Some of it was quite lovely and not annoying as in so many games. Really loved this and went back to re-play immediately which I never do. Highly recommended. May 25, 2013
Watch out for the trees This was a fun game. The artwork was so beautiful. The story was not bad. But the trees were kind of dorky. Fair challenge and worth the price. May 23, 2013
Okay game. Kind of sucks that we need to gather acorns to get to the secret part in the bonus but I guess that's to add replay value. Not a bad game though it would have been better if we had known some back ground about the town we're in at the start. All in all, not bad but the bonus game ending was too short and didn't show if the boy woke up. May 23, 2013
161-170 of 186 Reviews <<prev 1516171819next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition

The lighthouse fails and darkness invades Willow Ridge. Your husband runs into the forest for answers, unaware of the shadow hunting him.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.