Bookmark

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition

Exclusive
Full version game
(934.60 MB)

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

The town of Willow Ridge has long lived under everlasting night. Surrounded by a violent, dark forest, its only protection is the Great Lighthouse, which keeps the nightmarish trees at bay. Your husband Alan has been haunted by dreams of a ghostly woman beckoning him, believing she knows how to save the town. As he goes to investigate, a fire consumes the lighthouse! Was it sabotaged from inside the town - or by some darker force? Your search for answers will uncover the history of your town and the Forest Rite that has been a tradition for countless generations. Hold onto the light in Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest, a fantastic Hidden-Object Puzzle Adventure game! 

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Achievements & collectible acorns
  • Downloadable wallpapers and soundtrack
  • Bonus mini-games and concept art gallery
  • Bonus game play chapter featuring an epilogue
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 949 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition 4.7 5 186 186
Another Complete Original! The story was the best of all, the game it self doesn't give an introduction to how things started and it starts with a blast of adrenaline. I loved the HOS (which can be played in three kinds), it was easy and has great, bright graphics. The mini-games were challenging and makes you really think. The game has a jump-in map that really helps and a whole not one but three whole set of achievements. It's kinda sad though that you can't unlock a part of the bonus content if you didn't collect all the acorns nevertheless the whole game was a blast. A REAL GAME TO ADD TO YOUR COLLECTION! May 22, 2013
REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME I hugely appreciated the exquisite and beautifully polished graphics in this game, as well as the iHOS with their very unique twist, and the sweet story of the Child of the forest. The jump map was great and the controls smooth as silk. The game play was fun and interesting and the puzzles not too hard for the most part, with some brand new ones on the artistic side that I really enjoyed. I also really liked the music. Unfortunately, on my computer, and from reading the tech thread, quite a few other players, the black and white movie still puzzles would not work, and there are a lot of them. You are supposed to find different items in them and use them on different aspects of the puzzles to solve it. My cursor had a question mark attached and every time I tried to click anywhere in the scene, the game paused and said click to continue. Well, clicking to continue started the puzzles again, but I still could not click on any of the items, without the game pausing yet again, repeatedly. This is all that would happen. I could do nothing else. This would not have been that bad per se, if it were not for the skip button. The screen was definitely freezing up during these puzzles and thus the skip button would take up to 10 mins to activate and in a couple of them, even longer. I tried to send the game down to my task bar in order to do something else while the skip button filled, but it would not stay there and kept popping open again. Thus I spent a huge amount of time just sitting waiting. Not fun. For this reason I cannot say how long it took me to play the main game, but I am reasonably sure it is a fair length. The main game ended well and luckily the BC did not have any of those move puzzles so I had no problems with it. It is a lovely chapter, based on another aspect of the dilemma of the Child of the Forest, who is still having problems with the villain and the colours and graphics were a delight yet again, in different locations and was just over 1 hr long. Because of this problem I cannot recommend this game, but I will not tick No either because it is a lovely game. None of these movie puzzles are in the demo yet, so there is no way to know how they will react on other computers and if it is safe to buy the game, so I would not like to lead anyone into buying something that may or may not play well enough for them. Sorry, devs, but you did make a truly gorgeous game and I commend you for that. Your graphics and game play are right up there with the best and if it had not been for these agonizing movie puzzles I would have given you a 5 star rating. May 18, 2013
Starts out absolutely fantastic...Ends flat I loved this game in the beginning. I loved the graphics, storyline, and even the sounds in the game were fantastic. The game was on track to being my favorite BFG, ever. However, as the game progressed, it fell into the same old, same old routine. It became nothing but fillers (Hidden Object Scenes and Puzzles). The HOS's became more and more frequent and one of the worst kind (find 5 of these, find 3 of these, etc.) I would love to give this game 5 stars. I really would. This game really did try to be different with the puzzles and HOS's, but there were just way, way, way too many of them. If you're a big fan of puzzles and HOS's, get the Collector's Edition. The extra bonus play is packed with these. If not, save your money and wait for the SE. I still recommend this game. If you can stomach the puzzles and HOS's, this is a fantastic game. June 21, 2013
Mixed bag Completed the whole game, plus bonus. First off I must say that this game had every bell and whistle you could want. Acorns in the main game, morphing objects in the bonus chapter, thought provoking puzzles, different twists on HOS, gorgeous graphics, extremely good music, great adventure, good storyline flow. Why the 3-star rating? Two things: the mini-movies/films/cutscenes, and the achievements. I had the same problem quite a few others had with those blasted mini-movies/films/cutscenes. They froze up, they paused, they inched along at a rate that was slower than slow. I am thankful they didn't lock my computer, and I was joyous for the skip button because that enabled me to eventually continue play the game. I actually got quite good at positioning my mouse so that I wouldn't have to wait for the next "freeze frame" to see if it was positioned correctly. Then I had to click repeatedly on the skip button (or the item I was trying to get) so that when the screen moved again, that action would take effect. That was extremely irritating. Once out of the cutscene, everything else was smooth. Not sure what that was all about, but developers: take note because that's a killer. When I see this developer's name again, I will think of these cutscenes and it will give me pause as to whether or not I'll play/purchase the game. Next the achievements. I like achievements and I usually take a peek at what there is to get (in the main menu) before I start so I can know what to do during the game. This set of achievements was extensive, and some were for the bonus game. 'Course you didn't know that, so you spent lots of main game time looking for morphing objects... hmmmm. Then there were 'mystery' achievements - I generally find those to be off-putting and challenging at the same time. Can't really do/get them if you don't know what they are, but the challenge is trying everything and then find out in the end if you got them. Can't say I am a real fan of them, and in this game even the ones I knew about had to be left undone. Gold, Silver, Bronze levels of achievements? Lose that. Didn't understand the Old Lady's bonus thing. Apparently, I missed an acorn or something somewhere that tied into getting to that bonus. Frustrating - why spend the money if you can't enjoy all of what you pay for? One review said to follow the SG all the way through the game word for word...but what type of gaming experience would that give? Generally, I am not a "re-player" once I solve/finish/defeat something I'm done with it. This game, however, left me rather unsatisfied and it may warrant a replay just to get all the parts I missed. Great ideas, however bad execution in some places. Other than those scenes & some achievements, the game was simply phenominal. I liked the concept drawings that came with explanation - I appreciate the work that goes into making these games, so it's always good to be able to see behind the scenes. I will recommend the game - my frustrations aside. There is plenty of help in the hint and SG systems, and if you don't have problems with the mini-films/cutscenes, then you are good to go. You'll surely be challenged and you'll find the flow of the game to be very good with quite satisfying endings in both the main game and bonus chapter. June 1, 2013
Some great innovative parts but inconsistent gameplay/story I'm a big HO fan, it's what I play most and most of what I play are the premium/collectors games. This review is a comparison to other HO games I've played. Brilliant animation, artwork/graphics. It looks like they put lot of effort into this part. Character voices were good as sometimes reading long texts are tiresome, so this contributed to the atmosphere of the game too. Fantastic game play details, both in finding and unlocking them. Specifically, using the amulet to get rid of those evil trees, great mini games like the navigation and canon one, and find/searching for items around town. Also the HO games were a bit more complex having to put things together to get something else, great detail! All of these innovative parts really brought the story and characters to life, and were consistent with the telling of the story. Until... Everything seemed to go a bit down after leaving the town. The scenes and games/puzzles didn't really have much to do with the story. This is really an important point for me especially for a Premium game, if the story and scenes are just a viehle for the games then you lost me. I found the animated story/history bit about the Rites of Passage quite boring after two, and the game within that a bit random. I don't think it really needed it. It seemed once the makers of the game left the town, the story got a little thin and so did the way to setup each scene. Everything was a bit too random and they didn't seem to put as much effort into combining the story/puzzles. What was the story behind the names on the trees? I'm the lighthouse keepers wife?! This is my house, but how come I'm curious about an object that I know belongs my husband? Whats with the stone giant? Were there any stories about the old city? I was playing on the easiest causual mode, and I found many of the puzzles near impossible! I had to go the Strategy guide a lot to not only complete it but actually understand what the heck the puzzle was about! Not good for easy mode, and I rate myself as pretty good with puzzles. The boss at the end was one of many times when I just had to give up and press Skip. The symbols were just not well formed enough to make out the differences. The game got frustrating and tedious. I've never had this experience with a game before, so sadly it's a big thumbs down overall. A great beginning, richly drawn with scenes of great beauty and mystery, but no history or story behind it. Inconsistent with some major flaws. July 26, 2013
Liked This Game....But I really liked playing this game it was fun. The two buts are: the a lot of the HO scenes are very different, just plain wierd. Which facinated and bugged me at the same time. The next but is the biggest...it really had a tutorial that was the worst one I have ever had. I did not know that there were achievement awards until I finished and looked at the bonus material. The tutorial never told me about morphing items, never pointed out the strategy guide, and a couple of other things. I like to look for morphing items and I like to look at the strategy guide. But I didn't because it was so dark and unassuming that I did not know I had one until I played the bonus game. So with a warning about that, for all you casual players like me, I do recommend this game. May 28, 2013
THANKS FOR THE REVIEWS, BUT NO THANKS. Played the demo and will not purchase. Will not go on and on, can just say that I agree with all the two and three star reviews. May 24, 2013
not my cup of tea i played a bit of the demo, and it just didn't grab me. I found it strange that mouths didn't move with the dialogue. it didn't interest me enough to play further. May 23, 2013
Lips don't move, too many HOS, story wanting Downloaded because of the good reviews and what sounded like a decent premise. I found the story convoluted an my mission unclear. Every time I thought I got a glimpse of plotline, there was another HOS (I despise these). No gracious option to choose something other than the HOS either, like some HOGs have provided. April 2, 2014
Not worth the money! This was not worth the colletor's edition price. The bonus game was to short and boring. The whole game's storyline was not good. I'm sorry I bought this one! June 4, 2013
171-180 of 186 Reviews <<prev 1516171819next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition

The lighthouse fails and darkness invades Willow Ridge. Your husband runs into the forest for answers, unaware of the shadow hunting him.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.