Bookmark

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition

Exclusive
Full version game
(934.60 MB)

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

The town of Willow Ridge has long lived under everlasting night. Surrounded by a violent, dark forest, its only protection is the Great Lighthouse, which keeps the nightmarish trees at bay. Your husband Alan has been haunted by dreams of a ghostly woman beckoning him, believing she knows how to save the town. As he goes to investigate, a fire consumes the lighthouse! Was it sabotaged from inside the town - or by some darker force? Your search for answers will uncover the history of your town and the Forest Rite that has been a tradition for countless generations. Hold onto the light in Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest, a fantastic Hidden-Object Puzzle Adventure game! 

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Achievements & collectible acorns
  • Downloadable wallpapers and soundtrack
  • Bonus mini-games and concept art gallery
  • Bonus game play chapter featuring an epilogue
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 949 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition 4.7 5 192 192
The iHOPA evolves...through a Rite of Passage! TITLE?Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest VERSION?Collector's Edition (full game + bonus game) DEVELOPER?Mad Head Games (produced by Big Fish Games) GENRE?Interactive Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure STORYLINE?The town of Willow Ridge sits amidst the unending night of the Dark Forest, its people trapped there by malevolent trees. Their only protection is the Great Lighthouse. Your husband Alan, the keeper of the lighthouse, goes missing in the Dark Forest. Before you can investigate, the lighthouse bursts into flame, Willow Ridge is plunged into darkness, and the trees begin to encroach. You must save Willow Ridge, find Alan, and uncover the history of the Rite of Passage that has protected the people of Willow Ridge for generations. Stay in the light. Keep from the shadows. OVERVIEW?Child of the Forest is, I hope, the first of the new generation of iHOPAs. The storyline, while an amalgam of different ideas, is cohesive and compelling. Graphics and music come together to provide a truly immersive experience. GAMEPLAY?Point 'n' click adventure interspersed with iHOs, puzzles, and mini-games. First, then, the iHOs?there were so many different types, I'm not sure where to begin! ? List: except you're only finding the list items to move them aside to reveal what's hidden behind them, which is a piece of a larger object. Once you finish the list, all the pieces are placed in your inventory and you then have to assemble the object. ? Silhouette: two of each type, but the items don't fit exactly into the silhouettes. The silhouettes are merely suggestions regarding the category the items fit in. ? FROG: find all the pieces of a particular object. ? Misplaced: occurs during the cutscenes in an 8mm-style film which time-stops. You then find the misplaced items in the scene and put them where they belong. I'm sure I'm forgetting a few types of iHOs. Needless to say, you won't be bored! Puzzles and mini-games run the gamut from the unique to the familiar presented in a wonderfully new way, from relatively easy to requiring thought and skill. The skip button does charge fairly quickly. SPECIALS?Find acorns (not morphing). Also, a few times I found pieces of fruit, but I'm not sure what their purpose was. INTERFACE?JOURNAL: Notes clues and details your adventure. MAP: Transports you and highlights active areas in casual mode. HINTS: Sorry, but I didn't use any. STRATEGY GUIDE: Not real time, but it is divided into chapters. SETTINGS?There are 4 levels of difficulty: the easiest offering a tutorial and sparkles to assist you, and the most difficult letting you figure everything out on your own. Effects, music, ambient sound, and voiceover volumes can all be set separately. Custom cursor and aspect correction are offered. GRAPHICS?Wow. Beautifully rendered 3D graphics, amazing textures, wonderful use of color to evoke mood, realistic but not photo-realistic. The backgrounds are stunning and the items in the iHOs are clearly recognizable. CUTSCENES?The "real life" cutscenes are 3D animation from a first person perspective (with a few startling moments that made me jump). There are also a few pop-up book mini-games that really look like paper cutouts. MUSIC?Lovely, moody, and unobtrusive. SOUND?Appropriate and added to the experience. VOICEOVERS?Quite well done. The gypsy sage man reminded me of George Carlin. LOL SUMMARY?I rarely give a game 5 stars. Child of the Forest thoroughly deserves them for its impressive gameplay, beautiful graphics, moody music, and thoughtful storyline. You won't be disappointed. May 17, 2013
Dear Devs; I give you my first born... Many others have reviewed this game in detail so I won't repeat or duplicate - just scroll up and read the great reviews on this great game. I played the trial, reluctantly, because like others here I am just tired, burnt out and "eh" about hidden object games these days. I have bought hundreds here and thought well, I was just getting to know the 'formula" so well that I find myself clicking the hidden object scenes randomly like mad and skipping puzzles just to get the thing over with. Occasionally a game would come along that would make me smile and go "wow, this is cool! Finally!" but I have not had the wonder and awe about them that I had in the beginning. The car in the accident in the rain, the whining child, black bars that say things like "Oh! however do I open this rotting gate?! I must find a key!" yet you are in front of the gate with dynamite, a chainsaw and backloader. Nope, need the key which is in the usual mailbox with the usual vines over it. Yawn. I downloaded this one expecting much of the same. I said to my sister recently that I would give my first born for a decent game with a creative plot and voice overs that didn't talk to you like you were a 3 year old. So, if I had a first born he/she/it would be all yours. This is one great game. You have thought of everything and then some. The graphics are incredible, the many extra touches are amazing and yes!....the hidden object scenes are creatively different. You have the jump map, the dock that locks, customizable everything. I haven't even turned off the music or voiceovers, which I do out of self defense in every game. A big thank you!!! for this wonderful creative effort and listening to what we wish for, complain about, get bored with and would like in a game. I hope the $13.99 I spent is an even trade to you for the first born I don't have to give you. :) May 16, 2013
Save Willow Ridge! I did not play the previous "Rite" game, but I did play Chimeras, so I assumed this would be great. And it is. There are so many nice, extra touches. You have to save your town Willow Ridge from the trees that are overtaking it now that the lighthouse has exploded. You have an amulet, which you break, so then you have to find the pieces to fix it -- it makes the trees recede. You find pieces of a map, which is interactive, and has "sparkles" in casual mode to remind you of things you haven't finished. Of course, you had to find the map pieces first. Your inventory also has its quirks -- click on the "+" and you find something else to do with the item. The HOS are different -- when you find an item, there is an extra piece behind it to click on that leads to the end item in the scene. Even the mini-puzzles are unique -- haven't found one yet that I've seen before. A definite buy! Plus the first Rite game as well! May 16, 2013
UNIQUE! BUY THIS GAME! My review is going to stray a bit from the other (excellent) reviews in that I'm not going to rehash all the great, informative facts already well-covered here. I downloaded the demo, played less than 10 minutes before discovering some of the unique facets of this game. I immediately purchased it--wouldn't have missed this for the world! Now for the meat of my review: These developers are new and that's a very obvious edge they have over many of the older, established developers. They chose to take the foundation of HOPAs, scrapped most all the formulaic elements we're all very tired of, and conceived this wonderful, imaginative, very innovative game. I think this will become the standard upon which future HOPAs will be based by wise developers. Mad Head games also developed and brought us Rite of Passage: Perfect Show. It won a 2012 Best Game of the Year award. Chimeras is also excellent with a very compelling storyline. For those of you who don't own these other two games, I'd certainly recommend you take advantage of today's special offer. Quick comment: I've experienced no cursor problems with this game, so I can't speak to that. Every single aspect of Child of the Forest has the mark of excellence in my experience. (Have only played first hour or so...this is the first time I've just completely stopped and said, "DJ, you've GOT to share your thoughts on this!" So I did. Forgive me for not listing a "favorite game." I play and enjoy so many it's too hard to pick just one. But I can guarantee that Child of the Forest is in my top five! Lastly, my most heartfelt thanks to BFG (been buying games from you guys for years!) and to all those who take time to give us thoughtful, great reviews which have always helped me in making purchase decisions. Blessings to all (I'm Southern!) & have a wonderful day! May 16, 2013
Return to Ravenhearst now has a challenger as best game ever!! I did something I had never done before and that is buy a game without doing even 1 minute of a trial. Based solely on the glowing reviews of others I decided to take a flyer and get this gem during the outstanding sale of one CE at regular cost and another at $2.99. The devs deserve a standing ovation for creating the best game in quite a few years, hence my review title. Many other reviewers have explained the storyline so I won't bore anyone with repeated comments. There are so many unique elements to Rite of Passage. I love that the hidden object scenes involve in each found item a small part of another item to be put together. The hamster ( and naming it to boot ) is really neat. The map to maneuver thru the forest is a great idea. The puzzles in sepia coloration which develop part of the story is very clever. I have seen 2 so far and hope there is more. I have played about 2 hours of the game and had to come here and put in my 2 cents worth about this 10 star game. I have not been this excited about a new entry in the HOPA genre since RTR and we all know how old that beauty is. I'd bet that even players who normally eschew HO games will marvel at this one. Child of the Forest is easily the best so far in 2013 and it will take one heck of an achievement to top it. I guess readers of this review will surmise that I LOVE THIS GAME!! I usually advise players to judge a game based on their own play. This time take my word for it. R of P: C of the F is the FINEST GAME IN YEARS. May 18, 2013
Very entertaining This is kind of different, still a very good adventure / HOG game. 40 min into it and I need to buy. There are FROGS and regular HOS games, minigame is so much fun like taking your boats through the river. Graphics are detailed and crisp and 4 difficulties. I have not seen this before where you can choose how you want to play it. You need to find acorns along the way and restore your amulet. Objects found are sometimes interactive if they have a plus sign you need to do something before you can use them. Story is captivating and I have the need to find out more and help out. A little creepy but oh so good. I'm getting a little tired of the same old same old. This is refreshingly different at least IMO. May 16, 2013
Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest - Great game! I've been on the lookout for this game and was very happy as I heard that it's out now. The storyline is very different from other games. It's not only a story about bad dreams or ghosts. It's very complex and great done. I love it. The graphics are ok, but they could be better. The atmosphere is great, but I love more detailed graphics. And the characters could be better too. But the fantasy world of the game is great done with These graphics. The music and all the sounds are perfect for the game. I love them. The game is not easy. The puzzles are challenging and different from all other games. I played many, many games, but I never played puzzles like these before. There are voiceovers, achievements, collectibles, character profiles, a bonus game and a little bonus game called "The old lady". The achievements are splitted into three different groupes. Bronze achievements, silver achievements and gold achievements. A great idea! Overall this game is the best for me in 2013 until yet. The devs did a nice job! May 17, 2013
Top HO Game I played for the full hour on the demo (Mac). Lots of pluses: 1. configurable difficulty setting 2. HO scenes that contribute to finding items we need 3. Reasonable actions on the character's part (so far). 4. Interesting storyline. No sign of resolution at the end of an hour 5. Puzzles that weren't the same-old-ones. Definitely sparked my interest and I was disappointed at the end of the hour. May 16, 2013
" This is Definitely No Sherwood Forest!!" Wow I got involved in this game right at the start! How nice. First of all , the opening scene has the storyteller- female whose husband "Alan", ventures off into the "Dark Forest" that's outside their town, in an attempt to lift their town's curse. Against Alan's wishes, his wife follows him armed with their family's amulet- an ancient relic that blesses them with the power of light- and entered the forest, too. Monstrous trees soon attack her. She uses her amulet until it ran out of light and she had to go back home to recharge. Suddenly, their lighthouse explodes and you #the game player# are now informed that light is what keeps your town safe from the evil forest! So now your mission is to fix the light house ASAP- or no more Home Sweet Home #so to speak:# "Child of the Forest" offers you 4 game play modes: 1.# Casual, 2.) Experienced, 3.) Masterful, and 4.) Custom- where you can set all your game difficulty options according to your likes and skills. There are some awesome and creepy graphics and they truly put you into an animated world of spooky realism! The background ambient sounds resonate through your bones! Extras include your standard strategy guide with 5 chapters and a Bonus Chapter, Achievements #Collect 34 acorns# , and a "Huge" Surprise at the very end!! The hint button #my best friend...lol# recharges quickly, there is a journal that feeds you the story throughout the game. There are different and kind of new to me styles of the HOP games. The graphics are so bright and bold, clear to see throughout. Looking forward to getting on with playing this one. Love it so far! May 16, 2013
I don't normally review games...but... I had to comment on this one! I'm a huge fan of this type of game, but I don't review them because to be honest the'yre pretty much all the same and once you've played one...well...you get the picture; but NOT THIS TIME! Not only is it visually stunning, but the originality and sheer genius and creativity that went into the story line, mini games, and even the HOGs is unsurpassed. Smooth linear flow without too much hand-holding, and "jump to" map made this a truly enjoyable experience! Do NOT miss your chance! May 17, 2013
11-20 of 192 Reviews <<prev 2345...20next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition

The lighthouse fails and darkness invades Willow Ridge. Your husband runs into the forest for answers, unaware of the shadow hunting him.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.