Bookmark

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition

Exclusive
Full version game
(934.60 MB)

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

The town of Willow Ridge has long lived under everlasting night. Surrounded by a violent, dark forest, its only protection is the Great Lighthouse, which keeps the nightmarish trees at bay. Your husband Alan has been haunted by dreams of a ghostly woman beckoning him, believing she knows how to save the town. As he goes to investigate, a fire consumes the lighthouse! Was it sabotaged from inside the town - or by some darker force? Your search for answers will uncover the history of your town and the Forest Rite that has been a tradition for countless generations. Hold onto the light in Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest, a fantastic Hidden-Object Puzzle Adventure game! 

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Achievements & collectible acorns
  • Downloadable wallpapers and soundtrack
  • Bonus mini-games and concept art gallery
  • Bonus game play chapter featuring an epilogue
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 949 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition 4.7 5 189 189
Looks really good Awesome crisp clear graphics, good storyline and puzzles. I knew within 10 minutes this is a buy for me. May 16, 2013
5 stars is not enough ! I found very helpfull a lot of reviews for ROP 2 before I started playing it. So thanks guys for your help. I'll not go in details, but I want give my positive impressions about this lovely game. I played ROP 1 too, but ROP 2 was my favorite so far. The most important thing in the game for me was fun factor. It was so good story, and so much different things to do that I played it all night and finished the game :( Well... I'll play it in a few days again :D May 23, 2013
WOW!! This Game has it All!! I totally loved this game in all aspects. It has everything in it that a good game should. It was stepping into a new era of games in this genre that is well over due. I love the vibrant 3D graphics that jump out of the screen and feel like they are touching you. The soundtrack is very complimenting, with the HOP having really soothing music to concentrate with rather than turning the volume off. There are four game play difficulties which is a new concept. Hidden acorns to find and collect throughout the main game play. Then they go onto a tree lock, that is in the lower screen to tap on them to place them on the tree. You gain a pet hamster that is added to your inventory, you then give him a name and he will perform tasks throughout the game. The map is excellent. You can hover over a location, then click it to be transported to that scene. It highlights where tasks need to be done. The diary is really done well with illustrations and text & it has a to do list featured in it. There are many achievements to be earned. That you can tap on the icon to see where your at with them. In the bonus chapter there are morphing objects to be found. The Big Bads at the end of the main game and the bonus chapters are really challenging and fun. I also liked the mini movies that are also puzzles in the game there where several of them. This is a new twist I haven't come across before. Great mini puzzles. The HOP where different than the usual too. They had tasks to perform in them, and I'm not talking like picking up an umbrella handle to complete the umbrella, they where great! The inventory had many tasks to put items together to create another etc. Storyline was excellent, & the CE was more than just wallpapers and pics. There is a scene called 'The Old Lady' where you need to collect all the acorns in the main game to create a lock. Then you click on it to find another bonus chapter. I missed out on one acorn so it was locked. But when replay it I will get them all!! Please get this CE game now. I guarantee you will love it as I do. Enjoy! May 18, 2013
BEST I'VE EVER PLAYED If you like HO games, Puzzles that are included and a great story line, this is for you. It's DIFFERENT, not mind-boggling, but very special. The folks that put this together had original ideas and made it fun. Even the puzzles are not something you want to skip or ignore. They are fun, just challenging enough and take a great 'different' tack. I am loving it! Not finished yet, but if you want something fun, different and not enormously challenging (but still a thoughtful process), get it. It's very nice. I will get another. I give this a 10 plus. Very cool! I'd like to see many more like this. The folks who put it together were THINKING! May 18, 2013
LOVE IT! Talk about a game that keeps on giving. This is it. The mini games make you think (but not to much). The HOP's are great. They look simple enough but sometimes not so. You have to find items within items and they're not all the same. The endings don't leave you cut short in either the standard version or the CE. This game gives you a little of everything and I really liked that. Never boring. May 31, 2014
MAD HEAD GAMES, YOU ROCK What an absolutely brilliant game and I loved every second of it. You have: * Casual, Experienced, Masterful and Custom modes of play; * Achievements Boards - Bronze, Silver and Gold; * Interactive map; * Journal; * Voiceovers. You also have to find: ~ 34 Acorns (throughout the game but not the Bonus); ~ 5 Forest Fruit (throughout the game and Bonus); ~ 11 morphing objects (just the Bonus). I played on Masterful mode throughout the game and bonus and I didn't skip or hint any HOS or mini-games. The game and bonus took me 8 and half hours to play all up. The graphics are beautiful and very colourful. There are no blurry or dark places anywhere. Sound is excellent and the music is delightful - mostly piano. The HOS were mostly interactive and quite challenging and I took my time playing them. There were lots of mini-games and all were good fun. Some were quite challenging and others quite easy. The hardest mini-games were at the end of the game and bonus when you had to defeat the tree and the ghostly witch. They took quite a while to do. Even though I played all HOS and mini-games, found all the acorns, forest fruit, etc, I still only got 46% out of 100% in achievements. There are a lot of achievements to get - you know the ones - 5 objects in 5 seconds, make no mistakes in HOS games, etc. So I'll leave the game for 6 months or so and then play it again. So overall, a fantastic game and definitely recommend that you play it. It really is worth its weight in gold. May 23, 2014
best ever!! Best game I have ever played!!! hope there is a sequel..and soon!! November 19, 2013
A great game, with knobs on This would be a great game, even without all the bells and whistles that are on this CE. Many have been before me, so I won't bother going into the story, but I thoughi it definitely had originality, which is tricky with all the games that are being made now. It also kept my interest throughout the game, and kept the game moving at just the right pace. Also, the cut scene numbers are just right, not too many to interfere with the fluidity of the game, but enough to keep the tale rolling along. The graphics are lovely hand drawn story book style, and along with the gentle music, makes for the perfect atmosphere for the story.The hidden object scenes are clear, I did find myself having to really look for a few items, but managed quite well without any hints. The puzzles and mini games are innovative and fun, mainly of a middling difficulty for me, and again I managed without skipping any. There are instructions if you need them, and the strategy guide if you need more help. The strategy guide is thorough and well presented, and stays where you leave it during game play. Some of them have a definite 'end of level boss' feel about them, where you have to keep your wits about you and defeat some foe or another. There are 2 difficulty levels, plus a custom level, which was the one I chose, and set to almost the hardest, but showing inventory items which needed something doing to them. You can access this through options during game play. Some inventory items need to be combined with others, some require looking at more closely. There is also a jump map, which shows areas which still require actions to be completed. I found this to be enough to keep me on track, without needing the guide. There are plenty of collectibles of different types throughout the game, and you receive achievements for getting them all. The achievement list is extensive, and they have to be earned, rather than just appearing when you progress through the game. I managed to get only 70%, so the game has replay value just for that, although I would have come back to this game anyway, even if I had got them all. The extras are a little different here, and much better in my eyes. The concept art actually talks you through the development of the game, and the reasons things were done as they were. I also really enjoyed the hidden object replay challenge available on the main menu, in which you need to have great speed and accuracy, this is another achievement. You can also replay the mini games, once you have passed them in the main game. The bonus level was a great addition, not required to wrap the main story up, but a great addition and definitely worth the CE in my opinion. There is also another optional area to be revisited when you have completed the main game, which is an additional challenge. This game is a very good length, as is the bonus, and I really do recommend that you give it a go. It's well balanced all round, offers decent challenge, and actually worthy of being a CE. There are nods to the previous game, and a nod to the next one, I just hope it comes out soon. October 1, 2013
My favorite game so far! I am immersed in this game. I love the numerous boss fights and the new way you could tinker with your items. September 23, 2013
The best game Big Fish ever released! Thank you Big Fish! After all these semi CE titles I was wondering when the real CE will come out...while waiting for the Final Cinderella, my wife and I bought Rite of Passage, and I must admit - it was among the best experiences ever, if not THE best! Funny thing is - I've had more fun with this one than with Cinderella (which is also a great game) in the end! Here's my review: - Fantastic graphics! Every single detail is painted with care and love, producing one of the prettiest games out there (i'm big fan of Drawn series). - Storyline is somehow confusing at the beginning, but it turns out it all gets explained in the end. Finally storytelling like in a movie, not following these simple cliches "bad guy took someone you love, you encounter bad gay in first 5 scenes and in the end you defeat him". This one has much more, with many twists and interesting moments. - Music was neutral and certainly very good - I liked the fact that the music doesn't go on and on forever, but it stops at some points, leaving you only with ambient sound, which I thought was very clever, and kinda spooky. - Voiceovers are not the best ever, but didn't make the game less immersive. They're just right. - Game feel - just the best. The game is so responsive, with beautiful feel whenever you click and something goes to your inventory, disappears, moves etc. Just as it should be. - Extras - just amazing! You have not just one, but two bonus chapters! (my wife and I have found second one, just after second playing of the game, as we collected all acorns). Under different circumstances, I would say that non-existing option for getting back to scenes and collecting missing acorns is a bad thing, but as the game is so fun, it was no problem at all to play it all over again and focus on collecting them all. There is that great option to play Old lady HOS with 100 objects over and over...I'm just random-clicker so I've had only 10 on score, but as I've seen in some different thread, some people have over 1000, well done! I actually don't like HOS very much, so I've left it to my wife to get 3 stars on each of them. 3 types of collectibles, posters of characters with extra bit of gameplay, replayable hos and puzzles, 3 levels of achievements, utterly cute hamster (we named him Charlie :), wallpapers that are not just scenes from game but something created especially for wallpaper purpose....just astonishing - bonus with the most effort I've seen on BFG! Overall, this is my favorite so far! I give it 10 out of 5 stars and I can't wait for more to come from Mad Head Games! - June 2, 2013
41-50 of 189 Reviews <<prev 34567...19next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition

The lighthouse fails and darkness invades Willow Ridge. Your husband runs into the forest for answers, unaware of the shadow hunting him.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.