Bookmark

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

The town of Willow Ridge has long lived under everlasting night. Surrounded by a violent, dark forest, its only protection is the Great Lighthouse, which keeps the nightmarish trees at bay. Your husband Alan has been haunted by dreams of a ghostly woman beckoning him, believing she knows how to save the town. As he goes to investigate, a fire consumes the lighthouse! Was it sabotaged from inside the town - or by some darker force? Your search for answers will uncover the history of your town and the Forest Rite that has been a tradition for countless generations. Hold onto the light in Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest, a fantastic Hidden-Object Puzzle Adventure game! 

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Achievements & collectible acorns
  • Downloadable wallpapers and soundtrack
  • Bonus mini-games and concept art gallery
  • Bonus game play chapter featuring an epilogue
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 951 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition 4.7 5 189 189
Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest - Great game! I've been on the lookout for this game and was very happy as I heard that it's out now. The storyline is very different from other games. It's not only a story about bad dreams or ghosts. It's very complex and great done. I love it. The graphics are ok, but they could be better. The atmosphere is great, but I love more detailed graphics. And the characters could be better too. But the fantasy world of the game is great done with These graphics. The music and all the sounds are perfect for the game. I love them. The game is not easy. The puzzles are challenging and different from all other games. I played many, many games, but I never played puzzles like these before. There are voiceovers, achievements, collectibles, character profiles, a bonus game and a little bonus game called "The old lady". The achievements are splitted into three different groupes. Bronze achievements, silver achievements and gold achievements. A great idea! Overall this game is the best for me in 2013 until yet. The devs did a nice job! May 17, 2013
Absolutely Stunning!!! Just finished the game and all i can say is wow!! This game incorporates whimsical and eerie in a way that is magical and captivating. Absolutely stunning!!! the story was incredible and kept your attention while the scenes just swept you away in awe and made you stop and just take it all in. I have never seen a game carry itself in every way soo well as this one did. Toward the end it was late and i was up alone and when the character said..who dares enter!!..i just sat in my chair and looked behind me and back at the computer screen uneasy and whispered to myself...me I think?. Little did i know the jeepers creepers that awaited me ahead still. It really pulls you in. It's a game that offers both easy and challenging aspects to the gameplay which i really liked and appreciated. Whether one area was easy or challenging..it was creatively different and that made it fun and interesting. Being able to sustain a story the way they did without it withering and losing it's magic was indeed impressive..especially for me as i tend to lose interest half way through a game because the story loses it's wow factor..not this one! i only continued to become more fascinated and didn't want it to end...almost cried when it did. The main game itself was worth way more then the price of a CE hands down. In the CE you can replay the minivideos, puzzles, games and HOS's and it shows you how well you did and offers to let you raise you score by replaying...and the clip art they actually took the time to explain what they were thinking and wanted to achieve in creating the scenes..it was almost poetic reading the devs thoughts as they brought us into their little world in creating it. The CE offers the music sound track which in this case actually was worth it to me for the first time because i loved both the beautiful and errie choices of music they used for the game. The choice of wallpapers were carefully chosen to be of the best selections..something most devs are sloppy about when doing. There is also additonal play in the poster section and the posters have to be pieced back together. The bonus game was short but still good if you want to back track on the story and enjoy morphing objects which the bonus game included as a special touch. But there is also an additional game after the bonus game to be played for those of you who enjoy collectibles and collected them all in the main game...all those acorns were not collected in vain..yes there is a extra short game dedicated to putting those to use. These devs take pride in their work no doubt and have a very special gift that comes from the heart in what they do. I paid full price for this game and i am glad i did because it's devs like this i wanna support and see more of. This game stays in my heart and will be played time and time again as i can never imagine being bored with it because it's so rich and captivating in every way possible. I will gladly open my pocketbook for these devs games and like others all i can say is MORE MORE!!!...they rock! Thank you Devs for gifting us with such an outstanding game!!! May 18, 2013
Somehow I made it through the main game. Yes I know it is a strange title - but that is what I felt after I beat the last boss - which did have me scratching my head because I has having trouble understanding what I was suppose to be doing. (But that was just my dyslexia acting up - I even looked at the strategy guide several times reading and re-reading the instructions before it clicked what I was to do. Again that was more due to my dyslexia then a failure of the instructions not being clear enough.) This game has a lot going for it - there is LOTS of things to do some of which isn't all that clear - like just making note of all the house numbers on the buildings by just clicking on it - it is one of the achievements believe it or not. Unlike some games that pop up little windows saying "achievement errand" you have to actually click on the little red box at the bottom right corner of the screen to for it to access the achievements which allows you to see all the possible achievements that can be - including the stray fruit that pop up every now and then. This game offers a lot - stuff you should probably have to actually play the game to really get the grasp of. The demo just isn't enough - and in very few games have the demo ever put me off to the point I wanted to uninstall the game and never want to speak of ever playing the game again. But with this game - the demo just barely gives you an idea on what is ahead. In the end all I can say is give it a try - don't let the uniqueness of the game put you off or go looking for things to gripe about - it is a good game one of the best I have seen - and actually played through the main game - in a very long time. Of course I am a fan of the Wild Arms series for the Playstation - so I like unique and daring to be different games. Which I think is what a lot of us want - we've played so a lot of games that seem the same-o-same-o that some of us get a little scared of something totally new that comes down the line every so often. It is perfect - no but then again there is no such thing as perfection - this game has a lot of strong points and if you look hard enough you can find faults. In the end - just try the game see for your self if you like it or not. It is worth the CE price? Yes - for me it is - some may want to wait for the SE. (And good luck to those who do wait for the SE - I just don't have that kind of patience.) May 17, 2013
This Game Deserves Every Single Bit of Praise it Gets!!! I played the first Rite of Passage, and this is 10 times better! I loved every single second of the demo. Can?t wait to purchase! The storyline is brilliantly creepy, centering around the town of Willow Ridge. The story involves amulets, evil trees, a guardian lighthouse and a creepy forest? The way Mad Head has developed this game makes the story outstanding. The demo ends on a very creepy cutscene. Speaking of cutscenes, each cutscene was great and I didn?t skip one. The story just makes you want to play on until you finish the game. I loved the HOS for two reasons: One, every single one is different, meaning, you have to find the objects to assemble something different, or open something etc. and two, they were very unique. This type of HOS can only be seen in this game. The HOS themselves were a perfect mix of easy and hard, and I really enjoyed playing them. The puzzles were relatively simple; nothing was too hard, which I enjoyed. Puzzles include tic tac toe, place the missing objects, and guide the ship. If I got stuck on a puzzle though, the strategy guide would be a great help. I really liked the graphics. The artwork and animations are very well done, and the graphics are modern, not outdated by a year or two as we?ve seen in other games. The voice-overs were really good too, and weren?t just used for cutscenes, but for everything, which I enjoyed. FEATURES - 4 levels of difficulty: Casual, Experienced, Advanced & Custom (I picked custom. In custom, you can change the hint and skip times as well as other things. Min. time is 15 sec, max. is 90 sec) - Hint & Skip- as I mentioned, you can change these through custom mode to suit your desires. I set the hint to 15 seconds and the skip to 45 seconds. - Diary to keep track of events - Map is interactive, and lets you know if you have completed a location. - A little while in to the demo, you acquire a hamster that is useful for many things (you also get to name it) - 34 Collectable acorns. (CE Exclusive) - Built in Strategy Guide (CE Exclusive) - Posters (Bonus Content, CE Exclusive) - Bonus Game (Bonus Content, CE Exclusive) - Gallery. This is replaying HOS and Puzzles (Bonus Content, CE Exclusive) - Wallpapers (Bonus Content, CE Exclusive) - Something called ?Old Lady? which I don?t know anything about. (Bonus Content, CE Exclusive) There are a lot of CE Extras, which definitely makes this a CE worth purchasing. This is a cracker of a game, which goes in to contention for the best game of 2013, and I don?t know if I can wait a month for the SE! This is a relatively new developer (this is their second game) and if they?re producing this brilliant material this early, I can?t wait for more! 100% recommend the CE! May 17, 2013
Excellent Game I really like the NeverTales game and after playing that I had to give this one a try. At times it was a little confusing about where to go or what to do but overall I have to say that the graphics and story were well worth it. November 26, 2013
Completed Game AWESOME First of all KUDOS to the boy who sang that beautifully haunting song into the game! Mad Head Games has really raised the bar and I can't imagine why this wouldn't be the game of 2013. Wonderfully long game with custom difficulty option. Besides the bonus game there are Achievements, Gallery which are puzzle posters you put together of the characters and then a little story about them, the soundtrack, wallpapers, and concepts. I didn't find all my acorns so wasn't able to visit "Old Lady" so I don't know what that does. A preview of their next game, "Nevertales, the Beauty Within" which promises "coming soon". Can't be too soon enough because Mad Head Games ROCK !! May 20, 2013
A Gamer's Paradise I hesitated to write a review as there are already so many. But couldn't help myself as I have played many games and was starting to feel bored until this one came along. This is really fun, many things to do and can be played many times in order to master it. Check out the achievements so you know the goals which are high! Which makes it worth the money for all levels The puzzles are fun, there's a SG if you need it, can ignore it if you want the challenge. Music is good, adds but doesn't overwhelm. Initial motivation driving the character is not immediately obvious but quickly so. If you are new, enjoy. Many of the reviews now are written by people who have played a long time and so the standard is high! I would have been blown away by this game if it was my first. Great game for gamers on many levels. May 19, 2013
Best Game I've Ever Played!!!! I've played Big Fish games for many years now and consider myself an expert in HO/Adventure games but I have to say that this is the best developed game I have ever played so far. It excels in everything about it from graphics to sounds and ingenious ways things are done in the game. There's lots to do so it's the most entertaining game I have played. The CE version is most definitely worth the money this time. May 17, 2013
This Game Is A Winner!! I recently played Nevertales and absolutely LOVED it. Upon reading other reviews, someone recommended this game as it is by the same maker. I had played the other Rite of Passage game already. This one was more like Nevertales and I thoroughly enjoyed it. These games leave all others in the dust. MadHead needs to hurry and release some more! November 16, 2013
REALLY UNIQUE FEATURES - LOVED IT With so many reviews, probably no one will read this, but here it is. SUMMARY: There was a lot to do and see; gameplay was not linear. Much of it was unique and will likely become more common in the future. The main game is fairly length. This is a game I heartily recommend and I am very happy that I bought it. Music was spooky and sung by a child at the beginning, but he just disappeared suddenly. It set the tone for the entire game. There are quite a few dark and foreboding dark spots, which you need to clear with your magic amulet. If you were, for example, in the woods, it would become brilliant after using your amulet. Your inventory will eventually include a hamster who helps out in tight places. I won?t go into detail of the story since others have already done so. Some HOS were list based and there was always something under the objects which was used for the last object. Other HOS were unique. I?d like to see other games with this type. You are given silhouettes which represent categories instead of specific objects and you usually have to find 2 of each. So, if the silhouette is a beetle, you may need to find a bug and a caterpillar (this one took some thinking when I saw no more bugs anywhere). Or you are shown a silhouette of a candy, which you find, but the category is sweets, so the other object is a cupcake. MINIGAMES were fantastic and a lot of fun. I especially liked the game with the paper cannon. There were lots of pieces to it ? much like putting a miniplay together. The cutscenes or minishows were very unique and I loved them. They told a story in storyboard fashion and you had to put 4 misplaced items in the scene where they belonged as the story unfolded. It sure was a lot of fun. In the CE, you get to replay them. CE: Bonus game has new locations: lady?s house (which was locked in game) and stables. I think it took about an hour (I spent 2 hours replaying a few HOS and puzzles and didn?t break down the time spent on the game and the replayables). September 25, 2013
21-30 of 189 Reviews <<prev 2345...19next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest Collector's Edition

The lighthouse fails and darkness invades Willow Ridge. Your husband runs into the forest for answers, unaware of the shadow hunting him.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.