Bookmark

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Masque of the Red Death

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Justice is in your hands in Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe’s The Masque of the Red Death! A mysterious figure in a red mask has been stalking the streets of a small French town, murdering city officials. The mayor calls you in to help track him down and stop him. But when you arrive, you discover that the townspeople all seem to be cheering for the Red Masque. So who is the real criminal? It’s up to you to decide in this thrilling Hidden Object Adventure game!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6/10.5
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 537 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Masque of the Red Death

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Masque of the Red Death

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Masque of the Red Death 4.2 5 32 32
One of my favorites! I play HO games a LOT, and this is one of better ones. I don't care as much for the ones that have you searching for silhouettes, but there are only a few of them. Even then, I actually enjoyed the way they did them. There are plenty of traditional HOS in this game too. I thought the graphics were great and the story was good also. No, it's not exactly Poe's Mask of the Red Death retold. It's very loosely based on it. I liked the twist of having the player weigh the guilt of the two parties as well. Overall, I highly recommend this one. September 12, 2013
Very Interesting! I really enjoyed this game. I loved the variation of puzzles. An interesting twist for this game. You choose the guilty one. Is it the mayor or the red mask? You decide the fate of the guilty one. The HOGs and puzzles are not difficult. The storyline is great! July 23, 2013
An Intricate Game....Outstanding This game is great !! And very clever !! Long long playing time Beautiful graphics Good music - it enhances the game and sets the mood There are many many locations The hint will tell you where to go but not what to do - you have to think about it, which I like The puzzles and overall design of the game is creative and not run of the mill I will play this game again & again...really that's the highest praise. Buy it and have fun.... July 4, 2013
Have already played Sorry "big fish" fans, I have already played this game last April. Its in my Edgar Allen Poe collections. Good game, not a hard core player. May 25, 2013
Still a great adventure!!! (Differences to the Collector?s Edition) :) Played the Collector?s Edition and tried this one to find any differences: Find out the truth, who is more guilty: The mayor of the town or the red-masked man who is murdering city officials? Graphics are as expected from ERS: drawn very clear and detailed! Marvellous cutscenes with very good voice-overs. As always 3 modes to choose from, 6 chapters (took me at least 4 hrs. in the 2nd mode), direction giving hint, a very useful journal with an interactive map (allowing you to jump), you may lock the inventory, so that it won?t disappear at the bottom. And we still have a camera next to the inventory and you may take a photo of every scene for your photo-album, but in the CE you are able to earn an achievement for this. Lots of HOS (list) and those silhouette-HOS, where you must find one item, before getting another, until 1 last item remains for your inventory. Minigames are good to manage. You can choose between 2 different endings, depending on who do you think is more guilty? Important Collector?s Editions extras: 11 achievements to earn and 5 hidden items to find for your cat. Bonus-chapter is an additional story with some new areas to explore and took me another hour to play. Yes, this time, I would prefer the Dark Tales Collector?s Edition!!!! :) May 24, 2013
Nothing to do with Poe I would have given this a higher rating if it didn't claim to be related to the Edgar Allen Poe story. Outside of a red mask, that's it. One of the creepiest of his stories for me, so this mild good guy vs bad fell flat. It had a few different bits, the weighing good vs bad, but it wasn't very long. Still a good game, just sailing under false colors. June 26, 2013
VERY GOOD PRODUCTION VALUES I bought the CE, but the SE looks almost as good. NOT SO GOOD First, the artwork (especially of Dupin) doesn't seem to be up to par with prior games of the series. Second, the bottom of the screen is too crowded - on my 27 inch screen, there is over an inch of unused space on each side - makes the inventory tray rather small in comparison. VERY GOOD Production values are what you'd expect from ERS - an interactive map, artistic graphics, diary, interesting story (true to Poe), logical game play, various achievements and well-detailed interactive uncrowded HOS. You can take pictures with your camera as often as you want and they will be saved to a book in your office. A delight to play. I love all the Edgar Allan Poe games. June 11, 2013
Mostly a good ride I started playing in advanced mode but quickly felt "lonely" without the monologue that appears when you click on an object of interest. Also, to remove all of those comments made it appear that some items were important that were not. To me, it's fine to omit the comments that are clues, but not those that are innocuous commentary, like "I hope he's OK." My big issue is with the storyline. Not the narrative, but the way you play through. The game was enjoyable and logical up until I got to the mayor's mansion. At that point, I started picking up objects because they were clickable, but I had not yet encountered the puzzle that they were to solve. I would rather encounter a problem and *then* go looking for the things needed to solve it. Then I got to a spot where the comment was, "This would be a great place to <spoiler-avoidance>do a specific, completely un-obvious project.</spoiler-avoidance>" Wait, what? Nothing leading up to that point indicated that that's what needed to be done or why or how. It's like someone wanting to take you somewhere but insisting you walk in front, even though you don't know where to go. Very frustrating and irritating. After working through that area, progress became logical again, but by then much of the enjoyment was lost and I just wanted to finish. Random observations: The visuals are clear and attractive. I like the understated music. The puzzles are fun and not too hard (or too easy). The weighing of guilt is arbitrary. I wanted a particular outcome, so I distributed the marbles to get it. I figure, real laws don't apply and it's my game world, so I can do what I want! ;-) Although I really enjoyed many aspects of the game, I didn't feel satisfied when I finished. It was more of a "thank goodness that's over." Unfortunately, it's because of a brief part of the game. July 26, 2013
good but a bit disturbing game I have to say for the most part this is a good game. hint button is great, games are good, story line is good, in general a great game and I do recommend it. the only reason I gave 4 stars instead of five is mixed feelings about deciding the ending. while I went along with it it was a bit disturbing that I had to decide who was right and who was wrong. it is different and unique however. I don't use sound so can't rate that but over all a unique, different game. just don't get freaked out about finding someone guilty. May 29, 2013
This one is good! I have purchased most of Edgar Allan Poe games. I have even given them a bad review once for going HO crazy. I like HOGs but dislike HOG's with HO scenes at every turn. This game gives enough HO scenes, lots of challenging mini games, a great story that the game follows right through to the end, great voice overs and wonderful eye candy graphics. A well balanced game. I never use tutorials and avoid hints. Long enough to enjoy all the fun with a good ending. So what more can one ask for but immersion. I never stopped playing until I hit the end. I most definitely recommend this game. I gave it a four, one has to leave room for more outstanding efforts. August 4, 2013
11-20 of 32 Reviews <<prev 234next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Masque of the Red Death

A murderous figure in a red mask haunts the streets of a small French town, and the mayor needs your help to track him down. But you soon discover that the mysterious Red Masque might not be the real criminal…

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.