Bookmark

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Masque of the Red Death

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Justice is in your hands in Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe’s The Masque of the Red Death! A mysterious figure in a red mask has been stalking the streets of a small French town, murdering city officials. The mayor calls you in to help track him down and stop him. But when you arrive, you discover that the townspeople all seem to be cheering for the Red Masque. So who is the real criminal? It’s up to you to decide in this thrilling Hidden Object Adventure game!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6/10.5
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 537 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Masque of the Red Death

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Masque of the Red Death

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Masque of the Red Death 4.2 5 30 30
The guilt ball is in your court, Detective! After playing all of the Dark Tales games, I do rate this one as probably one of my top favorites. Again, you are Detective Dupin uncovering the truth, but this game allows the player to make the moral decisions, using 'guilt balls' that are given to you throughout the game. The graphics were very nice; I really liked meeting so many different people in this game as opposed to other games, and there was a nice mixture of HO with mini puzzles, like finding ingredients to bake bread, that used the surroundings instead of continually staring at a row of marbles or untangling strings. Good music. My only pet peeve was the hint button in the mini games that would show you an object but not how to move forward in the puzzle...frustrating at times. Worth the SE price with a satisfying, albeit quick ending! October 22, 2013
Great series of games I enjoy playing this series. Although not my favorite Dark Tales, this is still a good game to play. Not a lot of bells and whistles, but the game play is smooth, and the HOS/puzzles/adventure are well balanced. HOS is silhouette. Mini-games can be skipped. Ambience and mood are great. The player has to make choices towards the end on how the story ends. Nicely done, but not the best one. September 6, 2013
like premature burial The Collector's Edition Bonus Chapter takes this adventure to the max. It mirrors Premature, and thus gets the highest score! I will give this standard edition one score below because of lack of a bonus chapter. August 26, 2013
Good-looking game from ERS. Good-looking game--nothing new. Beautiful artwork, as expected from ERS. But, the story, game play, somewhat interactive silhouette HOs and puzzles are more of the same. Glad I waited for the SE as can't see that this simple, but attractive game could have been made better with CE features. June 11, 2013
A Fun Game A fun game based on the Edgar Allan Poe story. March 14, 2014
NOT IMPRESSED This game is pretty much ho hum for me. The story line did not make me want to engage with the puzzles to keep moving, but I did just to get it over with. It's not a bad game, not a good game, just lukewarm entertainment. Pros: You get to decide the ending The puzzles are easy Voice overs are adequate Music is alright Cons The story is dull, unoriginal Character movement is jerky Too much going backwards to use items Nothing to challenge the mind Kind of short I think if you're new to this genre, you'll find this game interesting. However, if you're like me and have played a lot of games, this one will seem a little stale and familiar. June 3, 2013
Not impressed After all the hype, I was expecting great things from this game. I was disappointed. The graphics were excellent, but frequently the puzzles required lots of random clicking to move forward (Do you need a tool? Randomly click all the otherwise static lamps to find it!) In a couple of places the hidden objects were too dark or only partly visible. In one HOS, the candle I needed to light the lantern, was floating in the air and unreachable. Through trial and error I eventually randomly clicked my way into the solution. I was also unimpressed with the "weighing of guilt" feature. I like the idea, but in my opinion trying to decide between a town official (who taxes people to the point of starvation so he can decorate his shrubs with diamonds) and a revenge-seeking, murderous masked individual (beloved by the town folk) is really not a difficult choice. June 11, 2013
I Thought this Would Be Better I bought this on Discount weekend....I though the game would be okay...but I wasn't impressed with the graphics, too many HO that don't even look like the item, and too much hiding them in odd ways....the HOs like the "rings' were so camafloged that you would never find them probably without a guide.....I hate that tactic...they are forcing you to either get CE or wait for SE and hints in Forums..... NO, not impressed at all !!!! June 9, 2013
Save your money! Choose another game, better ones out there This is my second time writing this review, game fish must not have liked my disappointment in the game. Either way I wrote a long review last time and will not repeat again. Just save your money the game has a lot of glitches in the game play and puzzles. I would save my money for another game to come out that will have tied up the story line better than this game did. Pass on this one you won't regret it! June 18, 2013
ERS is the guilty one... could've been a great game. This review is based on a complete playthrough. ERS is a top studio that has proven they can put out some first rate games. They didn't with this one. THE GOOD: The visuals were top-notch. ERS delivered like they always do in that department. Sound was nice for a while but got very repetitive. The idea of "picking the ending" sounds good on paper, but it didn't play out well - it had absolutely zero impact on game play: you just get to pick which of two closing cutscenes you watch before the credits roll. Map was interactive, diary kept track of all the information you found. THE BAD: The game was disjointed. You had this plot going on with the Red Masque, and then you had all these puzzles to solve. Unfortunately, for the most part one seemed to have very little to do with the other. A lot of what you did made no sense even in a game. One of the worst uses of a loaded gun I've seen, being stymied in your quest for justice by a bullfrog, and the whole 'animal' thing just left me shaking my head. The 'scales of justice' was a nice visual, but again served no real mechanical purpose, which made them a confusing element of the ending. THE UGLY: HOS repeated - one back to back [15 of this, then 15 of that]. Things impossible to spot (no click penalty at least). BOTTOM LINE: If I could describe this game in one word it would be "boring". You'll decide for yourself very early in the game who you want to be 'guilty', and then the game just goes on and on and on... Neither of the two 'culprits' is presented in any sympathetic way - both are killers, why can we only arrest one? It's a very old concept, but every hero needs a tragic flaw and every villian needs a redeeming quality. Neither had those here. March 23, 2014
21-30 of 30 Reviews <<prev 23next

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Masque of the Red Death

A murderous figure in a red mask haunts the streets of a small French town, and the mayor needs your help to track him down. But you soon discover that the mysterious Red Masque might not be the real criminal…

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.