Bookmark

Off the Record: Linden Shades Collector's Edition

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

A mysterious figure in red… Something’s driven everyone away from Linden Shades. No one’s been back since that time of terror when the kids drew startling images of blood-red ghosts, and the police were no help. Your editor’s sure there’s a story hidden in the Shades. Can you get the truth, off the record?

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • The bonus game to uncover more secrets
  • Soundtracks, wallpapers, screensavers, and concept art
  • The integrated Strategy Guide
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 730 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Off the Record: Linden Shades Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Off the Record: Linden Shades Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Off the Record: Linden Shades Collector's Edition 4.2 5 68 68
GREAT HIDDEN OBJECT GAME MOST ENJOYABULL GAME I HAVE JUST PLAYED THE 1HR TRY BEFOUR YOU BUY I MUST HAVE THIS GAME. June 12, 2013
Loved it! The storyline got me, loved the films too! Graphics are good looking, same goes for the sound...it's a buy. June 11, 2013
Off the record- this is a great game! I LOVE this game! Everything about it is fantastic! The graphics, the music: It is well worth the money for a CE, except this weekend, it's half price. What a deal! The game makers really scored with this one; I would highly recommend this game. June 8, 2013
Fantastic game! I loved, loved, loved this game! It would be worth getting for the superb graphics alone, but it also has an engaging story line that keeps things moving. There is a bit of back and forth, but not so much that you lose sight of your objective and the interactive help allows you to get around easily. Puzzles are fun and fairly easy, and (thankfully!) not the dreadfully dark kind that strain your eyes. Best of all, you finish the regular and bonus games with a smile on your face and feeling good. What more can you ask of a game than that? Only downside for me was the music, which quickly became annoying so I played with the sound off but otherwise the game was terrific and I will be looking for others from these devs. They are top-notch all the way! June 24, 2013
great game ! really enjoyed the game wish there more in a series June 22, 2013
OFF THE RECORD OFF THE CHARTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I can truly say this is an excellent game! FLEW thru the demo. HOG at it's best. Thanks BIG FISH! June 8, 2013
Not Just Another Ghost Story BASED ON DEMO This game already has me won over. The STORY is a spooky GHOST story, set in the BROAD DAYLIGHT of a sunny day in the country. While the ATMOSPHERE suffers a little from this departure from clich, I think it?s worth it just for the variety. And it is a creepy story. BLOOD RED GHOSTS began to appear to the children of an orphanage. The principal believes they are real, but no one else does. The orphanage is closed anyway and you in your role as a REPORTER with OFF THE RECORD are investigating this decades-old case. This is a HO GAME, there are oodles of them everywhere ? which is just fine by me! The ADVENTURE component is limited and very simple. Each INVENTORY item is quickly used in an obvious place. There are also very few PUZZLES, and so far they are not difficult. The HOS are the INTERACTIVE LIST TYPE, with some objects requiring further action. Some require the solving of a VERY SIMPLE little puzzle ? for example, placing different shaped stones back into a necklace where the background cloth indicates the shape. There are also some MULTIPLES OF items in each HOS, for instance, spur x 5 and apple x4. If you are too slow on finding an item, one will start to glow. HINT points to the area you need to be DIRECTLY, showing a photo you can JUMP into. So does the INTERACTIVE MAP which shows you active objectives, places with things to be done, and your location. You have 3 levels of difficulty, which is probably just as well, because on Regular this game is VERY EASY. The GRAPHICS are CLEAR, PLEASANT & BRIGHT. No problem with dark scenes in the beautiful daylight. They are not, perhaps, spectacular, but they are CE standard. The MUSIC became a bit annoying to me, too many repetitions already. AMBIENT sounds are great. VOICEOVERS were also EXCELLENT. Now for the BELLS & WHISTLES. *deep breath* We have COLLECTIBLES ? 37 crayons, 12 letters (of the alphabet), 16 toys, and we must also find tapes with the backstory. ACHIEVEMENTS ? 20, including ones related to the collectibles. GALLERY with ART, CONCEPT ART, REPLAYABLE CUT SCENES, MUSIC, MAKING OF. REPLAYABLE HOS & PUZZLES. BONUS GAME WITH NEW HOS STRATEGY GUIDE ? which at first I couldn?t find, it?s in the diary I never even thought to open! I?m keen to buy this one, it fits me to a tee ? good story, nice graphics, different idea (daylight) and the gameplay is HOS heavy. But that is not going to be the case for most HOPA fans. I think even in the ?INSANE? mode, this game will be TOO EASY for EXPERTS, and have too many HOS for the ADVENTURE PLAYERS. So 'OFF THE RECORD' I recommend it to all us AVERAGE players out there looking for a relaxing & entertaining few hours. June 8, 2013
Good Game Play Not Eerie/Creepy Enough - Review Of Completed Game HOPA (Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure) Story: Your news editor sends you off to Linden Shades to look around a now long ago abandoned orphanage rumored to be haunted by the red hooded boogeyman The editor had once investigated the story but never had a chance to bring it to any conclusion cause he ended up getting assigned a different case. 7 Chapters, 20 achievements, collectibles: 37 crayons, 12 letters of the alphabet, 16 toys along with 7 cassette tapes to be found with the back story that you find/earn throughout the main game. I play all my games running on PC Windows 7 64 bit and this had widescreen for me. Filled my 20 inch monitor just fine. No tech issues. There are live actors in some cut scenes, otherwise voice overs. There are 3 modes of play. Regular, Expert, Insane. I tested out before I started actually playing. The easier two modes have sparkles/black bar tips, hint/skip quick on charge up. The Insane mode is really slow. Hint also helpful outside of HOS on all modes. If you are not in an area where there is something to do a portal box will come up and just click there and it will take you. You can switch between modes at any time during the game. I played on Insane mode and didn't use hints/skips once I actually started playing the game. Journal: This is the typewriter down at the bottom. Click on that and inside you will also find Objectives, Evidence, as well as the Strategy Guide which stays where you last left it. Map: Is transporter and shows where you are on the map for all play modes along with objectives which also pop up on the screen however the 2 harder modes don't show active task indicator at least it didn't for me. HOS: Found by word list and very interactive here and there are quite a few scenes. I didn't find these to be Sanford & Son junkyard. I thought these were very well done. I had no problem here locating anything. I will say the collectibles weren't always so easy to locate as some for me were very well hidden or blended into the scene especially the crayons along with the toys. Puzzles: The usual run of the mill found in many games just to name a few: Get the cats and snails from one side to the other, get the emblem out of the maze, slider puzzle, etc. The challenge varied for me. Usually in most games I at least skip a couple however didn't skip any in this game. My overall impression: This story line itself I had no problem with. I definitely found intriguing. I was immediately drawn in by the graphics, cut scenes, live actors and was all prepared to get an eerie, creepy, suspenseful story about the red hooded boogeyman and an orphanage that was suppose to be haunted as I found this to be very well done but after this point I didn't get this feeling at all from this game.Just wasn't what I expected at all. Oh and no I don't mean doom and gloom. Just no eerie, creepy, suspenseful feel to me. I was on the fence with this one after the demo time but with the sale to get it for $8.99 I thought I would see where this game would end up going and well I just didn't get the eerie/creepy suspenseful feeling from this game I expected to. I think the developer could of worked on this a bit more. Truth be told I had the "who was the boogeyman" figured out well before I reached the half way point in the game. I must say though I did enjoy the game play as this has a lot to offer here. While this is HOS heavy so may not appeal to some however still found a nice balance of puzzles and adventure as there are a lot of places to go and things to do. Also quite a few achievements/collectibles to earn/find along with hours of game play, well at least for me anyway. I did use the map occasionally but not much. The main game does come to a satisfactory conclusion. The bonus chapter is not needed. The bonus chapter has some scenes from the main game along with some new. HOS are also interactive with a good number of puzzles. As for eerie, creepy, suspenseful feeling none to be had by the bonus chapter either. CE extras: Strategy guide, Gallery with art, Concept art Replayable cut scenes, music, making of, and replayable HOS and puzzles. Main game: This was definitely long enough for me. Almost 7 hours no hints/skips used. Bonus chapter: This was just under an hour for me. No hints/skips used. Overall a 4 stars from me. I thought the story could of been worked on a bit more otherwise I would of gave this 5 stars. The hours of game play, achievements/collectibles and getting it for $8.99 instead of $13.99 saved this game otherwise I would of rated it 3 stars at best and waited for the SE. Thanks Big Fish and developer. A good game just needed to work on the story more in my opinion. As always, give it a whirl and decide for yourself. June 8, 2013
THE RED BOOGYMAN This is the story of a haunting in the orphanage, all of the children are being tormented by the same evil entity, the red boogieman! The children are so frightened that they close down the orphanage, abandoning the building for good. It is now up to you to investigate and find evidence that the boogieman does indeed exists. One of the best features of this game are the collectables, lots of different kinds. You will find hidden crayons, toys and letters of the alphabet, and they have done an excellent job of hiding them. There are a lot of HOS, they are interactive and each HOS has a puzzle to interact with such as placing badges in the correct slots. There aren't as many mini games but with collectables as well as achievements to earn you will enjoy playing this game. I didn't like the bright sunny atmosphere because it took away from the spooky scary feel for me, but it's still a well done game. June 8, 2013
Do You Believe in the Boogeyman? The story begins as your editor asks you to do him a favor and follow up on one of his old assignments. He requests that you investigate old reports of a bloody-red boogeyman who was terrorizing children at the Linden Shades Orphanage. You return to the now abandoned orphanage to see what you can dig up, and it is not too long before you begin to believe that something was indeed going on at Linden Shades. Can you find out what is behind the mystery of Linden Shades? The game uses live actors for the cut scenes. The graphics are good and consist of a blend of hand drawn and computerized artwork. The soundtrack is okay but the ?music? in the HOPs drove me nuts. There is a repetitive piano-key tune that is extremely annoying and creates the impression a timer in the HOPs, even though they are untimed. Eventually, I had to turn the music off to save my sanity. In fact many of the sound effects were just over the top annoying, like the tractor in the barn that would not turn off. Your diary is located on the bottom left of your screen where you see the typewriter. Inside the diary is your strategy guide. Your interactive map is on the lower right next to the inkwell that serves as your hint button. As I progressed through the game I was irritated that the typewriter and inkwell areas took up so much space and intruded into the gameplay area. Many times I accidentally clicked on them because they were in the way. The interactive hidden object scenes are referred to as HOPs in the game since they all include some minor puzzle action. You will find a lot of HOPs in the game but they are well done and the items are not too difficult to find. The puzzles are a lot of fun and probably the best thing about the game (aside from the interesting storyline). The puzzles are not too difficult and some are easy but I really enjoyed the ?mechanics.? During the game you need to find bonus items: 12 letters, 16 toys, and 37 crayons. Many times I found them by accident when I was looking for other items so it was a surprise when the dialog box would pop up and let me know I found 1 of something. There are also 20 achievements to be earned, so if you like achievements ? here you go. Other extras include replay of HOPs and puzzles. Bonus HOPs are also included along with the bonus game. Aside from those we have the standard extras that I never bother with such as artwork, and music. IMHO, coupled with the achievements, bonus items, and the fact that I can replay the puzzles, this game is well worth the CE price. Overall I liked the game and recommend that you at least try the demo to see if it is a game that you might enjoy as well. June 8, 2013
31-40 of 68 Reviews <<prev 234567next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Off the Record: Linden Shades Collector's Edition

Something’s driven everyone away from Linden Shades.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.