Bookmark

Legacy Tales: Mercy of the Gallows

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Strange things happen in and around the dark castle at the Dutch coast. Find out how William van der Decken, famous for his battles against pirates, and his lovely wife Isabelle vanished. What happened to her and why was the captain found dead, dressed as a pirate? Follow the trail of clues to solve this untold story in Legacy Tales: Mercy of the Gallows. Meet the ghost of a sad, young woman who needs your help and start this pirate adventure! Go inside the castle, find your way to the mighty battleship, the Batavia, and unravel the mystery!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6
  • CPU: 3.0 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 690 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Legacy Tales: Mercy of the Gallows

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Legacy Tales: Mercy of the Gallows

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Legacy Tales: Mercy of the Gallows 4.2 5 35 35
Great Hidden object game of Youdagames Very nice graphics and good soundtrack for this hidden object game. And the storyline was not good and not bad at all, I think there some of the scene was delaying and having so many flaws, But I really liked this game ! June 29, 2013
Legacy Tales: Mercy of the Gallows It was fun to find coins. At times the HO find part was a challenge. To say it was also kinda easy on some. June 10, 2013
Very pleasant surprise Even though I don't enjoy wandering around, back and forth, relentlessly finding and using inventory items, this game incorporated enough hidden object scenes and fun creativity to make it very enjoyable for me. Would definitely recommend. August 16, 2013
Really Good Hidden Obect Adventure Game I had a lot of fun on this one. The graphics were great. The storyline was really good. The game gets you involved pretty quickly. It has a great map and navigation is good. The hint button is mildly aggravating though. When you click on it there are sparkles that fly slowly to the top and then spread outward slowly to tell you what you might do next. Ugh, but it was helpful in most cases. The puzzles were fun and most of them made sense. The reason for 4 stars and not 5 were the amount of HOS. One in every room. That is bad enough but some of them had many multiple items...like one had 6 brushes and 7 rings to find and that doesn't count the other 2 and 3 item multiples that were there. The HOS were crammed full of stuff so it was a challenge to find some things. A little of sensory overload going on. That aside it was a game worth playing and I am glad I bought it. July 8, 2013
It's a ghostly love story! First, my overall impression of the game: the storyline was wonderful - I love games that have lovers to reunite and treasures to find and this game had both of those things. There is just enough mystery about how the characters came to be together in the first place to keep a person interested in continuing the game. It's not a sickly sweet love story. I don't care for those, but it is a love story, with hidden object scenes and puzzles to unravel on the way to helping the two main characters reunite. The graphics were fine - some a bit dark, but, overall, they were just fine. I think the developers got a bit lazy, though, when doing the hidden object scenes, as many have you finding several of one item - 4 swords, 3 scrolls, 7 rings, that kind of thing, and it occurs in several of the hidden object scenes, and it's done more than once in a hidden object scene. Many scenes had you find multiple items several times. That is probably clear as mud..lol. While going through the game, there are gold coins to find that you need to use to open treasure chests that have items within that aid in completion of the game. I read several reviews from people who thought that finding the coins in each area was difficult. I didn't find it so. Go through each scene carefully..bit by bit..and just wait until a little white hand shows up and, voila, there's a coin. I didn't think that finding the coins was difficult at all, and I appreciated that the coins actually served a purpose, instead of just being something extra to find. There is a map that lets you jump and indicates which areas have stuff to be done and it also shows you where coins are. It doesn't show specific areas - just lets you know that a coin or coins are available to find, so if you find yourself low on gold coins, you can consult the map to see areas you may have missed. The hint system worked well in and out of the hidden object scenes and filled quickly on the casual mode I played. It doesn't give stuff away - just tells you where you need to look. Between the hint system and the helpful map, I didn't get bogged down at all during the entire game. I was looking forward to the SE of this game, as I demoed the game when the CE was released. I'm glad I waited, as there is plenty to do without the little CE extras. The puzzles were cleverly done and very doable. The skip button is available if you get frustrated and it fills in a couple of minutes after you start the puzzle. The puzzle instructions were adequate. All in all, it was fun. I got three evenings of play out of it and, for me, that is adequate length. Folks who play more quickly than I will probably finish it in a couple of evenings. Give the game a try - the story is nice, the graphics are good, music and sound are good, puzzles and hidden object scenes are just challenging enough, and it's a neat love story. June 13, 2013
Quality like Collectors Edition! Fantastic and proper storyline! Small and big challenges that makes the game more exciting and not too easy! And what graphics, really realistic! I really like the sound as well. Thank you for such a well-done game! June 12, 2013
Good demo SE game I actually finished the demo which is normally surprising, but had also played demo in CE. The game is the love story of a wealthy man who becomes a pirate? and his wife. The letters, which push the story forward are very good. The music is melancholy which fits with the theme of helping Isabel find her William. The collection of the gold coins help you along the way to finding information and/or tools you will need to open the chests they are contained in. I also like how the chest in the corner of the game lets you know if you have found all the coins in the scene. The hos are different and fun and the mini games are not too difficult. The hint button worked very well and could be used for finding out where you needed to go. Also an interactive map to cut down on travel time. It had everything the collector's edition had without the extras and definitely a purchase for me with one of my credits. June 9, 2013
Great atmosphere, definitely worth trying Short version: This is an enjoyable atmospheric game that is let down a little by an abrupt ending. Its realistic art style is somewhat unique, so I'd recommend playing the demo before buying, but I think it's definitely worth a try for HOG fans. Mercy of the Gallows has an extremely realistic art style, to the point that I wondered if the scenes were artistically processed photographs. There's nothing fairy-tale or gothic about the rainy, ghostly castle, with its photorealistic 19th century rooms. Some parts of the scenery were obviously computer-generated with that slightly blocky Myst feel to them. Still, I found it effective at setting a mood with its subdued color scheme and well-chosen ambient sound. In contrast, the story was told with illustrations done in an almost cartoon style, which I also liked. The story is good, though it's unfortunate that some of the ads associated with the game give away one of the major plot elements. The tale incorporates true, macabre facts about how pirates were punished. With a title like "Mercy of the Gallows" I guess you know you're in for something kind of grim... On Casual setting, I think the puzzles are mostly very easy and the hidden object scenes are about average in difficulty. An interesting game mechanic has you keeping an eye out for coins in nearly every scene, which you collect to unlock trunks containing clues along the way. At first these coins are hidden around the scenes in interesting ways, but as the game goes on, more and more of the coins are found simply laying on the floor. I expected that aspect to get more challenging, not less. The very abrupt ending was a bit of a letdown. After a visually romantic and lovely concluding event begins, some text appears and informs you of the bare facts which you had already uncovered through the course of the game-- and then the game just cuts off and suddenly ends. I was ready to watch the characters figuratively "ride off into the sunset" but instead I was just retold the story in a few brisk sentences and ushered out of the game. I still enjoyed it and feel it's a nicely moody game that I'd recommend. November 13, 2013
really enjoyed playing this game Graphics are very good - colors pleasing to the eye - challenging games - once you start playing you don't want to stop - mesmerizing hidden object pictures overall rating I give it a 4.5 November 4, 2013
Telegraphs the end This is a different story line. I see many reviewers are saying it is not as dark as many new games, although I am not sure what is "not dark" about plague. I agree plague is not occult. The characters are cartoon-y, but not unbearably so. The settings and HO scenes are nicely realistic #except the characters' portraits#. I personally had a problem with the story which I can only describe with a spoiler; I will try to put it far enough down that readers will have to click "show more" to see it. - - - - - - - - - SPOILER ALERT It seemed to me the dullest player would have picked up by the end of the first quarter of the game that Isabelle was a pirate, and once that is established, there is no more story to discover, only details. I much prefer suspense and even distraction #shifting evidence back and forth# before the resolution at the end. July 11, 2013
21-30 of 35 Reviews <<prev 234next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Legacy Tales: Mercy of the Gallows

Solve this maritime mystery to reunite a pirate with his lost love.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.