Bookmark

Calavera: Day of the Dead Collector's Edition

Full version game
(547.54 MB)

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

She said yes! Alan was finally going to marry his sweetheart, Catalina. She only had one small request before the wedding, to ask for her father’s blessing. The young couple travels to the small town in Mexico where her father is from, arriving just in time for the annual Day of the Dead celebration. But when he doesn’t meet them at the train station, that’s only the beginning of their problems. Is it just the heat, or did that book talk to you? And that guy is definitely wearing a skeleton mask, right? Cross the border between life and death in this festive Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game.

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Festive collectables and achievements!
  • Quirky atmosphere and funny characters!
  • Travel to the Land of the Dead!
  • Unlockable arcade mini-games
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1615 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Calavera: Day of the Dead Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Calavera: Day of the Dead Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Calavera: Day of the Dead Collector's Edition 4.3 5 109 109
Delightful surprise! This is such a cute and enjoyable game. The robot was the cutest thing and so funny. One time I just laughed out loud at something the robot said. There is movement from location to location, however, it was not difficult for me to remember where each place was. I highly recommend this game. It's refreshing to have a game that is not on the "dark side" with witches, ghosts, etc. More games like this, please. July 26, 2013
I had the best time! This was a wonderful change of pace with the graphics and storyline that was so unique. I didn't want it to end! It was the perfect game for me. Try it you'll really like it. July 11, 2013
A wonderfully different game I never review any game, although I appreciate those of you who do. This game is wonderful..great characters, humor, great graphics, great puzzles June 30, 2013
M.r The game is very beautiful, thank you very much. June 29, 2013
Very Vell!! This game is amazing!Thanks to created!!! June 27, 2013
DELIGHTFULLY DIFFERENT! BASED ON FULL DEMO Well, this is DELIGHTFULLY DIFFERENT alright. Not only are we dealing with a culture not known to many of us, but the GAMEPLAY is different too. And it has that rarer-than-hen?s-teeth treasure, (wry) HUMOUR. This is a HOPA, don?t worry about that, but it is unusual in the TYPE OF PUZZLES offered. They are decidedly ARCADE ? LIKE, without being so difficult or time-consuming as to put people like me who are no good at them off. Yes, I skipped some, but only because I was so anxious to see as much as possible within the demo. The sort of things I am talking about are: SHOOT CANNON CORRECTLY, click WITHIN THE GREEN SECTION to progress, pop the balls by MATCH 3. The HO SCENES are more traditional. They are INTERACTIVE LISTS, and are visited twice. The OBJECTS are VERY CLEAR and the COLOURS & LIGHTING are EXCELLENT. So far, I have had no difficulty with finding my way around, but there is a INTERACTIVE JUMP MAP, a VERY HELPFUL HINT that actually says ?Let?s go to...? and gives directional arrows as well. I love our TRAVELLING COMPANION, the GUIDE TO THE WORLD OF THE DEAD. He offers us hints and background information and is keeping a JOURNAL we will find very handy. The SG is very attractive and easy to read. However, what I saw suggests it may not be overly useful. I reserve judgement on that. In general, the GRAPHICS are very WELL DONE. I?d rate them about 4/5. They are NOT SPECTACULAR, but they are interesting, clear, with a touch of surreal. The scenes are so far set in DAYLIGHT and are COLOURFUL. The MUSIC is sometimes GREAT, sometimes SO-SO. VOICEOVERS are EXCELLENT, I don't believe the accents are meant to be taken seriously. There are OODLES of COLLECTIBLES, ACHIEVEMENTS & TROPHIES. Collect DECORATED SKULLS for your TROPHY ROOM, where they will give you a BONUS in the form of a CONCEPT ART SKETCH! Very COOL IDEA. Collect POSTERS to get INFORMATION about the DAY OF THE DEAD FESTIVAL and an ACHIEVEMENT in your ACHIEVEMENT ROOM. EXTRAS INCLUDE: COLLECTIBLES, TROPHIES & ACHIEVEMENTS, STRATEGY GUIDE, as above, plus UNLOCKABLE ARCADE MINI GAMES, and the USUAL GALLERY ITEMS. NB: I DID NOT SEE ANY BONUS CHAPTER ANYWHERE Well, bonus chapter or no, this game offers a FRESH APPROACH and I?m looking forward to it. June 22, 2013
Dia de Muertos After having proposed to his sweetheart, Alan and Catalina go off to Mexico to get her Father's blessing, arriving just in time for the annual Day of the Dead celebration. Calavera, better known as The Day of the Dead is a Mexican national holiday celebrated throughout Mexico that focuses on gatherings of family and friends to pray for and remember their departed loved ones. Unfortunately for Alan, it also becomes a day of Dread when Catalina is abducted at the train station by a skeletal figure and takes her away to the land of the dead where Alan must now go to in order to save her. Calavera is your standard HOPA game with unimpressive graphics, hand-drawn artwork making it look slightly dated, voice-overs and a musical track that I found paticularily annoying. There are three play modes to choose from and unless you play the hard mode, you get distracting sparkles everywhere and too many annoying black bar hints. Dispite my initial disapointment with the visuals, I did enjoy the quirky sense of humour from the talking journal that also acts as your hint system and your guide. You also get a map that does allow you to travel to areas of interests. There are puzzles tosolve, items to retrieve and slightly interactive HO scenes that are somewhat junk-piled. Mini-games are interesting, some done in an arcade style which I found both challenging and frustrating. There are extras like finding 26 sugar skulls and earning achievements along the way. Each skull also provides you with extras like replaying a game or a sketch of the artwork. If you can get pass the graphics and the looped sound track, the game does offer moments. However what I found most annoying is the slowness of some actions that you are required to take, for instance it takes forever to unscrew the screws or place some items back to their place, A bit over-exaggerated and unnecessary that gives a lag to the pace of gameplay. I initially gave this game a three stars but the extras prompted me to add another star. However, I personally will either wait for a sale on CE games or for the Standard edition to come out. I liked it but just just didn't love it enough. Tenga usted un buen fin de semana. ( Have a good week-end) June 22, 2013
Goofy and lots of fun!! I enjoy the games that change the pace as it were. There are too many IHOGs with the same general theme: save the damsel in distress while ridding the world of the ultimate bad guy or gal. Calavera certainly starts out this way too. The fun starts as soon as the player meets the Guide which is a lascivious looking book. If nothing else, the game is quite irreverent, quirky. and has some snappy dialogue. These are some of my favorite games. ( the 2 Accidental Hauntings, the Brunhilda game, and the 1 Penguin game are fine examples of fun sassy games ). Most of the HOG scenes are very doable with just a few items cleverly placed. There are some clever mini puzzles different from the usual fare seen in IHOGs. The game includes a map and teleporting is included. A couple of grammatical errors in the demo but certainly not anything to detract from the game play. The theme revolving around the Mexican Day of the Dead festival is novel and new is always a good thing. As a man, I am pleased that the main character is a dude!! needing to save his dudette.. I am on the fence as to investing in the CE or waiting for the SE version. Perhaps other reviewers might influence my decision. All in all a nice addition to the genre that all HOGgers should at least do the demo. June 22, 2013
Succumbing to spanish flair Bought the game after 10 minutes playing based on the demo version. I do not like the graphics, they seem a little bit cheap, but the story makes me buy - I want to know how the story keeps on. The voice overs are well done and the speakers have a funny spanish accent. Seems to be a little humor in this game. The music is excepitonal not annoying like so many other games, I like it very very much, gives a kind of spanish feeling. The hos are easy, objects clear enough to find, some are interactiv. The puzzles are dodgy enough for me, not too easy to feel bored and not too heavy to skip. Hint- and skipbutton fills fast enough. I hate games where you can go for a coffee while the hintbutton is filling up... There are achievements, you have to collect things. There is a map you will get after playing a while - but I do not know yet if it will be to jump or not. So, after playing 10 minutes demo version I succumbs to the spanish flair in music and voice over and I am nosy enough to buy this as ce. Not disciplined enough to wait for the se.... June 22, 2013
It Slowly Comes Alive-Watch Out! This was going to be a mildly negative review as I wasn't at all pleased with the opening and graphics. But as I played the demo (50 mins. of it# the darn game grew on me and now I'll probably buy it just to see what's going on and collect all those creepy skulls. Whoda thought a game about death could be amusing and even fun? The graphics are cartoonish and the HO's are clear but very cluttered, making some small items harder to find. The setting at first seems more than a little bazarre but as you come to understand the concept of the Day of the Dead, it becomes clear and in many spots, even funny! The Guide #aka Hint button) is a wacky and helpful book. Ya gotta play the thing to get what's going on and see if this is your type of oddity. It has all the usual bells and whistles. There's a strategy guide that's detailed, helpful and keeps your place. Three play levels and collectables. There are trophys too and even they reflect the game's oddball humor. Give it a try and hang in for the whole demo as it may grow on you as it did me. It's a lively romp through the Land of the Dead! June 22, 2013
61-70 of 109 Reviews <<prev 56789...11next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Calavera: Day of the Dead Collector's Edition

Hop aboard to cross the border between life and death!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.