Bookmark

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

The town of Willow Ridge has long lived under everlasting night. Surrounded by a violent, dark forest, its only protection is the Great Lighthouse, which keeps the nightmarish trees at bay. Your husband Alan has been haunted by dreams of a ghostly woman beckoning him, believing she knows how to save the town. As he goes to investigate, a fire consumes the lighthouse! Was it sabotaged from inside the town - or by some darker force? Your search for answers will uncover the history of your town and the Forest Rite that has been a tradition for countless generations. Hold onto the light in Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest, a fantastic Hidden-Object Puzzle Adventure game!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 790 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest 4.4 5 55 55
This game was really interesting and fantastic! I think this game was really well done because of the five main characters acted serious and had complex puzzles, and hidden objects were easy to find with the "lighthouse hint". The person who created this game should make a second game of this game. November 23, 2013
Stunning, yet a letdown finale For most of the game, Child of the Forest was a no-brainer 5/5. In every respect, it's a stand-out, exceptionally well done game, from the overall concepts and settings, right down to details like the interface of your journal and map. Starting from a town besieged by possessed trees held at bay only by the shining of a lighthouse, you explore a variety of locations, HO scenes, and puzzles. While it's yet another quest to find a missing husband, the backstory of the town and its traditions is different and interesting. Some of the minigames were increasingly esoteric in the last few scenes, and I was irritated that in order to solve one late puzzle, you have to not only zoom in on a landmark, but somehow intuit that you can click up within the zoom window to look higher on that landmark in order to see what you need to see. Then came the absolutely infuriating final fight. Throughout the game, instructions for puzzles and minigames only appear when you click a question mark. That's fine when the minigame isn't time-sensitive. The final fight? Time-sensitive. By the time I read the instructions to figure out what I was supposed to be doing, I'd already lost a turn, and while the game probably won't let you lose in any real way, I still found it unpleasant to have to sit through a couple of resets because I needed the instructions and they take a few seconds to appear. I've played several dozen HOPAs at this point but I didn't know how to solve the last fight sight-unseen. And the last phase of the final confrontation seemed comically difficult, since it involves uncovering and choosing several hidden symbols that match an unseen glyph, all in about twenty seconds. Sure, you get indefinite tries, but the symbols appear to scramble every time. I exercised the skip button at that point, and since I was already disgruntled from the final fight, I found the ending anticlimactic, since-- spoiler-- you never actually see Ethan open his eyes, so it's not totally clear if he was saved. I'm still giving the game 5/5 overall because the quality is definitely there and most of it is very enjoyable. But I have to say, that annoying final fight doesn't leave me itching to go find more games from this developer. November 15, 2013
congratulations for the work done review based game completed: it is not easy mixing minigame, HO, graphics, plot, a good balance In this game there are successful, I can say that is close to small work of art, I exaggerate? no, even video games you can talk about art work. the narration is done through minishow who are also minigame, that black and white with a touch of poetry, plot is nice (not sure if fairytale already exists) the graphics are well done, my eyes are not tired. some puzzles are complicated than others, positive that there are no pop ups for collecting acorns (I hate pop up in games). the game is long there is much to do, and the bonus chapter is worth new scenes open our eyes with different beautiful colors. and very nice music recommend taking CE worth it. June 25, 2013
Havent had this much fun in a game in a long time... This game really is something special. It isn't your typical HOG, I love it when its more of an adventure than so many HO scenes.Along with the expected great graphics of the game there are also ?MINI-SHOWS?, which are cartoon-style movie clips that give you BACKSTORY but are also MISPLACED OBJECT scenes! Not only is the game great but the sound is incredible as well. You have a wonderful adventure of about 3-4 HOURS in which to find the answers. June 9, 2014
GO FIGURE bought the CE of the game and decided to buy this with a coupon. go figure that BFG decides what game will be had with a CREDIT (I save these for use with a CE) and not let us use a coupon.. so much for players rights. I would rather choose what I use to purchase a game and not the web site. June 15, 2013
Very Engaging & Unusual This was just a lot of fun to play, and the story line and mini-games were clever and engaging. The graphics are very good and the voice-overs help to bring the player into the story. I'd highly recommend this as a nice switch from the typical HOG games! The only slight disappointment - like some other games this one has you collecting acorns along the way with the goal of collecting X number of them. So after being vigilant and making sure to look for these in each scene - and collecting them all - I kind of expect to get something in return, i.e. access to a bonus chapter, etc. But, there was nothing, so really no point in bothering to collect the acorns. November 2, 2013
Great game! This game is really fun and exciting, time just flew by when I was playing it! There are a lot of good things to say about this game, I enjoy looking for the collectibles (I missed some), great art, nice animation... and the thing I enjoyed most is the story, it's very interesting! September 24, 2013
Something Different I have been disappointed so many times when I have purchased games because they are in the top 10, and they turn out to be the same old, same old, so I bought this game because it was under the category 'top rated'. I am so glad I did this, it certainly deserves the 5 star ratings it already has. The HOS are varied, and not too many. The puzzles are fun, especially one where you have to aim and fire a mini cannon, (I could have played that for longer if I could). I did skip the tutorial so it wasn't till I was halfway through the game before I noticed the 'instructions' icon which explained what was required of the puzzles, though I managed to figure them out. The puzzles did get harder during the game, and I was surprised to see what many would call a boss round, however that too was enjoyable (not infuriating like similar rounds found on console games). So big thumbs up for variety, it makes for a much more enjoyable gaming experience. I enjoyed the back story and how it was told via misplaced object scenes. I also enjoyed how you had to assemble some of your inventory items, this was done on screen and these were easy to identify and access. The scenery was beautiful, and the music and sound effects were great. The only minor annoyance I had was with placing inventory items into the scenes (eg keys in locks etc) sometimes they didn't work the first time and I had to do several attempts, on one occasion I thought I was trying to place the wrong object, but this is not enough to reduce the rating, 5 stars from me! August 31, 2013
SUPERGAME!!! you just have lots and lots of playtime, the graphics are just the best of the best, the story is one of a kind! its just the best!!!! just try it you just cant be dissapointed! really awesome !! August 19, 2013
What fun to have a definite storyline AND good games Best so far (hope for more this good) - an excellent variety of mini games and you have to be a bit creative in your thinking - even the HOGs are not all the same. Played the standard game (not CE) and the map was a help having deactivated most other things. Didn't collect all my acorns so going right back in to find them! OK music and nice level of interaction with the characters which can be jumped if you wish. Good variety of locations and clearly drawn with good light level throughout. (Hate unnecessarily gloomy HOGs). It is clear who you are and what you are trying to achieve. August 11, 2013
21-30 of 55 Reviews <<prev 23456next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest

The lighthouse fails and darkness invades Willow Ridge. Your husband runs into the forest for answers, unaware of the shadow hunting him.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.