Bookmark

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

The town of Willow Ridge has long lived under everlasting night. Surrounded by a violent, dark forest, its only protection is the Great Lighthouse, which keeps the nightmarish trees at bay. Your husband Alan has been haunted by dreams of a ghostly woman beckoning him, believing she knows how to save the town. As he goes to investigate, a fire consumes the lighthouse! Was it sabotaged from inside the town - or by some darker force? Your search for answers will uncover the history of your town and the Forest Rite that has been a tradition for countless generations. Hold onto the light in Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest, a fantastic Hidden-Object Puzzle Adventure game!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 790 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest 4.5 5 53 53
Fun! Visually beautiful game. The hog scenes were original and unique. Puzzles were not all that challenging but still fun. June 17, 2013
GO FIGURE bought the CE of the game and decided to buy this with a coupon. go figure that BFG decides what game will be had with a CREDIT (I save these for use with a CE) and not let us use a coupon.. so much for players rights. I would rather choose what I use to purchase a game and not the web site. June 15, 2013
Great Game, Excellent Story! Rating: 4.8 This was a great game, I definitely recommend it. I bought it because this game's developer (Mad Head Games) also made 'Nevertales: The Beauty Within' which is the best game I've ever played. The developers did an excellent job with this game too. It was a long, fun, well-written game with an engaging story where I cared about the characters and how their predicaments were to be resolved. It wasn't as good as 'Nevertales' due to a couple of annoyances and it lacked the huge variety of HO types, mini-games and innovative locations compared to 'Nevertales,' but it was still a great game! Really liked: -- Story and characters -- Interesting little movies that provided the back story for the game, but they required a lot of computer memory -- Long length -- Customizable Difficulty level -- Interactive map showing uncompleted objectives -- Decent variety of HO types -- Most of the mini games were innovative, very easy and fun -- Excellent graphics and music Didn't like: -- The little movies in the game required a LOT of memory and wouldn't play on my laptop. Luckily, the game was good enough that I didn't mind starting the game over on my desktop at home where the movies ran fine. -- All of the games up until the last few minutes were extremely easy. Which is fine, the game moves very quickly because of that. However, right at the end, 2 or 3 games were ridiculously hard. It was jarring and irritating. I rarely Skip, but I skipped these in annoyance. -- The end was okay, but needed a 30-second scene to nicely wrap things up. I don't understand why developers do that. After writing an excellent story and getting the gamers wrapped up in it, the developers skimp on the ending and the gamer is left unsatisfied after enjoying hours of play. There must be a reason because so many games have the same problem. Overall, this is a great game and I look forward to playing more games from this quality developer. January 15, 2014
Very Engaging & Unusual This was just a lot of fun to play, and the story line and mini-games were clever and engaging. The graphics are very good and the voice-overs help to bring the player into the story. I'd highly recommend this as a nice switch from the typical HOG games! The only slight disappointment - like some other games this one has you collecting acorns along the way with the goal of collecting X number of them. So after being vigilant and making sure to look for these in each scene - and collecting them all - I kind of expect to get something in return, i.e. access to a bonus chapter, etc. But, there was nothing, so really no point in bothering to collect the acorns. November 2, 2013
REALLY UNIQUE FEATURES - LOVED IT SUMMARY: There was a lot to do and see; gameplay was not linear. Much of it was unique and will likely become more common in the future. The main game is fairly length. This is a game I heartily recommend and I am very happy that I bought it. Music was spooky and sung by a child at the beginning, but he just disappeared suddenly. It set the tone for the entire game. There are quite a few dark and foreboding dark spots, which you need to clear with your magic amulet. If you were, for example, in the woods, it would become brilliant after using your amulet. Your inventory will eventually include a hamster who helps out in tight places. I won?t go into detail of the story since others have already done so. Some HOS were list based and there was always something under the objects which was used for the last object. Other HOS were unique. I?d like to see other games with this type. You are given silhouettes which represent categories instead of specific objects and you usually have to find 2 of each. So, if the silhouette is a beetle, you may need to find a bug and a caterpillar (this one took some thinking when I saw no more bugs anywhere). Or you are shown a silhouette of a candy, which you find, but the category is sweets, so the other object is a cupcake. MINIGAMES were fantastic and a lot of fun. I especially liked the game with the paper cannon. There were lots of pieces to it ? much like putting a miniplay together. The cutscenes or minishows were very unique and I loved them. They told a story in storyboard fashion and you had to put 4 misplaced items in the scene where they belonged as the story unfolded. It sure was a lot of fun. In the CE, you get to replay them. COMPARISON WITH CE: If you're comparing whether to get the CE or SE, th bonus game has new locations: lady?s house (which was locked in game) and stables. I think it took about an hour (I spent 2 hours replaying a few HOS and puzzles and didn?t break down the time spent on the game and the replayables). I haven't regretted getting the CE. September 25, 2013
Great game! This game is really fun and exciting, time just flew by when I was playing it! There are a lot of good things to say about this game, I enjoy looking for the collectibles (I missed some), great art, nice animation... and the thing I enjoyed most is the story, it's very interesting! September 24, 2013
Something Different I have been disappointed so many times when I have purchased games because they are in the top 10, and they turn out to be the same old, same old, so I bought this game because it was under the category 'top rated'. I am so glad I did this, it certainly deserves the 5 star ratings it already has. The HOS are varied, and not too many. The puzzles are fun, especially one where you have to aim and fire a mini cannon, (I could have played that for longer if I could). I did skip the tutorial so it wasn't till I was halfway through the game before I noticed the 'instructions' icon which explained what was required of the puzzles, though I managed to figure them out. The puzzles did get harder during the game, and I was surprised to see what many would call a boss round, however that too was enjoyable (not infuriating like similar rounds found on console games). So big thumbs up for variety, it makes for a much more enjoyable gaming experience. I enjoyed the back story and how it was told via misplaced object scenes. I also enjoyed how you had to assemble some of your inventory items, this was done on screen and these were easy to identify and access. The scenery was beautiful, and the music and sound effects were great. The only minor annoyance I had was with placing inventory items into the scenes (eg keys in locks etc) sometimes they didn't work the first time and I had to do several attempts, on one occasion I thought I was trying to place the wrong object, but this is not enough to reduce the rating, 5 stars from me! August 31, 2013
SUPERGAME!!! you just have lots and lots of playtime, the graphics are just the best of the best, the story is one of a kind! its just the best!!!! just try it you just cant be dissapointed! really awesome !! August 19, 2013
What fun to have a definite storyline AND good games Best so far (hope for more this good) - an excellent variety of mini games and you have to be a bit creative in your thinking - even the HOGs are not all the same. Played the standard game (not CE) and the map was a help having deactivated most other things. Didn't collect all my acorns so going right back in to find them! OK music and nice level of interaction with the characters which can be jumped if you wish. Good variety of locations and clearly drawn with good light level throughout. (Hate unnecessarily gloomy HOGs). It is clear who you are and what you are trying to achieve. August 11, 2013
This game was amazing!! This game was brilliantly done! There were so many different types of mini games it has become a classification all its own, and it was never boring. Also, there weren't too many HO scenes and that is a definite plus for me. I also liked that the difficulty selections offered one where you can customize what helps you want and what you don't. Although I didn't play the CE, this SE was outstanding in itself. I don't think anyone needs to pay the extra money for the CE. And then to top it off with excellent graphics and a good storyline makes this game an absolute gem. The developers did a great job with this one. August 4, 2013
21-30 of 53 Reviews <<prev 23456next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Rite of Passage: Child of the Forest

The lighthouse fails and darkness invades Willow Ridge. Your husband runs into the forest for answers, unaware of the shadow hunting him.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.