Bookmark

Myths of the World: Chinese Healer Collector's Edition

Exclusive
Full version game
(1.40 GB)

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

A great myth has enduring power… no matter where the story comes from. In this first game in the exciting new Myths of the World series, your story begins as a Chinese healer who’s brought to the Imperial City to save the Emperor’s son. But you uncover a devious plot and end up having to save yourself! Throughout the game, you’ll use your herbal kit to concoct powerful potions to summon spirits and heal the people you meet. There are also collectible cranes hidden everywhere, and achievements to earn as you play.

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Play the bonus game to track down Master Lei once and for all
  • Use the integrated Strategy Guide
  • Play three bonus hidden-object puzzles
  • Replay hidden-object puzzles and mini-games from the game
  • Download images from the game
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1465 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Myths of the World: Chinese Healer Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Myths of the World: Chinese Healer Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Myths of the World: Chinese Healer Collector's Edition 4.3 5 103 103
Good Fun in a Different Setting This game is really nice! Pros: + Great graphics. + Cut scenes and voiceovers are done well, although it is a little strange hearing everyone talk in an American-type accent. + I LOVE the music. + H0 scenes are good, and interactive. + You can play mahjong instead of doing a H0 scene. + Puzzles are nice, and a few give a different take (or at least a different look) to some older puzzles. + Achievements and collectibles. I will say none of the achievements are that hard to get, by the looks of it. One for **spoiler alert** playing the whole game without closing the game at all is just not going to happen. + Map. Neutral: You get a healing kit, with which you can make certain ingredients to do spells to get certain things done. The kit has one of those "click when the arrow is in the green area" games that can be annoying, so people might not like that. Cons: - The story, although is in a different setting, is pretty predictable. - Collectibles all look the same. It'd be nice if they were all the same type of object, but each one looked different. All in all, I really like this game! June 29, 2013
Myths of the world! This game is extremely well done! It is the first one of it's kind that I have played. Since there are more like it coming, you'd have to play them all to know what's next. I will probably buy it & I will recommend it. The cranes are rather hard to find as they are very small.The HO's are pretty easy & there are just enough to keep it interesting. The graphics & music are well done. All in all, a well thought up game! June 29, 2013
ENJOYED BUT "THAT'S NOT GOING TO HEAL ANYONE!" COMPLETED GAME + BONUS CHAPTER in "INSANE", 3rd of 3 modes, No sparkles and one repetitive and annoying back bar refrain...(See Dislikes). This game is a standout - almost a new breed. The artwork is elaborate, original, with truly crisp, bright graphics that provide a wealth of eye-candy in just about every direction. The wealth of extras should please even the most demanding Fish in the Pond. DETAILS ----------- STORY: The theme is set in ancient China, with the player a Chinese Healer asked to save the Emperor's son. Quickly she is drawn into sub-plots and other evils to conquer. Oddly the main game is open ended, with the conclusion found in the BONUS CHAPTER. GAME PLAY: The healer locates items for characters in order to collect objects needed for the healing spell that concludes each chapter. Action takes place on a ship, in and around a Chinese Palace, Temple, and Surrounding woods -there is snow and ice. ARTWORK/GRAPHICS: The backdrop for the game has a lot of fine detail and original artwork. They made the most of the exotic setting to give us beautiful, well-blended color schemes, and intricate, dramatic scenes. Characters like the "Blue Dragon" are pretty cool too! Job well done! EXTRAS: On completion of main game, there is an elaborate and lengthy BONUS CHAPTER that actually serves as the conclusion of the story, full access to all HOPS and MINI-GAMEs, ability to replay cut-scenes (some of these are stunning and worth another view), and other good stuff. TOOLS: --A SCROLL THAT INCLUDES: --Journal: Used infrequently for mini-games --Jump Map: Ability to toggle available activity indicator --Current Objective GIMMICKS: --Medicine Kit/Lab: Raw substances like crystals are processed through the healing kit creating what will be an ingredient of the healing spell that concludes each chapter. --Sassy-Side-Kick: NO. HOS: Interactive list, progressive silhouette, and replacing objects in a scene. Normally not a HOS fan, these I thoroughly enjoyed as the scenes varied in difficulty with elaborate and ornate items. MINI-GAMES: Very, very easy. Standard fare, but well packaged and integrated into the Exotic backdrop. It was too bad with such beautiful puzzles they couldn't have given some challenge. DISLIKES ------------ BLACK BAR HINTS: I had hoped "insane" mode meant no or few black bars hints. I'm thinking now that "insane" is what happens to the player after the 100th time the "That's Not Going To Heal Anyone!" scolding and useless black bar pops up. Seriously? No black bar would have been so much better. It took a click to clear the black bar - SIGH... CONTROLLED PLAY: Objectives are very clearly spelled out and the player is closely guided, channeling activities in a very specific order. -It felt like hand holding, but these games are so complex now, maybe that is necessary. AT TIMES SLUGGISH: No doubt the price for those over-the-top spectacular graphics is using up computer resources. I could not run any other apps while playing this game and on a couple of scenes response was delayed. THIS GAME IS A WINNER AND HIGHLY RECOMMENDED, though not top rated due to dislikes. July 7, 2013
Beautiful game but... ...way too many HOS!!! For me that's not a good thing, but for some that's a bonus so I didn't bring down my star rating. There are 2 types of HOS, list with some interaction and shadow clues. However, you could switch to mahjong, which I often did when I found myself groaning, "not another one..." The puzzles were also ridiculously simple (I played the medium difficulty), which was a downer for me, too, since I love these games for the puzzles. For me, this got to the point where I could hardly wait to finish the game. So, for me it was a bit disappointing. However, the length was decent, the bonus chapter is in a completely new area and takes the story further (though the main game ends satisfactorily enough to not make playing it a necessity). I don't think those waiting for the SE will feel cheated, though the bonus does bring the story to completion. Considering it lasted only about 35-45 minutes, though, you have to decide based on the demo if you like the game enough to buy the CE. The artwork is beautiful and it filled my widescreen with no distortion. The story is interesting, if a bit predictable. Game play was not difficult in advanced mode, don't know about hardcore mode. Aside from a dragon and a demon that weren't very frightening, I can't remember anything that was too mature in content, so I think this could be a good family game to play with kids over 5, though check out the demo first and judge if it's right for your family. The CE content was the before mentioned bonus game, wallpapers, re-playable HOS and mini games, music, very few examples of concept art and a very short "making of" movie. The credits were witty, and I enjoyed reading them (since I always read the credits, it's nice when you get a little surprise). There were also achievements and each scene had a hidden crane. A little crane in the toolbar is either filled or empty, depending if you found it in the scene or not. I liked that, however I still managed to miss one...obviously not one of my strengths. So, while this game was not among my favorites, it is a well made game, a beautiful game. It was nice to be somewhere else besides an asylum, abandoned town or haunted whatever. I think you have check out the demo and see for yourself. July 4, 2013
What?s Next? Dragons? BASED ON DEMO I?ve played the demo, I?ve read the other reviews, and I?m still not sure how I feel about this game. It is beautiful, that I know is true. I tried playing with the HD option, and it gave an UNFAMILIAR TEXTURE to the GRAPHICS I wasn?t so keen on, but with it off, the visuals were SPLENDID. The drawing of the CHARACTERS was DELIGHTFUL. The ?CHINESE? feel of the game was WELL DONE. Sights and sounds most of us do not often experience. The MUSIC too, was unlike anything else I?ve heard, but in this case I thought it was UNQUESTIONABLY WONDERFUL. The STORYTELLER?S VOICEOVER in particular was GREAT. I loved the way it reverberated. The other VOICES were good too, and I see no point in objecting to accents. They are UNNOTICEABLE if you don?t think about them. The GAMEPLAY seemed heavily weighted in favour of HO SCENES, which come in two types, INTERACTIVE LIST & SILHOUETTES. Each scene is visited twice, once for each type of play. You can also choose to play MAHJONG instead. Maybe it?s time for me to upgrade my status to expert, because once again I found the PUZZLES in this game to be QUITE EASY, with only one that really made me think. All were beautifully integrated into the game?s locale. Getting around is easy too, because there is an INTERACTIVE JUMP MAP, and HINT takes you directly to where you should be. You also have a JOURNAL, and list of OBJECTIVES. It?s all pretty easy to follow. The ?GIMMICK? of this game is the HEALER?S KIT, which is a mini-game where you must click at (almost) exactly... NOW(green bar)... to proceed. It?s an added bit of bling. There?s no telling where this STORY is going, the end of the demo leaves it very much in the air. But the screenshots from later in the game suggest a greater involvement with MAGIC and MAGICAL CREATURES than we saw in the demo. In fact, the scenes look almost to belong to a different game. And I guess that?s where my ambivalence comes from. So where are we going from here? Am sure I will need to find out. June 30, 2013
Kitty's Thoughts: I've Been Framed.... WOOT!!! ADVENTURE!! Alright! This review is based off nearly beating the game. Meaning... I almost got to the end, but I had to remove the game because of some issues. So, let this review begin with the bottom of the bar (the story) Alright! You start off as a medicine healer summoned from an old friend's brother to heal his son. However, things do go the way as planned, and you realized you are on the run on an epic adventure to cure the son and save china. Well, as simple as it may be, it's not the best story. However, it could of been better. One thing I disliked about the story is that the bad guy is soo obviously bad from looks down to his attitude. You can already pin point the bad one just when you first met him or by the girl talking about him if you missed that bit. However, The story is not that bad, but because of the obviousness, I have to give it a 4 out of 5 for that. Another is the level of challenge. I had to say, some puzzles were brain scratches, while others were just plain easy. Regardless, I like that not all the puzzles follow the same routine except the opening puzzles. There are hidden object scenes in this game and even a few interactive items, but it is still quite enjoyable because everytime you play it changes a bit. This gives replay value a bit up. Overall, I gave it a 4 of 5 because I was hoping a bit more, and I hope they do even better in the next game. The third is sound and visuals. Very Very nice. I even like it how some scenes would fuzz out. When you put your pointer over it, you can see the city. The detail is very nice, and I do have a feeling like I am in china in some way. They definitely did their research. However, the things that concerned me is the consistency. Sometimes, when you go through hidden object games you sometimes find items that are not related to china. It's a small tweak. but it really doesn't effect the gameplay or visuals all that much. So, final verdict is a 5 of 5. Lastly, it is the fun of the game. I had to say, I did have some fun with some of the missions I had to do like trying to find the eggs, working the medicine box in situations, completing circles. There was a variety of activities to accomplish in this game that kept it fresh in every section you explored. Overall, this game deserved a 5 of 5 for that. In the end, the game is very good. I had to say from the creators of Voyage of the tree of Life, this game is a step up from that. I can't wait to play another sequal of this game and what country adventure to explore next. I hope it is Greek or Egypt, maybe I can deal with native American folk tales. I mean that got some material to work with. July 17, 2013
VERY NICE ADVENTURE/HOG Extras in the CE include "the making of" which I always like, replay HOS and movies, a look at the concept art and the bonus game. There are 26 achievements and 3 modes of play: casual, challenging for the seasoned player and insane for the hard-core player. Interesting story with good production values. Gameplay is not linear and, although you know what you need to do, the path is not always straightforward. You have a journal which includes your list of objectives and a map. If you don't care for HOS (which are really nicely put together and everything is easily seen), you can play mah-jong. Graphics are exceptionally good. Although the voice overs are good, for the most part, the male voices are usually too deep. Fair amount of back and forth. Puzzles are not too difficult. June 30, 2013
Review of a complete game This was a good game, but I think some were too generous saying it is the best 2013 game. It was easy, too easy and too short. It took me about 3 hours for the main game and less than an hour for the extra, this is not what I am expecting of CE. Still it was pleasant to play, but nothing to call your mother... July 5, 2013
Nice little story, great game :) I always play my games in casual mode as I'm not into challenge, but entertainment. This was a good CE, nothing really spectacular, but a good quality, still toooooo short. No major glitches or issues, which is always nice. The characters were good and the graphics of good quality. I really enjoyed playing this game and it is worth CE price, but they are all starting to look the same to me. It didn't deliver the excitement that Rite Of Passage evoked so well, but was still every bit enjoyable and entertaining! July 5, 2013
Rather easy but beautiful PROS: Beautiful graphics, great animations, intriguing characters and plot. Nice little mini-game of creating potions using collected items. Overall a very enjoyable game. CONS: Not very challenging, and my pc fan ran high throughout. I bought this game because the artwork is exquisite - really beautifully done, conjuring up a fantasy version of old China. Hints are excellent, and I appreciate that 'active' areas close off once all the items have been found. I'll play this again sometime because I so enjoyed the beautiful graphics, but the gameplay was a bit too easy - even for me! I don't think I looked at the Strategy Guide once, and only used a few hints. Also my pc fan ran high throughout the game, which rather wrecked my enjoyment of the fine music and sound effects. September 21, 2013
61-70 of 103 Reviews <<prev 56789...11next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Myths of the World: Chinese Healer Collector's Edition

The Emperor’s son has a mysterious illness. As legendary healer Daiyu, you’re called to the palace to save him, but you end up having to save yourself!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.