Bookmark

Apothecarium: The Renaissance of Evil

Full version game
(1.01 GB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

During the Middle Ages a terrifying, mysterious disease raged across Italy. It killed thousands of people, and whole towns and villages perished together, swallowed whole by this ravaging and perilous plague. Everywhere the disease touched, death followed, and the masses were consumed in hoards. There were legends of a mythical town where the secret to defeating the disease was hidden—a town by the name of Apothecarium, built by Italy's foremost scientists. The brightest minds in the country came here to conduct research and collaborate with other scientists—engineers, mathematicians, artists, sculptors, writers, and even alchemists. Survivors thrived here until a mysterious discovery fell into the wrong hands, and now it’s up to you to free the survivors from the clutches of an insane and cold-blooded lunatic!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1141 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Apothecarium: The Renaissance of Evil

NEW299

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Apothecarium: The Renaissance of Evil

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Apothecarium: The Renaissance of Evil 4 5 59 59
so so this game was ok got bored after a while July 13, 2013
Mislabeled HOS and unreliable hint button Graphics are grey and grainy. The music has annoying crescendos and sounded overly hectic. There is a constant howling wolf noise in the background that rapidly became annoying. It wasn't clear what the wolf sound had to do with the story but, given the terribly low fun factor of this game, I couldn't be bothered to play long enough to know if the howling eventually becomes relevant. In the first HOS one item on the list was "chest key". I searched for it until I just started randomly clicking things. Lo and behold a round disk came hurtling out claiming to be the chest key. Had I previously run into a chest that obviously needed a medallion to unlock it this would have made sense. However, you get this HOS right at the beginning of the game before your character has done anything that would bring you into contact with a lock requiring a medallion shaped key. This made me feel this was a cheap gimmick designed to make me pull my hair out. Keys are, you know, key shaped. They aren't round disks! Another item on the list was "dice". I searched for quite awhile and couldn't find it so eventually I resorted to the Hint button. The Hint button wouldn't work. I then exited the game. Later, I felt determined to find the dice so I tried again. Still couldn't find it so again I tried the Hint button. This time it did work but it pointed to a snail. I had to click the snail almost 10 times to make the game accept that I had found the "dice" or...the snail...or whatever it was. It wasn't that this thing was a morphing object or anything...it was just a snail mislabeled as dice. Add to this the fact that you don't need to find all the morphers in a HOS so the ones you don't need sit there blinking back and forth as you find the rest of the items on your list. In the short time I played this game that feature gave me a headache and made me hope no one prone to seizures buys it. Overall, this is a really poorly made game that was so annoying I couldn't play past the opening 10 minutes of the trial. July 13, 2014
meh, at best Extremely disjointed - not a fan at all of the interface. No logical linear story. Even using the map function you have no idea where to go. I am a hidden object lover for life and I bought this - but am shelving it indefinitely. November 21, 2013
Missed the appeal of this one! My comments are based on the DEMO only; I could not possibly have slogged through the entire game - yikes. So goodness, color me confused! This game has gotten rave reviews, so I assumed I would enjoy it. Um, well - NO. I was confused from the beginning, with a feeling that I'd somehow missed some of the opening 'set-up'. This was such a strong feeling, that I went back & started once more, thinking I'd clicked through on dialogue accidentally and somehow missed something. Nope, it was just an incredibly sudden opening to the story. Said story, as far as I could tell, was that people were dying from a mysterious disease, and my mission was to find somebody in a town called Apothecarium, where apparently Someone knew the cure. Or how to create a cure. And I think the town was supposed to be have been the Good Guys, except that it was really only one Bad Buy, who was taking people captive & making them slaves. But, a tiny innocent soul managed to be waiting for me outside the gates of the town, to dash in and become a hero. Or something. I had to do a hidden-object scene right at the beginning, and couldn't find everything so had to use a hint to finish, but the hint didn't work in the very first scene. Hm. So I finally get into the town, & am faced with the Bad Guy, who has The Tiny Innocent in his dastardly clutches, and I do a bit of hocus-pocus and The Innocent develops an evil expression and melts through a nearby door. Um, what? In the course of the next few scenes, I had to traipse back & forth, attempting to discover my goal. There were sudden, inexplicable changes in my viewpoint, which I understood to be showing me that *here* I've fallen, and *there* am underground watching plants grown. There were unsettling odd accompanying sound effects to certain scenes which were actually nausea-inducing, in all seriousness. As I was trying to determine my goal, I was traipsing back and forth, repeatedly, trying to guess at what this game wanted me to do next. And in each scene change, the lag time was incredibly slow. I've tolerated that quite well in other games which I loved otherwise, but not in this dud! lol! If that was the only glitch, maybe it would be forgivable, but my screen also had areas of nothing but broken color lines, and the intended picture/background was simply scrambled in those spots. Add those technical problems to all the other things, and it makes for a real stinker. I think I'll go play something now that actually has some appeal, since this turkey is definitely NOT it! LOL! Of course, my opinion is just that - MY opinion. Clearly, somebody out there likes this mess, but I certainly wouldn't recommend it. Oh, lest I forget - the visuals seem to be pretty good! July 16, 2013
All over the place I got this as a free bonus game and I'm sure glad I didn't pay for it! There is no continuity at all. I've been a Big Fish member for years and I finally got a game that neither holds my attention nor makes me want more of it. Lots of redundancy, having to do the same thing over and over and over before moving forward in the game. March 27, 2014
Apothecarium: The Renaissance of Evil This game had a good story line but the hunt and finds took to long for some of the things you need would change to something else and you would have to wait for them to change back. The puzzles had no info on what was needed to be done for then. I didn't care for this game at all and it is one I would never buy. August 12, 2013
Historical mess I was mostly put off by the incredible historical mess in this story.... the plague was before the Medici era and the clothes are of a period around 200 years later. I found everything confusing, so.. sorry, I deleted the demo. July 23, 2013
Poor Review The storyline is impossible to follow. Not a good game. September 3, 2013
No, No, No! This is based on partial play of the demo. There are just too many glitches for me to enjoy this game. The first HOS doesn't offer a hint and I had trouble finding the key. Finally I hit on something which opened up a match 3 and was able to finish the HOS. I actually was loving the HOS because it has several morphing items, but when I want a hint, I want a hint! Next my locked inventory would't even show. I changed scenes and it came back. I couldn't defeat the flowers so I quit. I hope you have a better experience than I did. Please play the demo and read some reviews. Even at $2.99 this game makes me nervous so a no buy. July 9, 2014
51-59 of 59 Reviews <<prev 23456next

, share your thoughts about this game!

Apothecarium: The Renaissance of Evil

Discover the city of Apothecarium, where inhabitants are caught in a perilous struggle against a powerful alchemist who is taking the lives of innocent!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.