Bookmark

Calavera: Day of the Dead

Full version game
(489.61 MB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

She said yes! Alan was finally going to marry his sweetheart, Catalina. She only had one small request before the wedding, to ask for her father’s blessing. The young couple travels to the small town in Mexico where her father is from, arriving just in time for the annual Day of the Dead celebration. But when he doesn’t meet them at the train station, that’s only the beginning of their problems. Is it just the heat, or did that book talk to you? And that guy is definitely wearing a skeleton mask, right? Cross the border between life and death in this festive Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game.

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1461 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Calavera: Day of the Dead

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Calavera: Day of the Dead

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Calavera: Day of the Dead 3.9 5 33 33
Super Game!! Really enjoyed game!! Excellent level of challenge and fun. I especially enjoyed how the programmers ended it. It didn't just there. I wanted to continue and not say good bye to the characters. Bravo! ('13) July 29, 2013
Fantastic fun in Mexico!!! What a wonderful adventure Taba games created! I could not stop playing this game until completion. I loved the story, the characters, and of course the talking book. I also enjoyed being a male in this game. So many games cast you as the female, nice change. I loved this almost as much as their *Flying Dutchman game, July 26, 2013
MEET THE BOOK OF THE DEAD! Catalina's boyfriend has proposed and they travel to Mexico to get her fathers blessing, but....they arrive on the Day of the Dead, and papa is nowhere to be found! As the new fianc searches for some water he finds The Book of The Dead and this book can talk! The guide warns him to leave as quickly as possible because "He" is coming for Catalina, but it's too late she is gone. Although I loved the CE because of the skull collections and morphs, I still think this is a fun game. The HOS are slightly interactive but you are going to love the mini games. Most of them are new and exciting such as walking across a narrow ledge but you can only take a step when the skull meter at the top is in the green section and the skull goes back and forth faster each step and the green safe section on the meter gets smaller and smaller! The graphics are colorful the story is interesting and there are plenty of activities to keep you busy in each scene. I liked this game and I think you will as well, enjoy! July 21, 2013
A new location for a change! A nice SE for a change. I did not purchase the CE version, trying not to buy too many these days. Anyway, the graphics and game play were nice. Voice overs very nice, but very few and far between. Not a lot of sound FX, but what you get is appropriate for the setting and scene. I didn't hear a lot of music, but I also turned it down to half..should still have heard something. The basic story line is nothing new, girlfriend gets kidnapped, but the story is different since it is based in Mexico and during the Day of the Dead...and not a hospital, or mansion, or asylum, or a back road somewhere. A nice change of scenery. HOGs are a bit cluttered, but items not difficult to find and the colors are farily clear. Games are not difficult, but some take a little thought and/or patience to complete. Nice jump map with a lot of places to visit in this game. Yes, you do visit the same areas multiple times and play the same HOGs more than once, so the map is very helpful. The book is the "fun guy" in this game...quite humorous. Seems funny to laugh out loud during a game, but I did more than once. Some of the humor is dry, but most people will "get it." All in all, this is a very nice and fun game, so I did us a credit to purchase. I believe this game will appeal to all levels of players. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care fo this one at all. Thanks for the reviews. July 21, 2013
A Different Style In A Different Place BASED ON COMPLETED CE GAME Nice to get into a totally DIFFERENT CULTURE with this game. Although I am sure many people in the southern US states are familiar with the Festival of the Dead, there is little the rest of us know about it, so it is unexplored territory for many. The general TONE of the game is REFRESHING too, it is HUMOROUS throughout, a dry wit not at all cartoonish, as the few funny games I?ve played seem to be. The STYLE of GAMEPLAY was a little DIFFERENT too. The MINI-GAMES included ARCADE-STYLE games, which were REWORKED to make them easy enough for PLAYERS LIKE ME, who wouldn?t get past the first level of a genuine arcade game. They took the form of games where you needed to time your response to bring it in within a given range. Some were also timed, but not restrictively so. The HOS were of the INTERACTIVE LIST type. The ADVENTURE gameplay was not difficult, and you had a INTERACTIVE JUMP MAP & ?THE GUIDE to the LAND of the DEAD?. This CHARACTER functions as HINT, COMPANION & JOURNAL ? also useful as COMIC RELIEF. One of the things I really liked about this game is the GRAPHICS. They were not in themselves spectacular, but they were a bit different from the norm, well done, and BRIGHT & CHEERFUL. All objects, in and out of HOS were easily seen and clear. The various CHARACTERS throughout the game were very well conceived and their ANIMATIONS were EXCELLENT, and so were their VOICEOVERS. I just loved those guys, they really made the game. The MUSIC was APPROPRIATE to the environment, but I found it annoying from time to time. The CE game offers many EXTRAS, such as collectibles and achievements, but the BONUS CHAPTER is NOT NECESSARY to a satisfying conclusion to the game. I must admit I was happy to have the chance to collect all the decorated sugar skulls, which were an eye-opener! For half the cost, I think this game is easily as good value as the CE. July 21, 2013
Visit the dead world and stay????? This is based on the CE version... don't know if you get to collect scrolls and skulls on the SE version. But I recommend the CE as it completes the story - I thought the standard story finishes rather abruptly - you need the bonus chapter to finish the game properly. A lot of back and forth to collect , do puzzles, do a HOS and complete a task.. Nothing is too hard though but sometimes a little challenging. I liked the premis of the game, lost girlfriend because you took too long to leave the station.......visit the land of the dead to get her back and front and sides..... Recommend the CE only really.... July 22, 2013
Kept me busy and interested! Lots to do here and although there was some back-tracking and lots of clicking, I really enjoyed this game. There are HOS but they mix in nicely with the strategic elements of the game. A bit of head scratching at times and, yes, the hint works if you need it. There's a twist at the end as you're not quite there yet ... really liked it! The fun factor was definitely there! Well worth the investment! August 9, 2013
Interesting game with nice graphics The game has 3 modes. - The story is interesting with not too many dialogs. - The graphics are clear, colorful. - The objects in the HOS are easy to find. - The mini-games are quite easy. - There is an interactive map, allowing you to jump to a location. In Advanced mode, it shows you active locations. - The hint system shows you where to go next. The game is not very long, for me about 3 hours. All in all, a good game with a good story. I don't give 5 stars because I found it a bit too easy, especially the mini-games. July 22, 2013
Fun and lighthearted Game This game was developed with a good sense of humor and isn't dark at all. The challenge is not difficult but is enough to be interesting. My only complaint is that the music is silent too much. June 23, 2014
Un buen juego! Calavera: Day of the Dead SE Review based on Completed Game PREFACE? ?and now for something completely different. Calavera injects dry humor into a dark storyline, similar to the way the movie Beetlejuice did. You'll play mini-games of an entirely new genre, that of an old-style arcade. And you'll visit the Land of the Dead as you've never envisioned it, as a "living" society. This dev gets 5 stars for thinking outside the box. ONCE UPON A TIME... Alan proposes to Catalina, but she insists on getting her father's blessing, so they travel to Mexico by train, arriving in an abandoned rail station on the Day of the Dead celebration. Her father isn't there to meet them, and she faints from the heat. While searching the station for water, Alan discovers the eldritch Book of the Dead, which warns him that Catalina is in mortal danger. He rushes back to her, only to find her in the hands of the Baron, who whisks her onto his hellbound train! Now Alan must travel to the surreal Land of the Dead to rescue Catalina from the Baron. PLAY THE GAME... Adventure through the Land of the Dead in three areas: the landing area, the town, and the Baron's mansion. The latter two are initially closed to you, but the Book will guide you regarding opening them. HO scenes are minimally interactive with only one item requiring an extra step, and you visit each one more than once. The mini-games will challenge all your gaming skills from timing to speed, from placement to perception. SIGHTSEEING? Graphics have a hand-colored appearance to them, somewhat like a high-end comic book. The Land of the Dead is a surreal environment, but not at all monotone. Its denizens are beautifully illustrated sugar skeletons, each one unique. Animations are fairly well-done. SOUND WAVES? Although there isn't a lot of variation in the music, it is appropriate and not annoying. Voiceovers are quite tongue-in-cheek, with somewhat stereotypical Mexican accents. Environmental sounds are exceptional, and change from area to area. TOOLBOX? The map shows current objectives and transports, a necessity as there is a bit of back-and-forth. There is no journal, and there are a few numbers to remember, so a notepad and pen would be helpful. The inventory panel does lock open. The Book acts as your hint function, and its animation is wonderful. THE LAST WORD? Calavera is unique in gameplay, has a well-developed storyline, and is lovely to look at. I quite enjoyed playing it and believe it has replay value. This is the first game I've bought by this dev, so I have no other recommendations from their catalog. But do try this one! June 11, 2014
11-20 of 33 Reviews <<prev 234next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Calavera: Day of the Dead

Hop aboard to cross the border between life and death!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.