Bookmark

9 Clues: The Secret of Serpent Creek

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

A paranormal private investigator receives a frantic call from her reporter friend Helen, who pleas in a terrified voice for her to leave immediately for the coastal town of Serpent Creek. Urged by her friend's desperate request, the detective arrives at her destination only to find no trace of Helen. Strangely enough, no one from the sleepy town seems to remember seeing the blonde reporter. Weirder still, the town's streets are crawling with snakes, the citizens seem to be sleepwalking through life, and the ground shakes with violent tremors. Can the detective save her friend, reveal the corruption and hidden agendas of the town's citizens, and stop an evil plot to bring the Snake God back to our world?

  • Mysterious crime storyline set in 1950s America
  • Clever mini-games and breathtaking plot twists
  • Unique Detective Mode and Detective's Journal
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 289 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
9 Clues: The Secret of Serpent Creek

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

9 Clues: The Secret of Serpent Creek

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

9 Clues: The Secret of Serpent Creek 4.1 5 77 77
NOT BAD..JUST TOO PREDICTABLE NOT A BAD GAME..IF YOU WANT TO JUST RELAX & GO WITH THE FLOW..THIS WOULD BE A GOOD ONE FOR A RAINY DAY OR A FREEBIE LIKE I DID..THERE IS WAY BETTER GAMES BY THESE DEVS..HOPE TO SEE SOME GOOD ONES COME OUT SOON...ENJOY!!! August 10, 2013
Couldn't put it down! This game is so fun and I love the story and just had to finish it in one night :) August 13, 2013
Stopped after 31 minutes of play:( Has a great storyline. Great HO game and the storyline I enjoyed after 30 minutes of the game you thanking you for playing the demo. August 5, 2013
An Interesting Storyline There are three difficulty levels and I played on expert mode. The music is not irritating, and I left it on. The graphics in this game are different than the typical hidden object games available on Big Fish. I felt like I was in a cartoon and the voice overs and characters supported the cartoon style very well. While the game maintains good tension and is rather creepy, I found it more disturbing than entertaining and did not finish the demo. The mini-games that I encountered were not difficult. There is also a 'detective mode' mini-game that was different in that you had to find hidden objects related to a crime without a list. The list is revealed as you find them and then the crime analyzed. Overall, I'd say it's a decent game. August 4, 2013
I've Got a Big Secret For You... ...With the really high quality games that are available to us these days, this one doesn't measure up. This game has been in my library for several months now. I don't remember buying it. I'm guessing it's a desperation move with a fast-expiring free coupon. I played this game for about 2.5 hours on a MacBook Pro with Mavericks operating system. I'n not sure how much I completed. Well that's not true. I'm finished with it. Fun Factor: Because I've played games like Fright, recently (and it is now my favorite game) 9 Clues suffers in comparison on every level. I couldn't stop thinking about that as I played and that robbed me of what little fun I was having. Visual/Sound Quality Sights: This is what suffers the most. The quality of the graphics is poor. Have you watched a tv show where the camera has a filter on it to cover up blemishes on the actors...and as a result everything has gauze-like fuzziness to it? That's what everything looks like in this. It's surprising to me that this is from late 2013. It seems more like something from 2011. Sound Quality: Better, technically, than the video quality. A couple of voice actors do their jobs admirably. The background music is suitably creepy. LEVEL OF CHALLENGE: Both the HOS (too many of them) and the mini-puzzles (not enough of them) are way too easy and present no challenge at all. The HOS particularly are downright bad. They're already not good to look at, as I mention above. Subtract from that anything resembling a challenge or clever disguise or sneaky "blending" of an item with other items and you're left with a 30 second HOS. Storyline: A woman is summoned to Serpent Creek by her friend. When the protagonist arrives her friend is missing, she's lied to by a hotel clerk who says he's never heard of her (even though her name is written in the hotel log). The friend, it turns out, is locked up in jail and missing an amulet, along with a few brain cells. That's about as far as I got. This developers have tried to add what they hope is an interesting "twist" to the game: a "trail" of clues. Something, I'm not sure what, queues up a segment wherein you move around a room searching for sparkles....NINE of them....and when you get to the epicenter of each of the sparkles you click on your mouse and the location is locked as a clue, After you find all nine the heroine of the story walks you through these clues. It's not exciting at all. In fact it's a big bore. You learn nothing interesting as a consequence of this clue collection. It's just a gimmick. So this proves the point that if you haven't anything really good, ya gotta have a gimmick. My advice? Slither away from this. Not to be disrespectful of beginners...but...it's very easy and perhaps a good first game for a beginner. A pro of almost any level of experience should find this game too easy. July 6, 2014
Meh The game is typical of most of this genre, which is fine. The story was not as gripping as others, and had I played the demo I probably would not have purchased the game. I did purchase it however, and was disappointed with how easy it was. I finished the whole thing in about 2 hours. Definitely a let down. August 8, 2013
Sorry guys, it was just ok. I get a little hesitant to get excited about a game when I finish the demo in under 45 minutes. The mayor is creepy and you seem to have to keep saving him. The sheriff is brusque and I think a drunk. I'll bet the dead body won't be there when he looks for it. That was interesting - how you had to find the clues and put them together for the answer - very good work detective. I think I've seen that done on a tv show. The biggest shock I got was when I walked into the jail cell area and, voila, there's my friend no one seems to know about. The shocker was the nanosecond of seeing her - she turns around - there's a scream - and the demo's over. The HOGs are easy as are the mini games. The characters - hard to say since you mostly interact with the creepy mayor. The hint button recharges pretty fast and can keep you on track so you don't need a strategy guide or walkthrough - at least not in the 45 minutes it took me to play. So for an SE that's pretty good but I think it will be a short game. I'm on the fence about this one but Glam-ma says at least try the demo. August 5, 2013
Not for me Too simple for my tastes. Might be okay for first timers on this kind of game. Try out time was so short it makes me think the game will be short, too. August 4, 2013
Enjoy the game for what it is This is a fairly short game. The town of Serpent Creek has been taken over by mysterious beasts and there is a snake theme. You arrive in town to help a reporter friend, but she has disappeared. In your search for her you run across many town residents, many HO scenes, solve many interesting puzzles, and play a few detective scenes where you find clues and then watch a short scene that uses each clue to explain what must have recently happened. The game has a good hint system, an interactive map, and there isn't a huge amount of backtracking. I was kind of torn between a 3 and a 4 rating for this game, but the fact that it was a little shorter than most steered it more toward the 3. I enjoyed playing the game and wanted to see the solution to the mystery of what happened to the town and to the reporter. July 24, 2014
Not up to Artifex Mundi's usual awesomeness... As a paranormal PI, I'd seen my share of weirdness. But nothing prepared me for what I was to encounter in Serpent Creek after my friend Helen's SOS call. Most of the citizens acted drugged, while the remainder were a cast of shady characters. Then there were the close encounters of the bizarre kind, the disgusting green slime, and the cryptic warning notes. And that's just the beginning. What I ended up uncovering was an ancient myth, the classic battle between good and evil, and a plot to take over the world. I'm not kidding. And my friend was caught up in the middle of it. It would take all my skills to get me out of this one alive. Notes: Gameplay was relatively simple, not the complex and interwoven wonder that Artifex Mundi usually presents. The animation was a strange mix of amazingly realistic and amateur cartoon. The graphics were well done, especially in the HOs, with items being easily recognizable. And the music was appropriate. The storyline...well...I really wish it had been fleshed out more. It was awesome and had such potential. I'd recommend picking this up as a DD only, as I feel it doesn't have good replay potential. September 24, 2013
61-70 of 77 Reviews <<prev 45678next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

9 Clues: The Secret of Serpent Creek

Crack codes, pick locks, comb crime scenes for clues and solve clever puzzles in this thrilling retro detective drama!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.