Bookmark

9 Clues: The Secret of Serpent Creek

Exclusive
Full version game
(207.47 MB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

A paranormal private investigator receives a frantic call from her reporter friend Helen, who pleas in a terrified voice for her to leave immediately for the coastal town of Serpent Creek. Urged by her friend's desperate request, the detective arrives at her destination only to find no trace of Helen. Strangely enough, no one from the sleepy town seems to remember seeing the blonde reporter. Weirder still, the town's streets are crawling with snakes, the citizens seem to be sleepwalking through life, and the ground shakes with violent tremors. Can the detective save her friend, reveal the corruption and hidden agendas of the town's citizens, and stop an evil plot to bring the Snake God back to our world?

  • Mysterious crime storyline set in 1950s America
  • Clever mini-games and breathtaking plot twists
  • Unique Detective Mode and Detective's Journal
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 559 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
9 Clues: The Secret of Serpent Creek

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

9 Clues: The Secret of Serpent Creek

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

9 Clues: The Secret of Serpent Creek 4.1 5 80 80
SNAKES! Warning: If you suffer from Ophidiophobia (fear of snakes), then this game is defintely not for you. I actually liked this game which is surprising since I do have a mild repulsion for snakes and this game certainly has alot of them. Our story takes place in Serpent Creek which should have been my first clue as the main topic of the game. As a paranormal private investigator, you get a frantric call from your reporter friend Helen, who begs you to come. Upon arrival you not only discover her missing but everyone else in town seems to be sleepwalking and worse, the the town's streets are crawling with snakes. A weird gentleman (with a very bad skin problem) offers his help as you begin to search the town and try to figure out what is happening. A very standard HOPA game with no frills and no extras. It does however offer three play modes, cartoonish but sharp graphics, retro-like hand-drawn artwork, decent voice-overs, a journal with tasks and notes, a map that will allow you to travel and a captivating story that reminds me of the old Sci-fi movies of the fifties. Game starts of with a tutorial that takes up almost half the screen. Standard HOPA gameplay whereby you need to locate items, pick up on clues, play Hidden object scenes that are junk-piled and only slightly interactive and solve the odd mini-game which so far during the demo were a breeze to solve. There is however on odd type of HO scenes which involves entering a scene and picking up on clues and finding out what happened. Your cursor will glow once you find a clue and the story will be outlined as to what occured at that paticular crime scene. I believe that in Advance mode, your cursor will not glow and you need to find the clues yorself by clicking away at everything that looks out of place. Despite the cartoony look, the retro-50's feel and the lack of challenge, the game is entertaining and the storyline is certainly interesting. I for one will spend a lazy Sunday afternoon amongst the sepent- looking creatures that are lurking in the showdows. I am actually relieved that the graphics are catoony which makes the snakes look less harmless. A good game that that will apeal to HOPA fans and who enjoy a creepy crawly story. There is a definite nostalgic feel to this game which reminds me of the earlier HOPA games that got me hooked. Have a SSSSSSweet SSSSSunday...... August 4, 2013
SNAKES ALIVE! Interesting story, the townspeople of Serpent Creek are holding their annual festival and they have all drank the Kool-Aid only in this case it's Black Mamba (a very deadly snake) You are a detective and are searching for clues on the disappearance of your friend who is a reporter. This is only a SE and I wasn't expecting bells and whistles, the graphics are good not great, the voiceovers aren't bad and you will get an interactive map. If you are a fan of HOS good news, there are a lot of them, they are slightly interactive and have fairly easy to find items. I was also a little impressed by the mini games they are easy but not boring such as reassembling a mechanical mouse with parts of different shapes that had to be turned until all the pieces snapped together. All in all I liked the story therefor I was able to overlook some lower budget flaws. Enjoy! August 4, 2013
Original & Fun HO Game BASED ON DEMO Note: Yes, there are snakes, medium level scary FIRST IMPRESSIONS This is a surprisingly fun HO game. The opening minutes are spent getting the story of how we come to be in this town. It is presented to us in almost-cartoon graphics and a top quality voiceover. We do need a bit of background to get what comes later. SIGHTS & SOUNDS The graphics are a little fuzzy on my large monitor but nowhere near enough to create a problem. They are in drawn style, with a little airbrushing perhaps? I found them pleasant. The colours are good, and there are varied lighting styles. Music was completely forgettable, but the voiceovers were excellent, especially the ssseriousssly sssibilant Missster Mayor. WHAT?S HAPPENING We are an investigator of the paranormal kind, and we rush to the aid of a journalist friend who rings, panicked, from the town of Serpent Creek. Our first encounter with the locals is confusing. We see a strange beast standing over the body of a man, and go to his rescue. Monster is scared off, victim gets the aid he needs, and then brushes the whole incident off as nothing. Creepy, this guy is not quite right, and he denies having ever seen our friend. As we meet other townsfolk, we get the same reaction. Only the mayor will talk to us, and he?s weird too. He insists we locate the sheriff as quickly as possible. All this, and we have earth tremors too! MAKING PROGRESS It is a HO adventure, with lots of them, and I only remember a single puzzle, which was really well done. The HOs are mostly an interactive list, but this game introduces another entirely new HO scene. As a person with parapsychological powers, we can deduce events from the evidence at crime scenes. We start with a list of ?hidden? objects that have been blotted out, and we must search the area for items that respond to our power, and clicking on them will uncover the word in the list. Once all items have been located, we receive, item by item, a vision, the story behind the scene. Difficult to explain, but definitely different from anything else I?ve played. Hint is directional and there is an interactive map that shows you ?groups? of scenes, to which you can travel. For example, the hotel is 3 scenes, but is represented by only one icon on the map. FAMOUS LAST WORDS I have only one real concern about this game, I suspect it might be quite short. I finished the demo in 35 minutes and the file size is tiny. Still, for all those of us with punchcard coupons to spend, I reckon this is a good bet. August 4, 2013
9 Clues: The Secret in the town of snakes. Good game! This game is from a developner, that usually stands for high quality entertainment gaming. They did it again this time, but not good as in their last games. First of all I'm very dissapointed that there are no achievements or collectibles in the game, because the beta version had very challenging achievements. That's the Point why this game only deserves a four star rating for me. But now for the game: The storyline is a mystery. When you start the game there's a mysterius creature, a strange mayor with the voice of a snake and a hotel manager which you can't trust anything. You are in Serpent Creek, because your friend Helen needs help with strage events going on there. Later in the game you'll get to know more details until you know what's going on in the town. So the story is good. I like these mystery storylines. The gameplay is easy and there's nothing where you could get stuck, but some puzzles and some of the HO's are quite a challenge, so the level of challenge is ok, but for me as an advanced player too easy. Again: I miss the achievements here. The graphics are ok. They don't have many details, but they are colorfull and have a good atmosphere. The voice overs are great. Especially the voice of the mayor sounds a bit like a snake. That's creepy and funny both together. The other sounds are good too, but there are some longer passages in the game when there's no music. Because of that I rate the sound quality with four out of five. But afterall this game is good and nice as SE. If you want to play a mystic, mysterius and easy game, then you'll like this game for sure. If you are an advanced player you can choose the difficould playing mode, bacause then the game is more challenging. So there's something for everyone in this game. So it deserves four stars for sure. August 4, 2013
Good game. Easy, relaxing, enjoyable. This is a game to just play and have fun for the day. Nothing hard. More puzzles than HOS. Nothing really hard. Hint button works really good if needed. I like to be able to see the items in the HOS are this one fills the bill. The graphics are good. Does not have walkthrough but do not think you will need it. Nothing great about this game like some of the CE games, just a good game to play for the fun of it. August 4, 2013
Thisssssss issssss a fun game! (Hiss! Hiss!) Well finally a fun SE that I purchased halfway through the demo because of it's uniqueness. You are a detective that deals with the supernatural and you receive a frantic phone call from your long time friend Helen, who is a reporter covering an annual Serpeant Festival in a small town named Serpeant Creek.She needs your help- so off you go. You have 3 playing modes to choose from- Casual, Advanced and Expert. You also have a journal that you keep track of the people involved in your case. your clues and objectives. The music is creepy and daunting. The graphics are good but cartoonish in a fun way. Ambiance also creepy with lots of thunder. Upon your arrival you encounter a snakelike being! You also find a warning note to Do Not Drink the Black Mamba! But there are barrels of it in town. The towns folk are walking around slow and zombie-like and talk the same but add a hiss to that. My favorite part was when I am starting to look around and I had to find all the clues in an area, deduce a conclusion from them and in this case I stumbled upon a dead body, that is the co-worker of your friend! This is just fun with a variety of things to do. I like this game a lot. Have fun...SSSSSSSS! August 4, 2013
Fun so I am buying Yes, not great graphics but kind of cartoonlike, but goes with the theme of the game. Voice overs you don't have to click continue to continue the conversation. HOs are fairly easy and had a different kind where there was no list and you had to move the mouse around to find glowing spots. Puzzles so far have not been difficult and I don't care for puzzles so this works for me. It was getting interesting when the demo was over so had to buy so I could continue. Definitely not a CE but very nice SE game. Got to go so I can find out how it ends; will have a fun-filled couple of hours. August 4, 2013
Slithering sibilance! I think I like it! Another old style game has slithered out of the Big Fish coffers and it is surprisingly engaging. You arrrive in Serpents Creek to find your friend Helen who has asked for your help and immediately encounter a strange creature attacking the Hotel Manager, Mr Black. The mystery begins to build and you are drawn into the story. You won't find: * amazing graphics * superb cut scenes or VOs * highly interactive HOSs You will find: * retro style * 3 levels of challenge (Casual, Advanced and Expert) though casual is very easy with a lot of sparkles even in the HOSs * very straightforward and slightly interactive HOSs which are not too cluttered * interesting and quite challenging puzzles * an interactive map showing your location and available actions *a useful journal with objectives, clues and character outlines You also switch into 'Detective Mode' (once during demo) where you have to find 9 clues to work out how the crime was committed. Characters are not terribly convincing, but are almost so corny that you like them for that. Some nice humour. There are not too many snakes (yet) though many references to them. Demo stops short (45 mins for me and I took my time taking notes). It is definitely worth a try and, if you do not take it too seriously, worth recommending for a sale or Catch of the Week! August 4, 2013
A very very fun game Its a fun hidden object games. the story line is kind of ok nothing unique about it. The sound and graphics were kind of good. I really liked the detective part when u have to search for clues. I didnt get stuck in the game. There were a lot of hidden object scenes which I didn't like. They should reduce the amount of hidden object scenes. The puzzles were not so confusing and hard I could solve all of them. The map and some other things were in the journal which they could improve if they create collectors edition as they were a bit confusing. This game is overall very good. December 22, 2013
Good little game. I liked this game but to me it lacked something. It has comic book style graphics (sort of). The voice overs were done alright- the lips didn't move in sync with the voice very well. It was nice that you could move around using the map instead of having to trek back and forth through the game. Its actually a small map compared to other games from this developer. It has 3 levels of challenge, like all the other games (Casual, Advanced and Expert). It doesn't have a journal to follow, just "Objective" and "People". So its up to you to remember all the parts of the story. The HOSs were actually done very well and each item was pretty easy to find. There were only a few times I needed to use the hint button because it was behind something or you needed to move something and the cursor didn't exactly let you know when you were close. The hint button recharged quickly and does come in handy as there isn't a walk through on BFG. I had to do a google search and find a website that could help me. Sometimes the 'objective', which way you need to go or what to do next can be tricky. The story was a little interesting- but the ending was a little disappointing- although it left it open for a sequel. I do recommend this game, its a relaxing 4 or 5 hours. April 4, 2014
31-40 of 80 Reviews <<prev 23456...8next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

9 Clues: The Secret of Serpent Creek

Crack codes, pick locks, comb crime scenes for clues and solve clever puzzles in this thrilling retro detective drama!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.