Bookmark

Fearful Tales: Hansel and Gretel Collector's Edition

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

You awake from a strange dream to find gingerbread men trashing your home. Where are your children? They left for the village store hours ago and have not returned. A mysterious woman appears, taunting you. Is she responsible for your children’s disappearance? One gingerbread man has promised to help you, but can you really trust him?

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • In the bonus game, get home and save the town!
  • Collect cupcakes as you play!
  • Earn achievements
  • Play bonus HOPs!
  • Use the integrated Strategy Guide
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • Hard Drive: 939 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Fearful Tales: Hansel and Gretel Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Fearful Tales: Hansel and Gretel Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Fearful Tales: Hansel and Gretel Collector's Edition 3.8 5 81 81
One of my favourite games I think this might be one of my favourite Eipix games. Artwork is beyond awesome, game is fun, puzzles are interesting and gameplay is good. Good work, guys. December 24, 2013
Very original game I'm glad to see a developer that isn't afraid to do something original. Some players obviously don't appreciate that but an artist like me certainly does. I think that since Drawn series no one made a game with this original artwork. It has a very distinctive style and every scene is delightful. I wish there were more games like this one. Overall the game hat a grotesque like feeling thar hit the spot for me. The story was enjoyable and original. Music was whimsical and not annoying. For some players the only downside may be too many HOS. Would definately play again! November 26, 2013
Beautifully made, a little short I have not purchased this game yet; I think I will, though, even though it's short. It's beautifully crafted, with perfect illustrations and interesting tasks. I really like this kind of HO scene, with a clear list and some interaction. Gameplay was well done; nothing was sticky or glitchy, no tasks were shockingly stupid/illogical, things were generally in reasonable places. Few cut scenes, and they were skippable. (yay!) Big thumbs up to the developers, make more like this, please! September 21, 2013
Sweet Treat Oh my goodness, this game was so up my alley! I love games based on old nursery rhymes, etc. and this one, while modest on the level of challenge, was quite fulfilling. I just wish it was a tad longer. The graphics were fantastic! The bonus game wasn't incredibly long, but was nice. You will want to pay close attention for the hidden cupcakes. I would love to see a sequel to this game in the very near future. September 16, 2013
Wonderful! Nothing to reply, a very pleasant and dynamic game. Surely one of my favourites. Obviously not all people like this kind of "fairy tale games", but based on my taste I love them! I hope I can play more other games similar to this one. Ciao! :) September 12, 2013
Choose this one! My favorite mystery game yet!!! August 24, 2013
Oh no! Cookie Monsters! BASED ON DEMO FIRST IMPRESSIONS Sorry, couldn?t resist the awful pun, because there really are cookie monsters (evil gingerbread men) in this game. Except for the one who decides to stick with us. At least, he better be on our side, because as well as providing back story, he?s our hint button. Opening scenes are fun, giving the impression of this being a children?s tale, with fantastical graphics and a rhyming narrative. But I?m not of the opinion that it is. I played this demo through to the conclusion (in 48mins), without even thinking to take notes, I was so caught up in it. NB: This is a HO GAME, unlike the other superb games this developer has released recently. And it is very different from their other releases. SIGHTS & SOUNDS The graphics are delightfully whimsical. A touch of the surreal, with broad brush strokes, certainly have the feel of a fable. The characters, quite amusing as well as very well drawn and animated, are likewise ?unreal?. The music got repetitive really quickly, and I think let the side down. But it is in keeping with the pseudo-children?s book motif. I also think the voice of our friendly gingerbread man (Chip) is going to wear us down eventually too. On the other hand, the narrator?s voiceover is excellent. WHAT?S HAPPENING Like the real Hansel & Gretel, we have an evil witch, but unlike it, the kids are stolen in town and have a mother (us) who cares enough to come save them. We do very little towards achieving that goal in the demo, but we do a series of fun and not difficult side quests. MAKING PROGRESS As I say, HOs followed by HOs and so on. They are interactive lists, no other variants, and each scene is visited twice. (One star demerit for lack of variety). There are puzzles as well, very good fun ones that stick close to the story. The hint button is not all that fast, seeing I played on easiest of 3 difficulty levels. Outside HO, it gives you a picture of where you should be and allows you to travel there, if you are well away from it, and you will have to wait for a recharge. If close, it is simply directional, no cost. This is necessary because there is no map. Skip was quick. The journal holds important info and tracks your objectives. BLING! The usual. Gallery, SG, bonus chapter, as well as HO and puzzle replays. Movies and a ?making of?. Achievements and collectible cupcakes. FAMOUS LAST WORDS I know you?re thinking: "gingerbread men and collectible cupcakes, let me barf", but in fact it isn?t all that cutesy, even with the rhyming narration. It is altogether too dark and surreal to be a convincing fairy tale ? and that of course is its appeal. I am astonished at this developer's professionalism, talent and versatility. They certainly are rising stars, and this game, even if you are not into HOs, is an extremely well done and offbeat gaming experience. August 24, 2013
4 Stars For Chip - Review Of Completed Game 6 CHAPTERS: Only shows first 2 during demo. Bonus Chapter/Extras at bottom. There is widescreen (at least for me) along with voice overs. 3 PLAY MODES: Casual, Challenge, Insane. I played Challenge. Has sparkles just for HOS, black bar tips. Hint is Chip (gingerbread) helper which is directional if you are close by otherwise a portal comes up and just takes you to the area. Have to wait for him to recharge. JOURNAL: This tells objectives which also pop up on screen along with story and a few puzzle clues. Also shows your play time down at the bottom. MAP: This is the compass down at bottom by the strategy guide. This is transporter. Shows where you are, the objectives, and if there is anything to do. HOS: There are 11 scenes and you play them twice. Slightly interactive. Found by word list. Most I found to be clear however some Sanford & Son junkyard pile. My term for "messy." PUZZLES: There are 18. The usual run of the mill. I didn't come across anything I would consider new however seemed to put a little twist on them to fit the story here. These varied in challenge for me. Most I found easy but a few challenging. Skipped a couple of these. OVERALL IMPRESSION: I'm usually not much into the fairytale "cutesy" type of games or little helpers however I was hooked to this game immediate because of the opening "rhyming" narrator cut scene saying " "Once upon a time, in a village free of crime..." I just thought this narrator was excellent with the cut scene "rhyming." I was also just in awe of the whimsical cartoon graphics.I also enjoyed all the other characters especially Chip (gingerbread) helper the way he did the back story as sometimes he would forget but then when you move along he remembers some more. He was funny. I didn't find him intrusive. While I didn't find this to be a very challenging game but I had fun with this one but one thing I loathed was the cursor wanting to grab everything as it took me a bit to get the hang of this cursor along with sparkles/black bar tips is the reason I took this down a star. The main game here ended just fine for me and took me 3 1/2 hours. BONUS CHAPTER: This is an additional story. You have to save the town. Just a couple of new locations most are from the main game. Only 4 HOS and 3 puzzle/mini games. This was just about an hour for me. CE EXTRAS: Bonus Chapter Strategy Guide 40 cup cakes 16 achievements 15 HO Puzzles 21 Mini games 12 Wallpapers Movies Music Making Of Thanks Big Fish and Developer for a very good game here. I also had no complaints on game length. This was just right for me. It seemed longer than that to me but I will say just from reading this will be too short for some people. As always, give it a whirl and decide for yourself. August 24, 2013
Don't Eat The Cookies! Admittedly this isn't my favorite genre of HO games, however this is an entertaining game with an old favorite fairy tale theme, Hansel and Gretel. The graphics are a bit hard to describe because it isn't quite cartoonish and it isn't quite realistic. The HOS are list finds and I did notice that you had to click the items in a certain place to work. There are 40 hidden cupcakes to find and achievements to earn and they are amazingly fast at popping up the second you click on a cupcake! You will have the help of a unibrowed gingerbread man who will also have his memory jogged throughout the game with more and more of the story of how the Evil Witch turned from a good witch, a mother of two children, and loving wife of a Knight, to what she has become today. A different kind of game than the usual so go ahead and try this you just might like it, enjoy! August 24, 2013
Hansel and Gretel Delivers Gingerbread Fun I really liked the demo of Fearful Tales: Hansel and Gretel. In this incarnation of the fairytale, you are cast as their mother. The children have been kidnapped and evil gingerbread men are running amok. It was great to finally have a classic game that did not use real people or computer animation, unreal looking characters in it. Instead of morphing items, you search for cupcakes in each scene. The artwork is wonderful, but it is darker and would have been better had their been more color to it. The only problem I could find (and I played this on insane level) is that the cursor is touchy when using tools. You must put the item you're using directly on the item until you see the cogwheels, otherwise, the game will make you think you are making an error when you aren't. I will probably wait for the SE to come out as I don't find this game exciting enough to pay for a CE version. August 24, 2013
21-30 of 81 Reviews <<prev 2345...9next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Fearful Tales: Hansel and Gretel Collector's Edition

Who is responsible for your children’s disappearance? Follow the trail!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.