Bookmark

Awakening: The Sunhook Spire Collector's Edition

Exclusive
Full version game
(507.55 MB)

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Long ago, a kingdom was cast into darkness. Its king and queen were cursed to a deep sleep. Their daughter, Princess Sophia, ascended the throne and brought hope to the kingdom. In her quest to awaken her parents from their slumber, Sophia learned of a powerful Enchantress who could undo the spell. Alas! On her way to the Enchantress' lair at Sunhook Spire, she was beset by treacherous mercenaries. Can the young Queen escape the mercenaries and get to Sunhook Spire safely? After a thousand years of separation, will Sophia finally meet her parents? Scale the heights of Sunhook Spire, rescue the Enchantress and uncover the tower's mysteries in this epic journey!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Collectible morphing objects
  • Unlockable achievements
  • Strategy Guide
  • Soundtrack, Concept Art & Wallpaper
  • Bonus Chapter: Sophia's friends turn against her
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 800 Mhz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 554 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Awakening: The Sunhook Spire Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Awakening: The Sunhook Spire Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Awakening: The Sunhook Spire Collector's Edition 3.7 5 91 91
Great New Addition to the Series While it wasn't the best, this game really shows what Boomzap can do. The hidden object screens were ok, and the puzzles were pretty creative. They did get annoying after awhile because they were everywhere but what made up for it was the awesome story. Can't wait for the next one. December 21, 2013
The Story of Queen Sofia begins This review is based on a complete playthrough of the game and bonus content. First off, the Collector's Edition stuff (or why should you spend twice the money on this game vs the SE?): The bonus chapter, which is the most important CE content to me, is very good. As in the other games, it provides a 'bridge' or interlude between this game and the upcoming sequel. The main game ends well, the CE ends much more completely. There are collectible morphing objects throughout the game (I missed two), achievements (most of which involve finishing chapters fast, which I don't like to do on my first playthrough, and going through without hints (I used four for the main game, no SG - but did refer to the SG a couple times during the bonus chapter: if I was more patient, I'm sure I could have done it without resorting to hints). The replayable bonus game is a jigsaw puzzle type. Completing one unlocks the next in the series. There are 10 of them in total. Wallpaper, cutscenes, all the other usual CE stuff. I certainly didn't feel cheated for having gotten the CE - it's at least as good as any of the other one's I have. Now the regular game: This is where the story of Queen Sofia really begins (the story of Princess Sofia being told in the first four games). I think Boomzap has done a fine job here - part of good storytelling is knowing when to finish, and by starting a new chapter like they have, they 'finished' the story of Princess Sofia, and you can consider this the first chapter in the next tale. Having said that, there are tons of references to the first four games, so having played them will help you understand things, though there is a brief history given in your journal. The journal was sparse: very few 'flavor text' entries, many of which got updated before Sofia the character even knew what the journal was adding (pet peeve of mine). The 'task list' part kept pretty current. This is probable the games biggest weak point. The map was interactive (teleporting), though frankly it wasn't really needed - each chapters map was small enough you were never more than two or three clicks from where you wanted to go (or should want to go at least :grin:) They did a great job of packing a lot into each scene without making it feel cluttered - and making you use your brain to remember everything: this isn't a 'you found a pile of loose dirt; hey look! there's a shovel in the next scene' type of game. It can take a while between when you first see the 'lock' until the time you find the 'key', and they aren't recorded in your journal (of course, if you have the CE, you also have the strategy guide which walks you right through and opens automatically to where you are). You've got the owl to give you hints. They're pretty specific for the most part, so if you don't like direct answers be sure to play on the highest difficulty - I played on 'relaxed' mode and was pleasantly surprised that there were no 'sparklies' or other annoying distractions to the beautiful artwork (and yes, the graphics are brilliant - this is Boomzap we're talking about). The pocket dragon also joins you, though his 'element' changes at different points throughout the game. I kind of liked the 'when in doubt, set it on fire' mechanic, but this worked out well, and frankly was a nice change for an old friend. The mini-games were varied. One of them didn't allow for an alternate correct solution (no biggie, the one it wanted wasn't hard to find), and there was only one that really left me clueless that I eventually skipped. You had the fit the gears, connect the lights, make a bridge, pick up sticks, wheels, more wheels, pictures, the 'glassworks' jigsaw puzzles (this games bonus 'repeatable' game), and a few that referred back to the previous games (but which would still have been solvable with the sparse information this game does give you). My total time played was just under seven hours for the main game, and almost two more for the bonus chapter: but I took my time and stopped to smell and admire the roses along the way. The achievement is granted for completing the main game in under four hours, and I only got one chapter's achievement for completing in under one hour. I'll admit those are probably my least favorite achievements because they're easy to get your second go round, and why should you rush your first playthrough? Another ding for lack of creativity here. Bottom line: this is a great game. It might be a touch beneath some of the previous titles, but they've set a very high bar for themselves, and missing it still sets them head and shoulders above most of the other developers out there. Personally, I think this one is worth the CE for the reasons I mentioned, though if you don't buy CE's, then the SE is still a great game. If you can get it during a promotion it's a no-brainer (if you like the fairy land type stories, anyway). October 30, 2013
No good direction on where to go next. I like most of the games, but this one did not give enough information if you got stuck, especially on the bonus section. August 30, 2013
Loved It? Not So Much I will be going against the grain here. I have played all the other Awakening games and really liked them. Sadly, this one does not top my list of "must haves". While this one still has the soothing music (perhaps a bit too soothing) and pretty colors in the scenery, the puzzles were a bit too abstract for me. I got some of them, but some of the clues for the puzzles were so obscure that I had to click the skip button in order to progress. The map was no help at all unless you knew WHY you needed to go somewhere. And the darling little owl was not much help either in the way of hints. I asked for a hint and didn't understand it. After wandering aimlessly, I asked for another hint and got the same message. No help at all. Finally, the journal gave me a clue, but by the time I figured it out, my demo was over. I did like the unique HO style near the beginning. However, that was not enough to convince me this was a game I had to have. Maybe I just couldn't think outside the box today, but I would have to say I can't recommend this game. August 17, 2013
Still better than most BFG HOGs, but not as good as previous Awakening games Overall, I liked the game, but not as much as I liked previous Awakening games. The hints weren't very helpful and often involved hitting the hint button over and over again in different locations either because it kept pointing to an area without any hint (an area in which I could not figure out what to do) or it kept giving extremely vague hints with no idea where the object was that I needed to interact with. The in-game guide is nearly useless because it's not complete (or, if it is, I couldn't figure out how to access more than the tiny bit that was visible). There was nothing to tell you what the various elemental forms of the Dragon did, either. Some of the click points were so constricted that I had to click things into the same place 5 times before they worked or stuck. Honestly, I found that my opinion of the game largely alternated between frustrating and boring, neither feelings I normally felt playing previous Awakening games. It's a game with good potential, but I think they should have taken a bit more time to polish the game (and they could have left out the hidden object scenes, but I suppose that's asking too much for a BFG). All that being said, the graphics were lovely, as usual, and there were plenty of cute critters to interact with, as usual. Thus, I give it 3 stars. August 21, 2013
Not up to Awakening Standard I have to agree with MRSSHARON. I've played a lot of HO games, including the other Awakenings, but this one is just so-so. I had my doubts with the demo, but figured it would get better as it went, so I bought it. It didn't. I normally don't use hints and almost never use the skip button. I probably skipped as many minis as I played. The ones I skipped were just too confusing. Even with the description it wasn't clear what I was supposed to do. I did think that the hints were pretty clear, but as I said I normally don't use the hint feature of a game and had to use it A LOT with this one. BTW, the minis that I did play, were mostly time wasters. How to solve them was obvious, but they were structured in such a way that you had to spend a lot of time doing it. I gave this game a 3 overall. I think that's charitable. August 18, 2013
Nowhere near as good as the first 3! Here we go with a 5th installment of the Awakening adventures. I have 3 of the first 4, didn't care for Skyware Castle and couldn't justify getting it for my collection. This game has the same type of graphics and blah colors. Game play is nice. Music okay. The map identifies the locations when you run the cursor over it (major plus). Does have morphing objects, and they are not that easy to spot. Like the little dragon. This game was not all that exciting, nor was it very challenging. I was not drawn in like I was with the first 3 games, which were very good games. I did sort of like the HOGs...different with the need to change the screen color to pick up the object. But again, not exciting. Did not care for the SG at all. Mostly because you can't access it from the game screen, you have access from the menu, then triple exit out to get back to the game...too much clicking. Went backward in time with this one. I found it easier and less time consuming to just use the hint button, which worked quite nicely. Even with the special today, I do not have the need to purchase this game. Too bad, I do like the series. I'm not even sure I will get the SE when it comes out. It is not a bad game, so I do recommend it. The devs just needed to take a little more time with it. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may find this one quite enjoyable and exactly what you are looking for today. Thanks for the reviews. August 17, 2013
sad awakening for me The game is one of those where the developers do not know when you should be closing. Dragon and Owl nerve only, the Storry becomes boring part by part, it's always to do the same. The puzzles are quite complex but not difficult to participate. The graphics are not the best. The music is ok. At some point, the help is not available or the answer meaningless. That does not make it easier and frustration comes on. For this, my time is too precious. August 18, 2013
Disappointment This game was a pain in the butt, to say the least!! I have mixed emotions about the game. The scenery was pretty and I liked the cute characters, especially the dragon and the owl. However, I had difficulty figuring out what the hints meant, where to go, etc. It was a cute enough story but just too confusing. I finished the main game and started the bonus but had to quit as I got to a puzzle I could not skip and could not figure out the instructions. When I don't get to play the bonus, I don't feel like I've gotten my money's worth out of a CE. I have played the other Awakening games and am sure I will get the sequel to this one if they produce one. All in all, this game needs improvement on instructions, etc. but is still enjoyable enough and I do recommend it. August 22, 2013
NOT the best Awakening story! I'm a huge fan of the Awakening series but this one just didn't make it! Far too many puzzles! I'd rather have som more HOS instead. The story is not as intriguing as the other four in the series. Actually it seems like the creators had too little time on their hands or just got sloppy. If you love the series you'd want to play it and is well worth the time since it's a continuing story but if this is your first encounter with princess (now queen) Sophia I recommend getting started with the first ones instead! The only really cute and innovative character in this game is the catfish! Cutest animal ever seen...with a cool attitude as well! August 20, 2013
51-60 of 91 Reviews <<prev 45678...10next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Awakening: The Sunhook Spire Collector's Edition

Scale the heights of Sunhook Spire, rescue the Enchantress and uncover the tower's mysteries as Queen Sophia's journey continues!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.