Bookmark

Nearwood

Full version game
(776.36 MB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Can a young woman single-handedly change the fate of a magical kingdom? Set out on a voyage with Jane Lockwood into a mysterious world of danger and adventure, into a whirlwind of magic and wonder! As you encounter a host of unusual and amusing creatures and help them in their troubles, you will inch closer and closer to your final goal – finding Jane's long-lost parents, all the while freeing the great and wise Time Keepers from the grip of oblivion. Find out why time came to a standstill, and drive the ancient evil out of Nearwood once and for all! Bring back peace and quiet to the land! Save Nearwood!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 812 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Nearwood

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Nearwood

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Nearwood 4.5 5 83 83
What a beautiful game! I love games with storyline and variety of puzzles/challenge - this one delivers. I bought the regular version, not the collectors edition. I felt it was a good length and it was fun. There is a map so you can teleport - although once you do, it has to recharge. The hints are directional hints (i.e. go left, right, etc.). Like I said in the title of my review - this is one of the most beautiful games I've ever played. Just the opening sequence is mesmerizing. Great job developers! September 9, 2013
I'm in LOVE! Nearwood Forest is the place I've always dreamed of since childhood. Oh, if only it was real... I never want to stop playing it! The beauty and creative genius of each and every scene holds me enraptured! The artists and developers have outdone themselves!. I don't believe there will ever be a game to match Nearwood in sheer beauty! It gives you the feeling of being in another very different phantasmic and gorgeous world not unlike in the movie Avatar. The storyline is interesting and unique, the visual quality is more than superb! It is a bright and beautiful escape from reality! Thank you, sooo very much for making such an incredibly gorgeous game!! September 7, 2013
Nearwood is pure adventure, lots of puzzles, few HOps I suspect there are many gamers who will not care for this game because there is no horror, gore or dark crypts. It is pure light-hearted fantasy with bright, almost ethereal scenes, each almost enchantingly breathtaking, and while there is a plot, they joy is in the journey, as they say. There are lots of puzzles, most of them a bit unique (at least to me) and none of them too terribly difficult. The one drawback, which to me was minor once I realized it, was that when switching from one scene to another, there was a few seconds delay. And the map was helpful and did transport - it will not, however, let you jump from scene to scene. It takes a minute to recharge. Probably the young and impatient would consider this a major flaw, but that is the reason that patience is considered a virtue....it doesn't come naturally! I purchased the SE, and the CE would have been helpful several times, because figuring out the puzzles was very time-consuming for me - but maybe I'm slow. And, again, patience is the issue. For me, this was a wonderful game, and one I will enjoy many times, not just once. It is done by the same developers as "The Fool," which I also thoroughly enjoy. January 3, 2014
5 STARS ALL THE WAY !!! This is a fun and imaginative game. Very whimsical !! You are searching for your parents in the land of Nearwood and you are helped along by a wise old Elf ( or is he a Dwarf). You visit one enchanting scene after another and help various people as you go. Long Playing time Many many places to visit Nice music Interactive map Hint button and skip take average amount of time to charge Quite a bit of backtracking so the map comes in handy I loved everything about this game and will play it again. October 2, 2013
Beautiful game This is a beautifully rendered game. The opening scene going down the river is awesome. I wanted to be there. Well, maybe not going over the falls. The whole game is awesome. The story is a fairytale, which I get tired of, but this story is well told and not so cutesy-pie as most. The SE does have an end unlike some games. Game play is good. The HOS are all fragmented objects, but there aren't too many of them. The puzzles are well done. There is a lot of back-and-forth, but there is a jump map, and the HINT button points in the right direction. It's a fairly long game and is enjoyable to play the whole time. I really didn't think I'd like this game, but I sure am glad I bought it. It's one of the best around now. September 16, 2013
Forget Hogwarts, I want to move to Nearwood!! After playing many many HOG/Adventure games, I will have to rate this one of the top three games I have ever played. The graphics alone are absolutely stunning and so visually creative, it makes the actual plot pale in comparison. Even the mini puzzles were so gorgeous that I would just sit and look at them for minutes before I started in. My favorite was a mini game that had a mossy stone turtle with a teeming miniature reef suspended on its back instead of a shell. Even the tiniest of details were beautiful. Snails scooting by on the ground with tiny palm trees and little island on their shells...just enjoyable and awesome to stare at. And the games were done with little twists that made them refreshing to play. The plot was reuniting a family, helping a crumbling magical kingdom. I thought my guide would annoy me but I actually like his little facial expressions and comments. No lags, a bit short in length for me (I wanted more!) but so many places to go and creatures to meet and help. I rarely, if ever, play games more than twice but I will be playing this game over and over again, and waiting impatiently for a sequel. October 22, 2013
Brain Food Loved it from the start. Lots of thinking to do - which I enjoy. At one stage I thought that I was getting near to the end and then WOW! another vista opened. I don't use sound but the visuals were very artistic, fun enchanting. I recommend this to anyone. The hint is readily available to those who need it. Thank you to the game Devs. Carry on the good work. I've been unable to play for a while due to family health issues so I'm delighted with this game. Top Marks. September 11, 2013
MOST BEAUTIFUL GRAPHICS AND 3D WOW...THE BEGINNING IS A 3D JOURNEY OF MOVEMENT WITH BEAUTIFUL MUSIC....I ACTUALLY SAT AND WATCHED THE WHOLE THING BEFORE STARTING TO PLAY. HAVE BEEN PLAYING THESE GAMES FOR ABOUT SIX YEARS AND THIS IS ONE OF THE MOST VISUALLY BEAUTIFUL HAVE COME ACROSS!! WANT MORE LIKE THIS!! September 9, 2013
Simply Magical. I want to go there! I have not even finished this game yet and absolutely love it. Despite the glitchy and out-of-sync voiceovers (didn't always match the text) which I experienced, I have still given this game five stars, although this problem impeded my full enjoyment of the game. Nevertheless, the game is whimsical, graphics were stunning, colours vibrant, storyline kept my interest, and the minigames were challenging. I also adore the flyover at the beginning - albeit delayed and glitchy as well - but I could look at that for ages without getting tired, and no plane ticked required! The game is a test of memory, as you do have to go back and forth to the same locations a lot of times in order to complete the puzzles and gather more clues, which was sometimes tiresome, and I had to use the hint button regularly. So my review is mixed, but I still rate it highly overall as the effort put into the scenery, the puzzles, and the story overrides the negative experiences. And I love the fact that there are hardly any hidden object scenes! Do consider getting this - hopefully there won't be technical problems for you, so maybe try the demo first, but it's well worth the purchase. August 1, 2014
Wonderful game with some drawbacks Based on the completed game: This is one of the most beautiful games I've played, with gorgeous graphics. It might be a bit cutesy for some, but I much prefer a bit of that to constant dark, gloom and crud. I usually turn off the music within a few minutes, but turned low this music was delightful and unobtrusive. While the plot line wasn't exactly unique, I don't think unique plots are necessary anyway, so that doesn't bother me. My only complaint about the plot line was that it was a little incoherent in expression and often not all that well related to the HO searches. The searches weren't linear and I usually had too many objects to seek/carried objects to use who-knew-where, so wound up using the Hint button much more than I normally do. The map didn't help a whole lot either; even if I could visualize the needed scene, the map's pictures didn't help me much in finding it, so I still wandered around a lot or went to the Hint. Also I too object to the map being subject to a timer. Related to that, I have a general beef, not just about this game but all the HO games. Timers ought to be optional! I love HO games, but heartily dislike most mini-games/puzzles and would like to skip them immediately instead of tapping my fingers in irritation for what seems like forever to be able to skip. Also I'd like to play more challenging modes but won't if it forces me to wait forever for a skip or to play mini-games that I detest. That said, the mini-games in Nearwood mostly aren't bad, and are beautifully done. A few I actually enjoyed, and most of the rest I didn't mind dinking around with until the Skip timer ran out. The HO scenes were also beautifully done, mostly partial HO's, some with silhouettes, some not. They weren't very challenging but were relaxing and fun anyway. All in all, this is a gorgeous, fun, relaxing and replayable game that I'm glad I bought. May 20, 2014
11-20 of 83 Reviews <<prev 2345...9next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Nearwood

The fate of the magical world is in your hands – free it from evil!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.