Bookmark

Nearwood

Full version game
(776.36 MB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Can a young woman single-handedly change the fate of a magical kingdom? Set out on a voyage with Jane Lockwood into a mysterious world of danger and adventure, into a whirlwind of magic and wonder! As you encounter a host of unusual and amusing creatures and help them in their troubles, you will inch closer and closer to your final goal – finding Jane's long-lost parents, all the while freeing the great and wise Time Keepers from the grip of oblivion. Find out why time came to a standstill, and drive the ancient evil out of Nearwood once and for all! Bring back peace and quiet to the land! Save Nearwood!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 812 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Nearwood

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Nearwood

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Nearwood 4.5 5 75 75
Delightfully Different ... The best thing this Game had going for it was it's amazingly beautiful and colorful Graphics. The Storyline wasn't that interesting in my opinion - a girl goes out to "save" her parents? Couldn't they think of anything better than that? The Elf assistant was more annoying than anything else, not cute at all, and I wished he would just shut-up - especially in the end where he say "You must Hurry to save your parents ..." Really? Why do you need to hurry if Time is standing still? Doesn't make any sense, does it? The Creatures you meet along the way had way too "Human" characteristics which I think were totally unrealistic. Otherwise a good Game with some very interesting Puzzles also. January 3, 2014
Brilliant Game well worth purchasing Bought a few games this week many of which were a disappointment but not this. The reviews are right, this is a very good game which is nice and long but doesnt get boring. Some of the puzzles are a little simple and I think a few more challenging ones would of made it a five star game for me. October 20, 2013
IF YOU LIKE PASTELS. Colorful, fanciful artwork and cute (too cute) inhabitants are pluses for Nearwood. The story is rambling, but gets there eventually. The puzzles are fun, not challenging. Admit I became bored a little over halfway through and relied on the hint button to navigate. There is a jump map which indicates areas of interest. The Mermaid Queen seems to have jumped from a Frank Frazetta illustration. When I returned her tiara, felt I should stop by Walmart and pick up a t-shirt for her as well. One for the younger player, I assume. September 10, 2013
Well... If I had had to really rush back and forth from one point to another in real time I would have been exhausted by the third trip and angry with the fact that I had to return to do more in the same place? BUT other than that, I enjoyed the game. I think probably more for the scenery and the Nearwood elf who acted as the 'hints man' and who saved me much travelling back and forth by guiding me through to the next stage, although not by transporting me, sadly. The story was nice, and the ending was good, so not a bad game and well worth the time if you have a rainy afternoon. June 14, 2014
Immersive story, relaxing gameplay, quite enjoyable Nearwood SE Review based on Completed Game PREFACE? I recall enjoying the CE demo, but deciding to wait for the SE, as I felt there were not sufficient extras to warrant CE status. And I'm glad I did. Nearwood is not an overly-challenging game, but a lovely and immersive story to enjoy on a relaxing afternoon. ONCE UPON A TIME... Jane Lockwood lost her parents at an early age and was raised by her aunt. Now an adult, Jane's aunt has passed and left her a cryptic note regarding a secret about her parents. And so Jane sets off to her childhood home, where she's greeted by Fey, an elfin creature who reveals to her the world of Nearwood. Nearwood is an alternate world where magic is a reality, and Jane must travel there to not only uncover the secrets of her past, but also to rid that world of an unspeakable evil. PLAY THE GAME... Nearwood is mainly adventure with puzzles and some HO scenes. The HOs are of two types: multiple items and FROGs. The puzzles include both retreads and originals; both types are graphically-beautiful. Some are quite simple, while others take some planning and thought. All in all, it's a nice mix. SIGHTSEEING? Don't miss the cinematic running behind the menu. They're truly gorgeous. Game graphics are fanciful, evoking a magical fairy tale world full of giant mushrooms, strange flowers, magnificent architecture, adorable woodland creatures, and the like. Animation is done well. SOUND WAVES? The music is lovely, mostly ethereal as you would expect fairy tale music to be, but dramatic when events dictate. Voiceovers were professional, which is just as well as the characters talked a LOT. Environmental sounds were extremely well done. TOOLBOX? The map, unfortunately, is rather useless. It's not graphic enough for you to distinguish your current and destination locations, and the transportation function must recharge before you can reuse it. While it does show active areas, it shows them all, not just current objectives. You won't find yourself getting lost, however. Each area is made distinct by the artists through its design and color, and navigation is intuitive. A satchel serves in place of the customary journal, and the inventory panel locks open. THE LAST WORD? I enjoyed my visit to Nearwood, and look forward to the sequel that was hinted at near the end. Unlike some, I don't feel a game has to be difficult or challenging to be enjoyable. I find relaxing gameplay fun as long as the story captures me. This is a game appropriate for all ages as well. Other notable games by the same dev include the Brink of Consciousness series. June 4, 2014
Unexpected fun i normally go for more edgy things - darker things - but this game has shown me that sweeter games can be really fun too. most of the mini games were easy to medium in rating, with only one or two difficult ones thrown in. i loved the silhouette HOGs and the interactive ones, and the overall look of the game was amazing. not too sweet, not very difficult, but very enjoyable. i could have watched the opening all day - they really out did themselves with the graphics. do yourself a favour and try it out. May 13, 2014
Not really an HOG but it grows on you I really wanted to love this game. However, within the first 2 hours I thought about quitting several times. I'm glad I stuck with it because after you settle in, the game gets more fun and the last half of the game definitely beats the first. Note: It is not a Hidden Object Game. It is an adventure game with a couple of hidden object puzzles. Mini-puzzles make the bulk of the game. Pros: Graphics. Wow. From the waterfall opening to the beautiful colors and puzzles - this is a great looking game. Puzzles medium to hard. All make sense and are understandable. Payoff ending is good, no abrupt "and its over' kind of ending. Cons: Too many open places at ones. You go through the map at breakneck place creating opening after opening. You're dragging around stuff you won't need for quite a while - and you have 10 puzzles needing pieces all over the map. So there is a lot of back and forth and a laundry list of places and needs to remember. Poor planing. The game is talky in the beginning. Jane and the gnome prattle on. The things to use aren't always logical and there's too much to keep up with at one time. It's tedius and boring in the beginning. But, once some of the openings get closed and the story is more linear, it helps. Toward then end - things start moving quickly, dialogue gets cut back and it's a more pleasant game. November 2, 2013
Pretty alright... pretty vapid. It looks like I'm the sole dissenting voice on this, but this game managed to irritate me enough to make my first game review on this website. A lot of work has gone into the look of the game and that shows - the visuals and animation is top of the line for this genre, and the puzzles themselves are varied and entertaining, though largely unchallenging. However, it's first sin is a horrible map - a cardinal sin of this genre. To begin with, it doesn't distinguish active areas, it only shows you every room that still has something to be done at some point in the game. But to make it worse, the ability to use the map to room-jump is limited with a timer in the same style as the hint button. No no no. Pretty graphics does not excuse the annoyance of having to look at the same dozen room shots again and again, trying to figure out which room you're supposed to be looking in. Then the storyline? Ugh. Naturally, anyone who plays a lot of games from this genre gets used to a certain amount of fluff in the genre, ranging from tame horror to outright rainbows everywhere. But games like the Awakening series are unapologetically drenched in femininity and yet carry strong and capable female characters. In contrast, at one point in this game, a woman is telling the player that all the men in their small village have been kidnapped; she laments that there is "no one left to fix things" or to "hunt and fish", after the player had just finished rescuing them from another night of cold, dark and loneliness by replacing two simple and narratively obvious gears on the water cog. Good grief. Not having to deal with these tired old 'helpless women without their men' tropes is one of the reasons I enjoy this genre as much as I do. With as much budget and technical skill as has obviously gone into this game, you'd think they'd come up with an equally skillful storyline. September 7, 2013
A Frilly Game for :Young Girls This would be great if I were a 10 year old girl. I am not, there fore I am just not interested in this. April 25, 2014
Started strong... I played the Demo for the CE but thought the game would be as good in SE and waited for the release and bought without replaying the Demo. Yes, even if I had replayed the Demo, I probably would have purchased as the game didn't loose it's charm until about half way. The graphics and storyline are very good, but found the challenge somewhat easy that got easier and easier. The last quarter of the game totally bored me and couldn't wait for it to be over. Ended abruptly with everyone happy... September 15, 2013
61-70 of 75 Reviews <<prev 45678next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Nearwood

The fate of the magical world is in your hands – free it from evil!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.