Bookmark

Nearwood

Full version game
(776.36 MB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Can a young woman single-handedly change the fate of a magical kingdom? Set out on a voyage with Jane Lockwood into a mysterious world of danger and adventure, into a whirlwind of magic and wonder! As you encounter a host of unusual and amusing creatures and help them in their troubles, you will inch closer and closer to your final goal – finding Jane's long-lost parents, all the while freeing the great and wise Time Keepers from the grip of oblivion. Find out why time came to a standstill, and drive the ancient evil out of Nearwood once and for all! Bring back peace and quiet to the land! Save Nearwood!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 812 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Nearwood

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Nearwood

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Nearwood 4.5 5 82 82
IF YOU LIKE PASTELS. Colorful, fanciful artwork and cute (too cute) inhabitants are pluses for Nearwood. The story is rambling, but gets there eventually. The puzzles are fun, not challenging. Admit I became bored a little over halfway through and relied on the hint button to navigate. There is a jump map which indicates areas of interest. The Mermaid Queen seems to have jumped from a Frank Frazetta illustration. When I returned her tiara, felt I should stop by Walmart and pick up a t-shirt for her as well. One for the younger player, I assume. September 10, 2013
Interesting story just wished it was longer. I really liked the story and I thought the graphics were great. All the puzzles were fun; however, the overall game ended to soon. I was actually surprised when it ended because I'm used to most adventure games being much longer. September 7, 2014
Good game exempt for the map This game was a lot of fun, however, the map was really useless. September 2, 2014
Pretty alright... pretty vapid. It looks like I'm the sole dissenting voice on this, but this game managed to irritate me enough to make my first game review on this website. A lot of work has gone into the look of the game and that shows - the visuals and animation is top of the line for this genre, and the puzzles themselves are varied and entertaining, though largely unchallenging. However, it's first sin is a horrible map - a cardinal sin of this genre. To begin with, it doesn't distinguish active areas, it only shows you every room that still has something to be done at some point in the game. But to make it worse, the ability to use the map to room-jump is limited with a timer in the same style as the hint button. No no no. Pretty graphics does not excuse the annoyance of having to look at the same dozen room shots again and again, trying to figure out which room you're supposed to be looking in. Then the storyline? Ugh. Naturally, anyone who plays a lot of games from this genre gets used to a certain amount of fluff in the genre, ranging from tame horror to outright rainbows everywhere. But games like the Awakening series are unapologetically drenched in femininity and yet carry strong and capable female characters. In contrast, at one point in this game, a woman is telling the player that all the men in their small village have been kidnapped; she laments that there is "no one left to fix things" or to "hunt and fish", after the player had just finished rescuing them from another night of cold, dark and loneliness by replacing two simple and narratively obvious gears on the water cog. Good grief. Not having to deal with these tired old 'helpless women without their men' tropes is one of the reasons I enjoy this genre as much as I do. With as much budget and technical skill as has obviously gone into this game, you'd think they'd come up with an equally skillful storyline. September 7, 2013
A Frilly Game for :Young Girls This would be great if I were a 10 year old girl. I am not, there fore I am just not interested in this. April 25, 2014
Started strong... I played the Demo for the CE but thought the game would be as good in SE and waited for the release and bought without replaying the Demo. Yes, even if I had replayed the Demo, I probably would have purchased as the game didn't loose it's charm until about half way. The graphics and storyline are very good, but found the challenge somewhat easy that got easier and easier. The last quarter of the game totally bored me and couldn't wait for it to be over. Ended abruptly with everyone happy... September 15, 2013
OK but Not Special There was very little hidden object but a lot of puzzles. There were a lot of locations but it turned into a chore to move around because the map relocator button had to recharge between uses. And, it seemed that the main purpose was for you just to have to click a million times between locations. Like pick up object A and click 20 times to get to the spot to use it, just so can you pick up object B and click 20 times just to get back where you started in order to use object B. It got o-l-d by the end of the game. June 19, 2014
Thank goodness a freebie!!! A childlike story not for me. I hate those hidden objects. A few I don't mind. So far none of my favorite. I could deal with some of these not all. Usually I play the trial I just went for it. I really hate this game. September 9, 2013
What A Snooze Fest - Cut This Off - Based on CE Demo STORY: You take on the role of Jane Lockwood and your mother dies when you were a child and your father disappeared under mysterious circumstances leaving you to be raised by your Aunt. Following her death you learn of the secret that your family has hidden from you for all these years. The fate of a magical world is in your hands and you are the key to freeing Nearwood from an evil magic. 4 CHAPTERS (it only showed the 1st one in the strategy guide in the CE version) WIDESCREEN: I had to deselect the "wide monitor" in the options section. VOICE OVERS: YES 3 PLAY MODES: Casual, Normal, Expert. Casual has sparkles and black bar tips. Normal no sparkles but has black bar tips. Expert mode did state hint and map not available. Says nothing about the skip for the puzzles. I played Normal mode. I didn't need the hint but just clicked on it to see what it would do and it is directional and charges up quick along with the skip. Shortly into the game you get a little helper pointy eared little guy to help you along. MAP: This is transporter. It does show where you are as the location will "glow" on the map. Red circles are "areas of interest" you can transport back/forth. Blue circles you have to wait for the "teleport" to charge up. HOS: I only came across one scene find 10 turtles and 10 snails. Also a frog scene (find pieces of items). I had no problems here locating anything. PUZZLES: I did 3 during the demo. Nothing hard or new here. OVERALL IMPRESSION: This started off with promise the opening scene of this game but quickly became just way too "cutesy" for my taste. The voice overs I found downright annoying and the little pointy eared guy way too helpful and talked way too much for me. Oh and having to wait for the map to charge up? Are you kidding me? The CE extras nothing to write home about. Finding Snoop-Sees didn't cut it for me as there was really nothing to "find" there as they are in plain site . This was and still is a definite no go for me as I won't be purchasing the SE version here and I definitely won't be buying at the DD price or COTW for $2.99. Oh and if I had a PCC that was about ready to expire well that would just have to expire. I couldn't get away from Nearwood fast enough. Sorry but a definite no go for me. This would definitely cure insomnia. The demo time on this game couldn't end fast enough for me. The most fun I had with it was uninstalling it off my computer. Enough said. September 6, 2013
Sugary sweet and does not fit wide screen. This is for a young player. Did not like at all. Does not even fit wide screen August 21, 2014
71-80 of 82 Reviews <<prev 56789next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Nearwood

The fate of the magical world is in your hands – free it from evil!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.