Bookmark

Jane Austen's: Estate of Affairs

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

The Austen estate is in trouble! Take on the role of Christiana, the niece of beloved novelist Jane Austen. Explore actual locations from Austen's life, such as Chawton House, as you search Hidden Object scenes for Austen's missing novel! The game faithfully mimics Regency period culture as the characters both real and imagined. Follow in Austen's footsteps, hoping to uncover the lost manuscript. Will you help Christiana find her beloved aunt's book, as well as Christiana's true love?

  • Scour through over 20 Hidden Object scenes
  • Challenging mini-games and adventure puzzles
  • Excerpts from Austen's most popular novels
  • Explore real locations, such as Chawton House
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 426 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Jane Austen's: Estate of Affairs

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Jane Austen's: Estate of Affairs

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Jane Austen's: Estate of Affairs 3.4 5 34 34
A Nice Enjoyable Game ... Graphics Are OK, Sounds OK And Music Is Better VERY Low ... It Is Nothing Special, With No Frilly Bits Or Light Shows ... But The Game Is Enjoyable To Play ... I Got This For Half Price And To Be Honest Is Was Worth That Price For A Bit Of Light Entertainment ... September 13, 2013
Nice and Cute ^^ i read the other reviews and decided to give it a try Finished : -pros- -graphics are clear and not too badly done -vos fit the characters -hos not eye straining -music not bad but i usually tone it down -mini games kind of challenging -cons -short game -graphics seem to be a bit dated -personal thoughts- personally i like it. felt it was not too demanding a nice free punch game :) i liked the ending but i do wish they had put a bit more into the story line i did feel the relationship between the main character and the love interest should have been more developed...would have made for a better ending :) September 10, 2013
Nice game to play. This was a nice game and fairly short. I gave it 4 stars because the scenes and graphics were appealing and interesting. I enjoyed it. March 13, 2014
great story about love the woman has been summoned to her uncle's estate because it is being threatened to be taken by an enemy. she needs to find her aunt's manuscript so she can sell it and save the estate. at the end there is a surprise ending. sequel ???? there is another in the series, so maybe. i played casual. there is a diary but no map and that would have helped because there was a lot of back and forth but it only got annoying at the beginning. March 3, 2014
My mother told me it wasn't lady-like to climb ladders in a dress Even though the entire game may have been considered by many as weak, it was a nice adventure. I liked the opening menu picture of a Thomas Kinkade-type watercolor. The game moved rather smoothly and with little "back and forth". The hint button charged quite rapidly in casual mode, and was a good guide for lack of a walkthrough (the Dev had one on posted on the internet). Nice game overall. September 15, 2013
Escape into an interactive novel! When I first read about this game, I thought it would be too cutesy/sweet, but I was wrong. It was really fun and would have bought it if a couple reviewers hadn't said it was very short. Would really love to see a game like this, but much longer! One amusing thing I found was, when Richard showed up, it looked as if "he" had more makeup on than the woman! (just a funny note!). September 10, 2013
I Know, I Know, Poor Quality, But I Like It! BASED ON FULL HOUR DEMO FIRST IMPRESSIONS I know I?m going to be in the minority this time, and I must admit I surprised myself, I expected to be terribly disappointed. Yes, the graphics are awful and archaic. Ignore them and they mostly go away. It is worth the eyestrain to enjoy the delightful voiceovers alone. And the gameplay is quite good ? including 3 types of HOPs, and some interesting riddling couplets. And the story matches the Jane Austen theme quite nicely. WHAT?S HAPPENING The blurb says it all ? you must save the estate of Jane Austen by finding a missing novel manuscript. You are at war with your cousins over it, and a very mean housekeeper. The untrustworthy neighbour, Richard, with whom you have ?history?, is a surprising ally though, and you seem to be making progress. SIGHTS & SOUNDS So yes, expect very poor graphics, they really are terribly done, both in terms of quality and artistry. But they encompass many delightful scenes that overcome their components and are a pleasure to see. The HOs are very clear, and of decent size, although sometimes they are very well hidden. Texture is used well to conceal them. In direct opposite the voices are spectacular. I believe I can see where the BBC?s input lies. Not only are they well acted and in keeping with the period, they are spoken in a ?voice? so like Jane Austen?s narratives that there is a tendency to forget altogether that they are actors from our era. The music is, I think, in keeping with the period ? not my area of expertise re. Jane Austen ? but I found it irritating. MAKING PROGRESS This game is an adventure style, somewhat dominated by HOPs. The 3 types used are interactive lists, silhouettes, and fragment objects. The ?FROGS? are not difficult or small so they are okay to do. There are also riddles presented in rhyming couplets, left for us in scrolls by Frank Austen. These provide answers to tricky locks found about the estate. There really are no other forms of puzzle. A matching pairs that is quite tricky, construct a keyhole ? very different and fun. A lot of dialogue, as you?d expect from Jane. FAMOUS LAST WORDS I completely lost sight of the poor graphics with this one. True, they make the game seem amateurish and outdated, but who cares? It is still fun and a game to make you think, as well as time trip back to the Regency period. Without doubt, the biggest problem here is the lack of a walkthrough, I expect a lot of cries for help in the forums! September 10, 2013
EASY PEASY Your Aunt Jane Austen's estate is in trouble and as her niece, Christiana, your only chance of preventing the Bingham family from taking it is to find Jane's lost manuscript. Your adventure begins by exploring the Chawton House and one of your adversary is the handsome Edward, a friend or foe will be up to you to find out. At first glance the game looks like something from the vault, out dated graphics but very sharp and clear. Artwork depicts the era of that time however the use of cartoon characters ruined it for me. Voice-overs are well acted but the music unfortunately is on a loop causing slight annoyance after a while. Although there are three modes of difficulty to choose from, you will still encounter sparkles and black bar tips that give away too much information. A very standard HOPA that includes only a journal which is unfortunate because there is alot of backtracking to do. Gameplay is basic and offers three types of HO scenes; find item on the list, a very basic frog and finding silohettes of items. Puzzles are easy but I did notice that the mini-games were rather unique but nevertheless lacks challenge. This game is ideal for HOG fans and beginners to the HOPA genre. Also if you are a fan of Austen, you may enjoy the romantic element thrown into the storyline reminiscent to Pride and Prejudice. It is playable and has some element of fun but lacks challenge. Too easy for me and just too much like the first HOPA games that first came out years back. As I said, it is difficult for me to recommend this game to fishies who enjoy the more sophisticated games that we have come accostomed to however, I am sure that those who enjoy nostalgic gameplay, beginners and romantic overtones may enjoy spending a credit on this game. It really comes down to personal preference. September 10, 2013
SIMPLE BUT OKAY STORY: You must find the final manuscript of Jane Austen so that the proceeds from its sale can save her estate from the clutches of the Bingham family. YOU GET: Widescreen capability, 3 modes of difficulty, 3 volume controls and a diary. GAME PLAY: The synopsis says there are about 30 HOS. I think I completed about one-third of them, so the game is likely to be quite short. The HOS are list and shape based scenes. Very easy to find objects. There seems to be an equal amount of HOS and puzzles and the puzzles are quite easy. Quite a few of the puzzles have a an easily-solved riddle which tells you how to complete the puzzle. The puzzles have a missing piece or two and it doesn't take long or any great distance to find them. Quite simple. There is no problem in determining where to go or what to do. Back and forth is limited to a few scenes. OTHER STUFF: I thought the music was jaunty at first, but it quickly became irksome. So, I'd probably turn it off and never turn it back on. The voice overs are okay. The graphics seem authentic to the period and are pleasant to look at. SUMMARY: This would be a good game for someone new to adventure-HOGs because objects and puzzles are rather simple and you won't need much help in trying to figure out what to do. September 10, 2013
An OK Time Passer - Review Of Completed Game STORY: You take on the role of Jane Austen's niece Christiana and must go to Chawton Village to try and save her estate from the greedy cousins the Binghams who you are at war with to find a missing novel manuscript. Not only do you have to deal with the greedy Bingham's but upon arrival you are greeted by a very mean housekeeper. There is also an untrustworthy neighbor, Richard, with whom you have "history" with. 3 PLAY MODES: All have sparkles and black bar tips. The hardest mode there is no skip for puzzles. You also can't change modes once you start playing. If you want to change have to create a new profile and start again. I tested out all 3 modes during my demo time and didn't see any difference in the amount of sparkles/black bar tips so I ended up playing the easiest mode. HINT/SKIP very quick on easiest mode. The other two takes a bit longer of course. Hint is also directional outside of HOS. JOURNAL: Holds notes and puzzle clues for some puzzles. MAP: NO HOS: There are A LOT of scenes and there are 3 types: Word list not much interaction at all and some you just have to move something, silhouette, and frogs (fragmented pieces). I thought these were well done. The graphics clear here but there were a few that were cleverly hidden. I enjoyed these though I wish they would of been interactive. PUZZLES: Not too many and the usual run of the mill found in many games. I didn't come across anything new. I did have to skip 1 of these and not because it was too hard but the code key pattern although I entered it correctly didn't work. A glitch here. MY PLAY TIME: 3 hrs. OVERALL IMPRESSION: I'll start by saying I've heard of Jane Austen and that's my extent of knowing anything about her. I've never read any of her books so whether or not the graphics, characters, voice overs are appropriate or not I'll let you decide especially if you are a fan of her work. Having said this... I thought the graphics were good as they were nice, crisp and clear for me. I had no problems with them. I also enjoyed the story, liked the characters and voice overs except for Christiana's. Her voice annoyed me. Appropriate or not. She annoyed me. I didn't find this to be a very challenging game and while there is no map I didn't find it necessary as everything is pretty much used right away or I didn't have to travel too far to use. I wish this would of been just a bit more challenging. The one thing that really annoyed me about this game is I don't understand why this developer created 3 play modes for this game if they are going to put sparkles/black bar tips on all of them. Just disables the skip for puzzles on the hardest mode. This makes no sense. Please don't do this with your next game offering. Do a custom mode and let us choose what we want and then have it apply to the game. So overall 3 stars from me. This was worth a punch code coupon for me is how I purchased the game. Thanks Big Fish and developer for an overall OK time passer game. As always, give it a whirl and decide for yourself. September 10, 2013
11-20 of 34 Reviews <<prev 234next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Jane Austen's: Estate of Affairs

Search for Jane Austen's missing novel and help save the Austen estate from greedy villains!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.