Bookmark

Echoes of the Past: The Kingdom of Despair

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

End the witch's evil reign at last! Explore the twists and turns of a mysterious world as you travel through a strange, cursed kingdom, where the characters have been robbed of their beauty and talents by a cruel sorceress. Test your wits as you gather the missing amulets, restore the lives of the cursed characters – and open the portal to return home!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6/10.5
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 804 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Echoes of the Past: The Kingdom of Despair

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Echoes of the Past: The Kingdom of Despair

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Echoes of the Past: The Kingdom of Despair 4.1 5 27 27
Love this series! Great game, as usual! Great puzzles; few hidden objects!! Nice Map, which is necessary; there are many places to go and return to. Storyline is good, different; holds your interest. There is a journal, but not much info in it. Graphics are great; easy on the eyes. Nice length to the game. Love "Echos"! February 6, 2014
TAKE THE SE I have all the other Echoes of the Past games and love them. This one is also good with above average production values, but I don't like it quite as much as the others. CE doesn't have as much in extras as other CEs, so the SE is the way to go. GOOD: Music is relaxing. Locations and graphics are very good. Not much traveling of great distances. although I suspect there will be a great distance near the end. Interactive map, with fast travel, showing actions needed. Lots to do. HOS are moderately crowded; interactive. Puzzles are interesting and quite different from the usual. Hint gives you a photo of where the action is. NOT SO GOOD: Voice overs are somewhat grating on the nerves. Somewhat challenging, but not as much as I would sometimes like. When story keeps me interested throughout, I like more challenge. September 11, 2013
ABSORBING, INTERESTING, ODDLY CREEPY BASED ON COMPLETED GAME ON HARDCORE LEVEL Pros: Intriguing story Lots to do Many interesting places and scenes Puzzles are all levels, simple to a little challenging Music adds to the mood Story clearly separated into manageable "chapters" Logical use of items Moderate back tracking Clear graphics, easy to find objects Adventure moves quickly so you're never bored Map (limited in hardcore) Voice overs are adequate Characters engage frequently with you Each chapter has a different feel and place Some puzzles are very unique Relatively long game Cons: Contains scene of child torturing her pets Contains scene of doll that chops heads off of puppets Contains scene of chopping block with bloody pet animal parts Part of story contains child who enjoys mistreating her animals Pretty standard story, nothing new (other than above) Graphics could have been crisper Ending is abrupt, somewhat confusing and unsatisfying September 15, 2013
A good series This is the fourth in a pretty decent series of games. This one is a little different with regards to the hidden object scenes making them a little more interesting than they normally would be. The puzzles are a mixture of easy to fairly hard. The graphics are good and the music is varied although seemed quite familiar so I suspect they used the same music in other games. My only real criticism is that the map could have used indications of scenes where actions could be completed as I found myself using the hint button a little more than I would have liked. I like the idea of having different themes within a game although I was amused by the odd mix of different eras within a section like the Tudor queen in a Georgian house which obviously could not happen. But that's just me nitpicking in a game I really did enjoy. I'm happy when a standard is maintained throughout a series of games and that's certainly true with Echoes of the Past. September 13, 2013
Solid Entry in Echoes This is a solid Entry in the Echoes of the Past franchise - not too amazing but not terrible either. A fun game, nice interplay and decent graphics. Pros: Map, generous hint button, distinct rooms and puzzles, good graphics, Puzzles med to hard. Good length - not too short, but I was ready for it to end when it did. Fun, new challenges then normal HOS. Sly humor. Cons: More of an adventure than an HOS, back-and-forth between rooms makes it hard to pick this game up after a few day's break, abrupt ending, Story lacks a strong narrative. Each area has its own small story but there is no thread tying them together with the larger story. Functional and fun, but once you're done - you won't think about it again. December 2, 2013
Not quite like the others but still good Lots more to do in all the other echoes of the past games. The graphics were not all that great and not much for voice over. The game is still fun to play. It to me is easy. has a map and hint button works well if needed. The HOS are interactive which is fun and different in just looking for HO all the time. September 15, 2013
Echoes of the Past taken in different direction I just wanted to basically echo what JustTheFacts posted. I enjoyed the different direction the developers took this game when compared with the previous games, and returning each character's key virtue to them while exploring differently themed areas was particularly interesting. I have to admit, I wasn't really sure what the opening scene and ending scene had to do with the story (was the girl who got sucked into the book the main character, or just a random girl? Or was she not random, have we met her before? None of it was very clear to me, but I haven't played the other games for a while so maybe just forgot something). This game can be kind of dark at times, and the "baddies" in each area and their guardians can look pretty creepy, so wouldn't recommend it for younger players or if that sort of thing makes you uncomfortable (but it is just a game at the end of the day). There are quite a mix of different styles of puzzles, some of which my brain simply could not figure out and I had to skip, but I think most people will find some they really enjoy and others where they just don't get it. Some of the voice acting is a bit hammy (the witch in particular grated quite quickly), and you can't turn the voices off, but it didn't really detract from the game for me as the character design was really good and the cutscenes weren't long. Overall, I really enjoyed the game and am looking forward to the next instalment! September 15, 2013
Still A Great Series... Like all the rest in this series, you are in a castle, an evil witch has taken over and taken her 5 amulets and thrown them throughout the castle. You must find all 5 of them to banish her forever and save the day. To do this, you must help a lot of people and save them from madness. I never understand why the witch doesn't just destroy the amulets or kill you because she should know by now that you will find them all and banish her eventually LOL but I digress. I love this developer because they have very creative puzzles and hidden object scenes. In fact the hidden object scenes in this game made my whole experience! They weren't just interactive but you brought objects from other places and put them into puzzles and scenes and then put back the items or helped fix the puzzle. I've never seen something so original. Other developers do have the putting back of the objects but this developer did it first so I give them kudos for redesigning them and making them even more interesting. Of course there are regular lists too and find a certain number of an item like glass pieces, toys etc I found the puzzles to range anywhere from easy to hard and I liked the variety. I love puzzles and do like a challenge but not every puzzle needs to make me want to pull my hair out and I liked having some that were an inventive spin on an old one and others that just blew my mind with creativity. I rated high for hidden objects & puzzles which I usually don't rate so high because I find them too easy or boring but both of these kept my attention. There are 5 different areas to search in and they open up while you are still in the other. There is lots of things to do in each area and you do go back to the other areas even after you think you have done most everything. The hint shows you where to go but you cannot morph there which was a shame. However, I was playing in the hard mode so I am not sure if you can morph there on casual but I doubt it. So there is a lot of back and forth. I don't mind back and forth when there is a purpose to it and I felt this game always had a purpose. Things made sense and because of its layout I was able to remember where things needed to be done. This series is one I enjoy and therefore I liked the game. It wraps up at the end but its not the most satisfying ending although I felt like it was complete if that makes sense. I saw no reason to buy the CE and I felt like I made the right decision getting the standard. I do like this series and how this developer keeps their games fresh and would love to see more. Kudos. Oh & as a side note, this game stayed true to itself and has NO creatures to dress up or name or anything that is purpley pink. Thank you developers~! August 1, 2014
Very enjoyable game! I really enjoyed this game. It's pretty much the standard set-up where you have to find objects, some hidden, and then figure out where to use them. You will find yourself running all over the place, back and forth. But part of the challenge is remembering where you saw certain things that might need one of the objects you've found. If you are having difficulty, there is a hint button that will show you where to go next. In the game you're trying to defeat a witch that has put spells on various people in a castle. In order to break the witch's spells, for each different person you have to find and give them a certain object. As you free each person you get an amulet, and at the end you use all of them to defeat the witch. I thought the game was very high quality. Great graphics, carefully but fairly hidden objects, and very logical steps to follow. I definitely recommend this game! November 25, 2013
Hard, Hard, Hard. Dare you to play it in Expert! This was one of the hardest games I have ever played. Even the puzzles were difficult. . .and there's lots of them. The objectives were not obvious and if it wasn't for a hint button or map, I'd have given up. October 10, 2013
11-20 of 27 Reviews <<prev 23next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Echoes of the Past: The Kingdom of Despair

Release the characters from the witch's curse and find the portal home!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.