Bookmark

Abandoned: Chestnut Lodge Asylum

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

These days the Chestnut Lodge Asylum is abandoned and forgotten, but many years ago a terrible tragedy unfolded behind those rusty gates. Every year, patients disappeared from the asylum without a trace. Neither the nurses nor the police could find any clues. But one day, everything changed. My dreams draw me to the asylum and I yearn to return to my normal life - a life without nightmares, premonitions, and fears.... Explore the Asylum and its surroundings, find out the true story of this place and face your fears in this gripping Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 295 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Abandoned: Chestnut Lodge Asylum

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Abandoned: Chestnut Lodge Asylum

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Abandoned: Chestnut Lodge Asylum 3.7 5 173 173
Dark Games This one had great potential. I ran into problems. Had to change my screen pixels to play and then the gas mask would not show me the activity scene on fridgerator. While backing away and reputing on the gas mask. Well the third try and the mask disappeared and I no longer could continue the game. With only 3 minutes left there was no way to play fast enough to see if it would happen again on a restart. By the way I am so sick and tired of all these games who make the scenes so dark you can not find anything. Never once have I seen anyone say how fun it was not to be able to find stuff because it was so dark. All the time I hear my complaint about it being to dark a scene. Stress on the eyes and constantly having to adjust the brightness is just a big pain. If they work out the kinks I would love to retry this game again. April 28, 2012
Not much new here I haven't done the whole hour of the trial, but enough to know that I won't buy this game. It's a typical asylum game and I am more than sure that I have come across the layout of the derelict asylum in another game. The atmosphere of the game is accordingly depressing. The HO scenes are ok. Some items are very hard to spot because of the darkness. You need to interact with some of the hidden objects and I came across two things I needed to do that I found quite innovative. I had to do some ironing and swat a fly and I'm not so sure which of the two I found more brutal :-). The game has morphing objects, a journal (which takes notes of important codes, so you don't need to write anything down), a task list (I didn't find it necessary during my trial, but not sure if it will come in handy later on) and voice overs. The hints recharge quite quickly (I played in casual mode, so I suspect the recharging will take longer in the advanced mode). As mentioned before, the atmosphere is depressing. The building is derelict with all the usual interior damage due to years of neglect. So you'll find paint flaking off the walls, rusty metal bars, the usual abandoned and torn teddy bear and there is this constant sound of dripping water, but to my surprise the electricity worked :-). I always find it annoying when I have to get the lights to work first. These sort of jobs should be left to a professional who knows what he or she is doing :-). The puzzles I had to do so far I found quite easy, they are of the usual sort you'd need to do to open a door or make something work. If you like games about abandoned asylums you'll like this one. April 28, 2012
So Close, But Yet So Far I was looking for one more standard edition to fill my punchcard and this one seemed to fit the bill. I like asylum settings fairly well, and this one has a built-in strategy guide! But after struggling through many Hidden Object scenes that are just too dim, I ultimately decided against. Perhaps the developers do this to add to the challenge, but I don't enjoy scenes where the objects are either so well-blended with the background they are practically invisible, or are so small and unrecognizable that they can't be identified. This just makes it frustrating and definitely not fun, in my opinion. A map would be helpful, too, but the lack of one wouldn't prevent me from purchasing the game. Just those darn, dark Hidden Object scenes that turn me off. April 28, 2012
Could have been so good.... The opening scene was fantastic and certainly got me intrigued. When the game proper started up I thought I was on to a winner, beautiful graphics, music great...then I started a hidden object scene, I found everything showing on the list but it didn't close. A bit of frantic clicking and I realised the bottom bot of my screen wasn't showing so I can't see the entire list, I can't find an options menu too change the screen size or anything so unfortunately cannot play unless I click every object in the hopes it is on the list (sad to say I actually did this for two scenes) Shame 'cause I really wanted to play this one. On a lighter note, there is no penalty for frantic clicking lol. Hope it works for you, I suspect it is worth it! April 28, 2012
Help, I'm seasick This is another typical asylum game, with so much motion it gave me a headache. The rooms sway as you move your cursor. It's also very dark, and after a while I just like color instead of dark, gray and green. Also, for me, too many hogs. This may pick up after awhile, but for me it just didn't work. April 29, 2012
Ok Game, No WOW Factor for me. This game hits right down the middle for me. Graphics OK (except for HOG), Story OK, Pace a little slow, Challenge OK. If I needed the credit, I would buy. HOG scenes can be a challenge due to eye mask describes 3D glasses, hair tongs describes a curling iron and I needed the HOG hint twice in 30 minutes because the scenes look dark and cloudy. Even with the hint highlight I couldn't see the object. There is a lot of travel to find objects. I may get too engaged in the game but a character needs a glass a water in this filthy asylum, UGH. I won't reject the game, may buy later. April 28, 2012
It was Okay Was this pulled from the archives? Too many HOGs on this game for the story. Time for the games to become much more than this. Hospitals, Asylums, mansions, haunted haunted haunted. Some relative is always missing lol. How about a game with the villan starring? Change things up a bit hmm? April 30, 2012
In built strategy guide & wallpapers - kudos to the developer This offering from Lazy Turtle Games has an integrated strategy guide so no looking for a walkthrough, there are six achievements to win & 22 morphing objects (not all of these are shown in the guide unfortunately), wallpapers, all this in a Standard Edition. Kudos to the developers. I found the screen size difficult to set for my monitor (widescreen 24 inch) ? the actual fullscreen setting meant I could not read the words at the top of the screen but if I switched off the screen was at least 1 inch too small all round & I could see my desktop. The graphics are reasonably sharp (depending on how you set the screen size) but the artwork is dark & dreary & this is where the game is really let down. The lack of contrast in the scenes made it very difficult to make out an object within the H0 scenes; in addition some of the items are extremely small. They are the usual word lists but have several interactive items within each one. The mini puzzles that I met during were all easy; lock picking, tile sliding, finding several items to open a lock, etc. There are two modes of gameplay, casual with a 30 second hint recharge, sparkles & glints or expert with 60 second hint & the hidden object scenes sparkle. I confess I did not find a great deal of difference between the two. The hint button is not much use outside of the H0 scenes except to tell you that there is no outstanding task in an area although if you use it when there is a task to finish but for which you do not yet have the items this will be highlighted. There are a few voiceovers when you encounter a character & these are excellent, the music & background sounds are very subtle. There isn?t much of a story element & initially the game wasn't that creepy but it does get scarier once you reach the patients rooms. There is a lot of going back & forth to find items to open locks & suchlike, an interactive map would have helped. Still it took me just under four hours to finish so this is a good length game. May 7, 2012
Too confusing and very hard to play I thought this story was good, but what to do and when to do it was too confusing. It was so frustrating and the hidden objects were simply too dark to see. Needs major tweaks. May 6, 2012
Beware! The graphics are good, as is the sound quality. There are alot of games, & HOS's, but It's very slow, especially the cursor! It took me forever to get around to find anything. I had to start over in order to get the Generator to work, even though the instructions were there to read. I had to get help in the forum in order to get out of the boiler room before I could complete the game. I do not recommend this game, unless you are extra patient & don't mind how slow it is. May 6, 2012
101-110 of 173 Reviews <<prev 910111213...18next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Abandoned: Chestnut Lodge Asylum

Face your fears and unravel the mystery of the abandoned asylum!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.