Bookmark

Abandoned: Chestnut Lodge Asylum

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

These days the Chestnut Lodge Asylum is abandoned and forgotten, but many years ago a terrible tragedy unfolded behind those rusty gates. Every year, patients disappeared from the asylum without a trace. Neither the nurses nor the police could find any clues. But one day, everything changed. My dreams draw me to the asylum and I yearn to return to my normal life - a life without nightmares, premonitions, and fears.... Explore the Asylum and its surroundings, find out the true story of this place and face your fears in this gripping Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.8/10.7/10.6
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 295 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Abandoned: Chestnut Lodge Asylum

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Abandoned: Chestnut Lodge Asylum

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Abandoned: Chestnut Lodge Asylum 3.7 5 174 174
3.5 stars...needs a jump map, more puzzles, and fewer junk pile HOs I have mixed feelings about Abandoned: Chestnut Lodge Asylum. It had the potential to be a 5-star game, but there was too much missing or wrong for me to give it even 4 stars, so I'll go with 3.5 stars. The storyline was interesting?especially the twist at the end?but it should have been more thoroughly developed. The protagonist's inevitable meeting with his antagonist was rather anticlimactic, to say the least. And it wasn't immediately clear that there was a connection between the patients and their rooms because of the order of the game. Gameplay was predictable. Explore the environment. Examine pieces of information for clues. Acquire items to use elsewhere. And run into HO scene after HO scene after HO scene! All junk piles that were, at best, minimally interactive. And all of them repeated. Thankfully, there was a built-in SG to help, as the hints were completely unhelpful. Just that irritating, "There's nothing to do here now." A journal collected clues and kept track of the story. Very unfortunately, there was no map. No map at all. And there should have been a jump map, as I wore out several pairs of sneakers retracing my path over and over. And riding the elevator a thousand times. With the exception of the posers, the animation was just gorgeous. It moved smoothly, had dimension and texture, and truly placed you in the aspect of the game character. The posers were not badly done; live actors would have been better, especially as there were only two. The graphics were mostly dark and subdued in color, presumably to evoke the mood of the story. Of course, it was raining outside, the better to create a creepy environment. The morphing objects were incredibly difficult to find, not at all obvious. The music was ethereal and fit the story, although I did find it repetitive after awhile. Voiceovers were ok, but not great. I would have liked more ambient sounds, especially inside the asylum. Random doors creaking. Wind whistling through broken windows. Disembodied footsteps. Also, and this is a general note to ESL developers, please utilize better translators. While it's clever to use "brush" in your HO scenes (since you could have us looking for a hairbrush, a paintbrush, a scrub brush, a shaving brush, etc.), there's a huge difference between "brush" and "comb." And gamers become angry when we've combed the scene for 5 minutes looking for a "comb," only to find out you meant "brush." Rather than recommend this game, I suggest you download the demo and try it yourself. It might be your cup of tea, especially if you like a lot of HO scenes and you don't mind backtracking. November 4, 2013
It was OK...Not Great I usually love this type of game, but this one kinda fell flat for me. The graphics were good. The video segments often froze, though, so I didn't get to see the "scary scenes" every time. The times that I did get to see the whole scene, well, they really weren't all that scary, as some of the reviews led me to believe. The storyline was alright, but as others have stated, this definitely should have been a Collector's Edition game, as so much is left unsaid at the end. I actually found myself getting bored, while playing this one, which hasn't happened to me before. Would I recommend it? It's alright, if you're getting it as a two-for-one deal and this one is free. I wouldn't pay for it, though, and probably won't play it again. It's pretty dull. July 21, 2013
NEEDED A JUMP MAP!!! Not going to rehash what the 141 previous reviews stated. Just want to say that with so many places to go, zoom scenes still opening after finished, I found myself using the strategy guide so often for a clue as to where to go that I found the game frustrating. I totally forgot about the story line and what's with all the useless quotes?? I guess if you have a very good memory, plan on playing it in one sitting (4 hours for me, over a couple days), and don't mind searching all over the place for what to do.......... well, this game's for you! One of the few games I can say I'm glad I'm done! Also, I'm really suprised at the good reviews my trusted reviewers gave it - I'm usually right on with them! May 19, 2013
So Much Potential What Happend Wow! So mad I HAD to write a review. This game had everything I wanted. My style,graphics,storyline, BUT... It just didnt hit the mark. Something missing (cant put my finger on it SOMETHING) Which is a shame cuz I was so excited to play this game. So much beautiful wasted scenery. This game could have been top 5 of the year if it was a bit more interactive instead of a lovely HOS. I kept wanting to interact with all the cool georgous spooky stuff, BUT NOOOOO!!!! DARN Never been so dissapointed with a game. I wish the Devs would take it back add some or alot more adventure style, point and click use-found objects (not morphing although lotts of people like that part me included) and you would have a winner. That being said, the action and graphics are perfect. Oh well, Big fat hairy bummer for me. April 11, 2013
too hard to see coupled with the darkness and then the screen size issues this game looked like fun but the makers should not have toyed with the screen size-- to me, that was the bottom line of the no sale. its nice to see these games full screen. The cinematic experience that happens with dvds on a dvd player we watch, is not what i want when i am searching for items in a hidden object game. perhaps there are ways to change that setting but didnt fool with it.looked interesting but too small for my liking. December 16, 2012
OK / Good game but could've been so much better. I don't know if my review got through last time so I'm resubmitting since my browser decided to act up during typing out my feelings last time. *sigh* Anyway , good points : Somewhat interesting story and some creepy areas and parts in the game reminds me of interactive fiction even though it is not an interactive fiction game due to the fact that it can often be a mystery about where to go and what to do next bad points : should've had more things added to the game and story to make it overall much more interesting and fun It's not a terrible game but I wouldn't be surprised if I learned that it was somewhat rushed to be released. It feels like there should be so much more to this game than what is there. I feel a little cheated and disappointed. things could've been explained better in the guide and there could have and should have been more things added to the "extra" section ...for example , more wallpapers and a concept art section would've been nice It would've been nice to have gotten more backstory on the various patients and more to the story in general stories within stories / substories and things would've added a lot to this game October 5, 2012
Not my cup of tea I found this game rather difficult to see the objects to be found. Very few were able to be spotted with such dark background September 23, 2012
good, but has issues Overall, this was not a bad game, and I'm not actually sorry to have spent time on it or to have used a free game coupon on it, but, for me, it has some issues which make it "good for sale or free, but not to buy." It just left me vaguely dissatisfied. Grungy style of art; appropriate to story, but makes a number of the HOS rather gray, foggy, and difficult to see. Story is a bit disjointed or vague; doesn't lend itself to making it easy to figure out what to do next. Minimal interruptions with cutscenes A few cutscenes were there for shock value and were possibly too intense for younger viewers. Moderate amount of skeletons and decomposition. Spider warning: one whole room is covered in webs and there's a big one. Clown warning also Lots of back and forth; a map to jump around would have been very useful Pros: Big game. Lots to do, lots of places to visit, lots of puzzles to solve. Took me over 4 hours even with a lot of SG use. No click penalty on the HOS, which was good as I found some of them hard to see. Has SG built in on non-CE game, but you will need it as it's often tough to tell what to do next. Cons: - Developer needs serious help with translation and spelling: "hummer" in one HOS had me looking for a bird, but hint revealed they wanted a hammer. The singular of plant leaves was translated as "leave" instead of "leaf" resulting in "mint leave." You pick up an item later in the game which they call a "level," but which is actually a scissor jack. However, there's no penalty for bad clicks and the hints recharge relatively fast, so you can work past it. - game doesn't always react to things as expected: e.g., setting the spider's legs in position. One leg happened to be correctly positioned when the mini started; I fixed the rest of them, but nothing happened until I moved that first one out and then back into the correct position. That's poor programming. The elevator activation code had issues, too. September 1, 2012
Good Game but...... I too had problems with this game. I got stuck in the boiler room. I mistakenly added the fuel before I had the instructions. I had to start again and did finish the game. It is a pity about the glich as it is a good game otherwise. I found the screen a little too blurry and found the ending strange to say the least. It seems to be a case of the lunatics taking over the asylum. It is hard to recommend it unless willing to risk problems. May 28, 2012
I got bored after 30 minutes I only tried the free 60 minute trial but never finished it. The HO scenes were dark and somethings were hard to find, some were misnamed as well, it seemed to be translated poorly from another language. As far as I could tell it was a case of moving from one scene to another and searching through junkpiles of HO scenes with no rhyme or reason behind it all. The story wasn't properly explained so it didn't engage my interest and after 30 minutes I lost the will. If this came up as a cheap game I might consider it but wouldn't waste either my money or a credit on it. April 29, 2012
131-140 of 174 Reviews <<prev 1213141516...18next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Abandoned: Chestnut Lodge Asylum

Face your fears and unravel the mystery of the abandoned asylum!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.