Bookmark

Nevertales: The Beauty Within Collector's Edition

Exclusive
Full version game
(1.03 GB)

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Just when you were finally done with work for the day, a stranger comes knocking loudly at your door. When you answer there's no one... no one except a helpless baby abandoned on your doorstep. You follow after the stranger, hoping to find some answers but are drawn into a mystery that beckons you into a castle-like mansion. Who does the baby belong to? Why were you chosen? The answers will surprise you in Nevertales: The Beauty Within, a page-turning Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Three bonus chapters
  • Multiple collectables and achievements
  • Sugar Rush Hidden Object Puzzle
  • Integrated Strategy Guide
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1075 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Nevertales: The Beauty Within Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Nevertales: The Beauty Within Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Nevertales: The Beauty Within Collector's Edition 4.8 5 273 273
Brilliant and innovative! Finally, a game that breaks out of the tired box of copycat HOPAs! It was with trepidation that I downloaded the demo of Nevertales: The Beauty Within, fully expecting another runaround search for keys and shapes interrupted by repetitive HO scenes and simple puzzles. Thankfully, I was pleasantly surprised to discover a truly engaging storyline, innovative gameplay, professional VOs and music, and excellent graphics and animation! I knew 15 minutes into the demo that I had to have it. Where to begin? I love that the cursor is styled to look like an open book, which is emblematic of Mad Head's attention to detail in this game. The HO scenes are so varied, I promise you won't get sick of them. Some are interactive lists, but even those break the mold by having the four list panels locked until you first find the keys. Often, finding the items on the list will reveal pieces of yet another item, sort of a FROG inside a HOG. Sometimes, a character will be narrating, telling you what to find in the scene. Other times, you're working from clues. There are almost endless variations instead of list after list after list. Thank you, Mad Head! The puzzles and mini-games are mostly original and beautifully presented, ranging from fairly easy to time-consuming and requiring thought and planning. A nice mix. Your interactive jump map, notes, objectives list, etc. are all in your smart phone. And you have a mechanical owl to help you acquire things that are out of your reach. He's cute, yes, but not cloyingly so. Nor must you dress him! Extras include morphing objects (which are hard to find) and roses (easier to see), plus achievements and the usual cast of characters you get with a CE. I found the animation, graphics, and music to aid tremendously in the immersion process. The clues to unravel the plot are dangled tantalizingly in front of you, and you just have to go after the next. I highly recommend this game, and I rarely give 5 stars across the board. Extremely rarely. October 25, 2013
Never Better Wow this is quite the game! So different from other games with such a captivating story that makes you want to keep going just to see how it will end. Like a good book that you simply can't put down. The HO scenes are beautiful and crisp with fun interactions, a really nice change from the usual and you must find a morphing object in each one as well. Mini puzzles are different and interesting also. There are roses to collect and rare books that contain secret items needed to progress in the game. Along with that you will need to find fragments within the book to uncover its secret. There are just so many different things to do in this game that make it unique. The talking heads were very comical, the baby was adorable and "Gears" the owl was delightful. It doesn't get much better than that. I am most impressed with the developers as they went that extra mile to bring us a truly fantastic game. October 24, 2013
WOW! For challenges, something new and an intriguing time, this topped all expectations and then some. This game made you think as well as search, along with getting totally involved in the story. And the bonus gave something extra that got the juices flowing with the finale LOL You'll just have to play it to know what I mean! Great game! October 25, 2013
If the full version is as good as the demo ... it's a winner!!! I have to applaud the developers of this game for taking a game genre (Hidden Object) and finding ways to make it brand new again. As someone who loves HO games, I get frustrated at the lack of ingenuity and inventiveness many developers have when creating new games. After a while, it can feel like each game is the same as the last with minor changes in the details. This game is not like that at all (and I only played the demo!). You play as a young lady who finds a baby on her doorstep and is attempting to bring the baby back to it's parents. It does not take her long to find out this is no ordinary baby. In addition to beautiful graphics and a captivating storyline, this game has all the traditional characteristics of HO games that I love: point and click navigation with side tasks in addition to a main objective, a good amount of HO scenes (which also have items that require an extra action or two to find to keep things challenging), bonus items to find, and mini games. While many elements of this game are similar to many HO games, the execution is a nice twist on normal. Not only are you tasked with finding a bonus object (a rose) in each scene, but each HO scene has a morphing object for you to find. I also enjoyed the fact that you find "magical books" every once in a while, which requires you to find pieces of a shape from the book. The mini games are also original, and while they are not difficult enough to cause you to bang your head against a wall, they are not simple enough to make you feel like an elementary school child. I greatly appreciate it when developers take the time to figure out how to improve something that is already so well liked. Hats off to you Mad Head Games and Big Fish! Keep 'em coming! November 3, 2013
Outstanding! I knew I was in for a great time when the villain in the game shows up driving a super cool metallic lime green '57 Chevy. This game has superb graphics, decent voice overs, and brilliantly interactive searches and puzzles. The only bad thing I can say about it is that it makes my library of oldies seem rather hum-drum. If you like HOGs, you will love this game! November 3, 2013
More of these, please This game is one of a kind! It's got a little bit of everything (hidden object, adventure, puzzles), but none like I've ever played before. It was a lot of fun, very entertaining, good storyline, good effects, different from the rest. I hope there are more of these; it was a great change of pace. October 29, 2013
Teaka This is the most difficult HOS I have ever played, but so worth the effort and time! The story line was intriguing and complete. The HOS were very different from the usual, inventive and creative. If you like extras, there are so many....bonus game, hidden chapters, find collectibles. The game is very long, but well put together...a true adventure. I enjoyed every last minute!!! October 26, 2013
Cradle and all! I quite like it. I'm actually downloading it right now. The game has some unusual twists to it. Basically, someone leaves a baby on your doorstep, and you follow them. There is a guy that at first tells you not to follow him, but then is relieved when you do. Kind of the same bad guy story except you are actually carrying a baby around. You have four modes of play the last is custom, which is very specific. You are able to remove the sparkles which I know a lot of people will love. You can also remove things from the map, if you don't want help there. There are : 7 chapters 1 bonus chapter 3 small hidden chapters IF you find all the hidden roses Hidden roses Morphing objects So far I have encountered some mini-games I haven't seen before. They haven't been the most challenging, but they have been interesting. You can lock the inventory. Everything, your tasks, map, etc. is in a phone for you to look at during the game, which is quite nice. The HO scenes seem to also have a different twist to them. So far you seem to be clearing the scenes a couple at a time, instead of carrying around items for half the game until you play them. The game is fun! But, it may not be for everyone, so please try it out. Happy gaming all! October 24, 2013
Had to buy it! I think this is the first time I've purchased a game without waiting for a sale or even bonus Monday. This is the best game I've ever seen. Cutest baby ever! The graphics are incredible, even the music was great. Even the sounds of driving a high performance car with California plates were realistic! I love the cute little squirrel who grabs your car keys after the guy you're following throws them. Someone mentioned how can someone grab your keys, well, the game devs were on to that, the ignition is on the left, well in reach of the door! Game loaded with no issues, it did take a little while to download, but no problems, no lag. I'm sure everyone who played the demo bought the game. This is the best I've played. Cant wait to get back to it to see how the story unfolds! Happy Gaming! October 24, 2013
Serious Game of the Year 2013 Contender; I Won't be Surprised if this is the Winner There is not much more I can say about this game; there are almost 200 reviews before mine for the CE version. I only want to throw my hat in the ring and say that if this doesn't win "Game of the Year, 2013", I will be incredibly surprised. This game has earned it. It has 'surpassed' my highest possible expectations and blew me away. As there are some new game mechanics used in this game, I first created a character to walk me through a tutorial (it really is needed if you want to get the most out of the game and avoid confusion as SO MUCH is offered here (speaking of the CE; I'm unsure of what extras were kept with the SE release). Once I figured out what I was doing, I created a new character and customized game-play to make it challenging. It is the perfect amount of challenge and there are 3 modes of difficulty to chose from; 4 counting the "Customize to your Preferences" mode. While the Strategy Guide is very helpful, it does not assist with how the game is set-up (those that have played this know what I mean: when and how to access the hidden chapters, how to get the 45 additional collections, etc.). I recommend the tutorial; in lieu of that; the forums are helpful. There is so much to love about this game. It is incredibly unique, absolutely engaging and an enormous amount of effort was put into every single little detail. It is completely customizable, voice-acting is top-notch, graphics are stunning, aspect correction for wide-screens (pet peeve of mine), cut-scenes are well-done and perfectly balanced, your journal (smartphone) contains everything you need including the list of achievements right there for you to see while playing, and your 'helper' is not annoying or fuzzy or over-the-top cute.You don't dress him up or feed him. He's awesome to have around, very useful, and I quite enjoyed the areas in the game where I could utilize his assistance. There are ZERO shortcuts taken here. Zero. Hard work went into this down to the tiniest detail (leaves on trees actually have 'texture'; you can see individual grains of sand and this is found in places where the developers didn't have to go the extra mile; they chose to enhance quality for us gamers: it really is that intricate (that's the level of detail we are talking about here and this hard work is obvious throughout the entire game). There is no rushed ending. In some games it feels like the developers just wanted to get the game over with and hurried up the ending; NOT in this game. The main game took me over 7 hours, the bonus chapter another 1.5 hours and the hidden chapters, collectibles, additional puzzles and fulfilling the *3 stars for each HOS* took me another 2 hours. Well over 10 hours was spent playing this game and I wasn't bored for a single nanosecond. Various types of Hidden Object Scenes are presented to keep the game exciting, including some we haven't seen before. There is a heavy 'adventure' aspect to this game and the puzzles are quite engaging and original as well. There are stories within stories, the list goes on as far as unique game mechanics. Honestly, I feel like I got a good deal paying the CE price; it really is that good. And this is coming from someone who is very critical of CE's as they are so often just glorified SE's with a bunch of fluff. I do not regret this purchase and it is one I can actually see myself playing more than once. For those that bought the SE; this is my advice. If you are going to buy only ONE CE this year, make it this one and upgrade. This is the first CE I've played in a LONG time where I feel like I actually got my money's worth plus some. It is full of 'extras'. And not just a bunch of the typical stuff thrown together haphazardly either. The enormous amount of CE content was handled with as much care and attention to detail as the main game. Typically, a bonus chapter will contain a bunch of drawn-out puzzles and HOS after HOS; filler and fluff mainly. Not so with this game. The bonus game is its own story; a spin-off from the main story, whose ending is wrapped up nicely in the SE version. Thank you Developers for not cheating players out of a proper ending if they cannot afford or want to buy the CE version. The bonus game is fun, engaging, just as innovative, every bit as beautiful, and again; no shortcuts. There are numerous achievements of various ranks: bronze, silver, and gold and some are quite unique in actions you have to take to achieve them so best take a look as you go along so you don't miss one. There are many collectibles both within the game and within the HOS we occasionally encounter. These are also done beautifully and creatively. After the main game, there are even more collectibles and additional puzzles not found in the main-game. This game stands out from the crowd and I am looking forward to playing more games from this developer. They are, in my opinion, the new 'cutting-edge' leaders in casual gaming. Very well done and as for Game of the Year 2013, this game has my vote, no question. November 19, 2013
21-30 of 273 Reviews <<prev 2345...28next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Nevertales: The Beauty Within Collector's Edition

You were just about to relax with a good book when a stranger leaves a baby on your doorstep.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.