Bookmark

Cursery: The Crooked Man and the Crooked Cat Collector's Edition

Exclusive
Full version game
(737.56 MB)

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

From the creators of the Dark Parables series!


For more than a century, girls of a certain age have been mysteriously vanishing, never to be seen again. Some say they were taken by the Crooked Man, who always travels with a strange little black cat at his side. Now he’s kidnapped your very own sister! You’ve got to unravel the riddles in the Cursery and find out who’s the mastermind behind this whole evil plot. Save your sister, as well as his other kidnap victims… Defeat the Crooked Man and his servant… Uncover the story behind the Crooked Man’s actions… Reveal the mystery of the cured nursery rhymes, the Cursery…

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Play the bonus game – Humpty Dumpty is cursed!
  • Download soundtracks, wallpapers, screensavers, and concept art
  • Use the integrated Strategy Guide
  • Play bonus puzzles!
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 854 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Cursery: The Crooked Man and the Crooked Cat Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Cursery: The Crooked Man and the Crooked Cat Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Cursery: The Crooked Man and the Crooked Cat Collector's Edition 4.3 5 166 166
I love blue tea games it's as good as any other blue tea game that had come before it but it could have done with a better ending. November 26, 2013
I loved this game. I really enjoyed playing this game. I don't usually purchase the CE version,but I did this time and it was worth the purchase. The story was great and I have to admit I was kind sad about how it ended but I love those types of stories. November 25, 2013
Almost perfect If you love the Dark Parables series you'll love this game that shows the same skills. There are 20 morphing objects to collect and a bonus chapter apart from the main tale. The only unpleasent feature is the lenght: it's too short, just more or less 3 hours for the main game and 40 minutes of bonus chapter, playing in casual mode. November 24, 2013
Feels like another Dark Parables? :) If you like the Dark Parables Series from Blue Tea Games, you?ll love this one! Same game mechanics, same graphics, same hidden fragment scenes? Facts: Prologue plus 6 chapters plus bonus-chapter, direction giving hint, strategy guide doesn?t follow your progress, task-list, interactive map showing active areas and allowing you to jump (but only until chapter 4! In the remaining 2 chapters the map is ?cursed?), unfortunately the widescreen-option stretches the scenes? I have counted 9 of those wonderful hidden fragment scenes in the main game. Plus 5 more in the bonus-chapter. Lots of Minigames to solve (19 plus 7 in the bonus-chapter). Some brand-new and lots of different versions of rotation- and slider-puzzles, repeat patterns, swap tiles? Extras: 25 achievements to earn, 24 morphing objects and 21 popup notes to collect, 9 replayable minigames, wallpapers, movies, music and concept-art. The main-game took me at least 4 hours to play. Story is 100 % tied up! Bonus-chapter is an additional story and guarantees another 1,5 hours pure fun!! Good story, tricky minigames, hidden fragment scenes? If you love all this stuff: Have fun!! :) November 9, 2013
Favourite Developer The graphics in this game are truly amazing. REVIEW IS BASED ON DEMO Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure Game {HOPA} Game opened in W/S, always a good start. There are 3 modes of play which you can change during play. Casual, Normal and Hardcore Casual....hint and skip fill quickly.... Normal....hint, skip longer to fill and your hint button is disabled if you skip a puzzle Hardcore...everything disabled, including map but you still get the 'Helpful tips' black bar Jumpable Map Profile for up to 6 names 6 Chapters plus Bonus game...chapters not available There are Collectible... pop up notes and various items and Achievements which all can be viewed before and during play via the Bonus Button. There are also Cursed or Morphing Objects ....which can't be viewed during the demo Cut-scenes can be rewatched. Choice of 6 Wallpapers Music is unobtrusive Strategy Guide is a ? above your map There is also a Task List which alerts you when you have a new task. To get back to the Main Menu click on the Options button under the map I only came across one HOS {Hidden Object Scene} during demo which was a fragmented one {finding various parts of an object to make it whole} The puzzles I played were a little bit different and fun and quite easy. Storyline...Your sister is kidnapped by the crooked man whose own love had died....she is only one of many who has disappeared along a certain road in a certain place....so of course your quest is to save your sister and get to the bottom of the other disappearances. There is no animated little helper in this game....well I didn't come across one in the demo....this could be a good or a disappointing thing depending on your preference...for me it's....well let's just say...appreciated Worth saying again...graphics truly amazing. The portion I played was fun and the hour passed quickly. I had no Tech. difficulties during the hour. It looks like a fun game November 9, 2013
Crooked? Straight Up FUN! This is very fun game. I wasn't so sure at the very beginning. In the first 45 minutes it was challenging in a way that wasn't fun. Everything seemed very crowded and difficult to identify. As I played on I realized that the game is challenging and it is difficult and that's because it's good. Playing this is very much like reading a William Faulkner story. If you've not read one, it's dense with description. Those who like them would say they are rich with description and you can see the seen in your mind's eye because the detail is so great. That's the case with Crooked Man: the visuals are very rich with detail and full of color and depth. Because of this incredible detailing, the view seems crowded. I thought it was...but once I established a rhythm and got comfortable with the feel of the game the detail was a treat. I think you have to play the game for awhile to get used to it...and once you do, you'll think it's really a piece of art. The sounds visuals, as I just described, are great. The sound quality is as well, but not a very important part of the equation. The challenge is great, and in large part because of the amount of detail. There are very few HOS but they are were very difficult to me. It's hard to explain that they were hard because there was lots of "stuff" but still it didn't seem like a mess...just really well-drawn objects that also fit in well and disappeared into the background as should happen in a good HOS. There are a lot of games. This presented a problem for me at first also: the very first game was/is to me, incomprehensible. I have NO IDEA what was supposed to happen but I kept doing things and eventually succeeded defeating the game and moved forward. After this the games got easier to understand. The quality of the games, though, left a little to be desired. So: now I've told you that there aren't many HOS and that the puzzles/games aren't so great, but that the game is. My conclusion is this: I think this is a great story and if you enjoy a great story/storyline, with beautiful visuals, you will love this game. The lack of HOS and good puzzles will be a big negative for many gamers. I recommend this game but strongly urge you to take advantage of the free hour of play to see if you'll like it as well. The typical "who cares" assortment of extras is included in the CE...wallpaper, music, etc. There is a bonus chapter, there are collectibles and morphing items. The morphing items speed up the recharge of the hint button, so they really do mean something. (I'm not embarrassed to say that at the beginning, when I was kind of lost, I needed the hint button quite a bit). I hope this review helps you. If you like the standard HOS and will be disappointed with VERY FEW HOS, then you will NOT like this game. Bear that in mind when you make a decision to buy or not to buy. November 10, 2013
Marvelous Game, But Once Again, I Cannot Give This A Five! For as long as I've been playing Hidden Object Games, I've always enjoyed the ones by Blue Tea. However, time and time again, they've failed to wow me. This one, though... It's different. I thoroughly enjoyed my hour trial (yes, this time, it went for an hour) and I will most definitely be purchasing the SE. Although I enjoyed the game immensely, I cannot give it a five star rating. You will find out why later in the review. But first, let's start with the story. I've been critical with Blue Tea as of late for not making their stories exciting enough. It seems they've listened, because this story is marvelous! It began with a bang, and I was excited right from the get-go. Mostly, when games start well, the flame dies out about halfway through the demo, but not with this one! The story lost none of its excitement factor, and I was kept on the edge of my seat for the whole demo! My main gripes and the only flaws of this game are with the gameplay, and these flaws are the reasons why this game does not get a five star rating. For starters, the ratio of Puzzles to HOS is ridiculous. During the demo, I found 7 puzzles and only 2 HOS! If the game were to go for 3 hours, based on the first hour, this would mean 21 Puzzles and only 6 HOS. I'd prefer it if things were a little bit more even! In my opinion, there are a bit too many puzzles and not enough HOS. My second issue, and this is a big one for me, is that, if you skip a puzzle, the hint button gets TURNED OFF for a few minutes! This is completely wrong. It's like the developers are punishing those who cannot complete puzzles! This happened to me twice during the demo, and believe me, I tried and tried again, but I could not solve them. This lost an entire star for me. It's just not fair to punish people because they are not as good at puzzles as some others. Because of this, I simply cannot recommend this game to beginners. This is for people of higher skill level only. Now, on to the HOS and Puzzles themselves. The HOS were the usual Fragmented Object Scenes, in which you have to find different bits and pieces of objects. These fragments are broken up in to three different sections, and when all three sections are complete, they merge to form one item needed for your inventory. I found these to be quite fun and challenging. The puzzles are also quite challenging, but solvable, granted that they take some patience to solve. Despite not being able to solve two, I was able to solve the rest after sticking with them for a minute or two. I did quite enjoy the puzzles, too. The graphics, like always, are simply AMAZING. Time and time again, the magicians at Blue Tea give us visual delights with their games. There is so much detail and care in them, and each scene is delightful to see. Each scene and HOS is so clear. Not one scene was fuzzy. Job well done, developers. The voice-overs were standard. They weren't over-done or under-done, they were just right. No comment from me on the voice-overs. FEATURES 3 modes of difficulty: Casual, Normal and Hard. Differences are hint and skip recharge times, sparkles and black bar tips. I played Casual. Hint and Skip- both recharge fast for their difficulty. Hint is useful outside HOS, but is locked for a short period of time if the skip is used. Map- map is interactive and highlights areas of interest. ?Cursed Items?- There are thirty (30) to collect and collecting one instantly refills the hint button. Not sure if these are a CE exclusive or not. CE EXCLUSIVES Built in Strategy Guide- contains step by step solution for puzzles. Given the skip situation, I needed to use it for most puzzles. Achievements Collectible notes/pop-up items Bonus Chapter Bonus Puzzles Replay Cutscenes Concept Art Music (listen to music of the game) Wallpapers So, to conclude, I really did enjoy this game, but cannot give it a five star rating due to gameplay flaws. I do not believe the CE to be worth it, so I will wait for the SE. November 15, 2013
A Fun Twist On A Fairy Tale I bought this game without trying first based on the good reviews. I normally steer clear of "fairy tale like games because I don't care for them but this one was good. It is about a duke who falls in love with a commoner, and wants to marry her. That's all I will say so as not to spoil it. The colors were nice. Most of the art was crisp and clear. The music was pretty but was on a loop so after a few hours it kinda wore on me. The hos were all the same. They involved finding pieces and putting them together to make an item to be used in the game. The mini games were so so. Some were ok while others were mundane and childish. The hint system worked well for me, and I used the strategy guide very little. There is a map albeit a childish pop up map which I didn't use. There is quite a bit of back and forth in this one. A lot of different areas to explore. I liked the story line in spite of the fairy tale theme. On the other hand, the bonus game was just a silly waste of time and not needed for a conclusion to the main game. I think if I knew then what I know now, I would have preferred to purchase the se. The ce is just not worth the money unless you really rely on the strategy guide. November 20, 2013
Excellent puzzles but... Puzzles are awesome... but honestly - new areas opening too quickly and you're acquiring so many items you tend to forget where to use them. Anyways, good puzzles and nice artwork. December 20, 2013
Another Keeper Love the fairy tail theme. Got stuck a few times trying to figure out what to do. Plenty to do and loved the puzzles. The music was great and went with that odd fairy tail music used in some toon movies. The map was the cutest I have seen. Another one to put on my must have list. November 30, 2013
101-110 of 166 Reviews <<prev 910111213...17next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Cursery: The Crooked Man and the Crooked Cat Collector's Edition

These nursery rhymes are cursed, and your sister’s been taken by the Crooked Man!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.