Bookmark

Treasure Island: The Golden Bug

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

The year is 1827 when William Legrand, the son of a wealthy family from New Orleans, lost everything. Ashamed, he leaves and creates a home on Sullivan's Island near Charleston, South Carolina. Here he lives simply and peacefully, until one day when he discovers a golden beetle on the beach which will set him on a journey in search of Captain Kidd's hidden treasure! Guide William on the adventure of a lifetime in Treasure Island: The Golden Bug!

  • Brain-teasing mini-games
  • Explore Sullivan's Island
  • Recover a lost fortune
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.9/10.8/10.7/10.6
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • Hard Drive: 91 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Treasure Island: The Golden Bug

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Treasure Island: The Golden Bug

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Treasure Island: The Golden Bug 1.5 5 32 32
REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME I can best describe this game only with a torrent of adjectives: Unimaginative, repetitive, unartistic, mundane, uncreative and ridiculous. The format is tedious to work with. All these games are like that. The puzzles are a joke. The cut scenes and dialogue are too many and too long. There are no voice overs. To get hints one must find stars. A large percentage of the hidden objects are completely unrecognizable or so small my magnifying glass could not spot them. It is only about 2 - 2.30 hrs long and for once I could only think "Thanks goodness." Why on earth then did I buy it? I did not pay for it and desperation dictates. Finished all the games in my GM. Replayed many of my CEs already. If one has pccs to use up and nothing else to play, it will pass a few hrs. Otherwise, forget it. These games have been around since the year dot and it always amazes me that they are still in business, still making these awfulnesses and pay absolutely no heed to that fact that almost everyone hates them and will not buy them. I can only conclude that they only do it for a hobby and not to make a name or money. Just grim. September 3, 2013
Tiresome and oldfashioned You start off with an enormous amount of hand-holding, whether you want it or not. Despite this, it's quite difficult to find objects in the scenes: they are often minuscule, unrecognisable or wrongly labelled. For example, when "tidying the cabin", there were at least two brushes clearly on display but neither of these is is the brush you have to find; instead there's a tiny pale shape half hidden by a ladder. (Sorry, this may be a spoiler!) Then you have to find a casserole: seeing no casseroles and as a French speaker, I fairly quickly tried one of the saucepans - that was what was wanted. There was a bizarre game identifying various sorts of beetles. The definitions seemed rather random, however if your assessment didn't agree with theirs, you had to start again. I couldn't find a Skip button. The story progresses with dialogue from characters that slide in and out from the sides, which I think is pretty outdated but I could live with it if I was enjoying the game otherwise. The main character is pictured, the only other one I encountered before I gave up was only a silhouette - why? Of course, try it for yourself, but I only lasted 20 minutes. September 3, 2013
golden bug I can think of a better name for this game, but Big Fish would not print. so all Ill say is save your money this game is a waste of time and money. September 3, 2013
The most tiresome game I have ever played I did not beleive the reviews. I did not think that BFG would put out a game like this at this time, Maybe 10 years ago when HOG were new, but with all the new techniques that has been out, why in the world would they do this. I played for 10 min and lost interest. The HOS were nearly impossible to find. The story was so old fashioned it was just boring. The sound was awful. I see no redeeming quality in this game at all. DO NOT BOTHER with this game. September 3, 2013
AWFUL! what an awful game blurry boring yawn. September 3, 2013
Sorry, but I don't care for EVEN ONE of the games from this developer Ok, so Mike 'roid's schtick is the wobbly/jiggly user interface... Hmm. As if HO games are not distracting enough. Just hard to get into a game that makes you work so hard just to find 'the door', or any other significant areas and finds of the game. Make up your own minds, of course, but whenever I see this company's splash logo come up, I can't initiate my "exit / delete" protocol fast enough for my internet connection!!! September 5, 2013
Good grief, BFG! After having read the reviews, I had to try it myself to see if it could possibly be that bad. Once I began, it was difficult to pull myself away, much like rubbernecking at a bad auto accident. You really don't want to see what's going on, but you somehow can't help looking. Gameplay was painfully boring and repetitive, with one HO scene after another. This game seems to have been developed merely to show off the panorama and zoom functions...developed, that is, a few decades ago. Graphics were of the cut-and-paste Photoshop variety, and the outline artifacts were clearly visible. Objects were not well-rendered, and some were unrecognizable. Or misidentified...it was hard to tell which. I know I've heard the music before somewhere else, and it too was repetitive. Other than the music, there was no sound and there were no voiceovers. It was like being stuck in an elevator alone. I did note that the file size was only 89Mb, meaning that the game is mercifully short. However, I do not recommend it, not even if some misguided soul offers to pay you to take it. If you wish to play an old adventure game, there are plenty of classics from which to choose. You can tell my favorite series from my "location." This game should be buried back under the rock from whence it came. And the ground salted. November 11, 2013
no good wish I could get my money back September 22, 2013
Mundane Ok to begin with but gets too boring and mundane...far too much chat and not enough 'actual' hidden objects. September 7, 2013
just bad Not going to waste my time. Just a bad game. Nothing new or exciting. September 5, 2013
11-20 of 32 Reviews <<prev 234next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Treasure Island: The Golden Bug

Guide William on the adventure of a lifetime and discover Captain Kidd's lost pirate treasure in this riveting Hidden Object game.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.