Bookmark

Fairy Tale Mysteries: The Beanstalk

Exclusive
Full version game
(281.31 MB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

These are no ordinary beans! As a recently graduated investigator from the Grimm Brothers Institute, you must use all your wits - and your magic - to survive. Ascend the beanstalk to battle the mighty rampaging giant and protect the world from destruction. Find your way through the flower world, moon world, and more with the help from the elemental guardians, protectors of their realms. Revel in both full-scene hidden object quests as well as gorgeous conventional hidden object scenes. Defeat the giant in his castle to claim your reward and save the planet!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.1
  • Hard Drive: 683 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Fairy Tale Mysteries: The Beanstalk

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Fairy Tale Mysteries: The Beanstalk

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Fairy Tale Mysteries: The Beanstalk 3.7 5 27 27
Enchanting! Don't let the few bad reviews stop you from at least trying the demo of this game. I bought it after playing the first Fairy Tales Mystery (which I loved). This game is a bit different, but different is.... enchanting. From its humble beginnings in a modest cottage to a castle high in the clouds, this game is pure magic as scene after gorgeous scene unfolds. At one time I felt as though I was in an untold tale of Tolkien, as the otherworldly music and beautiful scenery brought to mind the wonderful elvish world of Lothlorien. I didn't want to move on, but I did and landed in new worlds full of their own wonders with special music to set the mood. Play it with your headphones on; you'll be glad you did. The gameplay was unique- a different twist on FROGs. I am not a fan of fragmented objects, but this was not bad at all, especially the way it was incorporated into the gameplay. There was only a tiny hiccup in the end, which I eventually figured out and hopefully left a helpful comment for future fishies in the forum in case they also got stuck. My only complaint? It was short, like its sister game, and I finished them both in one day. However, that could also be due to the fact that I couldn't stop playing (I have a sprained ankle from snow skiing and this is awesome for convalescence!). Hence the 4 star instead of 5 star rating. But I would rather have an amazing short game than a long and tedious one. Today, I fell under the enchantment of Fairy Tale Mysteries and am waiting spellbound for the next installment in the series! January 6, 2014
Good SE game! This is a good SE game, which I bought with a punch code credit. It has good voiceovers, and a nice look, and you collect inventory items in a number of different ways at the same time. I thought it would be too cute, and was surprised that I liked it more as the demo progressed. Good choice for a credit, particularly on a Monday! November 18, 2013
Nice touch Graphics are decent and the storyline keeps your attention. Its a little different type of HOS but fun nonetheless and it has a map to jump from one scene to another which is a definite plus for me September 14, 2014
Liked this game. This game was enjoyable to play. It seemed short, but the graphics were beautiful. February 7, 2014
Another good one from Big Fish I'm really getting to be a fan of this type of game from BigFish. Although the gameplay is very similar, the stories are interesting and the mini games can be challenging at times. January 20, 2014
beautiful Slightly different from other hidden objects games, which is refreshing. Beautiful bright graphics. Games a bit easy November 19, 2013
Props For The Unique Game Style! Everything about this adventure is unusual. First of all the story is a twisted version of Jack and the Beanstalk, and you are sent to investigate the beans and dispel the magic surrounding them. When you zoom into one of the areas you will find that several pictures are added to your inventory and you must search several areas in order to find those items and use that item to solve the dilemma in the scene. There are several actions to solve in each scene and a lot of back and forthing to do. There aren't too many HOS but they are slightly interactive such as finding a corkscrew and removing a cork. There are a lot of mini games such as choosing a picture tile that matches a riddle or placing ingredients in a specific order according to a recipe written in vague references. The SE is the better value but in my opinion the unusual style of the game takes away from and confuses the story line. I can't quite put my finger on why, but I just wasn't thrilled over this game BUT I have to give props to the developers for thinking outside the box on this one. November 17, 2013
Very Fun! It's A Good Game... IF You Can Look Past The Length BASED ON COMPLETED STANDARD EDITION GAME I wasn't a fan of the first Fairy Tale Mysteries, so my expectations were low, but this game was good! It was something new and was very, very fun. I loved it from beginning to end. So why, oh why, is this only getting a three star rating from me? One word: LENGTH. Let's be honest here, the story really isn't that great. Some games are gameplay driven, others story driven, and this one is DEFINITELY about the gameplay. The story was lacking in all areas. It wasn't really that exciting at all. It was just a side-thing for me, I was way more focused on the gameplay itself. The story rarely got exciting. The one exciting thing in the story for me was the revelation of the villain. It was a good twist. The villain was someone I wasn't really expecting. Other than that, the story went exactly as I thought it would. This is your typical fairy-tale story, based off of Jack and The Beanstalk. I thought the developers did a good job on reinventing the tale and came up with some ideas that I wouldn't have thought of, but that's about as far as the positives go for me. Overall, a pretty weak story. The game does end conclusively, but I have a big complaint: THE LENGTH. Normally, I don't really care about the length of the game, but this is an exception. I've heard of short games, but this is absolutely ridiculous. The game was 2 hours tops. I felt I was in the middle of the game when it finished. I couldn't believe it. I seriously couldn't believe the game was ending. Usually, I can tell when a game's about to end, but here I had no idea whatsoever. It's really pathetic to have a game that short. It almost makes me wish I hadn't wasted my money. I think what contributed to the game's short length was that the story was very rushed. I mean, no sooner had you discovered who the villain was than you were defeating them... get my drift? The gameplay, on the other hand, is really good. It was what first attracted me to this game. It's so different and unique, and it's really fun. Gogii have put a lot of effort in to the gameplay and I applaud them for it. So, what makes this game different, you ask? Well, HOS lovers rejoice, because EVERY SCENE is a HOS! There's heaps of items to find. The game is set out in tasks- you have to find a whole bunch of stuff to make up an inventory item, and the object isn't on your list of things to find until you actually NEED it. The tasks tell you what objects are in what scene too. If you're in a scene where an item you need can be found, the item will get brighter on the task bar, if not, it will stay dark. I really liked this in the game, it made it a lot more fun and bearable. What I also liked is that the objects weren't easy to find- a lot of them were VERY HARD. Sometimes you had to place an inventory item to get a part of another one. A great job to Gogii for making the game challenging. Despite every scene virtually being a HOS, we did still have our normal HOS. In each HOS, you would find something as part of your task. The HOS were good. I really enjoyed playing them. They were basically just the standard junkpile with a few extra-step objects. There aren't a lot of HOS in the game, but that's because of the gameplay style. Still, was happy with the amount of HOS in the game. The puzzles were also good, granted they were quite easy. I was able to solve the majority of them, if not all. The puzzles have good instructions, so I knew what to do straight away. Even though they were easy, the puzzles were very, very fun. I loved playing them. There were a good amount of puzzles in the game. The HOS: Puzzles ratio is good. There's an even amount of each. Other than the jazzed up gameplay, this is your average HOPA. It has a custom difficulty plus two others (Casual/Advanced), and the custom difficulty has some good settings. There's no fancy new features, no plus objects, or animal helpers of any kind. It has all the gameplay of a new HOPA, but all the features of a standard one. The graphics are good. They've got some good detail there, the character designs are drawn well, but I still believe that Gogii could have done much better. One issue I have is that in some areas, the graphics were too bright. This was a little distracting and sometimes, when I used the hint, it was too hard to see where the hint was directing me and I'd have to see it again. Perhaps Gogii should have focused on making the scenes a little less bright and colourful and a little more detailed. The voice-overs are standard. I have no issue. FEATURES 3 modes of difficulty: Casual, Advanced and Custom. The differences are the usual. Custom lets you set the game the way you want. I was happy with the Casual settings, so I played Casual. Hint/Skip- both recharged at a reasonable rate for the difficulty I selected. The hint is helpful outside HOS. Diary- keeps track of events. Good for remembering story details. Map- interactive and quite helpful. Lets you know where active tasks are. WHAT DO I MISS OUT ON IF I BUY THE SE? Bonus Chapter- not needed. Built-in Strategy Guide Collectible eggs Concept Art Wallpapers Music Replay Movies WHICH IS THE BETTER BUY? Definitely the SE. Absolutely no doubt. This game has next to no CE Extras. The SE game was fine for me. So, overall, it was an extremely fun game, but it was very, very short. Should I recommend this? I don't know. The game was very enjoyable... well, if you can look past the game length, give it a go. I definitely say download the trial. ON THE GAME LENGTH Very, very short. A heck of a lot shorter than any other HOPA I've played. I don't time my gameplay, but I estimate 2 hours on Casual. 2.5 hours tops. Every other game I've played has been 3 hours at least, but this was WAY shorter than that. If you want a rough estimate, let's say I had completely finished the third chapter by the time the demo ended. There are 7 chapters. April 20, 2014
FROGS, FROGS and More FROGS Fairy Tale Mysteries: The Beanstalk is a new twist on the classic Jack and The Beanstalk fairy tale. Jack was given the magic beans in trade for his family?s cow but that is only the beginning of the story. The world is in grave danger because the imprisoned giant is about to be released, and when that happens major devastation and chaos will occur. As a recent graduate of the Grimm Academy, it is your task to make sure that the giant remains in his cloud prison. The graphics are a mixed bag of ultra-crisp and foggy or grainy. In spite of the misty or grainy appearance of some scenes, overall the game is quite colorful and beautiful. There are voiceovers that are quite nice but I was a bit thrown off that Jack?s voice is obviously much older than the young boy he appears to be in the game. We have a diary but I hardly used it. What I did find more helpful was the interactive map that indicates where there are tasks to be completed. Where I had difficulty with the game is that it is a FROG adventure (admittedly not my favorite type of game) and it required a lot of back and forth to find the items that I would need to complete an objective. Even though the game is a FROG adventure, we do find some traditional interactive list type HOS. The puzzles in the game were very easy and the most challenging part of the puzzles was finding the items needed to complete them. By the time the game ended I was quite frankly worn out and tired of the FROG concept. It seemed like every single item I needed during the adventure was a FROG. I couldn?t simply pick up a shovel but needed to wander through the scene or sometimes several scenes to find its components. I know many gamers will love The Beanstalk simply because they have been waiting for a good FROG adventure to come their way, and now they have one to enjoy. As always, I recommend you try the demo to see if you will like the game November 17, 2013
Simple fun This review is based on the one hour trial. The story is based on the traditional tale. The scenery is pretty and sound is good. I consider myself to be a beginner to intermediate player of HOG's. I have been playing them for years, but I like to play on the casual mode (and occassionally on intermediate if available) because I don't like to get stuck. This game moved very logically to me and the mini games were overly easy. I liked that I didn't have to skip any, though I would prefer a little more challenge. This is a good beginner game. November 17, 2013
11-20 of 27 Reviews <<prev 23next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Fairy Tale Mysteries: The Beanstalk

Defeat the giant to save the world from destruction!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.