Bookmark

Hidden Expedition: Smithsonian Hope Diamond Collector's Edition

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

You’re on a train in the middle of nowhere, and a band of dangerous thieves demand you tell them where to find the Hope Diamond’s shards. As the newest Hidden Expedition recruit, you’ve got to find the shards before they do…
In this exciting continuation of the Hidden Expedition series, your journey takes you from the Smithsonian Institution’s iconic castle to the remotest jungle as you track down the missing shards and learn the Hope Diamond’s secrets.

Check out the Smithsonian's sneak peek of Mystery of the Hope Diamond. This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Play the bonus game to uncover more secrets
  • Hunt for Smithsonian Institution symbols
  • Collect Fact Cards on Smithsonian history
  • Earn Achievements
  • Get soundtracks, wallpapers, screensavers, and concept art
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.9/10.8/10.7/10.6
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 972 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Hidden Expedition: Smithsonian Hope Diamond Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Hidden Expedition: Smithsonian Hope Diamond Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Hidden Expedition: Smithsonian Hope Diamond Collector's Edition 4.4 5 132 132
Awesome game, highly recommended! Really need to give this one a try, and use the entire demo time. I only have two of the previous HE games and really liked them. This one is no exception, with very nice graphics (a little fuzzy in the beginning) and excellent game play. Voice overs were very well done. Music and sound FX were really good, with the music and sounds adjusting to the scene and circumstance. Made you feel like you were there in the action. SG is the usual and customary, although it did not list all the chapters in the demo. There is a lot to do in this game, e.g. collectibles (Smithsonian symbols) are not hard to find; fact cards that give you a lot of info about the Smithsonsian (very interesting stuff); morphing objects (I only saw them in the HOGs, but I could have missed them elsewhere); riddles (I love riddles). Really makes you pay attention to the scene. There is a jump map, which is clearly identified by location. Hint system is very helpful and fill quickly. Locking inventory bar (thank you!). HOGs are very fun and different and not just straight HOGs. Items were clear, but you had to search for some. Puzzles were not extremely difficult, but some did take some time and thought to complete. The only thing I didn't care for, which is not a deal breaker, was the cursor...I much prefer the standard system cursor when I don't want to use the game cursor. I know, it's just me. At first I wasn't sure about it, but as soon as I jumped off the train, I was hooked. It's not just a game, it's a really fun education. Now this is my kind of school. This game has a different and interesting story line, with enough challenge to make me want to buy the CE and see where it goes. I don't give 5 stars easily, but this one deserves them. Gotta have it! This game is very well put together and I think it will appeal to all levels of players. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews. December 19, 2013
BEST OF THE HIDDEN EXPEDITION GAMES Didn't understand all the 5-star ratings at first. Finally played the demo and understood. I like playing the Hidden Expedition games, and this is by far the best of the lot. It can hold its own against and even rival many other 5-star games for the top games. The artistry and color palette are gorgeous; although graphics could be a little crisper, they are still very, very good. Like that you can customize the game to your own specs. The proportion of HOS to puzzles is right. The HOS are very nicely done - especially like the 3-part HOS (find X of something; then find Y of something else; and finally find the listed objects). Not all HOS are of this type - some are the typical list-based objects to find. Puzzles are well varied and are of several difficulties. A very-well put together game with a well-written story and nice locations. A fun game to play and an excellent buy. The CE offers everything you like in a CE - morphs, achievements, music, extra puzzles, et al. December 22, 2013
WOW! WHAT HAVE I JUST PLAYED!? Ladies and Gentlemen, we may have a new contender for best HOPA of 2013! And what a time for it to come, with ten days left of the year! I had so much fun with the game and the demo flew by in a flash. I'll have to wait until next year to play it when the SE comes out, because I don't really care for CE Extras. The story starts off with an absolute bang. It's fast paced and thrilling with a ton of action. Then, much to my confusion at first, we were transported back to three weeks earlier. I didn't understand this at all when it first happened, but when I played along, I found out. After the move back in time, the story becomes mysterious right from the get go. It appears we're being followed by this mysterious man, and we must find out who he is. The demo ends on a cliffhanger and just makes want to click that little green buy button, regardless of the CE Extras. I really enjoyed the story and can't wait to play more! The gameplay is where it really gets good. Like I said, I had heaps of fun with it, which is rare for me these days, because most of the games I like are story driven. The HOS were longer than usual and also quite challenging, because there were a number of different objects to find. Most of the HOS are junkpile, with the occasional silhouette scene. Let's take the first HOS, for example: This was divided in to three parts. The first was silhouette, the second was a small junkpile, and the third was a bigger junkpile. I applaud the developers for going outside the box with this and making the game slightly more challenging. The puzzles were also fairly challenging. I was able to solve one, I think, but the others had to be skipped, which was a bit of a shame, but no surprise. The puzzles had clear instructions and some were fun to play. The game also features a H.E.L.P Box, which stores clues about the investigation. It is not used much, but it's a nice feature. The graphics are great. They're very well drawn and are nice and colourful. Each scene is so wonderful and clear, and the character designs are good. The voice-overs are standard, not over done or under done. I have no comment. FEATURES 4 modes of difficulty: Explorer (easy), Expedition Guide (medium), Journey Master (hard) and Custom. Differences are hint/skip recharge times, sparkles, misclick penalties and the map function. I played Explorer. Map- is interactive in explorer difficulty and very helpful. It tells you where there is something to be done. Hint/Skip- both recharge at a reasonable speed for the difficulty, and the hint is helpful outside HOS. The hint also acts as a portal, and can transport you to the scene where your next task is. H.E.L.P Box- as I said, it's not used much, but it's a nice feature. The H.E.L.P Box stores clues about the investigation, kind of like a Diary. I'm guessing this is used in place of the Diary. CE EXCLUSIVES Built in Strategy Guide. Achievements. Collectible cards (30) Collectibe Smithsonian symbols (unsure how many) Morphing objects- found only in HOS (17) Bonus Chapter- unsure if needed. Concept Art Replay puzzles Replay HOS Something called ?Souvenir Room?- unsure what this is, as it is only revealed after completing the game. Music Wallpapers This game has A LOT of CE Extras, so those who are wondering, the CE is worth it! However, as I don't like CE Extras, I will be happy to wait for the SE. This is truly a 5 star game, and I can't wait to see how it ends. December 20, 2013
Excellent game! The economical crisis has hit us pretty hard here in the Netherlands, so I'm not buying too much games anymore. For Hidden Expedition Smithsonian Hope Diamond however I've made an exception. This is such an excellent game in all aspects! Crisp graphics, interesting story, good level of challenge and nice background music. A 5 star game! I'm playing it right now and have a ball! December 20, 2013
My new favourite! Absolutely adored this game! Its a lot of fun with so much to do and locate. This is definitely now my current top favourite game. STORYLINE/GAMEPLAY You've just been recruited by H.E.L.P and your mission is to find the hidden Hope Diamond shards, but of course there's trouble along the way. You start on board a train where you've been captured; you play a short time and are then transported back several hours earlier which explains how you got to be captured. After several chapters, you end up back at the train scene and it then continues the story. You encounter a few dodgy characters on the way, and there's your friend, Sam. There's also a tiger, called Baby. There's one scene in particular I like where Baby is in a cage in the corner, and the heroine quotes a famous phrase from Dirty Dancing.......you know which one! Graphics are really nicely done; colourful and detailed. Gameplay is also good; transitions between locations is smooth and quick. The inventory is lockable, and some items you collect can be changed to make different items. Music isn't wonderful, but I turn that off anyway; however if you turn the music off, it does then mute the sound on cut-scenes, so if you don't like music playing, I'd probably recommend turning it down to the lowest so you can just still hear it, and then you should hear the sound in cut-scenes. HOS/PUZZLES Hidden object scenes are well scattered; hate it when there's one every time you move to the next scene. They each have a combination of different ways to collect items, e.g first you need to collect shapes, then 4 of something, then a list of items. There's also morphing objects in each HOS to collect. The good thing is though that if you miss a morphing object, there is the option to go back and play the HOS again from the Extras menu to make sure you pick it up. The morphing objects contributes to an Achievement, so make sure to get them all! Puzzles are fairly easy in my opinion. Usually I can't get through a game without skipping a few puzzles, but I didn't skip any in this one. Having said that, they are still quite fun and it didn't bother me that they were easy. Its always a bit distracting from the game, if you end up spending ages on an impossible puzzle. WHAT DO YOU GET? You have a map and a journal which is in the shape of your H.E.L.P box; this also shows you information you've picked up and you can access the Achievements from here. There's the usually hint and skip buttons too. No fuzzy cute animal helpers though I'm pleased to say! There's 20 Achievements, 49 Smithsonian emblems to collect (1 in each scene), Fact cards to collect, and the morphing objects. In the EXTRAS, you get the bonus game, souvenir room (haven't looked at that, so not sure what that is), re-playable HOPs, re-playable puzzles, movies, pictures and music. LENGTH This game is easily 4-5 hours including the bonus chapter. There's loads more to talk about but I'll let you play and see for yourself! I thoroughly enjoyed this game from start to finish. Highly recommended! January 4, 2014
Much MORE than I'd ever have HOPED for :} Based on Demo on most difficult setting: Wow, I can not think of one criticism whatsoever... Kudos x 100,000* (*the amount of $ McLean purchased the Hope diamond for) to Big Fish Games and the Developer on this fantastic adventure/H0G. The graphics are outstanding, storyline interesting, and captivating and puzzles are great!! There is just SO much to do... one of the nicer features is while you or the family are having fun with this great game, there are valuable educational opportunities at hand as well. Lots to collect: Smithsonian Suns (toward hints); fact cards... and many other items along the way in a multitude of fun and often unique games within the game. This is an absolute must buy!! Don't overlook it. December 21, 2013
Finally, a new Hidden Expedition! I wasn't sure if there would be any more Hidden Expeditions but I'm so glad to see one is finally here! I do like how the developers have joined with the Smithsonian Institute so the game is not only fun to play but so much to learn. Overall this was a very well developed game with plenty of things to do to keep you not only busy but interested as well. Graphics are great, music and sound effects go very well with everything. There are achievements to earn, cards to collect along with sun symbols to collect. The mini games seem fairly easy and the HOS are not done in a way that is extraordinary but they are good. Most definitely worthy of the CE price and I will be adding this one to my longtime collection of Hidden Expeditions! December 19, 2013
Big Fish Studios Has Got Its Mojo Back! It's been more than two years since the last installment in the Hidden Expedition series and I was beginning to think we weren't going to see another one, but Smithsonian Hope Diamond was well worth the wait. With the high quality graphics, puzzles and music we've all come to expect from Big Fish Studios, Smithsonian Hope Diamond is a standout in the series, with a tightly integrated storyline that doesn't veer too far into the fantastical and game mechanics that permit the game to be enjoyed by players with all levels of expertise. A solidly replayable, high-quality game that won't give you nightmares or cause you to constantly wonder if the developers may be in need of serious counseling! December 23, 2013
Best game in years! I had so much fun playing this one, couldn't take a break! The bonus game is as good as the primary game. Every puzzle and hidden object scene was imaginative and challenging. I would give this game my highest recommendation. December 23, 2013
Best Hidden Expedition to date This game incorporates several of my favourite things - morphing objects, special symbols to find, European locations and then adds a bit more. Most of the HOPS have several layers to them - first you find silhouettes then have a list of objects. You collect fact cards that contain interesting information (which you can read or not as you like). Customizable levels of game play let you choose how challenging to make the game and the achievements are such that I will have to play the game again (perhaps a couple more times) to earn them all. Really enjoyed it. December 22, 2013
11-20 of 132 Reviews <<prev 2345...14next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Hidden Expedition: Smithsonian Hope Diamond Collector's Edition

You’re on a train in the middle of nowhere, and a band of dangerous thieves demand you tell them where to find the Hope Diamond’s shards. As the newest Hidden Expedition recruit, you’ve got to find the shards before they do…

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.