Bookmark

Alex Hunter: Lord of the Mind

Full version game
(1.04 GB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Alex Hunter thought the case of the missing professor would be an easy paycheck. But his investigation has proven to be anything but simple. With hours of captivating game time, a richly detailed world, and a storyline inspired by classic detective novels, Alex Hunter: Lord of the Mind will thrill casual game fans looking for their next great adventure!

  • Rich, atmospheric world
  • Sherlock Holmes-style story
  • Cleverly designed puzzles
  • Challenging hidden object scenes
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1190 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Alex Hunter: Lord of the Mind

NEW299

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Alex Hunter: Lord of the Mind

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Alex Hunter: Lord of the Mind 4.6 5 77 77
Brilliant! Amazing details with a challenging and fun atmosphere! A few areas are more complicated than most, and it was annoying going back to certain areas but the hint button can easily solve that issue. Story line is amazing as it unfolds as you play it, and the use of interacting with the objects you pick up is also a great feature as well. Purchased the game because I was hooked! June 19, 2014
One word: perfect! Well, pretty much everything has been said about this game. For me, this was hands down the best game I've played in a long time! I do not have anything to critcize at all! Gameplay is long, you have achievements, extras and bonus play, a well-crafted story, beautiful graphics and music, clever puzzles, bright HOGs etc. etc. And best of all - you get all this in a SE! Wow! This is definitely a game I will replay soon; it was so much fun and I'd definitely buy a sequel (even a CE one!). Developers, look at this game if you want to do it right! June 15, 2014
I loved this for it to be SE The game maker of this game I give them A+++' Better than a lot of CE games that I brought. The game has a walk through and collectibles and a bonus section. Buy this game and you won't be sorry. March 8, 2014
CE game for a SG price This has to be a sleeper of a game as its is such good value and fun to play.The map is brilliant unlike some games and the game flows along nicely. January 24, 2014
Hidden Object Game Lots of HO's, some average running around to use items, but it was fun and not overly hard. Sound and music fit the game play. Storyline was easy to follow along to. Extra gameplay took me a couple of hours, but I take my time. The game held my interest and I did not get frustrated with what to do next. Relaxed game play. I really enjoyed the game! January 23, 2014
An Incredible Game! This was not a CE but it had all of the attributes of one. The map lets you travel and tells you where the hidden symbols are; there is a very useful strategy guide (click on the footprints button on the right, next to the hint button) which gives you just enough information to get out of tight spots without holding your hand; and the hint button tells you what to do next if you don't feel like using the guide. AND, there is a bonus chapter AND a Secret Room after that. I was so sad when it was over. Unbelievable for the price which in my case was nothing because I used a free game token. A truly rare and pleasurable game. I enjoyed myself very much while playing it. January 21, 2014
Excellent Pulp Fiction Move aside Sam Spade and Philip Marlowe, a new private detective is in town and his name is Alex Hunter. A great detective story with excellent artwork, sharp graphics, very well done voice-overs and music that sets the pace for this Standard HOPA game that will thrill fans of the pulp fiction era. As a fan of some of the great American popular literature I read from Chandler, Hammet and Dashiell, this game offers an authentic atmosphere of that time. I love the art direction and the details of that era are so well presented. From what I understand, the game is originally designed as a CE but thanks to our friends at BFG, we get it as a SE, and the best part is that there are collectables, achievements and a SG as well. Fantastic! Our story begins as we take on the role of the great detective and what you thought was merely a case of the missing professor soon turns into something much nastier. There are two play modes to choose from and game features include an interactive map that indicates tasks and allows for travel, a journal and a SG that works as a pictorial walkthrough. A well put together HOPA, with tasks and inventory items to pick up, puzzles to so?ve, standard Hidden Object scenes that are slightly interactive and mini-games that vary in style; nothing we haven?t seen before but some are interesting and even time-consuming which is right up my alley. From what I can tell from the SG, it is a long game with a bonus section and as I said, you have to collect hidden symbols along the way and depending on what mode you play, you need to complete them in order to gain access to the bonus section. I really like the gameplay, intricate at times and some of the puzzles were not so easy. The story does get interesting and I really enjoyed the over-all atmosphere created by the dark graphics, 2D characters and the lingo used in the game. Definitely worth the time and effort! December 17, 2013
Surprisingly Good! I must admit, I wasn't expecting great things from this game ... but I was pleasantly surprised! It was a really good "Who Dun It" type game. The HO scenes (these are not my favourite part of HO games) are good, with little bits of surprise animation! The puzzles (my favourite part!) were surprisingly good - not too easy not too hard. This game is definitely going on my "To Buy" list! I'm currently playing MCF Fate's Carnival and when I have finished that then this game will be my next challenge! December 17, 2013
Exceptional Stand-Alone SE Game BASED ON DEMO FIRST IMPRESSIONS At first, with no intro before the main menu, I thought this game was going to be another not-quite-good-enough SE. But in extras alone, this is a good value game, and even without them, would have received 3 stars from me. Set in the 40s (?) era of the old classic gumshoe stories, with a little steam punk thrown in, it is surprisingly atmospheric, has a promising story, and no major down side. SIGHTS & SOUNDS The graphics are okay. You?re not going to be wowed by them, but they are clear, and although it is a story that tends toward dark, it is not overused. HOPs are very clear, if not in loving detail. There are a fair number of cut-scenes, and they are about the same quality. There seems to be very little animation, until you start messing around clicking interesting bits and pieces, which sets some of them in motion. The voiceovers are well done and, perhaps more importantly, well used. There is an attempt at an approximation of lip synch, which I thought worked well. The sound effects and background are competent. The music is quite interesting, changes frequently, and is not at all intrusive. WHAT?S HAPPENING If there is one thing that goes against this game, it is that the story moves too slowly. At the end of the 1st chapter (50mins of demo), I still know very little more about what is going on than what is written up about it. You are hired by a young lady to find her father, and so far the only thing we have learned about him is that he is a genius on the workings of the human mind (and as puzzle-crazy as all these lost profs are), and received an invitation recently to visit another expert with the view to working together. MAKING PROGRESS This is more a puzzle/lite adventure game than it is a HOPA. There are 2 HOPs in the demo, each visited twice, but there are oodles of mini-puzzles (none original, some uncommon, none difficult ? so far!) and inventory items to find and use. The HOPs are interactive lists, with a close-up in each scene. All objects are clearly visible and the interactions make sense. There is 2 modes of difficulty, a directional hint, an interactive jump map, excellent journal ? and, wait for it! ? an in-game walkthrough! The game also boasts: bonus chapter, wallpapers, achievements, collectibles (where higher difficulty mode requires more of them to release the other extras - cool!) 2 other yet-to-be-revealed other gallery items, and a secret room!! I?m overwhelmed, but it is so nice to see a stand-alone game going that little bit further. FINAL VERDICT I had low expectations for this game and was genuinely astonished to see how much it had to offer and how much I enjoyed it. Definitely a buy. December 18, 2013
No such thing as easy money... When I saw this game, I figured it would be the usual "not up to par" SE's we have been used to lately #when we get them#. I was wrong. Graphics and game play were very nice. Colors very bright and clean. I really like the time period of this game and so far, everything seems to fit the scenery. Music was a bit monotonous, so turned it down. Voice overs and animation were well done, and the sound FX were nice. HOGs were not difficult, as long as you can see in the dark. They were a little too dark in some areas. Puzzles were the usual and not really hard to figure out. There are collectibles...you need to find 25 symbols, which are not difficult to see. You just have to remember to look for them. There is a jump map, but I didn't use it during the demo. The SG is set up a little differently. You need to click on the picture of the scene you are in to read the SG instructions. Didn't care for that at all...too much clicking. Inventory bar does not lock in place, so it jumps up and down constantly, and wiggles back and forth when you run your cursor across it #very annoying#. The story line is nothing new, and I don't know what it is about this game, but I found it interesting and fun. This is not the usual SE, there are extras, e.g. the strategy guide and the collectibles. I find the need to use a punch credit and get this one today. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews. December 17, 2013
51-60 of 77 Reviews <<prev 45678next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Alex Hunter: Lord of the Mind

Stop a madman from taking over a city using a mind control device!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.