Bookmark

Haunted Train: Spirits of Charon Collector's Edition

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Charon's train has left the station, and you’ll never believe who’s on board.

You and your fiancée were supposed to be happy, but someone's destroyed your wedding day, and your lives together. Now her ghost beckons to you from the train of death. Can you put this vicious deed to rest – and help Charon bring justice to your love’s tragic end?

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • A bonus chapter that explores Charon's origin
  • Wallpapers, soundtracks, and concept art
  • An available Strategy Guide
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.9/10.8/10.7/10.6
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • Hard Drive: 699 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Haunted Train: Spirits of Charon Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Haunted Train: Spirits of Charon Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Haunted Train: Spirits of Charon Collector's Edition 3.6 5 56 56
Unique storyline, good gameplay...NOT worthy of CE status Haunted Train: Spirits of Charon Developed by Deep Shadows Collector's Edition Review based on demo (casual mode) IN THE BEGINNING... You play as Daniel. Your new bride Olivia was cruelly murdered on your wedding day by Count Orlok. You were knocked unconscious and awoke with a train ticket in hand?a ticket entitling you to ride the Hades-bound train belonging to Charon, the infernal ferryman. Charon makes you a deal: lure Count Orlok and his nefarious crew of evildoers onto the train so they can be transported to the afterlife where they belong, and he will return Olivia to you. You will also free the souls of several others who have been trapped on the train, those who were victims of Orlok and his minions. PLAY THE GAME... Standard adventure interspersed with interactive HO scenes, puzzles, and mini-games. The HO interactions range from simple (open or move something to reveal the object) to multi-step. The puzzles and mini-games are about 75-25% unique to familiar, and present a nice range of difficulty. SIGHTSEEING? The graphics are much clearer than they appear in the screenshots, with objects being clearly recognizable and backgrounds artistically rendered using lush colors and lots of dimension. The animation is smooth and well-done with objects represented more realistically than characters (as is the norm). SOUND WAVES? The music is extremely well done, managing to remain ambient yet accent drama in the game. Game sounds are quite dramatic. There's an epic flourish every time you find an item. Ambient sounds are appropriate. Voiceovers are extremely well done, although some of the accents are questionable. The conductor sounds rather like Inspector Clouseau, and Charon's voice reminded me of a bad Irish brogue. TOOLBOX? I didn't use the map, but I understand it is a jump map. Your journal is in the form of postcards and, when it stores clues, it jumps to the correct page when you reach the puzzle where you need the clue?quite nice. Inventory is lockable. Black bar hints are annoyingly direct, pretty much telling you exactly what you need to do. I don't recommend playing in casual mode, even if you are a rank beginner. Lastly, you have a magical monocle with which you can detect supernatural activity and items. (It glows when you may use it.) EXTRA, EXTRA? And now we come to the conundrum. There's nothing to justify this game as a CE: no achievements, collectibles, morphing objects, etc. You get a bonus adventure, the SG, and the usual offerings (which are not "special" in any way, being as the developer has them on hand as a by-product of developing the game). THE LAST WORD? Unique storyline. Interactive HO scenes. Mostly unique puzzles and mini-games. Captivating gameplay. Likable characters. Beautiful graphics and animation. Excellent music and voiceovers. However, I can't recommend this game, because it is not worthy of CE status, in my opinion. I most definitely will recommend the SE when it comes out. January 11, 2014
overall okay and interesting but not the CE for me as I played the demo I found myself a bit confused at first but as I finished the demo figured out what was going on and got into the game. there is a great hint button, a map but the map didn't do much since it really doesn't tell you where there is something to do but I do want to finish this one and save everyone, I just need to wait for the se because I don't use or care about extras anyway and the CE just seems pointless for me. I do recommend this game and will buy the regular version when it comes out. January 11, 2014
Let's get them off that train! Based on demo trial. I sort of would like to offer an extra half star, because this is a lovely game visually. Graphics and cut scenes are helpful but not overwhelming. Was a bit reluctant even starting this game because of the overall blackness of the subject; a train holding folks on the way to hades. However, it's easy enough to follow and you want to destroy the evil and release the captives. I don't generally offer much info as I don't want to risk preconceived conclusions on the merit of the game. I will say I must add this to my collection. January 11, 2014
NOT TOO BAD..ARTWORK WELL DONE I thoroughly enjoyed this game and purchased the CE on sale. After finishing the bonus game, I would say that you can wait for the SE - unless like me you were so drawn into the story and game play that it was worth buying for early game play. The main story is a decent length 5 hours or so and story resolves satisfactorily that extended story isn't required. There aren't any achievements, collectibles or morphing objects. The story, scenes, music, voice overs are really well done. January 25, 2014
Easy to get hooked! In a word 'liked it'. At the start it felt like just another HOD, but by the time the Bluebeard was chained, I was very hooked indeed. I the HO scenarios were interesting without being too tough, graphics good though I wont go as far as saying 'great' You have seen graphics like this before. The story was intriguing and was the reason that kept me playing, and visiting different places in search of a character was definitely an addition. In the negative, it was not that spooky or touching. January 21, 2014
Very spirited game This is a lovely game. Cut scenes made me feel like I was part of a movie. Everything was pulled off nicely. HO's were all very well done. The characters were entertaining. There is a map that you can jump with. Really can not think of anything to dislike. Another must buy list game. January 19, 2014
good game this is an excellent game I purchased after I finished the demo the only thing I found wrong with this game is that it has some bugs as in keeps stopping but you just restart game it did it twice for me through the game other than that I would recommend this game it was really enjoyable to play January 12, 2014
Haunted Train etc./ Hidden object Did the pre-release 1/2 hour. Story line a bit complex. Visuals and sound - OK. Jump map functioned well. Don't think this qualifies for CE status. January 11, 2014
I love the game itself, however, not as a CE This is a nice creepy game... the kind I like. You are set to be married and someone kills your bride. Now to set her free from the train of Charon, you must find her attackers. The graphics and color are just delightful. The music is unobtrustive, I did not notice it. There are nice HOS, some interactive, some where you put things back into a scene. The puzzles are cute and original. The game itself is very very linear. Not much challenge here. You get a journal and a map. Also, you get a pair of "supernatural detector" glasses? I think the developer did a wonderful job with this story. This by no means however is a CE. Yes there is a strategy guide and a bonus chapter. That is it. No achievements, no extras of any sort. Unless a game has a wonderful bonus game, I tend to lean toward the SE as I am not a fan of wallpaper, etc. This is a game I will look at again when it arrives as an SE. I hate to take away from the game itself by giving it a lower rating because the game was good. Just needed more oomph to be a CE and really needed more challenge. January 11, 2014
Old game ! The tech in this game is too old, it seems ancient. The story line is not that exiting...It really is dated January 13, 2014
21-30 of 56 Reviews <<prev 23456next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Haunted Train: Spirits of Charon Collector's Edition

Charon's train has left the station, and you’ll never believe who’s on board!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.