Bookmark

Shadow Shelter

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

You have been hired as a private investigator to search for the missing heir to an old estate in Scotland. You might not expect to find anyone in an abandoned manor, but that would be a dangerous assumption! The house has a life hidden away from the eyes of a novice. Spirits and ghosts have long occupied the space within its walls and they will only let you into their dominion if you’re willing to play by their rules!

  • Blood-chilling atmosphere and plot
  • Diverse selection of challenging puzzles
  • Impressive graphics and special effects
  • Adjustable difficulty level for experienced players
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.2 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 8.1
  • Hard Drive: 585 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Shadow Shelter

NEW299

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Shadow Shelter

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Shadow Shelter 3.7 5 111 111
Highly recommend I really enjoyed this game, the puzzles are challenging enough without being too hard. The only downside - and it's a BIG one - is the waiting between screens. January 31, 2014
too many loading "walks" This game was good. challenging. Unfortunately I didn't like that between rooms, it kept loading over and over and over and took a lot of time. I also didn't like that you HAD to finish every puzzle, no skips. January 26, 2014
Very nice game. Different and interesting. Not your typical HOG. Not very easy to complete even in easy mode. Puzzles are different, no skips. Definitely a buy. January 20, 2014
fun game This is a fun, simple little game. It has a dark quality about it but not dark that you can't find hidden objects. The music has a dark, spooky feel as well. I only played a few minutes and I had to purchase with a free coupon. I also liked the different hidden object scenes as they are not the same old, same old that some simpler games have. It is not challenging but just simple fun. January 23, 2014
Interesting concept Not your typical Hidden Object game. A bit more challenging. January 21, 2014
Shadow Shelter I found this game quiet and that made a change for me. Playing without hints left me up the creek without a paddle because I struggled without them January 20, 2014
Different and fun I liked the story. The variety of hidden object scenes were very fun. The whole footprints thing got old fast. It was a bit dark but not so as you couldn't play. I enjoyed playing this game. It wasn't the same old, same old thing. August 26, 2014
Too Many Shadows For Me. Our story takes us to a manor in Scotland deserted by the living but occupied by the dead. As a private investigator, your case involves searching for the missing heir the old estate and upon arrival, you find yourself involved with a group who call themselves the Fellowship of the Thistle who are sworn to fight darkness. Get ready to battle the dead in Shadow Shelter. I was excited at the opening scene when the narrator begins his story and I found myself facing dark graphics, relatively good artwork and a very creepy atmosphere that I usually love in a game. However as I progressed I found the darkness was too overwhelming, preventing me to appreciate the sites and sounds around me. Main menu offers you two levels of difficulty which you can adjust during play. You have your inventory list at the top of the screen which I don?t particularly like, a journal with a list of objectives and notes as well as a very simple map that does allow you to jump from one scene to another. I encountered one Hidden Object scene after another which in my case is a bit much. The scenes are dark and packed making many objects very difficult to spot. There are two types of hidden object scenes, one that gives you a standard list of twelve items and the other are small hand drawn pictures of items to find, which also proved to be difficult to make out. There is the element of surprise as things jump out at you and sound effects are not bad. Darkness prevails in this game and after a while I found myself just clicking away at anything and usually got lucky. As you find yourself wandering about, clicking at objects and trying to use them, you find yourself lost in the game and the story pretty much gets lost as well. After about 45 minutes of game play I found myself tired and a bit annoyed. I did enjoy the odd special effects; the life-like images that pop up from nowhere and wild animals jumping at you. But after a while too many hidden object scenes, the overall poor lighting and the ambiguity of what you are trying to do just got to me. I really did not come across any mini-games and if I did, I probably could not see them properly. Shadow Shelter is a fair attempt as what might have been an excellent game. I pretty much played through it to know that it really is not for me. The game seems to lose itself in the dark and unfortunately lost me as well. January 20, 2014
A Ghostly Tale I'm not really sure how to critique this game. Some parts I liked, some parts I didn't. There was a story ( a detective arriving at an empty mansion to investigate the possibility that the owner was still there) or so it seemed in the beginning, but once things got going it just went from scene to scene, room to room, HOS to HOS. While I enjoy HOS this was a bit much especially when the storyline kinda drifted off. Graphics were crisp & clear, music very eerie and loud which added to the ghostly effect, I just wish there had been more excitement. The only thing that added a touch of suspense was the young child who kept popping in and out. I kept hoping something more would develop with that. Too bad. The map & footstep thing was annoying, and there were no hints as to what was expected, a lot of the time you fuddled along wondering what to do next. All this being said there was something that drew me in and I'll be darned if I can explain it!! I wanted to keep going just to see what other things might or might not occur and how a game such as this would end! Very different style but I believe it had some merit although it could have been presented differently. The potential for a great game is there but technique and execution fell rather short of the mark. It may be a buy for me but again I'm not sure. Try it for yourself, it is at least worth a peek! January 20, 2014
GOOD BUT LACKS THE PURCHASE PIZAZZ The 100 people who reviewed before me have gone into the details of the gameplay, so I won't regurgitate. I always like the maps which show where actions are ready to be performed and the task list. I disagree slightly that there is no adventure because it's a more or less pure HOS. You do have to solve puzzles to move forward in addition to completing the various types of HOS (like the sketch searches). Items were easy to find and, although not bright, the HOS were not too dark. The story was good, but for some reason, there was a lack of the compelling pizazz that makes me want to buy. March 5, 2014
61-70 of 111 Reviews <<prev 56789...12next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Shadow Shelter

Explore the abandoned house and search for the missing heir!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.