Bookmark

Bluebeard's Castle: Son of the Heartless

Exclusive
Full version game
(658.78 MB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Eighteen years have passed since the last of Bluebeard's wives managed to escape with her life, and the life of their unborn son. As he approaches manhood, the young man now faces nightmares that threaten to drive him mad. His aunt reveals the true tale of his father's past. If he does not destroy the immortal heart that cursed his father, he shall die before his next birthday. Even as he approaches Bluebeard's Castle he can feel his heart slowing. He doesn't have much time. He must find the dark heart... or die trying in Bluebeard's Castle: Son of the Heartless, a heart-pounding Hidden-Object Puzzle Adventure game!

  • Return to Bluebeard's Castle
  • Challenging mini-games
  • Beautifully rendered, traditional art style
  • Try Bluebeard's Castle
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 672 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Bluebeard's Castle: Son of the Heartless

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Bluebeard's Castle: Son of the Heartless

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Bluebeard's Castle: Son of the Heartless 3.6 5 51 51
Puzzles Leave Me Feeling Blue The character you play is Bluebeard's son. Your father, Gillle de Brais, while out hunting was attacked by a wolf and left mortally wounded. As he lay dying, he made a deal with a demon for eternal life in exchange for the life of someone every year. If he broke the agreement, his offspring would all die young. The sign of the agreement was his long blue beard. Your task is to find and destroy the black heart at your father's castle in order to break the curse. I wanted to like the game as I usually enjoy pirate stories. The drawing style used can be best described as "fairy tale." In the beginning, the game play is fairly standard with some oddities. For example, items appear in your inventory while they are still on the screen. The inventory is hidden by default and was sometimes difficult to bring up. The navigation Back arrow is just above the inventory, and that too was sometimes hard to find. Also, I noticed a long delay when moving from scene to scene. In the time I played the demo, I heard two voices, your character?s(good# and the castle?s architect #not as good). Hidden object scenes are fairly standard. Puzzles were not. I encountered two puzzles and found both to be incomprehensible. Unable to make sense of either one, I quit the game after the second with 20 minutes remaining. This game may interest puzzle-lovers, and perhaps I am only a puzzle-liker. In any case I was not caught up in it enough to continue. Not wishing to sound "heartless," this one is not for me. February 12, 2014
Now I know why his beard is blue I haven't played the first game in this series, but I did not feel lost as they give a pretty good recap in the beginning of the dastardly deeds of el padre. Game mechanics have all been nicely reviewed so I'll skip all that. I found the game mediocre. I liked the story, the music, the HOS, and the setting. I disliked the puzzles. I found them illogical and the directions they gave to solve them made no sense to me, however after playing around with the puzzle, it did have a simple solution. Big drawback, everything in the game was small. Not the items in the HOS, but everything. My eyesight is just perfect, but it still was difficult for me to pick up all these teeny tiny objects. Also, I found I needed to be spot on as far as picking up inventory items out of my inventory. Sometimes it took quite a few tries to get the item. Then I needed to be totally exact in placing the object. I did not understand the map. It didn't seem to be a jump map. I did like the hint, but I would gather that as you moved further into the game and other various locations, the hint would be difficult as it shows a picture of where you need to be. I'll give this 3.5 stars as it did have some very good aspects to it. Just not a game for me. February 12, 2014
challenging and annoying The puzzles were challenging, in the hurry to see what the game offered, I found that I could not figure out what to do with them. The directions were involved and not clear enough to get while under the gun of wanting to see what one could in an hour. When I first looked at the game I liked the drawing and design of it, but then, the most annoying thing was the difficulty seeing stuff both because of the way it was drawn and the fact that stuff was so packed into both the Hidden O scenes and in the tableaux as well. Also the tint is very dark and that too bothers the eyes. The next most annoying thing was that they would ask for a skull and there would be one on a bottle..but that was not the skull meant..that kind of overlooking of the integrlty of the game really annoys me. As a result of the mishmash of things, one had a hard time remembering where things were AND add insult to injury the hint would show you to go somewhere that you could not recall where that thing was...and it was often buried among stuff right in front of one but the hint did not disclose that fact. I do not know if there is a walkthrough for this game but without one NEVER buy it. I am completely on the fence about buying this game. So I'm going to be looking to my fellow fishies for their take on it as well. Especially any of you who decide to swim the entire ocean of it by buying it. Give us some full reviews please. February 12, 2014
NOPE!! I TOTALLY loved the original Blubeard's Castle...so much so, that I bought this game without hesitation. But I was very disappointed. It was a game, yes, and something to do...but had NO TIE IN to the original. Not even HALF the interest. It is NOT a 'sequel' by ANY stretch of the imagination. And I highly doubt the makers of THIS game even played the original.!! February 24, 2014
Hard to classify Based on the completed game. Let me start with the worst: the story. The protagonist is the son of Bluebeard coming to his father's castle to destroy the black heart and break a curse, so he won't die young. That's in the intro, and -- Although the goal remains the same, the getting there makes absolutely no sense. None of the characters make sense, they seem to be dropped into the game at random, and they're not really helpful. So, no story, just a collection of disjointed vignettes. It also seemed to be two games robbed together because in mid-game, the graphics and the play changed. The good (for me at least, although I see many reviewers disagree with me). The graphics in the second half of the game and some of the early cut scenes. Stunning cut paper scenes, like the best of the first Drawn. Dreamy and just wonderful to look at. I also like the music, which I actually turned up - complemented those cut paper scenes helping to create a fantasy world. I agree with many other reviewers about the puzzles. Thankful for the skip button. Many I simply could not figure out how to solve, even with the help. So random click here and there, try this approach, then that. Wait for the skip to mature. There were also story scenes that had the same problem - no logic to figure out what to do next. I liked the help showing the scene where the next action was to be taken. Finally, HOS were almost all revisited, and in several there was more than one of the item to find. One I remember was the number "4." I think I found 3 in that scene before I found the one they wanted. I'll recommend the game because I was so taken by the second half, but you have to go through a whole lot of annoying stuff to get there. April 8, 2014
Disappointing game I read the reviews of this game and though I'd give it a shot. I was disappointed in the game. I thought the story line was rather weak and I did not like the cartoonish mini games. The puzzles were very good, though, so I stuck with it. March 6, 2014
Bluebeard's Castle I tried this game because I had played the first Bluebeard's Castle and really enjoyed it. Just from the trial version, I was disappointed to see that they had changed the graphics; that was one of my favorite parts about the original. The cartoonish graphics were not particularly fitting for the eerie haunted house feeling that they were probably going for. The game play is intriguing, and I liked that it wasn't so challenging that I had to skip every puzzle. I only skipped a couple. I liked that they kept much of the original soundtrack, it helped to maintain some cohesion to the first game. Overall, I thought the story line was a little thin. And I wasn't thrilled with the voice casting. I bought it only because I could do so for free with my game credit, but probably wouldn't have otherwise. I was fairly disappointed overall, coming from the expectations set by the first game March 2, 2014
Demo before you buy! I made the mistake of buying this game before I tried it out. Big Mistake. I'll probably not complete it, and for certain won't ever replay it. The mini games are weird, and not in a good way. They just did not make sense to me. There is an annoying delay in cursor response and the story is just average. However, I did like that the graphics were not as dark as we've seen in other similar games and objects are fairly easy to find, maybe too easy. Definitely demo first! February 13, 2014
Disappointed I have loved playing the first Bluebeard's Castle and was excited to find a sequel. However, I disliked this one a lot, I hate the kids drawn graphics and the many crashes I experienced while playing it. It lacked all the beauty and the magic of the first one. I would not recommend this game. February 15, 2014
Based on the demo: Ack!! Where do I start? Ok... the beginning!? From the very beginning, I was struck that this game was a cartoonish nightmare with nowhere to go and it didn't seem to improve as I continued to play the demo. The voice acting not only didn't have characters to go along with same so as to involve the player in the game immediately, what voice there was, was very amateur and awkward (not believable)! The mini games were poor and disjointed and unrelated to gameplay entirely. The H0G, average, everyday, nothing out of the ordinary. I felt as though I were being instructed the entire Demo time despite the fact that I had turned off the cue bar in the Menu controls and worked in most difficult settings. To me, this game is just a mangled mess... not fun and almost painful to play. So, NOT for me.... and to think I almost purchased w/o demoing... PLEASE TRY BEFORE YOU BUY!!! February 12, 2014
31-40 of 51 Reviews <<prev 23456next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Bluebeard's Castle: Son of the Heartless

His mother escaped her murdering husband just before he was born. Now the son of Bluebeard must break his father's curse.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.