Bookmark

Grim Legends: The Forsaken Bride Collector's Edition

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Brought to you by Artifex Mundi, the creators of the Enigmatis and Nightmares from the Deep series.

Within the shadow of an ancient forest, on the bottom of the foggy valley, stands the lonely village of Ravenbrook. Its perimeter is protected by the villagers' charms, but beyond the legends and the magic, the gloomy forests and wailing wind, lies a chasm so deep and feared, it is known by the villagers only as The Abyss. No one knows what lies within, but when a strange visitor arrives in Ravenbrook just before a young bride is kidnapped, the villagers find justification for their superstitions…

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Two bonus story chapters
  • Enhanced gameplay features
  • 30 Spirits of the Forest for your Faerie Meadow collection
  • The Book of Elusive Objects to give life to local legends
  • Achievements, wallpapers, soundtracks, concept art, and more!
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.9/10.8/10.7/10.6
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 760 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Grim Legends: The Forsaken Bride Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Grim Legends: The Forsaken Bride Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Grim Legends: The Forsaken Bride Collector's Edition 4.4 5 69 69
great game Excellent. bought this last night. great graphics and story line. I've had to play without audio so I can't say about that. but I recommend this game. and I have a lot of games. June 12, 2014
Great Game! Another game with an extremely high standard. Woman scorned inadvertently curses a family (never speak out in anger!), go forward 25 years and you're travelling home for your twin's wedding and a bear with odd eyes attacks your carriage... and then the fun starts. It begins with you rescuing a really cute kitten and never stops. The map was a god send to me because I tend to forget where I need stuff. The graphics and voices were well above par too. Quite a long and involved game, I played it in one sitting - about 3-4 hours and the bonus game is well worth playing too. April 19, 2014
I Liked It - A Lot! BASED ON DEMO FIRST IMPRESSIONS The intro is up close and personal, right in your face. It is melodramatic and straightaway you know this is going to be a supernatural game involving witches, demons and curses. Not to mention revenge. One thing I really liked from the beginning ? lots of people and activity going on around the locations. I get tired of empty, decrepit and filthy rooms. SIGHTS & SOUNDS This game has an eerie, spooky atmosphere, as opposed to scary spooky. The vibrant colours and cartoony graphics look good, and are clear and detailed. The music is superb, really setting the tone of the game, and I jumped more than once. A lot of voiceover, and well done. WHAT?S HAPPENING A ferocious bear attacks our carriage as we head towards our sister?s wedding. And things just keep getting worse! She introduces her fianc, and the next thing we know is she is dragged off by the bear, and we and her fianc must find and save her. That soon becomes a task that requires magic. We catch up with the bear and our sister Lilly, but then new dangers present themselves from an unexpected source. It is nice having a partner on our search, as well as helpful characters and a ?cute companion? kitten, who is helpful but also very naughty. MAKING PROGRESS There are not a lot of HOPs in this one. We have both FROGs (fragmented object game) and Progressive Silhouette (find & use) HOPs. There is the option to play a challenging domino game instead of some of the HOPs. I found it challenging, anyway, compared to your average domino games. There are some interesting and fun puzzles. Nothing too hard. More a case of entertainment than challenge. This can also be said about the adventure component. It was logical without being linear, and I rarely needed any help. There is an interactive jump map, that showed active tasks available, but it annoyed me. Seemed that every time I thought to consult it, there were no active tasks indicated ? just when you actually needed it! There is also a good journal, and a directional hint. CE BLING There are two collectibles available, each relevant and interesting. There are 30 spirits (faeries), and 28 ?elusive objects? (morphing), which decode a portion of the story book in the achievements section. The spirits are also presented in a book format, and both are quite difficult to find. There are two types of achievement as well, story achievements (13) presented in a book, and trophies (11) for performance achievements. Both continue in the bonus chapters. Yup. It is not a typo, there really are 2 bonus chapters, on top of the 7 chapters of the main story. There are also the standard gallery items, wallpapers (16), concept art (12), music (9), and cut scenes (17). There are 14 HOPs to replay. COMBINED IMPACT I really enjoyed this game. The overall quality is very good, the atmosphere is both creepy and curious, and the game play is set at about intermediate level for the puzzles. Just my size! *grin* February 27, 2014
Entertaining Game There really is nothing new about today?s game, nothing we haven?t already seen or played. Still, these types of HOPA games continue to thrill me and entertain me and unless developers come up with bright new ideas, it looks like we will continue to get similar game mechanics with differing storylines. Not that I am complaining, I enjoy playing games with enchanting storylines, strong visuals and sounds and the many extras that offer extra challenges to a game. Grim Legends: The Forsaken Bride offers sharp graphics, beautifully drawn artwork enhanced by excellent sounds and effects along with well executed animation work. Visually the game has many merits and I love the ambient sounds in the background as did my cats at home; each time kitty on screen began to meow, my cats were up and about searching the room. Also, developers managed to use relatively good voice-overs and music that was non-distracting. Today?s story is about forsaken love, a curse and enchantments in a world filled with fairies and magic. On the eve of her wedding, your twin sister Lilly is kidnapped by a great bear who rides off with her on its back. You now set forth with Edward, her fianc and travel deep into the woods of Ravenbrook in search of her. There appears to be a tragic tale of love and betrayal that has paved the way to this event which is what you need to find out about and so your adventure begins. There are three levels of difficulty to choose from and as always, you have your extras which include Hidden object games and puzzles to play. Game tools include a journal, list of objectives, a map that does allow for travel, and your strategy guide that indicates that there are 7 chapters along with two bonus chapters to play. You game companion is a cute tabby kitten that purrs and meows to indicate that he can help retrieve items far from your reach and in this game, there are no items to buy for your kitty nor do you get to name him. Game mechanics offer the standard adventure game play which also includes fragmented hidden object scenes. While I am not a great fan of FROGs, I found that the items here were easy to locate. There was one other hidden object scene during the trial version which was finding the silhouettes of items so there are a variety of Hidden Object Scenes to play. There is also the option to switch to a game of dominoes whereby you need to place your domino which surprisingly I found more challenging to play and a lot more entertaining. As for mini-games, there seemed to be many of them, all different and all very well conceptualized and integrated into the story. I thought that the mini-games were much more interesting than the hidden object scenes, which seem to be fewer in comparison. As for the extras, you have your collectables, a set of fairies that are very well camouflaged and also morphing objects which are described as elusive objects. Each elusive object that is located decrypts the storybook that is located at the left bottom of your screen. There is also a list of achievements to earn along the way along with trophies as well. I really do have to applaud the developers who have brought us very good games in the pass and continue to do so with Grim Legends: The Forsaken Bride. I enjoyed the overall game atmosphere enhanced by great sound effects, the storyline which can be enjoyed by players of all ages and the game mechanics that come in variations. Definitely not a game that will bore you but may be a bit too predictable for the hard-core player who is searching for a more challenging and mentally stimulating game. I do miss the dark themes and fairytale stories just become a bit too saccharine for my taste. However, that is not to say that I won?t be adding this to my collection after all, I enjoyed the mini games along with the game of dominos and will continue to torment my kitties at home with the sounds coming from my computer. February 27, 2014
Awesome animation! Afternoon, all. I always demo a game in casual mode to get the feel of the play, so here goes. Graphics were very nice, a bit fuzzy and somewhat faded color in places, but nice and didn't detract from the game. Game play was very good, no problems at all. Lots of voice overs that were well done. The animation was exceptional, not choppy, and very fluid. Best I've seen so far. Music was nice, and I usually turn it way down. There are a lot of achievements in this one, check out the list. The only thing I don't care for with achievements, is that when you are on a roll in the HOP, they stop the game to tell you that you found 5 items in 10 seconds, breaking your streak...wait until I'm done. HOGs can be switched to domino game, but I didn't care for that at all. HOGs are fragmented pieces, silhouettes and straight HOG, which is fun and keeps you from getting bored with the same stuff all the time. Items are not difficult to find. Puzzles are the usual and customary and not difficult either. SG is the standard format. There is a jump map, but it was not pleasing on the eyes...something about the way it was set up. I like everything placed on the map and identified properly, not running my cursor over the location to see what it is. Didn't seem to be a lot of returning to same locations multiple times, so didn't use it but a couple of times. Hint system is quite helpful and fills very quickly. You don't really need the SG for this one because of the hint system. You also have 28 elusive objects (morphing) that are not as easy to spot as you may think. These objects give you more insight into the story. Also included are 30 spirits, that look more like fairies. They blend in to the scenery very well, so you really have to look for them. This is not an especially challenging game, but the play and story flowed quite well. You also get a cute little kitty to help in high or tight places..made my Yorkie bark or growl every time it meowed. The game did not make me want to run right out and buy it and I'm not sure it is CE worthy. The only "extra" I want to pay for is a nice long bonus game. I will probably end up getting this one, but not today. I'll wait for a nice special instead. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may find this one to be exactly what you are looking for today. Thanks for the reviews. February 27, 2014
What Evil Lurks in the Depths of the Abyss? In the beginning cutscene we see a young, heartbroken woman who has been abandoned by her faithless lover and, in grief, she throws her ring into an abyss while cursing her suitor and his heartless kin. We see that the ring is caught by something sinister that dwells deep within the dark shadows of the abyss. Our adventure begins 25 years later as you are on your way to your twin sister?s wedding but you are waylaid by a bear that attacks your wagon. Shortly after you arrive at the village and greet your sister and her fianc misfortune strikes yet again as your sister is carried off into the forest by the same bear that attacked your carriage. The adventure begins as you join Edward to track the bear and find your sister. The graphics are very crisp and colorful with beautiful hand drawn artwork. The cutscenes are excellent and add a lot to the quality of the game. We have characters with lip-synced voiceovers but quite frankly I was rather tired of the constant, obvious comments from Edward pointing out what needed to be done. At the point where I didn?t think I could take any more of his comments I found myself alone and things improved. As far as the rest of the sound package is concerned I found that I enjoyed the background music and wonderful ambient sounds. Early in the game you meet up with a furry little kitten who becomes your helper. As you travel on your adventure you will acquire an interactive map and although the map is interactive, I didn?t find it very helpful. We also have a journal that keeps track of our objectives. The HOS during the demo are FROGS and the silhouette type where you must find an item and then use it to find another. Later in the game we may encounter the regular list type HOS but I didn't find that type in the demo. If you don?t want to complete the FROGS or look for items in the HOS you do have an option to play an interesting domino type game. During the demo I encountered far more puzzles than FROGS or HOS so I hope that continues. None of the puzzles were difficult but they were fun and added to the adventure. As far as the CE content is concerned we do have elusive (morphing) objects to find as well as achievements to earn and collectible spirit items to find. Along with those we also have two bonus chapters to play as well as the standard extras that we generally expect to find in a CE. Overall it seems like there are enough extras thrown in that Grim Legends is a fairly decent CE value. Overall Grim Legends the Forsaken Bride is a very good game and one that I wanted to continue playing when the demo ended. The storyline is interesting and I have to find out who or what is hidden in the depths of the abyss. As always I recommend that you try the demo to see if this is a game you will enjoy. February 27, 2014
Grim Beginning So much to do and so little time in the demo. The story begins with a woman who has been jilted by her love. She throws her ring into the abyss which is taken by a really scary hand. 25 years later, Lilly's twin sister is getting married to Edward who showed up at the village out of nowhere a month before. You haven't been home for years but you can't miss Lilly's wedding. As you are going into the inn, your sister is kidnapped by a huge bear that carries her off into the forest. Along the way you get a helper, a little kitten. You follow Edward into the forest, and fall into a ravine. Now you are stuck and have to get out to save your sister. The game by Artifex Mundi is beautifully done. The colors are vibrant and very clear. The music fits the theme and is not in any way annoying. There are 30 spirits to find, 13 story achievements and 11 trophies to earn. There are the regular extras, and three levels of achievement. I found the game very well done and got caught up into the story that I didn't even realize that the hour had passed so quickly. The game has to do with legends and you really need to try to make sure it is something you want. I do. February 27, 2014
HOs turn into slightly interactive halfway thru game I admit I loved the game, but the bonus was too easy . I was standing in line for this one after playing the demo BECAUSE Artifex Mundi was mixing it up with the HOs...loved progressives and was surprised to see some FROGS, too.. but about halfway through the game the HOs became your standard slightly interactive lists which I've come to be so bored of and the domino alternative was no better (since I hate dominos).. I would almost buy a HOPA for JUST some creative HOs and I would care if the storyline was only so so........the demo suckered me in.. I admit it. Still not sorry I purchased it, just wish the HOs stayed consistent with the mixing up of the types. The main story ended conclusively. March 2, 2014
One of My Favourites! What can I say without filling this review with needlessly detailed information? It's got great graphics, a step above previous HOGs I'd say. Tried and true, predictable, storyline. Good voice acting. Fun puzzles. A way to switch to Dominoes during HOGs (my favourite! wish everyone had these now!) And a bunch of achievements and collections for those OCD collectors among us... Note: not having a SG really irked me. The elusive objects were difficult to find (which is good) but a SG would have saved a lot of time... I'm not sure why it wasn't included in the CE... And I hate that you can't get both achievements for playing ALL dominoes or ALL HOGs even if you reply the game (the number doesn't change, so it's as if you only played 11 HOGs/DOMs). One of the best this month for sure though! March 3, 2014
A fantastic adventure Liked it, mostly because of the plot, which has loads of twists and turns. There are challenges and HOD scenarios and puzzles and all of them in equal balance, which by itself is a difficult feat to achieve. All of the above are not too easy or too difficult. The graphic are very good, and better than many other contemporary games and yes it is quite long so many hours of fun. DEFINITELY RECOMMENDING! March 18, 2014
41-50 of 69 Reviews <<prev 34567next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Grim Legends: The Forsaken Bride Collector's Edition

Enter an enchanting world of legends, mystery and magic, where your destiny was written in blood and the soft murmurs of true love...

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.