Bookmark

Mystery of Unicorn Castle: The Beastmaster Collector's Edition

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

The Beastmaster, Lord of all Beasts, kidnapped a young girl by the name of Sophie. You must use your skills to emerge victorious in this battle and save the girl. Make your way past the ingenious traps of the Castle and overcome the beasts to restore the Unicorn for a victory over the forces of evil! Can you solve the Mystery of Unicorn Castle - The Beastmaster? Interesting location and unusual puzzles will keep you on the edge of your seat!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • See how the mystery began in the bonus chapter!
  • Bonus gallery & music
  • Trophies and hidden collectibles
  • Integrated strategy guide
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.9/10.8/10.7/10.6
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 698 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Mystery of Unicorn Castle: The Beastmaster Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery of Unicorn Castle: The Beastmaster Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery of Unicorn Castle: The Beastmaster Collector's Edition 3.8 5 53 53
What to Choose Love that this game gave me choices in problem solving. Nice paced game. Great cut scenes, great graphics, and lots to do. This goes on my must buy list. The HO's were a little dark, but the settings were nicely done and the interaction in HO's were nicely done. Characters were fine and the rats dreadful. lol. Those rats must die. Like some of the cute titling when I wind a award for the choice I make to solve a problem. You will have to play to find out what I mean. March 8, 2014
Good Liked the different tasks besides HOS. (extras) March 10, 2014
mixed feelings about this one overall it was a good game although it was way to long. fortunately there was a great hint button because knowing where to go and what to do was not possible with out the hint. and my real disappointment was when it ended I realy was not sure what I had accomplished, the story line was just not really clear for me. so not sue how to review. I will recommend because it was interesting but not as clear as I generally like. I don't use sound so can't rate that. September 17, 2014
How Did I Nearly Miss This Little Gem? BASED ON DEMO I was a bit hesitant to give this game a go because of the title. I thought ?oh here we go, another cute fantasy game?. But when I played, I was quite surprised. I enjoyed the demo a lot and will be purchasing the SE of this game. It goes to show that you can't judge a game by its title! If I'm really 100% honest, I wasn't all that interested in the story. It was your usual ?girl is kidnapped by magical beast, go save her? kind of thing. The story was exciting at some points, but everything panned out the way I thought it would. What I really liked about the story though was that you could choose what you did in some areas! And even better, what you chose has an impact on the course of the game! This is a really great idea. More developers should do this. It makes me want to replay the game already to see the alternate option- and I haven't even bought it yet! So, overall, the plotline of the story isn't all that interesting, but the content is outstanding... The fact that developers give us somewhat of a choice as to what happens... wow! The gameplay is pretty good too. The HOS are great fun and I enjoyed playing them. They were pretty much the standard junkpile with a few extra-step objects. This is nothing we haven't seen before, but it was still really fun! I think I encountered (roughly) 2 in the demo. This wasn't enough for me. I would've liked to have seen a couple more. The puzzles were fun too. There were a couple new and a coupe old, which was nice. Even though they were a bit hard (I had to skip most of them), I still enjoyed playing them. I think I counted more puzzles than HOS in the demo. I was kinda hoping this would be the other way around. I'm not too keen on puzzles. I like to see a few in there and try and attempt them though. That being said, I still think the ratio of HOS:puzzles was good. Okay, you know that thing I told you about where you can choose your options in the story? It happens in the gameplay too! At certain points in the game, when you click on something, a little bar will come up. It gives you the option to use one of two inventory items and again, which ever one you pick will have an impact on the course of the game. And if you don't have one of the two items, you can back out and continue looking around until you find it. This is a great feature. I love games where the actions you perform have an impact on the game! One other new feature of this game is the wisps. These are things that just float around in scenes. If you click on them, the hint recharges instantly. This is a good feature because the hint takes way too long to recharge (at 90 sec on casual mode). However, I wish it didn't have to be there. 90 sec is just too long for a hint recharge on Casual mode. This definitely isn't your average HOPA. The gameplay is fun, new and wonderful. I hope that more developers take a step in this direction. One thing I definitely must comment on is the usefulness of the map. It was a lot more useful than others. It let you know where active tasks where and even where a HOS could be found! This was great. I wasn't really impressed with the graphics to be honest. I found some scenes, especially cutscenes, to be a bit hazy and pixelated. In some areas, the graphics were still good, but these hazy scenes decreased the quality of the game slightly. The voice-overs are standard. I have no issue. FEATURES 4 modes of difficulty: Casual, Advanced, Expert and Hardcore. Differences are the usual. Hardcore offers the ability to play the game with no help at all. I played Casual. Hint/Skip- both took way too long to recharge for the difficulty I selected, at 90 sec. This would be acceptable for Advanced or Expert maybe, but not Casual. Hint was helpful outside HOS. Wisps- appear at various places throughout the game. When found, they instantly recharge the hint. Only needed because the hint took too long to recharge. Shouldn't have been there in the first place Map- The map is very helpful. It is interactive, tells you where active tasks are and also notifies you of any HOS you haven't completed. CE EXCLUSIVES Bonus Chapter- unsure if needed Built-in Strategy Guide- useful for puzzles Achievements Collectible pumpkins (50) Historical notes Concept Art Music Wallpapers Even though there are multiple achievements and collectibles, I will still be happy to purchase the SE on this one. I'm so glad I tried this, otherwise I would have missed out on a little gem. Don't think about the title- TRY THIS! You WON'T regret it! April 28, 2014
Not For Me Sadly Based on the reviews I decided to be brave and face the rats, and thankfully the rats that I did see weren't as terrifying as the ones I have encountered in real life. I don't mind dark games either but to me this one was just sterile - nothing exciting happened apart from the gargoyle dropping through the ceiling. The game just didn't grip me which I was sad about given the reviews from some of my favourite contributors, and the option to choose your karma.. I had to use the jump map repeatedly which is rare for me as I usually just use it when I know where I need to go and it involves 6+ clicks. I am not putting a recommendation on this review because I think you should try it and decide for yourself - each to their own. March 8, 2014
3 stars...I'll wait for the SE, though this game does break some new ground Mystery of Unicorn Castle: The Beastmaster Developed by Meridian 93 Collector's Edition Review based on demo IN THE BEGINNING... A young girl named Sophie has been abducted by the Beastmaster, a monstrous humanoid creature, and taken to Unicorn Castle for presumably nefarious purposes. As Detective, you're summoned to rescue her. On your way to the scene of the crime, a gigantic rat sideswipes you from your motorcycle, and you come to locked inside the graveyard near the Castle. The good news? You're near Sophie. The bad news? That huge rat has friends. Lots of them. And they're intelligent. PLAY THE GAME... Adventure mode offers something new: at pivotal points in the game, you must choose to act for the greater good or for more selfish reasons. Your choices will have an effect on your karmic score. What eventual benefit or detriment this will have remains to be seen, but the immediate benefit of acting good is generally that you get help from whomever you assist. Other than that, adventure mode is familiar. Gather items to be used, unlock lots of locked things using keys or medallions or objects of a certain shape. HO scenes are few and far between, and interactions are not always indicated. Puzzles are fairly simple. SIGHTSEEING? Graphics, animation, and cinematics are all professional. Overall, the colors are quite dark and somewhat subdued, but texture, dimension, and light and shadow are utilized beautifully. I didn't have any difficulty seeing, and my eyesight is not terrific. SOUND WAVES? The music is moody and totally fitting to the theme, and not repetitive or annoying. Voiceovers are extremely well done, as are environmental sounds. Game sounds remained in the background, barely audible. TOOLBOX? The map indicates active areas and transports. Inventory is lockable. The interface is quite lovely in its minimalism, with icons being line-drawn in electric blue on a black background. There was certainly no difficulty mistakenly clicking on the map thinking it was part of the scene. You can also customize your gaming experience in some new ways, like turning off the narrative voiceover and achievement banners. EXTRA, EXTRA? Extras include a bonus adventure "prequel," the SG (which is a study in minimalism), collectible jack-o-lanterns, achievements, and the usual developer's portfolio. THE LAST WORD? Despite the seeming urgency of your mission?to rescue a small child from some eldritch horror?the storyline unfolded so slowly that the game was more relaxing than suspenseful, that in spite of the giant rats. However, gameplay was interesting, especially the option to choose your karmic fate. Personally, for a CE to draw me in, the storyline must be utterly intriguing, the collectibles integral to the game in some way, the music so spectacular that I want to download it, and me to have a sense that there will be replay value. This game didn't make the mark and, for that reason, I recommend waiting for the SE. March 8, 2014
Based on trial This is a really different kind of HOG, puzzle Adventure game. I found it confusing & frustrating. There is a transporting map, but it will not let you go where you think you want to go next. The music & sound effects are repetitive & irritating. One scene has flies.. Buzz, buzz, buzz repeat. The hero's voice is optional....Mute it....a bit melodramatic. Cut scene sounds are also irritating..... The graphics are good. The HOGS are simple enough. The puzzles are good but are more challenging. There are options to choose along the way that effect where you go & what you do next. You also have choices about when to use or not to use a certain clue. There are collections to make with the game telling you which object to choose next. There are also achievements to be had. I usually like new ways to play a game but not this one.....The many choices made the game for me fragmented & frustrating. I don't recommend this game. March 8, 2014
UNICORNS ARE HEROS Nice pleasant game - that is if you don't mind rats. There are: * Casual, Advanced, Expert and Hardcore modes of play; * Voiceovers; * Interactive map; * Trophy Room; * Diary; * Can replay the HOS and mini-games. You also have to collect: ~ 45 pumpkins in the game, but not the bonus; ~ 8 pages. The graphics are very good and no problem seeing anything. Sound is mostly quiet in the background. There are two ways to play this game and you earn merits in the Trophy Room either way. As you meet people and animals along the way, you get two choices of how you wish to deal with them. Do you want to help these people? Or do you want to go it alone? Your choice. So there will be two outcomes of how this game plays out. This time I chose to help. The next time I play this game I will go it alone and see what happens. I thought this was quite cool - sort of two games in one. The HOS and mini-games were very easy to play. I played on Hardcore throughout the game and bonus, but didn't need to skip or get any hints. However, if you play on Hardcore you cannot change to any other mode of play during the game. Your only option is to start again. So have a think about it before you start the game. There is quite a lot of running around to do. Personally I don't mind this at all. However, if you get really stuck and unsure of what to do next, just look in the interactive map and it will let you know where tasks and HOS need to be done. The game is quite long. I think I played around 6 hours. The bonus will take about 45 minutes. There are a lot of HOS in the bonus. Overall, the game is very easy to play and not much of a challenge for experts. However, new and intermediate fishies will love this. March 21, 2014
Dark Graphics (CE edition) This review is for those that don't always look at the positive. This game has glitches, I had problems with the strategy guide as well. You need to be careful looking for the mystery items, because you can't go back to some scenes.. spoiler- locked in the cellar. The puzzles aren't unmanageable, but aren't as easy as most. If you can get a good deal it's ok to buy, I did, but wouldn't recommend it. March 14, 2014
Ho Hum?. I TRIED to like this game but it really is, well, nothing special - same old, same old. Kidnapped girl, gotta save her, and some scary stuff to put you off. Usually I don't care about the voice overs and such but THIS!?!!! If I had to listen to the voice for ONE more second I think I was going to punch the screen. Talk about annoying and stating the obvious! For example- fires break out?voice over says 'I'll have to deal with these fires before continuing' (very close to a quote). REALLY? I will not NOT recommend this game but if voice overs are a stickler for you or you want something different as far as story lines or something other than 'use the insecticide, get the gloves, turn the key' than this is not for you! March 9, 2014
31-40 of 53 Reviews <<prev 23456next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery of Unicorn Castle: The Beastmaster Collector's Edition

Explore the Mystery Unicorn Castle and save Sophie from the Beastmaster in this exciting HOPA game!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.