Bookmark

True Fear: Forsaken Souls

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Warning: True Fear: Forsaken Souls is an intense psychological thriller intended for mature audiences.


What if everything you knew about your life, everything your family ever told you, turned out to be a lie? A strange midnight visitor could change your life forever... Find out the truth about your past in True Fear: Forsaken Souls, a chillingly exciting Hidden Object Puzzle game!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.9/10.8/10.7
  • CPU: 1.2 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 997 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
True Fear: Forsaken Souls

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

True Fear: Forsaken Souls

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

True Fear: Forsaken Souls 4.5 5 65 65
BRILLIANT!... A TRUE PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER!! This game is not for the faint hearted so the warning is not only appropriate but a true public service. With that said... I LOVE psychological thrillers and this game had me on the edge of my seat, jumping at noises and afraid of what would come next. In other words, it hit EXACTLY the right notes. The plot is classic horror (nothing like an abandoned mental institution on top of an ancient graveyard to give you the warm fuzzies). The "feel" of the game is created by the haunting graphics, chilling voice overs, amazing sound and music that heightens the ambiance of horror, and some of the most spectacularly terrifying cut scenes I've ever seen. While I'm sure that this is not going to be an adjective frequently used to describe this game, I actually found it to be unbelievably refreshing. There is simply nothing else out there like this. But perhaps the popularity of the game suggests that there is a definite market for true psychological thrillers in the adventure game repertoire. My one regret was not purchasing the CE of True Fear as the ending of the game sets up many questions that I hear may be answered within the bonus content but then learned that this is actually part one of a trilogy. Yay! But I think I'm getting the CE anyway, because this folks has the makings of a True Classic. My sincere thanks and congratulations to the developers and producers of True Fear for this fantastic release and recognizing that there is an true audience for psych thrillers in the adventure game market. Highly, Highly recommend this game if you enjoy a good scare!! (although I confess I had to play with all the lights on at a certain point in the game... jump much? You will, I promise you). November 7, 2014
SparkleHooves? Really? That one, of all names in the universe, wasn't taken. Eesh. I had a lot of fun with this game. Many times I found myself cringing before turning a corner, preparing myself not to screech like a banshee. The game itself is not particularly difficult - just follow along and enjoy the atmosphere. HOPs and mini games are simple. Interactive map - thank goodness - many times you will find yourself with an inventory item that has to be used way on the other side of creepyville. Labeled inventory - always a plus Soundtrack is wonky....in between transitions in scenes sometimes the music will overlap and you've got 2 modes of creep sound making a calamitous mess. Game ends on a massive cliffhanger!! But I enjoyed the game so much, the cliffhanger almost fits perfectly with the games theme. I guess I'm off to go clop around in another game October 4, 2014
Horror Game Do Not Play In The Dark! I recommend this game I played it when a friend bought it I do recommend that you read the warning because they are not lying to you. This game well we tried playing it during night time with the lights off and well yep didn't last too long before we were sure scared! If your a person that loves horror movies things that scare you then this game is your game! Although you have to wait for the second part continious part in august which I'm looking forward too. I do hope they continue to make more games such as this one because an actual challenge and a game for an adult this was so much fun to play. This game actually reminded me of some japanese horror movies I've seen I enjoyed being scared but story goes you get this letter at your door late within the night so you go and look for your sister because that is who the letter is from. When you get there the building that looks like a house go inside it no matter what you just saw outside! You end up following clues from your sister and find some stuff left over by your mother. Either way this game was scary and I would recomment to read the reviews to it before buying the game it depends if you can handle being scared. ^_~ July 6, 2014
GOOSE BUMPS AND SHIVERS! For all you adults out there who are looking for an intelligent, well thought out game, here it is. Finally. This developer is not afraid to pull out the stops when it comes to piling on one scary, unnerving screen after another. The story draws you in immediately and flows like a tsunami to the very satisfying conclusion. Technically, this is a beautiful game. Gorgeously drawn, incredibly detailed, fantastic continuity throughout the entire game. Great voice overs; chilling, creepy, unsettling. HOS's are unique and challenging. Mini puzzles hardly seem such as they are such an integral part of the story. I especially enjoyed the fact that I was able to collect dozens of items long before they were needed and actually had to THINK about what to do with what item. Am going to be waiting very impatiently for the sequel to this wonderful game and hoping there are more like it soon. June 6, 2014
a must play if you DARE!! i completely loved this game. story was great the fear factor was great. was very challenging visual effect where awsom. it is a must play if you like to get scared. play in the dark i did. May 23, 2014
I'm Already Beginning To Feel Forsaken The setting is in the year 1984 when you receive a cryptic letter from your sister Heather, with whom you have not been in contact with since your mother died ten years ago. Heather asks that you (Holly, a green-eyed beauty) come to a certain address to visit. The address turns out to be a boarded up, broken down, apparently abandoned home. But, all is not as it seems. This game does successfully create a creepy atmosphere and also delves into themes like mental illness and treatment of the mentally ill. However, while this may not be a game for young children, it certainly is not as scary as it suggests. Many of the game's "surprises" are telegraphed well in advance so you really expect them. The opening screen is of a security monitoring station at a mental asylum, and it is apparent that something has gone horribly wrong as the camera pans across (spoiler alert) dead bodies and trails of blood. As you would expect, the drawing style is not cheery and colorful, but instead deliberately drab using a palette of pale blues, greens and browns. There are also a lot of little critters all around, such as small crawling bugs, creeping spiders and skittering mice. Game play consists of more puzzles and locks than hidden object scenes. The hidden object scenes have a somewhat older feel, with small pop-up areas in them. Objects available in the pop-up areas are highlighted in your list, while the others are faded out. Speaking of pop-ups, there are tutorial screens that appear again and again, forcing you to turn off the tutorial multiple times. When passing between scenes, occasionally the opening scene appeared for a moment - the security station. This seemed odd. Along the way you collect pages from your sister's diary which begin to fill in the back story. For comparison, the CE includes collectable statues, 15 in all, extra play, and strategy guide, as well as other pseudo-extras like music, wallpaper, making of, achievements, deleted scenes, cut scenes (movies), and replay of puzzles and hidden object scenes. Maybe it's just that this type of asylum game has not been done in a while, but it does have a scary, creepy, haunting effect. It's not quite TRUE Fear, but it comes awfully close. March 30, 2014
Genuinely Frightening! I dont review games often, so you know when I do, it's a worthy game. I enjoy mildly scary games which are heavier on the adventure than the HOGs. I felt True Fear met that balance quite well (though, why cant ALL games give the option of match three OR HOG?) I definitely experienced "look away from the screen" scare moments, and felt challenged enough by the puzzles to be interested, though not enough to be frustrated. While the script and grammar could have been much better had a native English speaker given it the once-over for dialect cues, I think the overall plot and sensory experience more than made up for it. April 2, 2014
Dark, But Look on the Bright Side This is posted after playing the entire game. I really enjoyed playing this game. Oh, I've played better, but I have played a lot worse. It is a bit on the dark side, but nothing an adult or even a teenager can't handle. All in all, I enjoyed playing this. DO NOT judge this game by the demo. It was only 45 minutes long and that isn't long enough to judge it. The graphics were very good. We are all use to the sparkles to show the hidden object games, but this is different and goes right along with the theme of the game. The sound is extremely good. The voice overs are well done and the music is eerie, but so is the game. I liked the challenge. The hidden objects were very easy. I think I used the hint once and that was to see how long it takes it to recharge. The mini games were my kind of games. They weren't so simple that I got bored, yet it was hard enough I had to think some. I just don't have the patience for some of the mini games that come out. It was a good balance. I mentioned the hint which does a good job, but there is also a map, which shows where there are things to do and transports you wherever you want to go. The story is dark. The warning is true to what it says, but again, it isn't all that bad. Didn't have but two nightmares about it last night. No, just kidding it was a fun scary. You are lead up to what appears to be the conclusion, and then... AND THEN.... to be continued popped up for the fall of 2014. Not long to wait, but darn, I'll have to buy another game to see how it ends. This is a good game. I bought it and am not sorry I did. April 17, 2014
WAITING FOR THE NEXT INSTALLMENT. The flying birds in an overcast sky, waving grasses and all the creepy-crawlies one could hope for. Reminds me of the Sullivan River game. Jump map came in handy as I became bored at the last chapter. The story and art work kinda' fizzle out as the heroine discovers an underground vault decorated with the usual demon statues and puzzle locks. April 7, 2014
Too Short The Game over all is very good. The games do take some time to do. The story is pretty interesting but the game is way way to short. April 6, 2014
41-50 of 65 Reviews <<prev 34567next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

True Fear: Forsaken Souls

What if everything you knew about your life, everything your family ever told you, turned out to be a lie?

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.