Bookmark

True Fear: Forsaken Souls

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Warning: True Fear: Forsaken Souls is an intense psychological thriller intended for mature audiences.


What if everything you knew about your life, everything your family ever told you, turned out to be a lie? A strange midnight visitor could change your life forever... Find out the truth about your past in True Fear: Forsaken Souls, a chillingly exciting Hidden Object Puzzle game!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.9/10.8/10.7
  • CPU: 1.2 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 997 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
True Fear: Forsaken Souls

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

True Fear: Forsaken Souls

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

True Fear: Forsaken Souls 4.5 5 60 60
Seriously Good but Disappointed I loved this game but disappointed that we couldn't get to visit Dark Falls Asylum just yet :( Apparently we have to wait until autumn this year which is far too long for my liking. However, this game made me actually SOL - Scream Out Loud - and had some seriously creepy and shiver inducing moments. Enjoyed the HOS but the plot, the graphics, the creepiness is why I bought it and it did not fail to deliver on all those points. Looking forward to the next installment. Also I was pleased the game lasted a good few hours after the free demo unlike some where you only get an hour extra - not worth the money imo. June 28, 2014
CAN'T WAIT FOR THE SEQUEL!!! Review based on completed game in casual mode. Animation/VOS - Good but not as much as I had hoped for. Perhaps the sequel will be different. IHOS - Lists. Fairly clear considering the storyline. Repeated scenes. Hint - Fast charge. Gives directions and clues. Misclick Penalty - None Journal - Contains story, clues, notes and photos. Map - Does transport. Tried it a few times. Inventory - Locks in place. Objects seem to build up to at least 12 items. Puzzles/Mini-Games - Some sliders and rings. Slow skip. I believe the devs decided to play up the psychological point rather than the games and hos. Found it to be very suspenseful and spooky. I'll be looking forward to the sequel. May 25, 2014
Decent Story & Pleasing Graphics, But Crashed! First off, for those complaining the disclaimer is misleading or somehow wrong, think for a moment about WHY this warning is posted. Sure, the game may not be too frightening for most adults, but through the eyes of a child, it'd probably be pretty scary and nightmare-inducing. Think of these disclaimers on games as the equivalent to an R rating on a movie. In other words, it mostly serves as a warning for parents. Just saying. With that being said, yes, the game is not as terrifying as say, "Amnesia," but the animation is definitely a little more grotesque than other supernatural themed HO games. If you're prone to jumpiness and are playing with ear buds, you may get startled here and there. The creep factor is what stands out, and this game achieved it fairly nicely. The graphics are crisp; cut scenes blend well. The story is pretty typical, and I don't need to get into details on that given that other reviewers have already done so. As far as gameplay goes, I felt the challenge level (even at the highest level) was minimal and not overly difficult at all. This is the type of game I like when I'm not looking to really burn the midnight oil, but rather, while away an afternoon. My one complaint: I experienced an all-out crash in the first ten minutes of play. I can't stand it when a game crashes; I end up with this weird, paranoid feeling the rest of the way, just waiting for another one. This takes away points on ANY game. Recommended for those who like the supernatural genre, but want a little more oomph than some of the more "softer" supernatural themed HO games. Enjoy. May 8, 2014
CREEPY CRAWLY FEELING ARISES Very spooky - seeing the dead people being dragged away was really creepy. I was somewhat disappointed that the environment had a dismal appearance. Just because the topic is scary doesn't mean the localities have to be dull and drab. Otherwise, the graphics were okay - dreary makes it difficult to show crisp and detailed artwork because of the color palette. Long on adventure - short on HOS. Puzzles are not too difficult. I like this kind of game; I just think others have done a much better job of kick-starting interest in the story and keeping it at a rather high level. So about a low 3 1/2 stars even though I like creepy crawly stuff. But there's nothing really wrong with the game - just personal preference. March 30, 2014
You'll have to wait until Fall 2014 to finish the game I was disappointed when I got to the end of the Standard Version and found out that the makers didn't finish the game. There was a frame on the screen that said that the sequel is coming out in Fall 2014. Now it feels unfinished, and I feel cheated because I have to buy another game to figure out how it ends. April 10, 2014
More "God Forsaken" than fear-inducing I'm not entirely sure why this game is getting such high reviews. It has the same story line 90% of HOG have - oh no, a family member or loved one is missing/kidnapped/dead - you have to find them/solve the mystery! While there is a slight bit more "horror" element than most typical "dark" HOG (ominous build-up, jumping out at you), there was nothing about this that screamed (pun) terrifying by any means. Am I the only one that thought the story was all over the place?? Throughout the game you'd find bits and pieces of the story completely out of order, therefore making it pretty uninteresting and pretty irritating since you already knew what was coming. The graphics and quality are very good, however I do wish the main character/avatar had been made to blink - she looks like a creepy doll. April 15, 2014
Not what I expected Once I got involved in the game I started liking it better. However, I really don't like a game to leave me hanging with no conclusion. I don't feel I should have to buy another game to get some kind of resolution in the first game. April 15, 2014
No End to the Story! I'm very disappointed. The story line (is there one?) is all over the place and at the - pretty sudden - end of the game I had to find out, that I have to wait months so I can buy another game to find out what really happened. It feels like reading a book and the last 10 pages are missing! No, thank you! April 28, 2014
same old same old more of the hidden games WHAT A BUMMER not good at al quit in 15 minutes don't know what others saw in this game glad I didn't buy it story line what story line some objects are small you really really have to look for it March 31, 2014
Feedback For Developer ONLY- Based On Demo I'll start by telling you that all of my 4 and especially 5 star reviews are based on completed game. The only time I do demos is if I don't like a game which sorry just happens to be the case here. Actually the last couple of games I've reviewed have unfortunately been on the demo. FUN FACTOR: Sorry developer I honestly was really looking forward to this game. I'm really into psychological thriller type of games/story but at least for the demo time the so called "warning" on this game is purely all hype for me. I found absolutely nothing scary about this game. About the only thing I found in the way of creepy was the hint button which looks like the cross between Linda Blair from the Exorcist and a female version of the "Chucky" doll from the Child's Play movie. If the game does get to be more of a "thriller" past the demo time well sorry but you shouldn't put all of your best work past the demo as you should not only have my attention during the demo to get me to purchase but keep it throughout the game. I will say I sure appreciated no "cutesy" or not so "cutesy" animal helpers that I had to name/feed/dress up! VISUAL/SOUND QUALITY: I definitely get that this is suppose to be a "thriller" type of game and I don't even mind buildings that are a bit rundown in games but sorry I don't understand why not only you but other developers have to make things look so gross with the creepy crawlers, rats, cob webs in the fridge, etc. I do believe a game can still have the "thriller" eerie" feel to it without this. For me the graphics were just plain awful especially the cut scenes. They were grainy and blurry. In regards to the sound I found this to be a very quiet game and not much in the way of music which is where I think you could of worked on to get the creepy/eerie feeling. The voice overs what little there were I thought were really good. LEVEL OF CHALLENGE: Here you have 3 play modes I just checked out the harder two modes. I ended up on the middle of the road mode because I like to have hint/skip available just in case needed. The only difference I found is the hint/skip are disabled on the hardest mode. Neither have sparkles however both are overloaded with black bar tips. I don't understand this at all. Why have 3 levels if all are going to be overloaded with black bar tips? The HOS I like interactive word list and usually enjoy these but were Sanford & Son junkyard to me. I also found a bit confusing with several items opening up into more complex items but I did find that the HOS list helps with transparent, black and red items representing which items are visible at any time. The puzzles I'm not a fan. Less the better. Having said this: The same ones I've come across in many games. I found them rather simple. Nothing difficult here. The demo of this I didn't find much on the "adventure" side at all as it was basically the same 3 maybe 4 locations over and over again so not really much back/forth. STORYLINE: As I mentioned I'm definitely into this type of storyline but I found nothing "psychological thriller" about this game CE EXTRAS: Bonus Chapter: From my reading after I finished the demo as this is when I read for peoples' thoughts on the games that is when I'm "done" with the game. Be that the "demo" or after I have completed it. It was nice for a change to see some "honest" reviews and I don't think this is a spoiler since it's been mentioned in a few reviews in the forum and on the main page but this game here: The story does not completely end at the end of main game play or even after the bonus game play because it is part of a trilogy. I will also tell you and the Big Fish this is exactly why I don't do raving 5 stars or even 4 stars based on the demo I also have no problem with developers doing sequels (but your game here is a trilogy from my reading the more "honest" reviews) but the main game should have an ending and bonus chapter be just that a bonus chapter so now people have to spend more money for the other two parts to find out what happens in this game that is if they want a "complete game" of course. Oh and just who knows when those will be released. Achievements/Collectibles; No longer a fan of this "fluff." Wallpapers: Used a few from some games but not a must have. Strategy Guide: Have rarely used but nice to have with game just in case needed. Concept Art/Music; Never used this "fluff" in any game. Replay HOS/mini games/puzzles: I don't do this. Once again sorry but definitely a no go here! I just found this game downright boring with no challenge at all and then to top it off the main game and even playing the bonus still don't have a complete game. I must say I'm highly turned off by you. I'll be watching for your games more closely to try and avoid since I won't be getting a completed game even if I was to purchase the CE version! Sorry HUGE turn off! SHAME ON YOU! March 31, 2014
51-60 of 60 Reviews <<prev 23456next
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

True Fear: Forsaken Souls

What if everything you knew about your life, everything your family ever told you, turned out to be a lie?

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.